Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

Kejriwal might have indicated that Congress is no more in competition for 2014 (And not forever).

But water problem seems to be still unsolved at least the following sources indicate so...

In Modi's vibrant Gujarat, 4,000 villages face acute water crisis Politics News Videos-IBNLive
People battling odds to get drinking water in Gujarat - Hindustan Times
Acute water crisis in Saurashtra, Kutch and north Gujarat - The Hindu

I think this is to be expected, as Gujarat doesn't receive adequate rainfall and the rivers dry up in summers. But a lot of infrastructure is in place to lessen the impact, and if interlinking of rivers takes place, the problem can be rid even better.

Lol and he also said no elected MLA will be fielded for parliamentary election .Now he himself and his favrourite Rakhi Birla ( the one who filed a case against cricket playing kid and the one who asked 7 lakhs for a MP seat) .

Mr. Paltu always comes up with something one day and go back on it the very next day. I don't know how people just blindly believe him.

I think this is to be expected, as Gujarat doesn't receive adequate rainfall and the rivers dry up in summers. But a lot of infrastructure is in place to lessen the impact, and if interlinking of rivers takes place, the problem can be rid even better.

You should go through the second source I posted previously.... I am posting its content. Please go through it

But 11 good monsoons from 2001 to 2011 had made people forgot those years of scarcity, driving Gujarat to double digit agriculture growth.

The state government also appeared to have taken the situation lightly when the rain gods were smiling as two major projects -- Sardar Sarovar Dam on Narmada river and Kalpsar project -- conceived to solve drinking water problems of scarcity-prone regions, have not progressed as per schedule. Modi took over as the Gujarat chief minister in 2001.

Seventy-five percent of the canal network of Sardar Sarovar Project still remains to be completed by the state government, which is an impediment in taking water of big dam constructed on Narmada river to the parched lands of state, as per the data presented in the state assembly.

While the Kalpsar project was conceived to build a reservoir with dam in the Gulf of Khambhat to harness flood waters of nine rivers during the time of Keshubhai Patel government in 1998, it is still in the study stage mode even after 14 years of conceptualisation.

You should go through the second source I posted previously.... I am posting its content. Please go through it

But 11 good monsoons from 2001 to 2011 had made people forgot those years of scarcity, driving Gujarat to double digit agriculture growth.

The state government also appeared to have taken the situation lightly when the rain gods were smiling as two major projects -- Sardar Sarovar Dam on Narmada river and Kalpsar project -- conceived to solve drinking water problems of scarcity-prone regions, have not progressed as per schedule. Modi took over as the Gujarat chief minister in 2001.

Seventy-five percent of the canal network of Sardar Sarovar Project still remains to be completed by the state government, which is an impediment in taking water of big dam constructed on Narmada river to the parched lands of state, as per the data presented in the state assembly.

While the Kalpsar project was conceived to build a reservoir with dam in the Gulf of Khambhat to harness flood waters of nine rivers during the time of Keshubhai Patel government in 1998, it is still in the study stage mode even after 14 years of conceptualisation.

I read that. Which is why I said interlinking of rivers is necessary. Without monsoon rains and perennial rivers, how can a comprehensive water scarcity management programme fructify? But Gujarat seems to have ensured that when the water is available, it isn't allowed to go waste, and the farmers use it judiciously to maximize their Agri output.

OMG good monsoons gave Gujarat good agricultural growth just like the rest of country. Now as monsoon isnt optimal there is an adverse effect on the Gujarat Agri-Economy. Blame modi because he can't control the clouds. But I am sure the following was totally not his doing
Gujarat’s decade of agricultural success | Business Line
Edit:

Gujarat’s agricultural and allied sector has outshined its peers in the last decade by clocking an average annual growth of 11 per cent, compared to an all-India average of 3 per cent between 2001-02 and 2011-12. The agriculture and allied sector has grown as rapidly as the State’s widely acclaimed manufacturing sector during the last decade, although agriculture’s relative contribution to the State’s output has shrunk.

That my friend is movement from agriculture to manufacturing, unskilled to skilled labor ... that is progresss.

A healthy combination of private and public sector initiatives has ensured stable agricultural growth in the State compared to the previous two decades when agricultural growth was volatile and manufacturing and services flourished due to a strong industrial policy and private initiatives. The State’s agriculture is dominated by non-food crops such as cotton, groundnut, cumin, fennel and tobacco.

Every one can copy paste and highlight. Use common sense also. If rain fall drops, it will have an adverse effect on farmers , no matter how Corruption free and secular your government is.

Guys why don't you first read the articles you post before passing judgement...:hitwall:

Arvind Kejriwal will not contest against Narendra Modi from Vadodara: AAP

Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal will not contest against BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi from Vadodara.

"Arvind Kejriwal believes that a candidate should contest from only one seat. He will not contest from Vadodara," AAP's Gujarat convener Sukhdev Patel said here today.
"If Modi had declared earlier that he will contest from Vadodara, then Kejriwal too would have announced that he would fight from Vadodara," Patel told PTI.

"Modi's nomination from Varanasi was finalised first, so Kejriwal can take on him only from Varanasi now," Patel said.

"Modi is so afraid that he is not sure about his political fate and wants to contest from two seats. It is our party's ideology that voters must not be cheated, he (Modi) wants to waste public money but we are not like him and do not support such politics," Patel said.

"Having seen the huge public response to Kejriwal, especially in Modi's own (assembly) constituency Maninagar in Ahmedabad, Modi chose Vadodara," he claimed, adding, "We will definitely field a strong candidate against Modi from Vadodara."

I can also say the same thing about Modi. I have seen Modi ranting about getting rid of Gandhi dynasty since last two years, so why is he not leading from the front and fighting against any of the Gandhi and since he has no issue fighting from two seats then he can very well fight from both Amethi and Rae Bareli and personally "demolish" them.

The same Kejru also believed in no Lok Sabha ticket for sitting MLA. You are quoting the biggest U turner in Human History. Ab to hansi bhi nahin ati. Anyways if he fights Vadodara he will loose deposit. He knows it and thats the real reason.

In Varanasi he may save his deposit but will be 4 above the Congi candidate (if they field one)

I read that. Which is why I said interlinking of rivers is necessary. Without monsoon rains and perennial rivers, how can a comprehensive water scarcity management programme fructify? But Gujarat seems to have ensured that when the water is available, it isn't allowed to go waste, and the farmers use it judiciously to maximize their Agri output.

As you mentioned Gujarat has this problem of water, why has he not built a system where the areas which depend on rain water can also be supplied with water all round the year. Don't the people of India sing praises for his exceptional development? So why was he unable to get rid of this shortcoming since his followers believe that he can turn anything into gold...

OMG good monsoons gave Gujarat good agricultural growth just like the rest of country. Now as monsoon isnt optimal there is an adverse effect on the Gujarat Agri-Economy. Blame modi because he can't control the clouds. But I am sure the following was totally not his doing
Gujarat’s decade of agricultural success | Business Line
Edit:
Gujarat’s agricultural and allied sector has outshined its peers in the last decade by clocking an average annual growth of 11 per cent, compared to an all-India average of 3 per cent between 2001-02 and 2011-12. The agriculture and allied sector has grown as rapidly as the State’s widely acclaimed manufacturing sector during the last decade, although agriculture’s relative contribution to the State’s output has shrunk.
That my friend is movement from agriculture to manufacturing, unskilled to skilled labor ... that is progresss.
A healthy combination of private and public sector initiatives has ensured stable agricultural growth in the State compared to the previous two decades when agricultural growth was volatile and manufacturing and services flourished due to a strong industrial policy and private initiatives. The State’s agriculture is dominated by non-food crops such as cotton, groundnut, cumin, fennel and tobacco.
Every one can copy paste and highlight. Use common sense also. If rain fall drops, it will have an adverse effect on farmers , no matter how Corruption free and secular your government is.

So his exceptional governance depends on clouds? Why did he not create a viable system to supply water all round the year knowing very well that certain areas of Gujarat are rain-dependent...

As you mentioned Gujarat has this problem of water, why has he not built a system where the areas which depend on rain water can also be supplied with water all round the year. Don't the people of India sing praises for his exceptional development? So why was he unable to get rid of this shortcoming since his followers believe that he can turn anything into gold...

Water supply all year round is possible so long as there is a perennial water source in the vicinity. Is there such a source in Gujarat? Ground water can be a solution, but it's a short term one at best in a drought-prone area.

As CM of Gujarat, does he have the mandate to interlink rivers and thereby bring a perennial source of water to Gujarat? No.

During the same time, has the UPA brought out a plan on helping drought-hit states and areas through River-linking? No.

So his exceptional governance depends on clouds? Why did he not create a viable system to supply water all round the year knowing very well that certain areas of Gujarat are rain-dependent...

Because
1) A now AAP member led the "Narmada Bachao" to interrupt the optimal linking of rivers.
2) Since Gujarat receives water after it passes other states like MP(like narmada), in case of less rainfall these states use more water before it reaches Gujarat.

Stop holding Modi to a standard of superhuman, he cannot create water out of thin air. Today people have two yardsticks, everything modi does is scrutinized beyond what a mortal can do while everyone else's incompetence is made out to be an outcome of circumstance. Worry about your Kejri as he made a mess of delhi and does not even have a shred of work to backup his credentials. The only thing he can do is give subsidies and suck socialist d*cks.
Seriously use some common sense and stop justifying the name AAPtard

Why I don't trust AAP/Kejriwal?? so much so that I am ready to vote Lalu/Mulayam/CPIM given the choice between the two??

B'coz if someone says I am devil, he obviously is being honest, b'coz otherwise no one would like to call themselves a devil. But if there are some people who say that I am the SAINT, I am the SOLE HONEST SOUL in India, I am Mr. Incorruptible, I am Right & rest are wrong.............These are the sort of people who people of India should be highly SKEPTICAL of esp. in 21st Century where no one is RAM & almost all are RAVAN.

btw.. it has been bit quiet on the AAP & Kejriwal's front! Running out money to pay media channels & vandals? :undecided:

@arp2041 @Parul @chak de INDIA @GreenFoe

By attacking media directly AAPTards has killed their one and only source of sustenance. You should have seen response of times now and India TV.

While Rajat Sharma was cool and brought out a systematic expose against AAP, Arnab has gone Ballastic on AAP's ***.

By attacking media directly AAPTards has killed their one and only source of sustenance. You should have seen response of times now and India TV.

While Rajat Sharma was cool and brought out a systematic expose against AAP, Arnab has gone Ballastic on AAP's ***.
He has a habit of shooting off with anything at anyone. Raising accusations is not wrong, raising baseless accusations however is completely unethical and not only tarnishes the accuser, it forces the accuse to denote precious time and energy to at the least keep the narrative on track, if not defend himself. That means the discussion has already been degraded , and moves from the "what" of the subject to "please be on subject". Case in point, AK raises the point of Gas pricing, and I concede that suspicions are prima facie valid and deserve an enquiry. He however sets up a "me vs the world" dynamic and the discussion loses its focus from pricing policies and free market access to resources , to "OMG mukesh has bought the country and will earn xxxxx Crores" and shitty fanatics of sab chor hai.

But I think its poetic justice that the media is experiencing. He is mostly the creation of 24x7 media, and he's come home to **** them up. I suggest you grab popcorn and enjoy the show.

There has been a lot of instances of poetic justice against media.

Tarun tejpal is another example. Media campaigned for absurd rape laws and one of their own has become victim of those.