India must help Afghanistan build its military might to counter bullying Pakistan

Pakistan should arm Frontier Corps/Rangers (paramilitary units) heavily @ Pak Afghan border. That way army don't have to deal with these ungrateful creatures.

Already done bro. FC today is far different than FC that was 10 years ago.

Back in 50's Pushtun militia proved to be over kill for afghans when Afghanistan was relatively stable and strong. Today after getting b@ ng 3d by Soviets and Americans they are not even 5% as strong as back then.

They are a joke. They are not even a functional state and society. All this chahbahar, arming ANA is a joke in itself. These things look good when you talk about a functional state not a joke like Afghanistan.

Kabali or no Kabali. The territory is under Pakistan's control. And it is the most peaceful region of Pakistan while on the other side of LOC 8 F boys have been killed yesterday. Kashmir is not India but it is under Indian occupation. Pakistan successfully managed to capture 85000 sq km of Kashmir. And there is nothing you can do about it. Other than passing stupid resolutions in Indian parliament you are not going to get it back. Fight for what you have now. :lol:

OH HO Mamoo, tum ne to Ghal hi Change Kar deete. Chaloo Thik hai, waise bhi Troll kar kar kar, Dimak Kharab ho jata hai. Jaab India army aayee hee Baad me to Kittho Indian Army te Azaad Kara ditta.

And we took many areas in Kashmir after Indian army came to Kashmir. Remember Kotli and Skardu as an example?? ;)

Janab, when did you sorry Freedom fighter soory Mujahideen, sorry Jihadi, sorry Kashmiri fought with IA in Kotli and Skardu, it was the J&K army.

There bravery is more about beating hindus and conquering Delhi. They failed to take even a single inch of territory FATA or KPK or Baluchistan from Pakistan despite all their stupid claims. Keep this Afghan bravery bullsh!t to you. It applies more to Delhi than Islamabad.

Janab, I was watching the Video how brave PA encircled the FATA area, sealed it and then lauched the COIN operation. Janab just one question, Indian Army ne to Kaddo Tank, Helicopter, Artillery Kashmir, which use nahi kitti hai, te tussi to Ef Sollay Tayyare Use Kaar rahe ho, the Hun ee Kitto Coin Operation hui, Eye to low intensity war hui.

Janaab I was in Kashmir, when the terrrorism spread in the valley, and I have seen myself Afghan terrorist diverted to Kashmir, because ISI commander thinks, that they are not brave enough.

Afghan lives bachana chahta hoon. Kahin bogus history kai chakkar main marai jaye gai Pehlai hi bohat afghan mar chukai hain last 35 years main. :)

Mamoo You Get what you Sow.

Baki Lage Raho Mamoo

Afghanistan is our friend, and they need our help now. As the saying goes; a friend in need is a friend indeed. :)

Give all the old tanks, Mig-21s,27-s and old mountain guns to them for free and ask them to use at will and use it everyday...

And then we give them more...

OH HO Mamoo, tum ne to Ghal hi Change Kar deete. Chaloo Thik hai, waise bhi Troll kar kar kar, Dimak Kharab ho jata hai. Jaab India army aayee hee Baad me to Kittho Indian Army te Azaad Kara ditta.

Bubbloo. There were many areas that Pakistan captured after Indian army came toKashmir. For example are Kotli and Skardu. Read history dear. Ya poori zindagi jahil raho gai??

Janab, when did you sorry Freedom fighter soory Mujahideen, sorry Jihadi, sorry Kashmiri fought with IA in Kotli and Skardu, it was the J&K army

Dear it was Indian army sorry bharati sena sorry Hindutani fauj from whom we took Kotli and Skardu. Parh lo. Thori history parh lo. Warna jahil ki maut marna koi achi baat nahi.

Janab, I was watching the Video how brave PA encircled the FATA area, sealed it and then lauched the COIN operation. Janab just one question, Indian Army ne to Kaddo Tank, Helicopter, Artillery Kashmir, which use nahi kitti hai, te tussi to Ef Sollay Tayyare Use Kaar rahe ho, the Hun ee Kitto Coin Operation hui, Eye to low intensity war hui.

Because insurgency in Kashmir and FATA is far different. Even during 90's Kashmiri militants used hit and run tactics unlike TTP who captures and then holds that territory to establish their rule. So for different levels of insurgencies we use different tactics. We also don't use F16 in Balochistan since level of insurgency there was far lower as compared to TTP. Simple si baat hai. Agar aap typical jahil na hoye to samajh aa jaye gi.

Janaab I was in Kashmir, when the terrrorism spread in the valley, and I have seen myself Afghan terrorist diverted to Kashmir, because ISI commander thinks, that they are not brave enough.

Brilliant. Nice. Afghans always loved killing hindus anyways. :)

Mamoo You Get what you Sow.

Sure bubbloo. You always got what you sowed. And this would continue in future too.

Baki Lage Raho Mamoo

Lagai hoye hai. torkham gate bilkul tayyar hai. Rok saktai ho? Nahi. Nahi rok saktai. :lol:

Wishful thinking on the part of the Indians, I can see Indians are getting desperate by the day, first Afghanistan needs to take care of itself, secondly they need to build a stable economy which is sadly not the case, any aggression by the afghan army will be dealt a massive blow by the Pakistan army, and as soon as the border is closed, Afghanistan cannot survive, even if chahabar port becomes operational.

Lol...Its hilarious to see Indians think of themselves as some kind of Sole Regional Power....First make your own Army strong to win any war against us.....Wishful thinking of India to become Uncle Sam of South Asia...Don't know what stupid Indian media give them everyday,,,!

Give all the old tanks, Mig-21s,27-s and old mountain guns to them for free and ask them to use at will and use it everyday...

And then we give them more...
India has a hard time maintaining such equipment, what makes you think Afghanistan can? You've dubbed the MiG-21 as a flying coffin, and now you want to give it to Afghanistan?. MiG-27 has a severe spare part problem, and you want to give that to Afghanistan too?.
I've seen posters going on and off about A-10s, MiGs and what not for Afghanistan. But how will Afghanistan maintain this equipment?

Why not? Do it but do consider Pakistani countermeasures against it....:p: What a time has come for great India, so frustrated and angry, now relying on war torn country/society to finance problems for us.

Lol frustration ? You thought of using war torn afghanistan as a backyard against India and failed miserably and cant fathom the reality that afghans are attacking you. Why complain everytime on India ?

I m not complaining. I m wishing you gud luck in your afghan adventure....

Imran,

The Indians did play uncle sam in 1971 incase you forget.

The Indians have the money and the resources to make AFGHANISTAN a real military threat to Pakistan if the Indians wish too.

There is enough money and enough equipment in india to give Afghanistan land army that can bog down Pakistan for months.

Pakistan cant ill afford another front on their financial resources

Why didnt he mention India in this list and only mentioned islands? Ofcourse all those Chinese incursions into India were no bullying at all o_O.

It would have been called bullying had they not been chased away. Bullying is what India does, chasing away a national army with just a company of armed police men(ITBP).

Its time we help Afghanistan. They need all the suppprt against any aggression. Iam sure India is doing everything to make them transform into a growing economy, stable enough to safeguard its sovereignty.

SOURCE: Maj. Gen. (Retd) G D Bakshi/ ENS

indian.jpg

A new phenomenon is becoming the norm in Asia. Militarily strong nations like China and Pakistan have taken to bullying weaker neighbours, usually over disputed border/territorial claims on land and sea. China has been constantly bullying Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia over islands in the South China sea. Pakistan has joined the club by being over-bearing on Afghanistan. At play is a dynamic of ‘might is right’.

Afghanistan has never recognised the Durand Line that separates it from the Pashtun areas of Pakistan, taking it to be an imperial construct designed to divide the nomadic tribes. Traditionally, they have freely moved across this border, whose porosity was later exploited by the CIA and ISI to push across 80,000 mujahideens to fight the Soviet Army in 1979. Post the Soviet withdrawal, Maj. Gen. Naseerullah Babar of the Pakistan Army raised the Taliban for a proxy conquest of Afghanistan. Pakistan sent in its regular troops in Mufti to operate tanks and artillery, and overawe the Farsiwans. Nawaz Sharif and his generals later entered Kabul like some war heroes. Mullah Omar of the Taliban gave refuge to Osama bin Laden and al-Qaeda. He married Laden’s daughter and Afghanistan became the base for al-Qaeda’s operations.

After the 9/11 attacks, Pakistan was forced to cooperate with the US in dismantling the Taliban and al-Qaeda. Pakistan went along for some time, but as soon as US attention shifted to Iraq, it began to aid the Taliban insurgency. It swindled the US of $31 billion and yet kept Laden in a safe house. The US began re-raising the Afghan National Army (ANA). Pakistan demanded that the ANA be given no tanks, artillery or heavy weapons. Clearly, Pakistan was looking ahead to the time when the Americans would withdraw from Afghanistan. By 2014, the US had expended huge amounts of blood and treasure in Iraq and Afghanistan. It wanted to turn around to face a rising China and extricate from Afghanistan, but not in a messy way. So, it wanted the Pakistani Army to launch operations in FATA to put pressure on the Taliban and afford the US Army and NATO forces a clean break. Gen. Raheel Sharif earned a great deal of American gratitude for Op Zarb-e-Azb. As part of the arrangement, the US forces virtually handed over Afghanistan to Pakistan as its protectorate. India was asked to clear out. The Abdul Ghani government cancelled requests to India for supply of weapons and equipment. Pakistan was given the task of brokering peace talks between the Taliban and Kabul regime. It, however, had a dangerous end game in mind—to re-instal Taliban in Kabul and turn the clock back to 2001.

Pakistan did not deliver on the talks with Taliban. Instead, it covertly helped the latter stage major attacks in 2015 and 2016. The US seemed to be losing patience with Pakistan. Finally, it killed Taliban leader Mansour with a drone strike in Baluchistan. The US Congress cancelled the subsidised deal of selling eight F-16 fighters to Pakistan and stopped major payments for counter-insurgency operations.

As part of border management, Pakistan now decided to fence the Durand Line. Its fencing was bound to be a red rag to the Afghans. Soon border skirmishes broke out. On June 13, heavy firing erupted at the Torkham Gate where the Pakistanis were building a huge gate to check entry of Afghan citizens. In the firing, two Afghan soldiers and a Pakistani Major were killed. Over 20 soldiers were wounded on both sides. Pakistan rushed in its tanks and heavy guns to overawe the ANA (which just had small arms). Talks were started and firing stopped for the time being. No agreement, however, has been reached to resolve the crisis. Pakistan has expressed its determination to fence the Durand Line, and this could lead to more clashes on the Af-Pak border. Is the Pakistani design to draw out the ANA a ploy to help the Taliban? What then are India’s options?

• Rapidly do capacity building of the Afghan army, so that it has a military edge over the Taliban and can defend its territory against Pakistan’s incursions.

• Complete the Chabahar-Zaranj-Delaram road and beltway via Iran. Till then, supply tanks, artillery guns, attack helicopters and trainer jets via Russia.

• Once the Chabahar beltway opens up, it can supply large numbers of T-54/T-55 tanks and 105 mm field guns lying in our depot stocks and salvage yards.

Pakistan cannot be allowed to bully the long-suffering Afghanistan. The Afghans are a proud people and must be given the means to defend themselves.Should the situation deteriorate on the Durand Line, India could activate the LoC in J&K and give Pakistan a taste of its own medicine in terms of the use of artillery or heavy weapons. At least this will raise costs for Pakistan’s terrorism export and take the pressure off the beleaguered Afghan Army.

http://idrw.org/india-must-help-afghanistan-build-military-might-counter-bullying-pakistan/

You are right and we also don't accept Kashmir border and can be in and out any time and India don't mind that because we are using their logic for Indian Occupied Kashmir only. :tup: SO next time please don't say that Pakistani cross border without proper documents.

To be honest, India has backed away from involving in major world conflicts either due to design or by Non Aligned Stance.
But now India wants to make herself an global leader. And being an leader comes with responsibility.

There is a reason why Afghanistan is graveyard of empires. Russia nor USA understand its culture. India and Pakistan do. We should slowly start arming, see its result before going for full scale arming, only to fight Taliban for now. If ANA wins against Taliban, then its business.

We should wait till our exports reach 1 trillion, GDP of 5 trillion, prove ourselves in economy.

ok then give them 5000 tanks 500 helicopters 500 fighter jests 20000APCs and AFVs 20000 missiles 200 nukes 1 million strong solders and officers10000 artillery guns 200 UAVs and UCAVs do not forget to give them 10000 anti tank missiles and 10000 SAMs .also give them shear of your half ballistic and cruse missile scoptile to afghans . or better idea split your forces in half and give them to afghans

You forget LCA the nightmare for PAF