India Is World’s Most Depressed Nation

indians i can give you advise :)

daru piya karo :partay:
Bhai mere India main daaru isliye bikti hai kyunki logon ko pata hi nahin hota ki woh mental disorder ke patient hai. Daaru se thoda aaram milta hai isliye wh daaru ko dawa samjh lete hain. Isliye drugs aur daaru pine waale log bahut hain India main. Vijaya Malaya isliye to itna ameer hai. :D

That's worrisome but it's controllable.

If you study the Vision 2020 "PROSPECTS OF HEALTH CARE IN INDIA."

I quote," There is finally the emerging aftermath of insurgencies and militant violence leading to mental illnesses of various types. It is estimated that 10 to 20 persons out of 1000 population suffer from severe mental illness and 3 to 5 times more have emotional disorder. While there are some facilities for diagnosis and treatment exist in major cities there is no access whatever in rural areas. It is acknowledged that the only way of handling mental health problems is through including it into the primary health care arrangements implying trained screening and counseling at primary levels for early detection."

You need to learn from a model and progress towards a solution.

For example here...Goa's model is really practical.

Beyond the paradise and prosperity of the internationally known tourist destination of Goa is another story – a high prevalence of mental health problems.

Goa, a tiny state on India’s western coastline, is one of the country’s most affluent and literate, but recent studies have highlighted a high prevalence of depression and stress-related problems, affecting 5–10% of young adults and 15–25% of people who visit primary health centres.

The state launched a pilot project in October 2005 that takes an innovative approach to addressing depressive and anxiety disorders which are a major cause of mental health disability worldwide.

The project integrates evidence-based mental health treatments – including antidepressants, psychological treatments and yoga – into routine primary health care, using existing primary care staff plus locally-recruited staff.

It is called Manas, which is short for mana shanti sudhar shodh meaning “search for mental peace” in Konkani, a local language in Goa, and draws on an approach developed by the World Health Organization (WHO) that is based on findings from studies in Chile, India and Uganda and on guidelines of the UK National Institute of Clinical Excellence. It relies on Sangath, a nongovernmental organization (NGO), to train local counsellors.

Manas-trained counsellors are not health professionals but local women university graduates, who have trained for three months to provide three treatments: psycho-education, interpersonal psychotherapy and yoga. They advise patients on how to deal with stress-related and social problems, and they keep a register of organizations that help women facing economic difficulties or domestic violence and make the appropriate referrals.

A diagnosis, for example of depression, must be confirmed by a doctor who supervises the whole process and is responsible for deciding whether to prescribe anti-depressants.

“One of the wider goals of the project is to create awareness against irrational use of vitamins and injections,” said Dr Neerja Chowdhury, a psychiatrist, adding that Manas doctors avoid over-prescribing drugs, such as sleeping pills, which can be costly for patients and – in cases of mild depression – unnecessary.

After confirmation of the initial diagnosis by the doctor, the patient is introduced to a health counsellor who, in confidential, private sessions, will explain how interaction between body and mind creates physical symptoms linked to anxiety or depression.

Counsellors teach patients how to deal with sleeplessness – a typical symptom of depression – through yoga breathing exercises and advice on better nutrition. Many patients improve with simple lifestyle interventions such as these, Patel told the Bulletin.

WHO | Indian paradise takes novel approach to mental health

Actually in case of mental disorders, you can't recover, but mostly manage the problem.

The medicines can't cure the problem but can certainly affect brain chemistry and neurons firing. So it is managed. Another way to recover like we do in case of fever, is that using methods like Electric Shock therapy but it may cause memory loss and its not done that regularly as the drugs present in market can easily manage it.

I didn't type the post keeping proper terms at hand for it's not important to type strictly in accordance when you're typing on a forum far away from medical sciences. Beside, when you pray you pray for complete recovery. Would be awkward if I say God don't make them recover completely but manageable.

To discuss Pharmacodynamics and Pharmacokinetics of CNS medicine rather DRUGS lets open a separate thread. Different forms of disorders along with their etiologies can also be discussed there, behavioral sciences and pathology related to CNS are interesting subjects.

BTW thank you very much for the info you provided, I really appreciate.