India got corridor, not transit: Khaleda

BD did not ask India to invest in Infrastructure. Where did you get that?

And world bank will not give you transit BD will. You already seen the new rate proposed by core committee. I assume, BD will more likely stick to new rate plan. Now its your call.

see posts from your fellow countrymen!

I can smell the burnings inside your heart as this airport is going to be more then 2 time expensive then any other airport in India ...ohh wait it will also be 15 time more expensive then the super rich kolkata airport.... do not worry... we are happy. Think about yourself. Already there are investment proposal for the airport.

hehe shows how efficient your country is. Calcutta with 1/15 of your price has more international and domestic traffice than your terminal. would you be happy if you paid $1 for a fries or $15 for the same fries? LOL

The new airport has not been built yet. Obviously the investors will invest the money to make it profitable and obviously to make the airport a regional and global hub which kolkata airport will never be able to become. N it has nothing to do with $1 fries compared to $15 fries. It will be bigger, will be able to handle more passenger and will be equiped with all modern facility like singapore and dubai airport and will be off the size of Suvarnabhumi airport of Thailand.

For your info...

Bangladesh -build-new-international-airport: The Bangabandhu International Airport ,plans $7bn airport | gurumia.COM

We have done a pre-feasibility study of the airport. It will be equal to the size of (Bangkok?s) Suvarnabhumi airport, with two runways,? said Majlish, who put the cost at 500 billion taka (seven billion US dollars).

Opened in September 2006, Suvarnabhumi airport has a capacity of 45 million passengers a year, 76 flights an hour and three million tons of cargo annually.
The Bangladesh cabinet gave the go-ahead to the new airport as the existing Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport formerly known as Zia International Airport cannot be expanded due to lack of land, Majlish said.

According to the primary plan the airport will be established on about 6000 acres of land with three 9000 feet runways and all other modern facilities like Dubai or Singapore Airports.

An elevated expressway has also been planned under the project to link the airport with Dhaka.

Renowned airport builders will provide the fund for the project.

In the first phase a dual terminal and a runway will be constructed. It will also include a parking bay to accommodate 75 aircraft, support facilities and structures including a large maintenance hangar, a fire station and workshop.

Two more passenger terminals and runways are expected to be completed by 2020, Shafique said.

Ministry sources said reputable airport building agencies like Italian-Thai Development Corporation, Murray and Roberts of South Africa, Penta Ocean Construction and Obayashi Corporation have informally communicated with the ministry.

The civil aviation secretary said the airport would be the connecting link between the emerging and developed economies in the East and West.

?Bangladesh needs a gateway to East Asian and Middle Eastern and Western countries as air cargo transportation is growing day by day,? he said

The airport will be built on build, operate and transfer basis... means it will be a foreign investment.

There are better things to invest in you know.

From where you are bringing feeding poor people for 20 years? Obviously 7 billion USD is a big amount, if you take into account it to be spent by Bangladeshi Government. But as it will be based on foreign investment obviously it will be a big achievement if Bangladesh government can implement this. When any company/country will invest such a big amount of money definitely they will make sure it remain profitable as it can be hoped that their management will be better then the government operated management. If you look at the most airports those are currently under construction or proposed to be built are in Billions. N another thing this 7.5 billion dollar also include a metro rail connection from the airport to the Dhaka. So deduct it from that. Even Suvarnabhumi Bangkok Airport cost 5.5 billion USD. But construction material cost increased to a great extent since then. So, this airport if built will be of the level or slightly below the level of Suvarnabhumi Bangkok Airport.

Why build something since there already is one that is enough to meet present and future capacity? And further by upgrading the current airport. Here's a report from a group of aviation experts, and they were spot on.

The demand for airport amenities for the next 25 years in the country could be met by upgrading the capacity of Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport, with one fifth of the Tk 50,000 crore cost projected for the planned airport in Arial Beel, aviation experts said.

They said almost 60 percent capacity of Shahjalal remains still unutilised, and there is not only scope for 100 percent utilisation, but that capacity could also be doubled including construction of another parallel runway.

According to the Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (Caab), Shahjalal having around 2,000 acres of land is currently handling 40 lakh passengers annually while its current capacity is for handling 80 lakh passengers a year.

The experts said in a busy international airport around 60 aircraft can usually takeoff and land per hour, but in Shahjalal only 10 aircraft including those of Bangladesh Air Force land or takeoff per hour. Only 40 percent of its runway capacity is now being utilised.

"Now thirty five to thirty seven percent capacity of Shahjalal is being utilised, after cent percent utilisation the current capacity could even be doubled through proper utilisation of its land. If the government does so, there will be no need to find an alternative at least for the next 25 years," said retired Biman captain Alamgir Sattar who has 24,000 hours of flying experience to different airports across the globe in his 38 years of service.

Two other aviation experts also echoed Sattar, requesting anonymity.

Another aviation expert alleged the project of constructing a new airport has been taken up in the interest of some vested quarters who are not being able to build high-rises on their properties in Dhaka city as those fell within the air funnel (the path for aircraft landing and takeoff).

Another expert however said although Shahjalal is capable of meeting the air traffic demand for the next 10 years, another airport of international standard is needed as a back-up, because if something goes wrong in Shahjalal that will have a huge impact on the city as it is within the city limits.

Officials of the civil aviation and tourism ministry also argued for constructing a new airport, but their reasonings were a little different.

They said the existing infrastructure of airports in Bangladesh is not sufficient to meet the future air traffic demand. Shahjalal is the busiest airport of the country which handles 80 percent of the country's total air traffic.

They also said the airport has a single runway, and its annual passenger handling capacity of 80 lakh is inadequate. The size of its passenger terminal building is too small for implementing the modern five-level security detail, they argued.

Besides, the airport is surrounded by urban residential areas and the cantonment zone which restrict its future expansion possibilities. Shahjalal is also not capable of handling modern jumbo aircraft like Airbus 380, they added.

One Caab official however said, seeking anonymity, that to make Shahjalal capable of handling landing and takeoff of Airbus 380, the existing runway only needs to be slightly altered.

Experts argued that the existing 1,500 feet runway of Shahjalal could be extended by another 1,000 to 1,500 feet allowing aircraft to takeoff and land with full fuel and passenger load. They also said the airport was built keeping a provision for a parallel runway, and it is still possible to build a second runway by relocating some of the surrounding houses through compensating the owners sufficiently.

When reminded that the new airport will have an option for a third runway, they said a third runway is only required to accommodate cross-wind landing, but Bangladesh does not require that as the wind always blows here either from the south or the north.

They said busiest Frankfurt and Heathrow airports each are now handling more than three crore passengers annually with two runways each.

They also suggested proper utilisation of unused land acquired for Shahjalal, shifting of the cargo village to the north, making another terminal building on the south, and proper use of the empty space opposite the Caab office.

The experts said if the existing category-1 Instrument Landing System (ILS) is upgraded to category 2 in Shahjalal, aircraft will be able to land even in deep fog.

Giving an example of how Shahjalal's development was overlooked, a Caab official said an ILS was installed for the runway around three years back, but that could not be made operational yet due to a shortage of fund.

On future expansion of the passenger terminal building to meet future demand, the aviation experts said Shahjalal has sufficient land for that. They questioned if the land was not sufficient, why the government then leased out 130 acres of airport land to a private organisation.

They suggested more use of Chittagong Shah Amanat International Airport as well, which has a capacity of handling 80 lakh passengers, but utilising only 30 percent of that.

About the government's desire to make a regional air traffic hub like Dubai and Singapore out of the new proposed airport, the experts said, Dubai and Singapore became such hubs based on their own airliners' business volume first and foremost.

Source: New airport not required

And if I were you, I'd worry about these guys:

The point behind the entire project is not about the benefit of Bangladesh itself. It's about Hasina and her ilks along with their 'cut'. Notice the name of the proposed airport.

There are better things to invest in you know.

Why build something since there already is one that is enough to meet present and future capacity? And further by upgrading the current airport. Here's a report from a group of aviation experts, and they were spot on.

Source: New airport not required

And if I were you, I'd worry about these guys:

The point behind the entire project is not about the benefit of Bangladesh itself. It's about Hasina and her ilks along with their 'cut'. Notice the name of the proposed airport.

Whatever... that dispute is a old story and new site has been choosen n it is near the padma bridge site at char jannat in madaripur.

Apart from that it will be invested by foreign investors not by Bangladeshi government.

Priority on char

2011-08-19__f02.jpg

The new airport has not been built yet. Obviously the investors will invest the money to make it profitable and obviously to make the airport a regional and global hub which kolkata airport will never be able to become.

If you dont factor in what Kolkata can offer, you will have large capacity that will go unused.

Kolkata airport modernisation to be complete by end of 2011

The Rs 2,300-crore modernisation project of the NSC Bose International Airport here would be completed by the end of next year, airport officials said on Tuesday. “We have already completed 42.5 per cent of the airport's modernisation project and the rest is expected to be completed by the end of 2011”, Kolkata airport advisory committee's chairman Saugata Roy told reporters. “In 2009-10, the airport handled 80 lakh passengers. Post upgrading, it would be able to handle two crore passengers annually,” he said.

Kolkata airport modernisation to be complete by end of 2011

And again thanks to Zabanya for this link : New airport not required

If you dont factor in what Kolkata can offer, you will have large capacity that will go unused.

And again thanks to Zabanya for this link : New airport not required

There are different opinions. But if bangladesh government can get it as foreign investment what is the problem... Here, BNP tried to politicized the issue. Obviously bd government should not invest its own money here. If bangladesh can become a regional and global hub it will also bring economical benefit which current airport can not bring.

To zabanya new airport has been planned not only to meet local demand but also to meet international demand. Current airports cargo handling capacity is not adaquate.

N for your info Kolkata airport is just going through an upgradation thats it but if the new airport is being built it will be equiped with facility like Singapore or Dubai airport.

Lstly most of the protest has been initiated by BNP to make sure the government can not build the airport during their time what this government was intending to do and planned to build it by 2013.

Whatever... that dispute is a old story and new site has been choosen n it is near the padma bridge site at char jannat in madaripur.

Apart from that it will be invested by foreign investors not by Bangladeshi government.

Priority on char

Of-course they'll invest if profitable. Right now, they are only doing pre-feasibility assessments. And I doubt if it'll be fully feasible. Again, $7 billion is a lot of money. People would think carefully before investing that much money. It's not a simple case of charity.

There already are 3 international airports, along with 7 domestic ones. And 9 unused ones. Decentralize economic development, and you have all the airport operations swinging to full potential. And then, they can think of a new mega airport.

Having a well developed railway is also crucial for any economy, which the current AL government isn't doing anything about (and sadly the same for the BNP), and been that way ever since the British era!

As I said, this airport is only about Hasina and her dad. She's real busy creating a personality cult out of him by all means.

My point is, that money can be better utilized for more feasible purposes.

To zabanya new airport has been planned not only to meet local demand but also to meet international demand. Current airports cargo handling capacity is not adaquate.

Wrong.

There are different opinions. But if bangladesh government can get it as foreign investment what is the problem... Here, BNP tried to politicized the issue. Obviously bd government should not invest its own money here. If bangladesh can become a regional and global hub it will also bring economical benefit which current airport can not bring.

People are not so foolish to invest when they can see several problems in the basic business model. Ifs and buts cant get you investment. It is a strong business case that brings in investment. Sorry to say but
1. the airport plan of 7 billion is not cost effective
2. the existing airport is over capacity under utilised
3. Small investment can modernize and cater to traffic for the next 25 years (why invest 7 billion)
4. Nepal, Bhutan, India, China and Burma have regional interests in air traffic and competition will be factored before investment.
5. If India has a good airport ready before the airport work in Bangladesh starts, then you know where the investors will head.

N for your info Kolkata airport is just going through an upgradation thats it but if the new airport is being built it will be equiped with facility like Singapore or Dubai airport.

15zzexpansionbigsp3.jpg

Lstly most of the protest has been initiated by BNP to make sure the government can not build the airport during their time what this government was intending to do and planned to build it by 2013.

Looks shaky before it starts

Just one question. Bangladesh airport has less traffic than kolkata. After investing whopping 7 billion dollars from where will they get profit.?

Didn't you heard. They plan to convert this airport to a hub much like Singapore or Dubai. All I can say is that "Good Luck".

It is possible, but not with the current leaders we have now. For that we will need a leader with genuine vision.

What??? In 2010 Kokata served only close to 40000 MT of cargoes whereas in 2008-9, Dhaka served 169000 MT of cargoes which should be now more than 200,000 MT.
Besides Dhaka serve most of the international passenger and charge every passenger 120 dollar per departuare whereas Kolkata serves domestic passenger, can charge passenger close to nothing.

What??? In 2010 Kokata served only close to 40000 MT of cargoes whereas in 2008-9, Dhaka served 169000 MT of cargoes which should be now more than 200,000 MT.
Besides Dhaka serve most of the international passenger and charge every passenger 120 dollar per departuare whereas Kolkata serves domestic passenger, can charge passenger close to nothing.

You are comparing a city to a COUNTRY.....and even then we have parity......if that doesn't prove you are a pathetic attention seeking kid...i don't know what will...

Where it came from? You mean parity??? Just build 23 airports with equal size of Dhaka then come to call it a parity. Pathetic.