Govt asks economist Atif Mian to step down from Economic Advisory Council

PTI needs to do a proper postmortem as to which individuals were involved within lobbying this man name for this key government position. And deal with them with Iron fist. Atif, through his tweets already made mockery of the constitution of Pakistan and showed his state of mind and agenda. You simply cannot have people in key post who do not agree with the constitution of Pakistan and it's laws, PERIOD. Nothing to do with with anyone belief, all should submit to constitution of Pakistan without any ifs and buts.

Do you believe in collective punishment? Would you like to get fcuked by UK government for the actions of some Muslims in the country like the London bombers? Would you appreciate legalized discrimination against Muslims in UK. Would you like Sadiq Khan Mayor of London being removed from office because he is a Muslim?

Would you?

No I do not believe in collective punishment. I do believe that Qadyanis should be part of resolving the issues Pakistan is facing and will face however this victim card playing by them needs to stop. There are laws and they have to abide by them, such as declaring themselves to be Qadyanis as per law just like all minorities declare their faith.

You being a student of law, I would expect you to understand this part of compliance with the law.

I think to be fair we can't have a revolution in Pakistan. Nearly four decades of cultivating extremism since Bhutto's days in 1970s means ths type of thinking has permeated deep into the fabric of society. But change will come in increments. Maybe in the next government or the one after enough of other priorities will have been sorted to that things like this can be taken head on. For now education, poverty, health, economy are top of the list.
We can’t get rid of them ( civil Govt )
Pakistan Army need to be take tough action on them they are same like TTP imposing their demands forcefully terrorizing public and whole Govt. That Khadim guy is what? A terrorist alwaays threatening rit of state openly why Army can’t take action if they are so sincer to hunt down economic terrorism that Mulla and his types are all responsible too to stopping Pakistani economy other way around. Rahil Sahib ne sahi danda diya hua inko Bajawa Sahib don’t have ballz to handle with them instead one of his General was distributing money to their supporters. Sad affairs of state.
There are only 10% who keeping all state insititues in their foot mulla burqa and mulla pen di siri Sharm ati hai inko even calling Mulla. We can’t go forward if having them around they are not hurdles in the way they Chains in our foots to move forward.
See Malaysia Indonesia Turkey the prime examples AlhamdoLillah they are all Muslims too much better in many sense than us, the Govts there keeping that sxit tightly to not mess around in state affairs and all above countries growing up and up.
Look at us where we standing.

Constitution is not above the faith so constitution cannot decide faith. So when constitution does this mistake, its the duty and right of every sane citizen to comment on it and point out the mistakes
Thats called constructive crticism and not propaganda

Constitution is not above the faith so constitution cannot decide faith. So when constitution does this mistake, its the duty and right of every sane citizen to comment on it and point out the mistakes
Thats called constructive crticism and not propaganda

Then why do people bash those who put Religion before Country?

Do you even know the credentials of Atif Mian? Is there no other Pakistani on the list on which Atif Mian was featured

For jahil people like you, I'll post the list of IMF's 25 Brightest young economists, read the list and let me know if you see any other Pakistani there.
https://www.ibtimes.co.uk/imf-lists-25-brightest-young-economists-1462827

Paindu jahils are the reason Pakistan it is the way it is. Jahils like you would rather have a Khadim Rizvi type madarchod in the economic council than a guy who actually knows economics.

That's a rubbish list. Not one Chinese?

Sure Mr. Mian might be a good economist, but he didn't bring anything extraordinary to the table, he is one of many economists who were to form the economic advisory council. Him and his skills are obviously replaceable and was definitely not worth upsetting the majority.

Really I am pretty sure you would have given same advice to Hazrat Abu Bakar RA when he decided to wage war against those false PROPHETS and their followers after RASOOL SAW.

No it doesn't if you want to see blood bath because you are too thirsty for for Blood your issue. but Imran is leader of nation he is not going to let thousands people murdered just to please ego of some liberals

Those Wars Were Legitimate B'Coz Those Self Styled "Prophets" Waged War Against The Islamic State.That Is Why Syedina Sideeq-e-Akbar Waged War Against Them.

Atif Mian's Situation Is Different He Is Not Waging War Against Pakistan He Is Just One Among Near Two Dozen Advisors.And He Has No Executive Power.

The Hypocrites Creating Noise Had No Issue When Qadianis Were Chairman FBR and Secretary Finance

The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) government has asked Princeton University economist Atif R. Mian to step down from the Prime Minister Imran Khan-led Economic Advisory Council (EAC), PTI Senator Faisal Javed Khan announced.

The decision follows mounting pressure from religiopolitical parties against the appointment of Dr Mian, who is an Ahmadi.

According to a Friday morning tweet by Senator Javed, Mian has agreed to give up his position on the council. A replacement will be announced later, he added.

Minister of Information Fawad Chaudhary later confirmed the development, saying the government has decided to withdraw the nomination of Dr Mian from the EAC because it wants to avoid division.

"The government wants to move forward alongside scholars and all social groups, and it is inappropriate if a single nomination creates an impression to the contrary," he tweeted.

In a second tweet, Chaudhry said the ideal state, according to Prime Minister Khan, is of Madina and that the premier and members of his cabinet hold Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) in high esteem.

"Khatm-i-Nabuwwat [belief in the finality of the prophethood] is a part of our faith and the recent success achieved by the government in the matter of blasphemous sketches is reflective of the same connection," he wrote.

The appointment of Dr Mian of Princeton University (Department of Member Economics and Woodrow Wilson School of Public Policy) to the 18-member EAC set up to advise the government on economic policy was opposed by some individuals and groups, including Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP), who objected to his Ahmadi faith.

The news of his removal from the body comes as a surprise since the PTI government had only three days ago defended the academic's nomination, saying in categorical terms that it will "not bow to extremists".

"Pakistan belongs as much to minorities as it does to the majority," Information Minister Chaudhary had told a press conference in Islamabad, amidst a vicious online campaign targeting Dr Mian for his Ahmadiyya faith.

Chaudhry had taken to Twitter to recall that "Quaid e Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah appointed Sir Zafar Ullah [also an Ahmadi] as Foreign minister of Pakistan; we'll follow [the] principles of Mr Jinnah, not of extremists."

His thoughts were echoed by Minister of Human Rights Shireen Mazari, who tweeted: "Exactly. Well put indeed. Time to reclaim space for the Quaid's Pakistan!".

Smear campaign
A social media smear campaign had erupted against the economist's appointment, with many calling for his removal.

A call-to-attention notice had also been submitted in the Senate by opposition parties against Mian's inclusion in the EAC. The notice bore the signatures of the PML-N, Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal and the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party members.

No member of the PPP had signed the document, with the party making it clear that it would not be part of a witch-hunt based on someone's faith.

A large number of detractors had also shown support for Mian, saying that one's religion should not factor into their professional qualifications or employment.

Source: Dawn

Horrendous decision by PTI! This is on Amir liaquat levels. First you greatly defend putting a minority on an important advisory position and then later on ask him to step down just because some extremist f**ks can't shut up about their hate for a certain minority.. He wasn't even in the govt proper but just an advisor.. seriously everyone who thinks like this can go f** themselves.. this will further encourage Ahmedi prosecution that the community is currently facing.. stay on your gotdamn decision that you made and defended PTI. First actually bad decision by the govt. since its inception. what the hell were they thinking!? Ditching an important advisory asset due to some extremist nuts doing baqwas?

Ager itni nafrat karto ho Ahmedi's seh to Pakistan seh nikal kyon nahi dayta un ko? retarded nation
Still for most Pakistanis India is the worst place to be a minority. If this happened in India then the liberal idiots of India and the common Pakistanis would not have spared a single chance of abusing India. No matter what, India will be the best place for people of every faith while Pakistan is a hellhole for minorities.

A wise decision at the end. I was fearing that foolish people around IK would advise him to 'brave it out' just like all other controversies.
But sense prevailed and PTI responded to the sensitivities of the nation. Nations only progress when they don't comprise their core values to appease others.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1431495/g...n-to-step-down-from-economic-advisory-council

I would love to witness the mourning and outrage of the desi liberal and Qadiyani party now. Let it commence [emoji23]View attachment 497126

Regardless of whether one agrees with the decision or not, it would appear to the impartial observer that the naya Pakistan looks just like the purana Pakistan thus far. Tabdeeli? Nope.

Bad day for Pakistan with the withdrawal of Atif Mian's appointment to the EAC. The pragmatist in me understands the need to deal with the many, many pressing issues Pakistan is facing, especially economic, that will require hard, unpopular decisions, and that this issue will become a flashpoint that will suck political capital away from the PTI to make those decisions, but still very, very disappointing & sad. Another win for extremism. Change needs to be started at the grass roots, through regulation of mosque & madrassas, but given past opposition to any such moves, I don't see opportunity for progress on these till the economic issues are addressed, which might not be possible until a second PTI term.

Regardless of whether one agrees with the decision or not, it would appear to the impartial observer that the naya Pakistan looks just like the purana Pakistan thus far. Tabdeeli? Nope.
From a social perspective, yes - it appears the socio-cultural issues will take a lot more time and a much more powerful government to address.

From an economic and governance perspective? Time will tell.

From a social perspective, yes - it appears the socio-cultural issues will take a lot more time and a much more powerful government to address.

From an economic and governance perspective? Time will tell.

What can one man do when major portions of society are as rabidly intolerant as they have become?

Regardless of that sad reality, I agree with you that the economic performance takes priority above all else for now. The decision to go to IMF or not, or other avenues to stabilize the balance of payments and then get the economic output going again will be all important.

As I have said before, six months to formulate policies and then two years for the results to become evident would be a fair amount of time without any rush to judgement.

Then why do people bash those who put Religion before Country?
I dont bash people who put religion before country. I bash those who hijack country and its institution on the name of religion. Let the state run and put religion on side.
Its one's choice if they want to put religion above country in their personal lives (personally I would put religion above country) they should be respected but not allowed to hijack state based on their preference.