Got more love and affection in India than Pakistan: Shahid Afridi

urdu ke kehawat hai.. khush amad buri bala hai.:)
botlain phir bhi parain gi match mein .. jo marzi ker afridi in ki ramz nahi badal sakti .. yeh under say indian hain.

It would have been better if he would just have said we have gotten way more love in India this time than any time previously instead of bringing his home country and making a comparison between the two because there is none. No matter how bad Pakistan is, you will have to return to Pakistan.
Its a bad choice of words for him and we should move on. Lets not put un due pressure on our team. Lets see what they do.

Sorry Afridi, no IPL contract is on the offer.
You never really understood his remarks now did you? great move by Afridi.
True he is no more the player as he was long back but if we rewind ourselves to pre T20 arena, the ODI actually showed glimpses of Explosive Cricket post 1996 world Cup where Sanath Jayasuriya and Romesh Kaluwitharana (excuse me if there is a spelling mistake) showed how to score maximum in first 15 overs playing attacking cricket. In came during that time a young man who stunned the world with a 37 ball century. Sadly, that type of innings could not be repeated again. Even if you see his classic 141 against Indiaa in Chennai 1999, it was magic.

Sadly, Boom Boom Afridi is not very consistent and bcz of that his stats dipped.. He was in a league of his own.. At one time i thought Subcontinent had 3 very destructive openers - Sanath Jayasuriya, Virender Sehwag and Shahid Afridi.

Another player who due to a personal crisis stopped playing was Saeed Anwar. At one time, he along with Sachin were unstoppable.. Anwar role till today could not be replicated by any other opener.

Afridi brief stats
View attachment 298624

View attachment 298625
Shahid Afridi | Pakistan Cricket | Cricket Players and Officials | ESPN Cricinfo

If you see recent matches in fen and March 2016, in all 10 matches of T20, he picked up 9 wickets inclusive of one 5 wicket haul, but if i remove it the rest 4 wickets dont justify a very strong case for him in the squad as an all rounder, primarily bcz he is not a miser baller whose spell is used as containment against flow of runs. Also he scored 56 runs in 6 innings with 38 in one inning and rest not being significant contribution...

This is where he is becoming a burden..

Now look at his test career
View attachment 298629
Batting records | Test matches | Cricinfo Statsguru | ESPN Cricinfo

View attachment 298630
View attachment 298631View attachment 298632
View attachment 298633
Batting records | One-Day Internationals | Cricinfo Statsguru | ESPN Cricinfo

This is his T20 career
View attachment 298634
Batting records | Twenty20 Internationals | Cricinfo Statsguru | ESPN Cricinfo

From 2014 onwards in 2014,2015,2016 his contribution above 20 rs is as follows

2014 - 20*,22,28 - 3 scores in 7 matches, 1 DNB
2015 - 45,24,29 - 3 scores in 10 matches
2016 - 23 - 1 score in 7 matches , 2 DNB

So 7 20+ scores in 24 matches with 3 DNB from 2014-2016 present day
This is where its hurting pakistan

A good question to wonder is - Afridi in either of 6,7,8 position - Is he batting too much lower.. Perhaps 5,6 position suits him better as that may give him 15-20 balls to play and he can get 10 good hits of 6s and 4s with that many balls.

Hope T20 WC sees him in good form

@WAJsal @anant_s

He has said he needs to perform with the bat, if we look at the 1009 World Cup-Afridi was our hero like Yuvraj was in 2007 for India. Afridi got 50's in last two games got some wickets. He needs to perform. Plus, he has also said that he will try to come up the order.

He is being a good captain and a good diplomat. Of course he has to talk nicely in the host country. Indians do the same when they tour. You don't go and say - "Hey we are here for the World Cup - we don't like your country and your fans are morons". Pretty much any cricketer who tours Bangladesh probably thinks their fans are complete idiots but they are not going to say that.

The word that comes to my mind for Afridi is the Urdu word " BOUNGA ".....:crazy:

I think he should talk less. Every time he lets his mouth run off like a " runaway train " , he comes up with such jewels.

zahir hai india main kic ny pochna hai k asia cup main jo gand dala hai ucki kya waja thi?

179769_899015976863783_2321489625069709080_n.jpg

12832582_856589574466505_7653049180345508922_n.jpg

It would have been better if he would just have said we have gotten way more love in India this time than any time previously instead of bringing his home country and making a comparison between the two because there is none. No matter how bad Pakistan is, you will have to return to Pakistan.
Its a bad choice of words for him and we should move on. Lets not put un due pressure on our team. Lets see what they do.
bhai banda jazbati ho gaya tha.. jaane do !

Apart from this, i have found Afridi a very mature cricketer after Inzamam. His comments and reactions are always mature and balance.

His words had another Meaning .... Die hard moment for Pak cricket lovers ... After Match he had to come back his country also ...

Leave Shahid Afridi alone.. He is just making his retirement plan! :coffee: