Explosion in Karachi

Over 10,000 jobs, Rs30bn lost to arson in Karachi

KARACHI: Over 10,000 people have lost their jobs because of a blaze that gutted between 2,000 and 3,000 shops located between Light House and Boulton Market in the old city area on Monday, causing an estimated loss of Rs30 billion.

“Thousands will have nothing to do on Wednesday when they return to markets. They were employed in shops destroyed when certain elements reacted violently after the suicide attack on the Ashura procession,” a shop-owner in the affected locality told Dawn on Tuesday.

About an equal number of people, indirectly associated with the shops, would also be either out of work or face difficulty in finding new work for some time.

Most shops in the area were on ‘pagri’ system, instead of full-fledged ownership. They were also not insured.

Initial estimates of losses were about Rs30 billion, but traders were still updating figures in the hope of getting compensation after Interior Minister Rahman Malik set up a Boulton Market Victims’ Fund on Tuesday with the help of the Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI).

The affected shopkeepers cried at a meeting held at the KCCI with Mr Malik. Senior MQM leader Farooq Sattar was also present.

KCCI President Abdul Majid Haji Mohammad said that survey forms had been given to the affected shopkeepers to file details of losses, nature of business, ownership, rent and pagri, CNIC and income tax details.

“These details will be provided to Nadra to ascertain whether the claims are genuine before payment of compensation,” he said.

He said the interior minister did not mention the amount of the fund as he was waiting for the prime minister’s approval.

The KCCI president said that more than 10,000 people working in the shops had lost their jobs.

He, however, recalled that the government had not compensated the traders who had suffered heavy losses on Dec 27, 2007, after the assassination of former prime minister Benazir Bhutto and destruction of the plastic market by a fire a few years ago.

“Only those companies or units were compensated which were insured,” he added. It is difficult to predict the impact on the supply of various items, including medicines, plastic, paper and artificial jewellry, to the retail market after the devastation. Traders said that supply would definitely be hit, especially of plastic and medicines.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect...37;2C000-jobs,-rs30bn-lost-to-arson-029-hh-05

In Raiwind Ijtema never bomb blast happened although some people tried many times , because two months earlier they started preperation for gathering and always they have proper security arrangment for estimated 15 lac people.

But when procession of hundred thausand people is moving it is practically impossible to block all roads of 10 KM route length.

This is very thoughtful that No blast or even any attempt has been so far on more than one million(claim) ijtima of tableghee in raiwind .WHY?????
They also claim this that is most gathered muslim ijtima after hajj(which is not true).
Their are more than 9 Millions Hussani has gathered in KARBALA,IRAQ on 10 Muharram. Can we imagine a security measures in IRAQ????

This is very thoughtful that No blast or even any attempt has been so far on more than one million(claim) ijtima of tableghee in raiwind .WHY?????
They also claim this that is most gathered muslim ijtima after hajj(which is not true).
Their are more than 9 Millions Hussani has gathered in KARBALA,IRAQ on 10 Muharram. Can we imagine a security measures in IRAQ????

I think tableghee have no political agenda at all and they gather outside the cite in control environment.

Dawah is mother of all good deeds , it is amar bil marouf nahi munkir, it is the system which clean society from all evils and protect society from terrorism ,aggression ,natural disasters it is such a beautiful thing that every Prophet's objective of life is dawah, inviting people towards Allah so that they could get benfit from mercy and blessings of Allah in this world and new world starting after the end of this universe which is eternal.

Are u and ur ideologist above than prophet(nauzobilah) who implement Prophet's objective which is not so far implemented in the world.
Amar bil Maroof and NAhein munkir should perform with your deeds not with taqreer, and bombs and guns.
Show your deeds atleast 40 years before tableegh as per sunnah of RASOOL(SAWW).

Intresting thing is that they dont allow Police to enter inside Ijtema tants , this is through devine power if you believe.

Now they have divided their ijtema into two parts in six days for better arrangments.

But security is not proper there. even they have help of US forces.

I think the answer is simple. If there had been any attempt in Raiwand will there be any reaction of the intensity which we have seen in Karachi, or any reaction at all? Terrorists try to target those or the places which bring more and more destruction.

A Suicider killed 43, Inured 80. But the reaction has socially killed thousands of labour, destroyed billions. This I will consider a success of the Terrorists, for the acheived what they wanted.

Prior to this, there is one thing which the terrorists tried but failed to acheive, Sectorial riots. After this attack, the Ullama of all sectors played a very viatal role in keeping peace. If there had been a single statment regarding Shia-Sunni conflict the damage would have been more worst and country-wide.

May Allah help us in this time of trouble and pain. May those who departed RIP and injured GWS. Govt. has to play the most important role and nation will not tolerate a non-serious reply of Govt. officials like "We have not burned there shops, why would we compensate them?" A close to this statment was given be R. Malik yesterday.

KIT Over:pakistan:

One thing more. TTP has the religious beliefs which are quite close to T.J. You know most of TTP are Deobandi and most of T.J. also.

This however needs to be clarified that T.J. has on every forum contradicted TTP strongly.

KIT Out

Are u and ur ideologist above than prophet(nauzobilah) who implement Prophet's objective which is not so far implemented in the world.
Amar bil Maroof and NAhein munkir should perform with your deeds not with taqreer, and bombs and guns.
Show your deeds atleast 40 years before tableegh as per sunnah of RASOOL(SAWW).

I am just trying to explain importance of Dawah(Amir Bil Marouf Nahi Munkir) nothing more or less.Only soultion of Muslim Ummah all problems.

One thing more. TTP has the religious beliefs which are quite close to T.J. You know most of TTP are Deobandi and most of T.J. also.

This however needs to be clarified that T.J. has on every forum contradicted TTP strongly.

KIT Out

TTP have similar idealogy of JI ,ie Sufi Muhammad was JI worker .JI or Ahle hadees dont believe in any of four Imams Hanafi,Maliki,Safi,Hambali.

This is shameful event, no doubt there are external factors involved in this.

TTP have similar idealogy of JI ,ie Sufi Muhammad was JI worker .JI or Ahle hadees dont believe in any of four Imams Hanafi,Maliki,Safi,Hambali.

I beg your pardon but according to my knowledge a lot out of TTP and JI follow Deobandi fiqah. This is quite close to the Wahabi fiqah of KSA. That's why we see allegations of KSA supporting Taliban.

I am not contradicting your stance but this is what I know.

KIT Out

KIT Out

Yes! You get closure to one real fact.
Moreover is that these tablieghe had never condemned their jihadi/fasadi taliban brother and had never pass a single statement against suicide terrorist.They are keep doing their foolish job(ringing door bells and snatching youngster to join them).They have no concern about killing of thousands of Muslim with terrorist attacks.They are preaching for namaz and jihad without any concern about the people who are killing these namazis in mosque.

HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE THAT TERRORIST BLAST IN THEIR OWN GATHERING. This is the REAL FACT.

Nation should recognize the silent terrorist in society.Everyone who are not condemning the suicide terrorist is also a Terrorist and doing their job with tablegh of jihad/fisad through ijtima and media too.

Sooner the real faces of terrorist and their allies would expose.The Sacrifices would never be Lose.

Yes! You get closure to one real fact.
Moreover is that these tablieghe had never condemned their jihadi/fasadi taliban brother and had never pass a single statement against suicide terrorist.They are keep doing their foolish job(ringing door bells and snatching youngster to join them).They have no concern about killing of thousands of Muslim with terrorist attacks.They are preaching for namaz and jihad without any concern about the people who are killing these namazis in mosque.

HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE THAT TERRORIST BLAST IN THEIR OWN GATHERING. This is the REAL FACT.

Nation should recognize the silent terrorist in society.Everyone who are not condemning the suicide terrorist is also a Terrorist and doing their job with tablegh of jihad/fisad through ijtima and media too.

Sooner the real faces of terrorist and their allies would expose.The Sacrifices would never be Lose.

I dare disagree.

Tablighi Jama'at turn against Taliban as violence against Pakistani civilians continues​

'Despite having to sleep under tents in cold and inhospitable weather, there is no let-up in our resolve to make this country a cradle of peace, a country free of suicide attacks and explosions.'​

From The Dawn Newspaper:

Inayatullah Khan sits on a dusty rug and prepares to pray at Pakistan's biggest religious gathering of 400,000 Muslims, cursing the Taliban for their 'unholy crusade' against humanity.

Khan travelled all the way from the tribal region of South Waziristan to take part in the four-day event, one of the world's largest Islamic meetings, in Raiwind on the outskirts of Pakistan's cultural capital Lahore.

A resident of Kanigurram, a former Taliban hub that the military says it has captured during its ongoing five-week offensive in the northwest, Khan, 50, accused the Taliban of straying from the path of God and butchering Muslims.

'They call those who refuse to follow their brand of Islam infidels, not knowing they are inviting the wrath of Allah the almighty by killing Muslims, which I call an unholy crusade,' Khan said.

A Muslim whose faith is important enough to make an arduous three-day journey and sleep in a tent for four days, Khan invited the Taliban 'to join us in spreading Islam's eternal message of love, affection and peace.'

The Tablighi Ijtema is an annual feature, founded by religious scholars more than five decades ago and focused exclusively on preaching Islam.

The Thursday-Sunday gathering in Raiwind, near the estate of opposition leader Nawaz Sharif, is being held under tight security due to the campaign of attacks that have swept the country killing more than 2,500 people in two years.

Contingents of police guard the single-carriage road, lined by eucalyptus trees, that links Raiwind with downtown Lahore.

Spread over 150 acres of land with a huge parking space made available for thousands of buses and vehicles, the venue looks like a big tented village where pilgrims sleep, say prayers and eat together.

'Despite having to sleep under tents in cold and inhospitable weather, there is no let-up in our resolve to make this country a cradle of peace, a country free of suicide attacks and explosions,' Khan said.

---

KIT Out