DRDO, Army, kick-backs

I think one cannot clap with one hand alone.

DRDO and Army both are to be blamed for delays but but the projects for Indian Navy are on steam and get delivered nearly on time.

Tells you there is something wrong in the DRDO-Army and DRDO-IAF equation.

First Smerch.....

Ministry of Defence signed two contracts in December 2005 and March 2007
with M/s Rosoboronexport, Russia for import of a total number of 42
SMERCH Multi Barrel Rocket Launcher System (MBRLS) at the total cost
aggregating Rs 2633 crore

The trials of the system were conducted in three phases between June and
August 2002 prior to conclusion of contract in December 2005. In the General
Staff Evaluation (GSE) of the trials, the Director General Quality Assurance
(DGQA) (L) observed that electronic components should be able to function
in operating environment specification of minus 40ºC to plus 50ºC. However,
the maximum temperature recorded during trials was stated to be up to 36ºC
only when the trials were conducted. The need for verification of these aspects
before finalization of contract was emphasized in the GSE.

Seven out of thirteen SOCRIG failed completely during exploitation of sub
systems.
As one sub system costs Rs 50 lakh and is critical for the accuracy of
the system, the matter was taken up with the supplier who suggested to carry
out the product improvement by installing a cooling system at the cost of
buyer.

One of the possible reasons for the failure of SOCRIG was attributed to high
temperature ( 36ºC ) prevailing in Indian field conditions
which suggested that despite
the apprehensions expressed during trial evaluation the system was not tested
at the temperatures stipulated in the contract.

The sub-system DTE is fitted in LV, TLV, CSV and MET Complex for
encrypted data communication. Eleven DTEs each costing Rs 25 lakh reported
complete/partial failures due to defect in the internal component.
The
equipment is critical for the reliability of the system since complete
automation depends on it.

The contract provided for PDI by the DGQA and sixteen personnel were
trained in Russia to carry out inspection.
The PDI could not be carried out
properly as the team members were not exposed to the weapon system in the
short training.

The PDI team involved in inspection of the LVs etc was not permitted by the
vendor to carry out live firing
from the LV (9A – 52 – 2T) supplied owing to
defective wording of the contract.

Failures in Launch Vehicles

In respect of the LVs the failures in tw
o hydro pneumatic device which acts as
a lifting and balancing mechanism of the LV and cost Rs 25 lakh each

==================

Failures in sub system of launch vehicle - SOCRIG

Seven out of thirteen SOCRIG failed completely during exploitation of sub
systems. As one sub system costs Rs 50 lakh and is critical for the accuracy of
the system,

==================

Failure of Data Transmission Equipment (DTE)

The sub-system DTE is fitted in LV, TLV, CSV and MET Complex for
encrypted data communication. Eleven DTEs each costing Rs 25 lakh reported
complete/partial failures due to defect in the internal component.

==================

Deficiencies in Communication system

Radio Set R 171 M supplied by the vendor has a tuning system which was
reported to be more defect prone than other sub systems of radio sets and also
had reduced range.

(Collected from Kunal Biswas's post)

Chindits: Today Defective Russian SMERCH System Comes Under CAG Scanner !

India’s $500M Smerch-M Order: From Russia, With… Love?

Now T-90

Broadsword: The T-90 tank: Piercing the army's armour of deception
Indian T-90 Tanks Struggle in Summer Desert Heat
The Hindu : MBT: imaging devices unable to withstand Indian conditions

When you buy a weapon you have to maintain it. IAF also crashed the MKI and the USAF Hercules as well which has a near perfect record before flying in Indian colours. Problem is in maintenance not the weapon itself.

You have still not explained why countries, which include China, are more interested in "faulty" SMERCH than the "perfect" Pinaka.

Why is Brazil having a better weapons export than India? Brazilian ASTROS is written of with respect in western defence circles while they snigger at Pinaka. Why is that? Are western defence experts also getting kick-backs?

When you buy a weapon you have to maintain it. IAF also crashed the MKI and the USAF Hercules as well which has a near perfect record before flying in Indian colours. Problem is in maintenance not the weapon itself.

You have still not explained why countries, which include China, are more interested in "faulty" SMERCH than the "perfect" Pinaka.

Why is Brazil having a better weapons export than India? Brazilian ASTROS is written of with respect in western defence circles while they snigger at Pinaka. Why is that? Are western defence experts also getting kick-backs?

You're making arguments for just Argument's sake...You're talking about Pinaka,which is a very good weapons and India is pushing this project to a new high..

Sub-Munition warheads successfully tested for Pinaka 1

which sector you belong to kid??Let me guess??Sales??

You're using Salesman's logic.

First,Tavor entered into Indian service in 2005.That was a typo.

That was your stupidity coming out, because you are stupid. What a surprise!!

Weight has no issues...

It certainly has issues. A 5.56 mm caliber rifle without magazine cannot weigh at 4 kg or more.It defeats the logic of moving down to a smaller caliber. Something your small brain cannot comprehend.

IA specifically asked for 3 burst fire and not auto,as they thought full auto is wastage of ammo.

INSAS was conceptualised as a replacement for the SLR. The Jaffna fiasco put home the point that the army needs a smaller and lighter weapon to fight asymmetrical warfare and that weapon should have auto-capability. That is the reason why army purchased kalashnikovs from eastern europe in mid 90s to fight insuyrgency in Kashmir and thank god for that bceuae in 1999 it would be the same kalashnikovs which would come to their rescue.

INSAS comes with not only 30 magazines,but also with these...

INSAS comes with a 20 round magazine. Show pictures of soldiers in active duty (not drills or other PR photo-shoots) where they use drum magazines or STFU.

But in Army's logic,30 round magazine is quite long for a soldier,so they never asked for it.

That's why the very best and elite units of the army use 30 round Tavor rifles. The SPG guarding Modi uses 30 round mag rifles. Indian special police commandos use 30 round mag rifles - and all those rifles have auto firing capability.

Are you naturally this stupid or is this a result of your efforts to cover up for DRDO?

about unreliability,it was problem one and half decades ago.about jamming in cold weather,that problem is solved way long back.kid,please study.you're wasting my time.

That was a problem first reported in Kargil war, as a result of which many Indian army soldiers lost their lives. But since you believe Indian army is so terribly corrupt then for you it would read many corrupt Indian soldiers lost their lives due to INSAS.

INSAS was a failure in Nepal civil war where many Nepali soldiers were killed.

INSAS is a failure in anti-maoists operations where every soldier is cursing and abusing the weapon.

Painting the furniture black from brown does not make any difference on the reliability and functioning of the weapon. Something morons like you fail to understand.

.You're talking about Pinaka,which is a very good weapons and India is pushing this project to a new high..

That is why not a single one has been inducted in the army and not a single country is interested in buying the piece of sh1t weapon system. And by the way, the Pinaka was a failure in Kargil war as well.

You're using Salesman's logic.

At least I am using logic while you are talking through your a$$.

That is why not a single one has been inducted in the army and not a single country is interested in buying the piece of sh1t weapon system. And by the way, the Pinaka was a failure in Kargil war as well.

First of all,I've posted links.and I request to study dedicated threads on INSAS before barking at me..I'll not post any further on this..You're post was reported by the way for abusing me..

about Pinaka..

IA already operates 3 Pinaka Regiments.per year,some 5000 Pinakas are getting produced.along with these,IA wants 6 new Pinaka Regiments..

India to boost its artillery forces with 6 new regiments of Pinaka Multiple Launch Rocket Systems | Defence blog

Pinaka costs RS. 23 million against RS.195 million of M-270 and some Rs100 million for each Smerch.
In fact,Pinaka will replace Smerch soon..

please don't quote me further.I'm allergic to bullshit..

First of all,I've posted links.and I request to study dedicated threads on INSAS before barking at me..I'll not post any further on this..You're post was reported by the way for abusing me..

You are the one who will post lies and you use slur words like "barking" and you dare complain about reporting posts? People living in glass houses throwing stones at others.

IA already operates 3 Pinaka Regiments.per year,some 5000 Pinakas are getting produced.along with these,IA wants 6 new Pinaka Regiments..

The Pinaka only take part in republic day parade like the Arjun tanks.

please don't quote me further.I'm allergic to bullshit..

This coming from the idiot who claimed.

1. Tavor entered service in 2009.

2. Army does not use 30 round magazines because the magazine is "too long"

3. Indian army uses 50-round drum magazine in INSAS rifles.

Any more lies with which you would want to entertain the crowd here?

@KAL-EL @Donatello @Nihonjin1051 @A1Kaid

How would you guys rate the INSAS rifle, Arjun tank and Pinaka among the best in the world?

@GR!FF!N why are you even trying. He does not know to read. He has been given enough links to read. But, then he 'knows' stuff. If you have as much time as I do, then troll him. Its way more fun!

Hey FOOL @Indian Patriot what happened to the queries on

1. Nag 4th generation
2. 41 tenders
3. t90 CAG report?
4. Kaveri embargo
5. Arty problems?

No answers, so blocked people, You FOOL.

as i said earlier if not because of the uber patriots working with DRDO india would have been down the gutters. All hail the almighty DRDO.

All are corrupt accepts fathers of bright kids toiling hard inside DRDO!

Do you have got anything useful to add...........anything??Really,I've gotta give it to your parents or whoever gave you that name!!They sure had foresight............I give them that."PUNIT" - sound like Puny Nitwit - seems like they knew you would grow up to be nothing more a needle d!ck pencil pusher,like what you have proven yourself to be.
And by the way,why didn't you replied to my question whether you ever held a gun or not??It's not like you need to though,it was a rhetorical question anyway..............who would let one hold a gun who's name starts with 'Puny'??

Isi lie bolta hu ki tu rahen day beta,tere se na ho payga yesab.Dudhu pi kar ke so ja mere laal. sayed usse tera beech ka payer thora lamba ho jaye!! :D :D

Do you know the list of problems with T-90 and Smerch??and you're comparing Tavor with INSAS??Tavor is a new gen gun.Tavor entered into service in 2009. :rofl:

somebody,please educate this poor soul..:disagree:

@MilSpec @sancho @Major Shaitan Singh

Actually Tavor and INSAS has got vastly similar range and legality performances,with similar type of internal operations - that both uses gas operated rotating bolts and the in both firearms,the carrier group is driven by long stroke pistons.The added feature in INSAS is its gas regulator valve,which was borrowed from the SLR.What it means is that,if somehow the gas tube or the gas blocks are jammed by foreign body,you do not have to open the whole thing up and clean it.Rather by turning up the regulator and clogging it a little are enough to put them back into action - atleast that was the logic behind fitting the gas regulator.
There are also two added benefits to the above - 1.You can turn off the gas regulator and use it as a bolt action rifle,if you need to use it as a DMR!!By stopping the portion of the gas from entering the gas tube,you can get significantly higher muzzle velocities.
2.If somehow the piston freezes inside the gas tube or the piston spring malfunctions,a shooter could turn off the gas regulator and still use his rifle as a bolt action rifle.(There are exceptions though - if the piston rod gets broken or bent outside of the gas tube,then the above mentioned procedure most probably won't work.)

What do you think Sir @OrionHunter ??Feel free to correct me where ever you think I have said something wrong.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
So now our OP,who is very angry at DRDO,cause apparently some DRDO chap had given him some free anal treatment in the past,is crying out for help from everyone and his grandmother other than the Indians!!A funky way to become an "Indian Patriot" for sure!! :D :D

I think one cannot clap with one hand alone.

DRDO and Army both are to be blamed for delays but but the projects for Indian Navy are on steam and get delivered nearly on time.

Tells you there is something wrong in the DRDO-Army and DRDO-IAF equation.

Or who knows,may the wrong is in the Army and IAF part of that equation??

By the way,people,take a look at this old interview of our Gernail sahab -

Note the discussion related to INSAS from 59 Sec on-wards!!This should put all these nonsense flying about INSAS to the rest.I mean the INSAS haters often say something in the line "Why should we listened to you fanboys when the real pros are speaking against it"??So now take this - the biggest of the pro has spoken in favor of it.And he's not some sorry arse staff officer like that in the fucking DGMF or some armored corps or air defence chap but he belonged to the damn special forces - the very best our country has to offer!!And now lets see what excuse our resident INSAS bashers come up with.What say @punit mia aka "Puny @ss Nitwit" ?? Wanna continue with your favorite "even paramilitary doesn't want INSAS" anymore??

Of course they're not.what do you expect,a low ranking soldier handles these high profile acquisition??Those high ranking officials who handles this section are corrupt.they root for some foreign companies,pushes their product and gets massive benefits.Its quite well known and thats why almost every single acquisitions run into massive corruption.

No,actually even most of high and mid ranking officers,especially the ones commanding formations,are as honest as they come - you know "Jaan jaye but imaan na jaye" types!!But the same can not be told about the ones who draft the qualitative requirements and RFIs!!The prime example being the "Chandigarh gang" (a term coined by Gernail VK Singh sahab and ex RAW officials) in the DGMF!!Subsequent DGMFs have all been dirty,using the Army as their retirement fund and all them belong to a particular state - this has become an open secret these days.

:rofl: Wow! This is sure to piss off this moron!! He need to visit a shrink, pronto!!

Kaha officer sahab??That prick blocked me a long time ago (In his own words, "Now rot forever in my ignore list!! ) . Guess the kid could not handle my special anal treatment anymore!! :rofl: :rofl:

Do you have got anything useful to add...........anything??Really,I've gotta give it to your parents or whoever gave you that name!!They sure had foresight............I give them that."PUNIT" - sound like Puny Nitwit - seems like they knew you would grow up to be nothing more a needle d!ck pencil pusher,like what you have proven yourself to be.
And by the way,why didn't you replied to my question whether you ever held a gun or not??It's not like you need to though,it was a rhetorical question anyway..............who would let one hold a gun who's name starts with 'Puny'??

Isi lie bolta hu ki tu rahen day beta,tere se na ho payga yesab.Dudhu pi kar ke so ja mere laal. sayed usse tera beech ka payer thora lamba ho jaye!! :D :D

Actually Tavor and INSAS has got vastly similar range and legality performances,with similar type of internal operations - that both uses gas operated rotating bolts and the in both firearms,the carrier group is driven by long stroke pistons.The added feature in INSAS is its gas regulator valve,which was borrowed from the SLR.What it means is that,if somehow the gas tube or the gas blocks are jammed by foreign body,you do not have to open the whole thing up and clean it.Rather by turning up the regulator and clogging it a little are enough to put them back into action - atleast that was the logic behind fitting the gas regulator.
There are also two added benefits to the above - 1.You can turn off the gas regulator and use it as a bolt action rifle,if you need to use it as a DMR!!By stopping the portion of the gas from entering the gas tube,you can get significantly higher muzzle velocities.
2.If somehow the piston freezes inside the gas tube or the piston spring malfunctions,a shooter could turn off the gas regulator and still use his rifle as a bolt action rifle.(There are exceptions though - if the piston rod gets broken or bent outside of the gas tube,then the above mentioned procedure most probably won't work.)

What do you think Sir @OrionHunter ??Feel free to correct me where ever you think I have said something wrong.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
So now our OP,who is very angry at DRDO,cause apparently some DRDO chap had given him some free anal treatment in the past,is crying out for help from everyone and his grandmother other than the Indians!!A funky way to become an "Indian Patriot" for sure!! :D :D

Or who knows,may the wrong is in the Army and IAF part of that equation??

By the way,people,take a look at this old interview of our Gernail sahab -

Note the discussion related to INSAS from 59 Sec on-wards!!This should put all these nonsense flying about INSAS to the rest.I mean the INSAS haters often say something in the line "Why should we listened to you fanboys when the real pros are speaking against it"??So now take this - the biggest of the pro has spoken in favor of it.And he's not some sorry arse staff officer like that in the fucking DGMF or some armored corps or air defence chap but he belonged to the damn special forces - the very best our country has to offer!!And now lets see what excuse our resident INSAS bashers come up with.What say @punit mia aka "Puny @ss Nitwit" ?? Wanna continue with your favorite "even paramilitary doesn't want INSAS" anymore??

No,actually even most of high and mid ranking officers,especially the ones commanding formations,are as honest as they come - you know "Jaan jaye but imaan na jaye" types!!But the same can not be told about the ones who draft the qualitative requirements and RFIs!!The prime example being the "Chandigarh gang" (a term coined by Gernail VK Singh sahab and ex RAW officials) in the DGMF!!Subsequent DGMFs have all been dirty,using the Army as their retirement fund and all them belong to a particular state - this has become an open secret these days.

Kaha officer sahab??That prick blocked me a long time ago (In his own words, "Now rot forever in my ignore list!! ) . Guess the kid could not tolerate my special anal treatment anymore!! :rofl: :rofl:
lol cat on hot tin ! verbal diarrhea for each one liner !

The DRDO fan-boys don't know what hit them. They claim that army is compromising national security by going for foreign goods. If Indian goods are so great then let them compare INSAS and Tavor.

And when we are comparing INSAS and Tavor then let us also discuss on the issue of SAM. Indian armed forces use the Spyder and S-300. Does DRDO have anything in working condition (not test prototypes) that can prove better than S-300 itself?

I agree with what you've mentioned. However I would hasten to add that though I've found little or no problem with the INSAS, but over all it is a major disappointment as it is an over weight, complicated, over priced, mediocre rifle.

In the end, it shoots fairly accurately and with reasonable reliability but it's plagued by shitty quality and needless refinements of dubious value.

Bottom line - we could have done so much better! Unfortunately, 'jugaad' is what we're good at!!

The DRDO fan-boys don't know what hit them. They claim that army is compromising national security by going for foreign goods. If Indian goods are so great then let them compare INSAS and Tavor.

Both have got very similar characteristics except the Tavor being a bull-pup!! Other than that..............

And when we are comparing INSAS and Tavor then let us also discuss on the issue of SAM. Indian armed forces use the Spyder and S-300. Does DRDO have anything in working condition (not test prototypes) that can prove better than S-300 itself?

Utter lies!!

S 300 (the PMU2 version to be precise) has never been inducted by the Indian armed forces!!True,the air force did trial this system back in the 90s and it failed the tests miserably!!

But still if you do wanna compare them,then DRDO has got you covered with the AAD!!The AAD has similar performances to the PMU2 but weighs much lower and is sleeker than the former and therefore a single launch trailer can carry six of them compared to 3 round configuration of the S 300!!
And as for Spyder,a similar system can be developed by modifying the existing Astra to form a medium range QRSAM at a very short notice.But there has to be some interests from the armed forces for that to happen!!

lol cat on hot tin ! verbal diarrhea for each one liner !

Oh,and you posted a pretty lengthy reply I see,Mr Puny *** Nitwit!!Ja, ja kar ke dudhu pi!! :D

I agree with what you've mentioned. However I would hasten to add that though I've found little or no problem with the INSAS, but over all it is a major disappointment as it is an over weight, complicated, over priced, mediocre rifle.

So now you are once again ex-military?

Ok, let us both pretend you are indeed military. But the INSAS is a failure has been attested by genuine soldiers, not internet trolls, who fought in Kargil war and in counter-insurgency operations. There is a video shared by TIMES NOW where a wounded paramilitary jawan has been cursing the INSAS saying how it lacks fire power and reliability.

INSAS is obsolete and mediocre and it is the jawans who are paying the ultimate price for the mediocrity of INSAS.

In the end, it shoots fairly accurately and with reasonable reliability but it's plagued by shitty quality and needless refinements of dubious value.

A .303 will have even better accuracy since bolt-action rifles have better accuracy and longer ranges. But being a "ex-military" like you claim I guess you should be knowing that. Forget SMLE, the 7.62x51 mm SLR would have better accuracy, better punching power and the same weight and rounds as the INSAS. So why was the SLR replaced in the first place? At least the SLR does not jam, double feed, break down etc.

There is no refinement in INSAS. It has too many rivets which add unnecessary weight. It is a mix and match of many different rifles and the end result is a failure.

Bottom line - we could have done so much better! Unfortunately, 'jugaad' is what we're good at!!

What DRDO should have done is followed the South Korean and Turkish policy. Be humble, learn from your superior, be accountable and finally create your own weapon - with active foreign assistance if they can't go solo.

Look at the weapons of South Korea. Look at their SP Arty gun. Western defence experts agree it is one of the best tracked 155 mm arty gun in the world if not the best. It can give the German Pzh 2000 a run for its money.

Look at Turkish weapons, their armored vehicles and look at the crap that comes out of DRDO stables.

Yes, weapons are not about looks but efficiency. But what people forget is design is about looks. Compare the POS IFV made by DRDO/ Defense PSU called Abhay and compare that with Turkish or other foreign IFV/APC.

India is lagging behind because of DRDO. If it was not for Larsen and Toubro and everything was left to DRDO ten the hull of INS Arihant would have been incomplete till today and for another 10 years.

I agree to most parts except the one in the bold!!An entry level AR 15,with no optics and rails, costs anywhere between 1k - 1200 USD!!Compare to that,a new built INSAS 1B1 costs around 24-26000 INR!!And both are pretty equally matched in terms of effective range and other performance parameters!!And in my opinion,that's a competitive enough pricing!!

True,if one cleans it properly and more often,it will never fail one.But then again,an NCC cadet always gets more free time than a soldier on the field!!
But you can not blame the designers for the shitty quality control and lack of further development,now can you??That was the job of the OFB and they failed in it miserably.Too bad people can not distinguish between the designer and the manufacturer and lump them into the same bracket!!

Can never contend that!!The new Multical Rifle is a proof enough that given the funds (and a lil bit of flogging of course) DRDO can do wonders!!

Ok, let us both pretend you are indeed military. But the INSAS is a failure has been attested by genuine soldiers, not internet trolls, who fought in Kargil war and in counter-insurgency operations. There is a video shared by TIMES NOW where a wounded paramilitary jawan has been cursing the INSAS saying how it lacks fire power and reliability.

INSAS is obsolete and mediocre and it is the jawans who are paying the ultimate price for the mediocrity of INSAS.

A .303 will have even better accuracy since bolt-action rifles have better accuracy and longer ranges. But being a "ex-military" like you claim I guess you should be knowing that. Forget SMLE, the 7.62x51 mm SLR would have better accuracy, better punching power and the same weight and rounds as the INSAS. So why was the SLR replaced in the first place? At least the SLR does not jam, double feed, break down etc.

There is no refinement in INSAS. It has too many rivets which add unnecessary weight. It is a mix and match of many different rifles and the end result is a failure.

What DRDO should have done is followed the South Korean and Turkish policy. Be humble, learn from your superior, be accountable and finally create your own weapon - with active foreign assistance if they can't go solo.

Look at the weapons of South Korea. Look at their SP Arty gun. Western defence experts agree it is one of the best tracked 155 mm arty gun in the world if not the best. It can give the German Pzh 2000 a run for its money.

Look at Turkish weapons, their armored vehicles and look at the crap that comes out of DRDO stables.

Yes, weapons are not about looks but efficiency. But what people forget is design is about looks. Compare the POS IFV made by DRDO/ Defense PSU called Abhay and compare that with Turkish or other foreign IFV/APC.

India is lagging behind because of DRDO. If it was not for Larsen and Toubro and everything was left to DRDO ten the hull of INS Arihant would have been incomplete till today and for another 10 years.

Another gem!!Must be the effect of all those hefty doses of dog semen and cow piss,he has been administered with through out his life!! :P

u weant the mighty babudom of india to be humble ! do not u know the real patriots . the real soldiers of india are tour bureaucrats ! the army is only here to loot the money of taxpayers and compromise national security. we are independent only because fathers of @Omega007 sloggin their *** within DRDO to protect the nation.