CATIC bidding L-15B for PAF'S LIFT requirements

Man get those dudes at the Kamra aviation city to pitch an indigenous LIFT.

Let's just upgrade the K-8.

L-15 is the next version of K-8, I believe. The question is whether PAF is happy to turn the two stage K-8 -> FT-7 process to a single step L-15. If that makes sense, then great. But L-15 relies on a Ukrainian engine which raises red flags.

We are currently not in the game of 2 different things. Money matters and 2 seater is same thing for us. :)
Gift kartay hain kiya?
Bhai Sharp shooter sqn esse hi nhi aya . apko paf vision 2030 ka patta hai? ;)
Lift is to come swal yeh hai konsa atta hai aur kab:D

L-15 is the next version of K-8, I believe. The question is whether PAF is happy to turn the two stage K-8 -> FT-7 process to a single step L-15. If that makes sense, then great. But L-15 relies on a Ukrainian engine which raises red flags.
The Chinese domestic version is ready...

PAF is looking to replace the F7s in Sharp Shooters with a cost effective solution. L-15 is one such solution

Sharp shooters is an OCU unit, will have JF-17Bs. LIFT will go to PAF Asghar Khan Academy OR to No. 1 Sqn Rahbars currently operating K-8P as 'Fighter Conversion Unit (FCU)'.

PAF's specs require an afterburning engine which is more advanced than then current K-8. Training with afterburner is what qualifies as fighter conversion.

Basically, PAF is looking to replace the F7s in Sharp Shooters with a cost effective solution. L-15 is one such solution, but so is FTC-2000. To me, FTC looks like younger brother to Thunder, but maybe I am wrong.
FTC-2000 is more preferred. Source : ex-PAF pilot who instructed on FTC-2000 (back in 2016).

L-15 is still a stable platform that would work well. If the aircraft meets the high requirements for FCU/OCU.

FTC-2000 is more preferred. Source : ex-PAF pilot who instructed on FTC-2000 (back in 2016).

L-15 is still a stable platform that would work well. If the aircraft meets the high requirements for FCU/OCU.

Interestingly enough, Wikipedia describes FTC-2000 as basically an FT-7 with front fuselage replaced, and with side intakes and DSI. The engine remains the same. On the other hand, L-15 is the next iteration of K-8. In both cases, upgrading the MRO infrastructure should have similar effort.

Now an interesting proposition. We have deep expertise in MRO of the Snecmas in Mirages. So what if we take L-15, an marry it with the Snecmas?

Thats what I have said.

I thought Sharp Shooters will become the FCU in the future with LIFT??? Because F-7s will be replaced completely, so no need for an F-7 OCU.

But we will need a JF-17 OCU, Sharp Shooters will assume that role. There is already an FCU as No. 1 Sqn Rahbers, they will be given the new LIFTs