Breaking: Search Operation at 90

Biklul ... People give to KKF by their own wish n will ... Bohat deewanay hain bhai yahan MQM k ........

ab ap KKF par aa gae, pehlay sach bola, lakin ab cover up ko aa gae :D

Good ... We indeed missed you :D Ek bad tameez aadmi bhi tau hona chahiye na group mai :P

mohabat hae apki, warna ham to bas ayena he dekhatay hain :D

Chal bay drama baaz ...

dafa ho yar itnay dil say bola tha... khair, Eid Mubarak :)

This attitude never took Pakistan anywhere good back and it won't now. Recognize, introspect and learn from your mistakes. Try not to repeat this: President Yahya Khan at the February conference said "Kill three million of them (Bangladeshis) and the rest will eat out of our hands." -Operation Searchlight

First of all, this Operation is not against the Civilian Population of Karachi. It is against the criminal and terrorist elements that reside in Karachi. You're making your argument even more pathetic by bringing in Operation Searchlight, its like comparing Apples to Oranges. V Corps hasn't left her barracks, there is no martial law, tanks and APC's are not roaming the streets of Karachi.

Second of all, i would love to hear your solution. While you have done a bang up job of bashing and bi**ing of what has been happening which i disagree with, why don't you offer a solution? Should the Rangers withdraw?

Why don't you look at the results? Peace has finally returned to Karachi, crime is down, target killing is down, bhatta khori is down and most importantly there is a sense of calm and peace in Karachi. Not to long ago before the Rangers began their operation, Karachi was an absolute Jungle. 10-15 people killed a day was considered a good day, extortion and kidnapping for ransom was the order of the day. Whoever owned a gun ruled the city. It is only because of the hard-work of the Rangers that normalcy has returned to Karachi and this city is once again becoming vibrant.

Anyways, i am dying to hear your solution. How can we get rid of these terrorist and criminal elements in Karachi without the use of Force?

MQM is a big dog. That is WRONG case buddy its Zardari which is a big dog not MQM as MQM is confined to Karachi only while Zardari has way more Strings to play especially Rangers Authority string is very Dangerous one for Rangers and LEA. MQM RAW link has yet to be proved so there is nothing between RAW and MQM which could be JUSTIFIED over here. Zardari have used his Strings on LEA and got Ayan Ali out as well as Corruption Cases in Pipeline now Rangers wont be Raiding any Govt. Offices again for Anti Corruption. Compromise is DONE and PPP is free to Walk while Establishment is watching.

I said MQM is the biggest dog in Karachi, not in Sindh. The mandate of the Rangers is to go after Criminals and Target Killers, corruption is not part of their mandate. Here is an interesting suggestion, why doesn't MQM raise this issue and pass a resolution that adds corruption into the mandate of the Rangers. Why is MQM quiet on this issue? All you do is whine and bi** but not offer a single concrete solution. Its about time that you act like a mature adult and stop complaining like a mohallay ki aunty.

And be careful about bad mouthing Zardari, not too long ago your Quaid Hazrat Allama Altaf Hussain Pir Syed was taking out rallies to support him.

First of all, this Operation is not against the Civilian Population of Karachi. It is against the criminal and terrorist elements that reside in Karachi. You're making your argument even more pathetic by bringing in Operation Searchlight, its like comparing Apples to Oranges. V Corps hasn't left her barracks, there is no martial law, tanks and APC's are not roaming the streets of Karachi.
MQM is Elected Representative of Majority of Karachiite how can you claim Operation is not against Civilian in Karachi????People of Karachi had ELECTED them to REPRESENT them in Assemblies so trying to Push them to the wall is like Pushing Majority of Karachi to the Wall. That is how Democracy works.
Second of all, i would love to hear your solution. While you have done a bang up job of bashing and bi**ing of what has been happening which i disagree with, why don't you offer a solution? Should the Rangers withdraw?
Musharraf's Tenure Policy of Karachi is the best Solution Available because in that period Karachi had Law and Order under Control as well as Development of Karachi was taking Place in a fast Pace. Ask any Karachiite he would tell you it was IDEAL Period in Karachi.
Why don't you look at the results? Peace has finally returned to Karachi, crime is down, target killing is down, bhatta khori is down and most importantly there is a sense of calm and peace in Karachi. Not to long ago before the Rangers began their operation, Karachi was an absolute Jungle. 10-15 people killed a day was considered a good day, extortion and kidnapping for ransom was the order of the day. Whoever owned a gun ruled the city. It is only because of the hard-work of the Rangers that normalcy has returned to Karachi and this city is once again becoming vibrant.
Karachi was Quite PEACEFUL Throughout Musharraf's Period as well and the law and order problem was CAUSED by Zulfiqar's Mirza when he Distributed Weapons to anti MQM forces and RELEASED lot of Killers just to counter MQM but where is he right now???Oh Yes he is sitting in USA never been QUESTIONED Once. Most Karachiite are More aware of their Trouble Makers and those who work for their Interests while or you Outsider you people rely on PROPAGANDA of those who have FAILED to Challenge MQM Politically in the past hence this all Anti MQM venom comes out. Establishment is not INTERESTED in Solving things here rather they are COMPLICATING a purely ADMINISTRATIVE Issue to POLITICAL One for their Vested Interests.

I said MQM is the biggest dog in Karachi, not in Sindh. The mandate of the Rangers is to go after Criminals and Target Killers, corruption is not part of their mandate. Here is an interesting suggestion, why doesn't MQM raise this issue and pass a resolution that adds corruption into the mandate of the Rangers. Why is MQM quiet on this issue? All you do is whine and bi** but not offer a single concrete solution. Its about time that you act like a mature adult and stop complaining like a mohallay ki aunty.
OK so they were CONFISCATING Land Records from SBCA for finding Target Killers????Ayan Ali Sudden Bail Order after getting Previous Bail Application Rejected was Coincident as well and what about Claimed 2Billion found from a house ALLEGEDLY belongs to Sharjeel Memon by our very own Rangers that was all about Catching Criminals and Target Killers right. Give me a Break here. Its written laud and Clear that they have Made COMPROMISE with PPP in return for Extension so Zardari has put a chain on them to go against him and his Wrongdoings now NAB and Courts will keep PLAYING with Hearings and Corruption cases and Rangers keep on going against MQM till time for Next Extension and Karachiite Keep Suffering due to Sindh Govt. Corruption and Negligence of Federal Govt. on Karachi Development. Buddy maybe you people are too Naive to buy what Establishment Feed you but I am Karachiite and I am Directly EFFECTED by all this development from all sides like all Karachiites.

Anyways, i am dying to hear your solution. How can we get rid of these terrorist and criminal elements in Karachi without the use of Force?

Wait and watch then, the Operation Cleanup started the same and I hope I need not tell you what it became in its later stages with military itself taking the help of criminals and terrorists (nothing new of course, maybe the past experience with importing Tajiks-Uzbeks-Chechen-Arab during the Afghan war was put to use) and utilizing indiscriminate and excessive force. Operation Cleanup (later Operation BlueFox) was designed against some dacoits of Sindh and 72 big fishes, later it became one against a particular ethnic group.The mode of operation is the same as last time, declare operation against all and yet target MQM and Urdu speakers mostly. Selective action is a norm today. Racial slurs and outright abuses are used during raids and the violation of human rights continues. Do you want me to praise this "cure" which is fearful than the disease?

Peace hasn't returned to this city, its temporary calm right up-to the point a more severe problem emerges and the hate against the military intensified. My solution is simple, instead of cutting deals with PPP/others and sparing Zardari, act equally and within the law. That would mean presenting search warrants (Rangers didn't have one for this raid", interrogation without torture (third degree torture is common even on minor suspicion), declaring arrests to the court of law and presenting chalans for further action and no outright killing (a common occurrence with MQM activists). Otherwise, an action to weed out criminals from political parties is appreciated and thought as much needed, just not this biasness.

Do you think that militant wings aren't present with PPP, ANP and the rest?
Militant wings in Karachi are being taken care of across the board. A quick glimpse on the statistics that we have seen clearily shows that the largest number of arrested or killed gangsters do not belong to MQM, but to other parties. So the operation is not limited only to MQM.

PTI might be new to the game, the others are time tested players.
So PTI does not have a militant or gangster wing and hence need no operation against them.

So, the military forgives those for treacherous statements which (according to you) have no previous record? But then again, Munawwar Hasan, Sharif brothers, Zardari, Fazlur Rehman and Asfand Yar-wali have one. Bring the next excuse.
None of the mentioned above hold the whole media hostage to telecast live their hours long dirty and abusive 18+ rants daily. Having said that, we Pakistanis hate all those mentioned corrupt and opportunist politicians anyway.

I think establishment is having the right strategy to tackle one problem at a time. And at the moment tackling the foreigner toad of London , who has gone bonkers and is enticing hatred and terrorism, on priority basis is the right thing to do. We can not allow Indian paid foreigners to hold our largest city hostage at gun point.

Nah, just marched to the capital disturbing law and order, causing damage to the reputation of the country, ...

A Pakistani exercising his constitutional right to protest just like in other democracies in the world. If toad of London were a Pakistani and were arranging largely peaceful sit-ins etc, things would have been different.

If someone has evidence about MQM taking funding from RAW. I suggest that they take it to a court of law and not just claim to have transcripts of some statement given to London police by a MQM leader which they themselves later denied and declared it fake.

It is an old tactic of MQM to disown people or declare things fake if it can cause damage. Nothing new there.
We have seen how countless terrorists who were merely following orders of the toad of London were disowned later on.

Not gonna work this time.

Yes, that concludes it all. Now go into the denial mode and pretend that the race isn't real. The existence or originality of the race isn't to be determined by you, its the right of the people that recognize with it and that figure runs into millions. And its a title, time proves, which was awarded by Pakistanis. Its your policies, racial conflicts and military action that has strengthened it to this point. Either come to terms with it or maintain a view that is neither consistent with reality on ground nor facts. We exist, your not believing it won't undo it or make it untrue.

Indeed, the partition of the subcontinent and 1971 war was an extremely peaceful time to migrate to mainland. Because that is when most Muhajirs arrived here. The rest you mention were sent to Pakistan under a tripartite agreement and there was nothing a bit glamorous about it, as you put it here. If you wish to distort historical facts, at least add a little truth to make it credible because this is nonsense. Furthermore, if you want to curse the Urdu-speakers, be man enough and have the guts to do it openly and explicitly. This hiding between sentences of "lost their golden opportunity", "racial slurs", "centuries old tradition of Lucknow responsible for Shia-Sunni divide" and "organized criminal gangs" serves no purpose. What cowardice is this, cb4? And not so surprisingly, five people have already thanked this post. It appears @notorious_eagle @FunkyGen @Rashid Mahmood @coffee_cup @Major Sam agree with this racial BS in disguise of some correcting the history post. So you people want to convince us of equal treatment, no son of soil bias and Muhajir tag being self given by cursing us, so how does that work? This exact same attitude is the reason why we call us Urdu-speakers and migrants!

And we wont forget this: In its attempts to exterminate the militant core of the MQM, the state resorted to a calculated policy of collective punishment — massive pre-dawn "siege-and-search" operations and house-to-house searches that led to the illegal arrest and detentions of over 75,000 men between the ages of 12 and 50. Most of these men, often innocent relatives or friends of MQM activists, were blindfolded with their own shirts, paraded down to the local police station, and tortured or beaten until their families paid an extraction fee for their release.The state's counterinsurgency measures also included outright murder — in the daily newspaper reports of the deaths of MQM militants, "killed in police encounters" became an accepted euphemism for blatant extra-judicial killings. Since the Muhajir community as a whole bore the brunt of a program of systematic intimidation and harassment by the state, even those Muhajirs who had previously not supported the MQM, or did not believed in the politicization of their Muhajir identity, now felt that they had no choice but to support Altaf's MQM.The Battlefields of Karachi: Ethnicity, Violence and the State

You cant even defend Operation Cleanup done by Pakistan Army, let alone any atrocities in the 1971 war, apparently the lessons gathered from the crimes of Tikka Khan and Operation Searchlight are too deeply latched onto the memory of the military establishment. The reasons for separatism was simple: denial of rights and unfair treatment. Language and culture is a pathetic excuse seeing their contributions for the freedom of this country.

And I can gauge your knowledge of the whole matter by seeing the PIA and Pakistan steels, you won't find a single Urdu speaker in the former literally (I have interned there very recently) and there are few left with Steel Mill. Apparently, the only qualification required for all Federal and Provincial Govt jobs is a certain domicile and that of Karachi isn't considered valid. This "manufacture of facts" is disgusting to say the least, if you are unaware of something, try not to pass it in the hope that none would notice and know it. The son of soils have first and foremost right to jobs in the country, the second rate citizens cant even apply in the first place.

Bengali Language Movement

After the partition of India in 1947 and the establishment of the Dominion of Pakistan, East Pakistan was formed made up 44 million of the newly formed Bengali-speaking people out of Pakistan's 69 million people. Pakistan's government, civil services, and military, however, were dominated by West Pakistanis. In 1947, a key resolution at a national education summit in Karachi advocated Urdu as the sole state language, and its exclusive use in the media and in schools. Opposition and protests immediately arose. Students from Dhaka rallied under the leadership of Abul Kashem, the secretary of Tamaddun Majlish, a Bengali Islamic cultural organisation. The meeting stipulated Bengali as an official language of Pakistan and as a medium of education in East Pakistan. However, the Pakistan Public Service Commission removed Bengali from the list of approved subjects, as well as from currency notes and stamps. The central education minister Fazlur Rahman made extensive preparations to make Urdu the only state language of Pakistan. Public outrage spread, and a large number of Bengali
students met on the University of Dhaka campus on 8 December 1947 to formally demand that Bengali be made an official language. To promote their cause, Bengali students organised processions and rallies in Dhaka.

dr.ziaddunahmah.jpg

A little before 1947, Dr. Ziauddin Ahmed, a former Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh University of India had suggested that Urdu be the state language of the future Pakistan. In opposition, Dr. M. Shahidullah, a noted Bengali linguist of the time from Dhaka University put forward the argument:

Urdu or Hindi instead of Bengali is used in our law courts and universities that would be tantamount to political slavery.

Dr. Shahidullah’s comment was the beginning of the language controversy of Pakistan and the Bengali Language Movement.

As soon as the Dominion of Pakistan came into being, Tamuddun Majlis[1], a cultural society( an organization by scholars, writers and journalists oriented towards Islamic ideology)published a booklet in Dhaka, the capital city of the province of East Bengal or East Pakistan on 15th September 1947 titled “Pakistaner Rashtro Bhasha Bangla na Urdu?” (Is Pakistan’s State Language Bengali or is it Urdu?). In it was put forward:

locationofTM.jpg

1. Bengali language shall be the following:
    1. Medium of instruction in East Pakistan
    2. Medium of court communication
    3. Medium of office communication
  2. The language of the Central Government shall be both Urdu and Bengali (Mazlis 1947: 1-2)
On the 5th of December, 1947, teachers and students of Dhaka University held their first demonstration arguing for their linguistic rights as majority part of the nation of Pakistan. However, on the following day, another protest meeting was held in Dhaka University against the government-sponsored Education Conference in Karachi, West Pakistan which recommended that Urdu shall be the state language. As a consequence, the “Rashtra Bhasha Sangram Parishad”(Bengali for “the state
dhirendra%20nath%20duta.jpg
language committee of action”). The committee aggressively protested the exclusion of Bengali from postal stamps, newly-issued money, coins, and office forms of the Government of Pakistan.

Unfortunately, the West Pakistani leaders who practically controlled the Central Government of Pakistan, ignored the deep-rooted sentiments of the Bengalis and did not allot the rightful place for Bengali in the state affairs. On the second session of the Constituent Assembly of Pakistan held on 25th of February 1948 Mr. Dhirendra Nath Dutta, a member from East Pakistan, moved an amendment on the rules of procedure of the Assembly. The resolution moved to make Bengali a language of the Constituent Assembly along with Urdu and English. Speaking on the amendment, Mr. Dutta told the house:

Bengali is a provincial language but so far as the state is concerned, it is the language of the majority of the people of the state…..out of the sixty-nine million people in Pakistan, forty-four million of the people speak the Bengali language…The state language of the state should be the language which is used by the majority of the people of the state, and for that, I consider that the Bengali language is the lingua franca of our state….I am voicing the sentiments of the vast million of our state, and therefore Bengali should not be treated as a provincial language. It should be treated as a language of the state. (Constitutional Assembly of Pakistan Proceedings 1948: 15-16)

Strong opposition by Liaquat Ali Khan, the Prime Minister, and others led to its rejection on the first day of its session. The Prime Minister’s argument was as follows:

Pakistan has been created on the demands of a hundred million Muslims in the sub-continent and the language of a hundred million Muslims is Urdu…Pakistan is a Muslim state and it must have for its lingua franca, the language of the Muslim nation.(Constitutional Assembly of Pakistan Proceedings 1948: 17)

This started an explosion of anger in the East. “Prime Minister Liaquat Ali Khan’s argument was emotional and fallacious in that the hundred millions of Muslims in undivided India were never a mono-lingual or Urdu-speaking community. Indian Muslims were historically multi-lingual and the Bengali muslims have always outnumbered the Muslims of the other parts of (British) India,” describes member of Press Council of India and author Hiranmay Karlekar. Students of Dhaka University observed a protest on the 26th February, 1948 and an “All Party State Language Committee” was formed. The party scheduled a protest on 11th March. The government however took recourse. As a result, the police used tear gas and lathis (large sticks) and injured hundreds of people. Nearly a thousand people were imprisoned. Jinnah later visited East Pakistan from 19 to 24 March 1948, during which he reiterated his stand that Urdu would be Pakistan’s sole state language and warned Bengalis about the activities of “subversive elements” out to destroy Pakistan. These comments fueled enormous anger and resentment in the hearts of the Bengalis of East Pakistan.

Despite police action, the protests continued unabated until Khawaja Nasimuddin, chief minister of East Bengal signed an eight-point agreement with the committee. Immediately after signing did Jinnah come to visit Dhaka and on 21st March he issued the following:

Let me make it very clear to you that the state language of Pakistan will be Urdu and no other language. Anyone who tries to mislead you is really the enemy of Pakistan. Without one language, no nation can remain solidly tied together and function. Look at the history of other countries. Therefore, so far as the state language is concerned, Pakistan’s shall be Urdu (Jinnah 1948: 89).

However Jinnah’s emphatic support only called upon further protests and then a memorandum was submitted by the committee demanding once more that Bengali be one of the state language, but to no avail. Khawaja Nasimuddin too, contrary to his erstwhile support for the eight-point plan he had signed with the committee, moved the following resolutions in the East Bengal legislative assembly on the 8th of April, 1948:

1. Bengali shall be adopted as the official language for replacing English in the province of East Bengal; and it will be implemented as soon as the practical difficulties are resolved; and
  2. The medium of instruction in educational instructions in East Bengal shall, as far as possible, be Bengali, or the mother tongue of the majority of scholars in the institutions (East Bengal Legislative Assembly Proceedings 1948:165).
The resolutions, adopted by the East Bengal legislative assembly however only aggravated the situation, as the compromised version fell largely short of the normal expectations of the Bengali people. Dr. Shahidullah reacted against the resolution at the first Bengali literary conference of East Bengal held at Dhaka on December, 1948. To quote:

It is true that there are Hindus and Muslims. But what is transcending is that they are in essence Bengali. This is a reality. Nature with her own hand has stamped the indelible mark of Bengali in such a manner on our appearance and language that it is no longer possible to conceal it (Shahidullah 1949).

Shahidullah captured the ethnic and cultural distinction of the Bengali-speaking people of Pakistan. But this fact was adamantly ignored the reality, especially the fact that Pakistan was a multi-lingual state.

Instead of taking steps to quell the anger, the Pakistani government moved to edit the style and diction of the Bengali language by publishing a report in 1950 saying that Sanskrit words from Bengali were to be strictly avoided and Urdu, Arabic or Persian words were to be replaced with them. But Bengali like other Indo-Aryan languages had assimilated large numbers of Sanskrit or old Indo-Aryan words in the course of its thousand years of evolution and it would be impossible now to undo this historical process. The East Bengal language committee also suggested drastic modifications of the Bengali writing system and issued a model chart as a guide. The most important part of the Committee’s recommendation is:

It is true that Urdu can be studied as a second language in the secondary and higher stage of our education in order that we may make the linguistic, social, political and cultural bonds between the two wings of Pakistan closer and deeper (East Bengal Language Committee Report 1949:102-03)

Needless to add, the report was jettisoned by the linguistic scholars and Bengali intelligentsia.

Bhashani supervised over an all-party convention in Dhaka. The convention was attended by prominent leaders like Abul Hashim and Hamidul Haq Choudhury. A broad-based All-Party Committee of Action (APCA) was constituted with Kazi Golam Mahboob as Convener and Maulana Bhashani as its Chairman, and with two representatives from the Awami League, Students League, Youth League, Khilafate-Rabbani Party, and the Dhaka University State Language Committee of Action.

Throughout February the committee held protest meetings. However on February 20th, an order under Section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code prohibiting processions and meetings in Dhaka city was promulgated. As a result an enormous strike erupted on February 21st. At noon, a meeting was held in the campus of Dhaka
University.

Students unified to defy the official ban imposed by the administration hence processions were taken out to stage a demonstration in front of the Provincial Assembly. What followed was a reign of terror but the language movement did not stop. The police and para-military forces started wide-spread tear gas shelling , clubbing then finally shooting the students as they retaliated by batting bricks. The ensuing riot spread to the nearby campuses of the Medical and Engineering colleges. Hundreds were injured, thousands were arrested. At around 4p.m. the police opened fire in front of the Medical College hostel. Five people- Mohammad Salauddin, Abdul Jabbar, Abul Barkat, Rafiquddin Ahmed and Abdus Salam- were killed, the first three being students of Dhaka University.

rally%20in%201954.jpg
Inside the assembly which was holding a meeting then, six opposition members pressed for the adjournment of the House and demanded an inquiry into the incidents. But Chief Minister Nurul Amin urged the House to proceed with the planned agenda for the day. At this, all the opposition members of the Assembly simply walked out in protest. A martyr’s column was immediately raised and the Shaheed Minar (martyr’s monument) was built on the spot where the first student was slain each student killed were declared martyrs as they had laid down their lives for their beloved mother tongue.

After continued unrest and widespread protests, eventually on 7th May 1954, the constituent assembly resolved with the Muslim League's support to grant official status to Bengali. Thus Bengali came to be recognized as the second official language of Pakistan on 29 February 1956, and article 214(1) of the constitution of Pakistan was reworded to "The state language of Pakistan shall be Urdu and Bengali."On December 3, 1955, a national language-research institute- The Bangla Academy, was established. When the Awami League government came to power in 1956, Chief Minister of East Pakistan Ataur Rahman Khan requested Chief Engineer Jabbar and Zainul Abedin to ask famous architect Hamidur Rahman to prepare a plan for a Shaheed Minar. Hamidur Rahman's design provided for stained glass to be used in the columns on which a pattern of hundreds of eyes were to be incorporated through which the sunlight would glow. The floor was to be of marble, so as to show up, or reflect, the moving shadows of the columns as the sun crossed the sky, thus creating a mobile drama of geometric lines and colour from the stained glass. He had thought of inclusion of blood-stained footsteps of the "Shaheeds" (Martyrs) and outsize footprints in black of the aggressor, on the marble. He had kept provision for a clock tower and a well-stocked research library. In the basement gallery of the Minar, he had designed 1,500 sq. ft. of fresco depicting the scenes of the Language Movement, which was in fact one of his masterpieces.

More Sources:

Account of the Bengali Language Movement: Bhasha Andolon
Introduction to the Bengali Language Movement
Bengali Language Movement - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The Lucknow connection

250px-Shia_volunteer_arrestees%2C_Bada_Imambada%2C_Lucknow%2C_April_1939.jpeg

It may shock many Indians to know that the massacre of the Shia in Pakistan since 2002 has been caused by edicts of apostatisation issued by a madrasa of Lucknow. One may also connect the trauma of sectarian killings in Iraq today to a fund moved from Lucknow in the 18th century to construct the Hindia Canal that turned the desiccated Shia shrines of Najaf and Karbala into agricultural land, seducing Sunni nomadic tribes into settling down as Shia farmers, and thus converting Iraq into a Shia-majority country. A recent report on Sunni-Shia riots in Lucknow, appearing in Muslims in Indian Cities: Trajectories of Marginalisation (2012) by Laurent Gayer and Christophe Jaffrelot (editors), speaks of the current Muslim-versus-Muslim sectarian riots in a city where literary Urdu was born at the hands of three great classical poets, Anees, Dabeer and Mir, all of them Shia. Speaking this language in a chaste accent, the majority Sunni Muslims of Lucknow fight sanguinary battles with Shias during the month of Muharram. In his paper in the above book, “A Minority within a Minority: The Shias of Kashmiri Mohalla, Lucknow”, Gilles Verniers tells us: “Lucknow is a city of hills and dales, where altitude once defined status. The rulers of Awadh, a Shia dynasty that established itself in the city in the late eighteenth century, distributed lands and properties to their administrators and courtiers in the higher reaches of the hills. The commoners, labourers and orderlies of the state and the court were concentrated in the lower parts, darker, more congested and prone to water logging.” Then, between 1775 and 1778, Kashmiri Pandits migrated to the city as able administrators for Asaf-ud-Dowlah, the fourth Shia Nawab of Awadh, who had shifted his capital from Faizabad to Lucknow. They were soon joined by Muslim families, mostly Shias, who also hailed from Kashmir, and were directly or indirectly connected to the royal family and its court or served the Awadh state as high-ranking officials. Then came the British, cutting the mutinous Shia down to size after 1857. Fortunes declined in the 1950s after zamindari was abolished under land reforms and better-educated Hindus moved out to better jobs. This small area started mutating into a slum, covering an area of 12 sq km and housing a population of 39,319, mostly Shia Muslims. Unfortunately, Lucknow has earned a bad name today, not because of Hindu-Muslim riots but Shia-Sunni violence among the poor Muslim community, reflecting, too, what is happening in Pakistan, Iraq and Syria today. Following the 1979 Khomeini revolution in Iran, the Sunni Arabs of the Gulf and Saudi Arabia felt threatened by Iranian irredentism. They first approached Pakistani dictator Zia-ul-Haq, and then, of all places, Lucknow. Zia imposed a new tax (zakat) on Sunnis but included Shias too, which was not according to Islamic law, provoking the Shia to stage their first angry march on Islamabad. Saudi Arabia then approached the Sunni head of the famous seminary, Nadwatul Ulema of Lucknow, to write two books to incite hatred of the Shia in the entire Islamic world. The first was a condemnation of Iran’s Imam Khomeini, and the second was a compilation of fatwas (edicts) from the madrasas of India and Pakistan declaring the Shia as kaafir and therefore liable to extermination for succumbing to apostasy. In 1986, the Deobandi seminaries of Pakistan and India had issued fatwas of apostatisation against the Shia population and thus upheld the manifesto of Sipah-e-Sahaba, a party formed in 1985 in Pakistan on the basis of its demand that the Shia be declared non-Muslim by the state of Pakistan through an amendment to the constitution. The state had already set the precedence of apostatising a Muslim community, the Ahmadis, and declaring them non- Muslim under the second amendment of 1974. The anti-Shia edicts (fatwas) were “managed” through a scholar of India, Manzur Numani, then head of Nadwatul Ulema of Lucknow, who had earlier written a book against Imam Khomeini and Iran. Funded by the Saudi charity Rabita Alam Islami (World Islamic League), he wrote to the Deobandi seminaries of India and Pakistan, asking them to give their juristic opinion on the Shia faith. The “masterpiece” he achieved came in the shape of a collection of fatwas printed serially in the Lucknow-based journal Al Furqan from December 1987 to July 1988. Yoginder Sikand, a noted Indian scholar of Islam, laments: “Even madrasas considered somehow more ‘open’ and ‘modern’ are not free from the virus of sectarianism.One of the Nadwa’s leading teachers, Manzur Numani, penned numerous diatribes against the Shias in the wake of the Iranian Revolution, branding them as infidels and insisting that Shi’ism had nothing to do with ‘authentic’ Islam whatsoever.” In 2003, when the first batch of the Shia Hazara community was massacred in Quetta, Balochistan, these fatwas of Lucknow were first distributed across the city. I noticed that pages from the book of Numani’s fatwas — which I possessed — had been photocopied, enlarged and distributed in the city before the massacre. Now, a word about the nexus between Lucknow and the ongoing Iraqi implosion. The conversion of Iraqi Arabs was owed, among other factors, to the “bequests” that came from the Nawab of Awadh, who was to rule Lucknow, first rescuing a waterless and desiccated Najaf from death, through the construction of the “Hindia Canal” from the Euphrates, then through permanent stipends to the Shia jurists of the city. (Thanks to this lifesaving Indian canal, Najaf today has a surplus economy run by a cleric, now Grand Ayatollah, who migrated to Iraq from Jalandhar, India, in 1947.) The fertility of the land around Najaf and Karbala, ruled then by Turkey, attracted the desert Arabs to agriculture, while the Ottoman bureaucracy encouraged them to own land so that tax could be collected from them. The well-endowed Iranian Shia jurists, threatened by repeated raids from the Wahhabis of Arabia against the Shrines of Najaf and Karbala, began to proselytise intensively among the Arab tribes till most of them converted. In the 19th century, Iraq had already become a Shia-majority state. The one big factor was the corpse traffic (naql al-janaez) that accounted for nearly 20,000 dead bodies of Shias from Iran and India every year for the purpose of burial at the shrines of Najaf and Karbala. The practice was old and had stemmed from the hadith of the sixth Shia Imam Jafar al-Sadiq that “being next to Ali a day is more favourable than seven hundred years of worship”. The coming of the corpses had its own economics that attracted a lot of commerce to the city of Najaf. Yitzhak Nakash, in his book The Shi’is of Iraq (1994), tells us that Lucknow gave more than a million rupees annually from the nawab’s treasury for the upkeep of the Shia shrines in Iraq. The money went to the Iranian Shia jurists settled around these shrines. It is unfortunate that Shi’ism, which once informed the Muslim-Indian culture and also changed Hindu attitudes through its syncretic character, is now changing into a dogma that it never was. The Shia in Pakistan and India are rediscovering their faith as a schism that took place in early Islam and are readying themselves for a new armageddon.

The Lucknow connection | The Indian Express | Page 3

More Sources:

Azadari in Lucknow - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Shi'a Islam in Colonial India: Religion, Community and Sectarianism - Justin Jones - Google Books
Picturing Muharram: Images of a Colonial Spectacle, 1870–1915 | Rianne Siebenga - Academia.edu

Assessment of Socio-Political and Socio-Economic Factors Causing Sindhi-Muhajirs Conflicts in Sindh-Pakistan | Khatwani | British Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies

Partition of India a blunder - Altaf Hussain

MQM should be penetrated and forward groups of those who are tired of this fat toad sitting in UK dictating terms should be made. The rest should be trailed under treason act for inciting violence and openly demanding help from RAW and other foreign agencies. Government on its part should make clear that no channel will broadcast the speech of this mad pig sitting in UK. MQM as a party will have to mend its ways and should distance itself from this moron AH and militancy.

None of the mentioned above hold the whole media hostage to telecast live their hours long dirty and abusive 18+ rants daily. Having said that, we Pakistanis hate all those mentioned corrupt and opportunist politicians anyway.

Wrong. The statement was a rare occurrence, AH usually sided with army and condemned Taliban. Lets not start making things up now.

A Pakistani exercising his constitutional right to protest just like in other democracies in the world. If toad of London were a Pakistani and were arranging largely peaceful sit-ins etc, things would have been different.

Yes your definition of peaceful of course includes the attacks on PTV and the parliament, daily sermons of character assassination, threats and causing damage to the country's image and economy e.t.c Some rights guaranteed by the constitution, I must say! Lol

I think establishment is having the right strategy to tackle one problem at a time. And at the moment tackling the foreigner toad of London , who has gone bonkers and is enticing hatred and terrorism, on priority basis is the right thing to do. We can not allow Indian paid foreigners to hold our largest city hostage at gun point.

Cutting deals and targeting one political party isn't the right away to go. It further bolsters the sense of alienation and makes the position of MQM very strong. He might be a foreigner, his party on the other hand is the fourth largest one in this country and that means something.

It is an old tactic of MQM to disown people or declare things fake if it can cause damage. Nothing new there.
We have seen how countless terrorists who were merely following orders of the toad of London were disowned later on.

Not gonna work this time.

But then again, the Jinnahpur today is considered fake by the same Core Commander, Karachi and DG IB that led the operation in 1992. Now, that works every-time.

Eid Mubarak to you though! :)

No matter how much bengal reference you dig out from history, another bangladesh is not going to happen against all your wishes. Karachi beling to pakistan and it will inshAllah stay with Pakistan forever

In 2003, when the first batch of the Shia Hazara community was massacred in Quetta, Balochistan, these fatwas of Lucknow were first distributed across the city. I noticed that pages from the book of Numani’s fatwas — which I possessed — had been photocopied, enlarged and distributed in the city before the massacre.

Yes, Shia-Sunni conflicts are happening because some Mullah passed a fatwa of apostasy at some point in the history. Absolutely rubbish argument like the rest of your racial garbage post last time! This conflict is one of the oldest in Islamic history, in this country, the rise in sectarianism and intolerance is unsurprisingly related to the rise of extremism and radicalization which is a hall mark of the Zia-ul-Haq (another military blunder!) rule and need for militant Islam to counter some "exaggerated" threat from USSR in Afghanistan, don't blame it on Urdu speakers! Secondly, the areas most affected by this are Quetta, Southern Punjab and GB, none of which are inhabited by people from Lucknow. Engage me next time when you learn to answer all points and not cherry pick some parts, this creation of "facts" will not work with me.

lol Looks like its you who is cherry picking. You have failed to answer any thing when it comes to Karachi and MQM. Just look who became minority, started target killings, hate speeches. To clear some air, MQM was sitting in the lap of Zia to counter Sindhis.

For the rest of your post, read this if you didn't. If you have something to counter with your theory bring it forward with facts.

" Zia imposed a new tax (zakat) on Sunnis but included Shias too, which was not according to Islamic law, provoking the Shia to stage their first angry march on Islamabad. Saudi Arabia then approached the Sunni head of the famous seminary, Nadwatul Ulema of Lucknow, to write two books to incite hatred of the Shia in the entire Islamic world. The first was a condemnation of Iran’s Imam Khomeini, and the second was a compilation of fatwas (edicts) from the madrasas of India and Pakistan declaring the Shia as kaafir and therefore liable to extermination for succumbing to apostasy. In 1986, the Deobandi seminaries of Pakistan and India had issued fatwas of apostatisation against the Shia population and thus upheld the manifesto of Sipah-e-Sahaba, a party formed in 1985 in Pakistan on the basis of its demand that the Shia be declared non-Muslim by the state of Pakistan through an amendment to the constitution. The state had already set the precedence of apostatising a Muslim community, the Ahmadis, and declaring them non- Muslim under the second amendment of 1974. The anti-Shia edicts (fatwas) were “managed” through a scholar of India, Manzur Numani, then head of Nadwatul Ulema of Lucknow, who had earlier written a book against Imam Khomeini and Iran. Funded by the Saudi charity Rabita Alam Islami (World Islamic League), he wrote to the Deobandi seminaries of India and Pakistan, asking them to give their juristic opinion on the Shia faith. The “masterpiece” he achieved came in the shape of a collection of fatwas printed serially in the Lucknow-based journal Al Furqan from December 1987 to July 1988. Yoginder Sikand, a noted Indian scholar of Islam, laments: “Even madrasas considered somehow more ‘open’ and ‘modern’ are not free from the virus of sectarianism.One of the Nadwa’s leading teachers, Manzur Numani, penned numerous diatribes against the Shias in the wake of the Iranian Revolution, branding them as infidels and insisting that Shi’ism had nothing to do with ‘authentic’ Islam whatsoever.” In 2003, when the first batch of the Shia Hazara community was massacred in Quetta, Balochistan, these fatwas of Lucknow were first distributed across the city. I noticed that pages from the book of Numani’s fatwas — which I possessed — had been photocopied, enlarged and distributed in the city before the massacre "

You have failed to answer any thing

What would you know anything anyways about the city or the political party in question so to declare any failure on my part in answering any question? Stick with your racial BS and political mudslinging threads, this isn't your domain if the best you can muster is "mere copies of some fatwas of a Mullah from Lucknow indicative of the involvement of Urdu speakers in the whole divide" and "Muhajirs aren't real". We have been present in Pakistan for long, why didn't the massive sectarian conflicts not occur before your Commander of the Faithful from the infallible military decided to take the country on an excursion with militant Islam and why isn't it so severe a problem where where most of us live in this country? Since well, neither GB nor South Punjab/Quetta have any "measurable" Urdu-speakers population.
In 2003, when the first batch of the Shia Hazara community was massacred in Quetta, Balochistan, these fatwas of Lucknow were first distributed across the city. I noticed that pages from the book of Numani’s fatwas — which I possessed — had been photocopied, enlarged and distributed in the city before the massacre "

Take an IQ test if that is your criteria of an entire race being responsible for or involved in sectarian conflicts, see if you can make it to thirty points with such intellectual prowess. I haven't seen a more retarded argument in my stay here at PDF and its been years! @Oscar About time, you add some common sense questions to the registration mechanism so to filter these idiots!

For the rest of your post, read this if you didn't. If you have something to counter with your theory bring it forward with facts.

That would be a honor for this nonsense. And I am not going to do it. Carry on with your delusion of superiority!

No matter how much bengal reference you dig out from history, another bangladesh is not going to happen against all your wishes. Karachi beling to pakistan and it will inshAllah stay with Pakistan forever

And neither prying eyes from it nor denial will ever change the fact of the military's nefarious involvement in the breaking of this country and atrocities on residents of Pakistan. So, what is the point? Did you learn anything from the '71 ordeal? Your treaty of Versailles.

And I am just angry, not your angry brother on the mountain. The last thing we need is any more disintegration of this country but that is no reason not to speak up on injustices and bias.

Who is responsible for the Baldia factory incident...? If not MQM then who? All evidences were as I recollect pointed towards them... MQM wanted bhatta from the factory owners who rejected the amount asked and that resulted in the orchestrated fire in baldia factory...yaara kon apney hi logon ko is tarah jallaata hey... (Please correct me if I am wrong that what I got from the media reports)

On the other note why it seems that the operation cleanup is ONLY taking care of the criminal elements in MQM and not in PPP and other parties...it should be across the board.