Bangladesh and India to jointly build $1.7 billion power plant

Some new private sector power projects in Bangladesh (most of these will be 50~100 MW and will supply local needs),

Sylhet%2090%20MW-2%20(Custom).jpg

Barakatullah Electro Dynamics Limited, Patenga, Chittagong 50 MW
1.jpg

It has already been exactly three years when the news was first posted. Now, no one knows the where about of this great Indo-Bangladesh joint venture project. It already has lost its usefulness. BD does not need projects that pollute. Bye bye India!!

Thank God!!! PDF Bangladeshis would have burned down the project anyways!! :enjoy:

When someone talks rational he is castigated as a PDF Jamaati. BD people just don't want a power generation project that will use high sulfur and high ash containing Indian coal. Get lost India.

BD guys...this is a news...So now nationalist BD people so do the needful to save your interest of your nation..

When someone talks rational he is castigated as a PDF Jamaati. BD people just don't want a power generation project that will use high sulfur and high ash containing Indian coal. Get lost India.

They are using imported coal I believe from Australia.

NTPC Bangla Power Joint Venture to be Operational by FY18 - NDTVProfit.com
Press Trust of India | Updated On: July 27, 2014 19:06 (IST)
Kolkata:
The $1.2-billion Indo-Bangla power joint venture is planning to award the contract for construction of the plant by April 2015 and expected to start commercial generation by FY18.

"We expect to award the contract next year. The company has recently appointed Fichtner Consulting Engineers and is in the process of finalising a consultant who will help in sourcing coal for the project," NTPC's chairman & managing director, Arup Roy Choudhury said.

The plant is likely to consume around 8 million tonnes of coal every year and the entire generation will be based on coal imported into Bangladesh, he said last evening.

Bangladesh India Friendship Power Company Ltd is 50:50 joint venture between Bangladesh Power Development Board and NTPC. The first project of this venture is the 1,320 mw Maitree Project at Rampal in Bagerhat district under Khulna Division in Bangladesh.

At the ninth board meeting of the company, held in Kolkata for the first time with Bangladeshi power secretary yesterday, a few pending issues were ironed out before the tenders are invited for setting up the plant.

The land has been provided by Bangaldesh government and NTPC will set up two 660 mw units at the location. NTPC's expertise will also be used in running the plant.

"Following successful implementation of the project, the joint venture may look into setting up additional projects in the country," said Monowar Islam, secretary power of Bangladesh government.

At present, Bangladesh faces a total demand of about 7,500 mw. A total 500 mw is sourced from India of which 250 mw is from NTPC, he added.

Please stop the project and go feed yourself for your power needs, it won't effect India anyways. :-)

Bengali on here are like dogs that bite the hand of the feeding person

Always happens in case of every developmental project with India or by India, I wish BNP comes to power and stops every kind of dealings with India and seals the border, then we can at least live in peace. Btw, don't call them Bengali, most of them here don't like it........they are Bangladeshis. :-)

"Neki kar dariya mein daal" tak to thik hai, lekin Bangladesh ke saath to situation "Neki kar aur gaali kha" jaisi hain!!

@Al-zakir, idune - you two members are probably the most racist, foul mouthed members I have met on this forum. You bring religion, hindu dalals and various other stereotypes into your "arguments".
I suggest you grow up and learn some manners and put some logic into your posts instead of making immature statements that insult people who are elder to you.

That is just pure lie because, Bangladesh has enough expertise operating most power plants on its own including coal power plant in Boro pukuria. Besides, coal fired one is not fundamentally different from gas fired one.

Above all this is no excuse to give indian 50% stake on such strategic installation like power plant and operating control. By doing so india can easily disabled major power supply point when it need to force something on Bangladesh.

Here goes another post by idune -
Above all this is no excuse to give indian 50% stake on such strategic installation like power plant and operating control. By doing so india can easily disabled major power supply point when it need to force something on Bangladesh.

Disable power plants ? Are you on something ?
Btw read the original post carefully - the agreement is also about BD getting to import power from India. Also after BD is self sufficient it can export power to India.
"The international tender for setting up the power plant will be floated by July 2010 on completion of the study, with a target to complete the project within 48 months," said the power secretary
Can you not read - an international tender - who says India will construct the plant ?
is "bringing religion" not allowed? this is not a forum for religious topics and discussion, but Muslims are going to sound like they do whichever forum or topic it is.

if you don't agree with what they say, at least don't write pathetic lines like "you grow up and learn some manners". you refute their views with your own if you have any besides just trying to do PR for an India that is increasingly taking over BD.

This is a 4 year old thread that was revived. Before replying to old posts, please note how old they are. Some of these posters may be long gone and moved on.

It has already been three years when the news of this coal fired power station came about. Indians have been defending this unholy BD-India power plant project all along, although this unholy plant will spew coal dust into the atmosphere. People cam e down to the streets to protest the probable destruction of mangrove forest nearby.

This may have alarmed the GoB that may have resulted in the permanent cancellation of the project. Can some one send the correct news?

although this unholy plant will spew coal dust into the atmosphere.

What the heck is that ?

IEL has completed implementation of a 100 MW HFO Power based Plant on quick rental basis in Meghnaghat, Dhaka with machineries and equipment supplied by Wartsila OY, Finland.

Talk about how developed Bangladesh heavy electrical industry is ..

I think indo-us nuclear deal will indirectly help srilanka, BD, nepal and bhutan who can now import cheap and readily available power from india.
I dont think so.

It has already been three years when the news of this coal fired power station came about. Indians have been defending this unholy BD-India power plant project all along, although this unholy plant will spew coal dust into the atmosphere. People cam e down to the streets to protest the probable destruction of mangrove forest nearby.

This may have alarmed the GoB that may have resulted in the permanent cancellation of the project. Can some one send the correct news?

I dnt know how people can behave such stupidity continuously :lol:

Is this the only coal power plant that Bangladesh building or already have any? Unholy plant o_Oo_O

I dnt know how people can behave such stupidity continuously :lol:

Is this the only coal power plant that Bangladesh building or already have any? Unholy plant o_Oo_O

Yes, it is an unholy power plant that will spew millions of tons of coal dust into the atmosphere which will destroy the ecology and the largest mangrove forest nearby. Indian company must offer the latest technology that does not produce CO and CO2-like pollutants.

Since it is almost four years and there is no news about its whereabouts, therefore, the GoB must have shelved the project in its backyard grave.

Why did this project get delayed for so many years? Any idea about the feasibility report?