After Vote, Pakistan’s Strongest Ally Should Be India

You cannot hold a gun in one hand and an olive branch in another, duplicity isn't very heart warming.

You stop funding TTP and other groups in Pak, give Kashmir back to its people and we will have all the peace you could ever want.

If that is not reasonable to you then our nuclear stockpile will keep growing and aimed directly at you.

lol.. TTp is against India.. go check...
Pak is the only one which is accepted by the world as a terorist nation. why are you so bothere ed about kashmiris.. why dont you go tell china to give tibet back to its people

You Indians create a threat about peace and being allies and then you spew your hatred of us in the very same thread.

Time for a bit of self reflection.

I have always have said with neighbors like you who needs enemies.

You can't just take, take, take and not give. Doesn't work like that.

What do you want us to do?

You want business??
We gave you MFN.
And what did you do in return?

You want peace?
We sent our PM to Lahore via bus?
And what did you do in return?

You want to solve Kashmir dispute?
Hand over your occupied part of Kashmir according to UN resolution.
What did you do about it?

In fact what are your efforts to attain peace with India?

All you did is
Trained terrorists to fight India (who btw are killing you nowadays lol)
You infiltrated into our territory in 65.
You started the war by attacking india in 71.
You back stabbed our PM who just visited Lahore in 99.
You did not even comply with UN resolution.
Now what is it that you expect us to do?

I think most pakistan see free tade india as a tool of indian policy to keep pakistan in check......what happens the first time there some sort of attack in india that is blamed on pakistan, you will close the border and stop trade.

Well i think the onus is on you........you asked the pakistani govt to stop support for the freedom fighters and
that you would be willing to talk,instead you bulit a fence on the LOC and are now asking to have trade with pakistan and then you will move on the kashmir issue.

Have you compared the amount of activity by the freedom fighters in the last 10 years to the decade before?
Pakistan did what you asked and in return more demands by india.
I know for sure that once pakistan does do that you will have some new demand and it carry on demand after demand before you do anything on kashmir....which you wont do nothing but want to turn the LOC into an international border.
The indian govt needs to stop state terror in kashmir and withdraw its army and hold a free vote on the future on kashmir and let the people decide.
Once the above things are done then i think pakistan will be more willing to open free trade with india.

For a referandum, there are a few criterias that Pakistan does not meet or will ever meet because the matters gone over the hilll, you cant gain back the terriitories that were handed over to china, you cant separate the mixed population that has happened across the border, so a referandum is out of question. What Pakistan can do is divert attention from Kashmir and concentrate on real issues - Pakistan is falling apart soo more care needs to be given there.

Reply is not unexpected but the poster is

Oh, OK, you are not sensitive.

No, seriously, why is almost every Pakistani on this thread reacting as if he is on the point of being raped? This goes back to my increasingly strongly held belief that at the bottom of the insecurity of Indian Muslims before 1947 is a lot of artificial, induced insecurity. I could go on,

You cannot hold a gun in one hand and an olive branch in another, duplicity isn't very heart warming.

You stop funding TTP and other groups in Pak, give Kashmir back to its people and we will have all the peace you could ever want.

If that is not reasonable to you then our nuclear stockpile will keep growing and aimed directly at you.

Kashmir is non-negotiable ..rest everything on your list is.

I am all for cordial Pak-India ties but it must be done in the framework of comprehensive peace talks.

After Vote, Pakistan’s Strongest Ally Should Be India

Bloomberg

By the Editors

As every leading candidate has proudly noted, tomorrow’s parliamentary elections in Pakistan will mark the first civilian transfer of power in that country’s 66-year history. To ensure it’s not the last, the winner should turn to an unlikely ally: India.

Whichever party takes power in Islamabad will almost certainly have to cobble together a coalition to rule. The new government will inherit a looming foreign-exchange crisis, hours-long blackouts that have provoked street riots, and overlapping insurgencies and sectarian wars that have claimed thousands of lives. Though army chief Ashfaq Parvez Kayani has resisted the temptation to restore military rule, he will retire soon. His successors may not be so restrained.

None of Pakistan’s ills has a quick fix. But one key decision would immediately help jump-start the economy, lower regional tensions and reduce the army’s influence in politics: lifting long-standing barriers to trade with India.

The benefits of a border more open to commerce are indisputable. Trade between India and Pakistan -- currently less than $3 billion annually -- may grow tenfold or more if existing restrictions were to be lifted, according to an April report produced by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Millions in revenue are currently lost via smuggling and informal trade. Some estimates put the potential for Indian investment in Pakistan at $50 billion.

Fraught Border

Equally important, a more open border would be a less fraught one. The army’s obsession with the “Indian threat” drives Pakistan’s most dangerous policies. It fuels the world’s fastest-growing nuclear stockpile and diverts the lion’s share of the country’s limited resources to defense. It has led the military to lend unofficial support to anti-India jihadist groups such as Lashkar-e-Taiba, which carried out the deadly 2008 terrorist attack in Mumbai. Pakistan has also backed Taliban factions in Afghanistan as a means of countering Indian influence there.

A remarkable consensus in favor of freer trade with Pakistan’s archrival has now developed across the political spectrum. In November 2011, the government pledged to grant its larger neighbor “most-favored nation” status -- a decision that could not have been made without the support of the military. (India afforded Pakistan the same status in 1996.) All of Pakistan’s mainstream parties have endorsed an economic rapprochement. The front-runner -- Punjabi magnate and former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif -- has made increased trade and economic progress central to his appeal to voters.

Informal Barriers

Pakistan has yet to follow through on its 2011 pledge. Now is the time to do so. The next government should immediately trim back the list of 1,200 Indian products that still cannot be imported. Some of these restrictions are meant to defend Pakistani farmers, say, from cheaper Indian crops. But mostly they protect well-connected lobbies: More than 500 of the banned goods affect the automobile, iron and steel industries.

India needs to do what it can to help the next Pakistani government. Though India’s list of banned imports is much smaller, other informal barriers still impede Pakistani exports. It takes six months for Pakistani companies to get approval to ship cement to India, for instance. The government in New Delhi should strive to eliminate such roadblocks and to improve transport and logistics links across the border. Better trade facilities alone could pump up Pakistan’s exports to India by 200 percent.

Both sides need to act quickly, before another terrorist attack or domestic political controversy derails the current momentum. India’s next government could well be led by the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party, whose base remains deeply skeptical of Pakistan’s trustworthiness. (Elections must be held before the end of next May.) The impending U.S. pullout could turn Afghanistan into another shadow battleground for the South Asian rivals, much like the disputed territory of Kashmir.

Delay has allowed past opportunities for reconciliation to slip away. Neither Pakistan nor India -- whose own economy is slowing dramatically -- can afford to let this happen again.

After Vote, Pakistan
What a funny piece of an article!!!
It says Pak's nuke r fastest growing but fails to realize that Its only for defensive use only but India's offensive military doctrines n its conventional weapons import. Its the biggest arms importer in the world.

The trade is fine but it is fine when it gives u benefit only.
The trade with India n the balance of profit is very low for us. If that is addressed or if we could ban imports from India to balance profit share into our favor then we have no worries.

But in the other hand the indian gov refuses to sell Pak just 50 locomotives can really allow its companies to invest here n earn 150 billion n let exports from Pakistan that according to the editor will reach 200%.

Kashmir is non-negotiable ..rest everything on your list is.

then forget 150 billion investment in Pak.

I think we should be intelligent enough to understand that 65 years of animosity hasn't done much good for either of the countries. But clearly we are not. I don't expect any major change after elections. The relationship is mostly controlled from the GHQ anyway.

No alliance or friendship till @Ayush 's Professor gives him a higher GPA & @Dillinger can finally get treated for his man problems without being put on a waiting list that never ends ! :coffee:

What balderdash! I was expecting a stronger rebuttal from you regarding this "article".

Friendship is not beneficial for us, we have nothing to gain from it as such. Pakistan should be the least of our diplomatic, strategic concerns. We've got China to contend with now and given the gap between us and the Chinese its going to be a back breaking task to say the least. Yet people persist with focusing on Pakistan!! :hitwall:

Indians bringing FDI to Pakistan, is an incentive for Indians..that's new!!

LOl as if u do it for a ''gesture of good will''

Yr profits will be more then double of 150 billion.

This is a market of 200 million people.

No alliance or friendship till @Ayush 's Professor gives him a higher GPA & @Dillinger can finally get treated for his man problems without being put on a waiting list that never ends ! :coffee:

yaar,challenge de raha hai kya??
a typical trait of a big brother..:)