A curious question!

In its deepest sense, it is. I am trying to look in an objective way without worrying about the racist thing. Afghanistan follows Arabia, so indirect manner, but same thing done.

Did @Armstrong get his unmentionables in a twist over this?

In its deepest sense, it is. I am trying to look in an objective way without worrying about the racist thing. Afghanistan follows Arabia, so indirect manner, but same thing done.

That begs the question whether people on our side of the border do it for being Arab-Wannabes or Afghan-Wannabees?

Look. There was a time when Europe absorbed a bit of Arab influence merely because it was the dominant culture / religion, etc... They were not trying to be Arab-Wannabes as such. They were merely copying from a richer, more affluent culture. In our time we get a lot of that, but it gets packaged as something else.

I suppose you have seen 'Al-Bakistan' car registration plates in Punjab, or at least their pictures that liberals seem to be fond of showing as proof of some of us as Arab-Wannabes? That is a symptom of borrowing from a culture that is more affluent, which is a normal thing. However, it gets twisted into presenting a case of a national malady of Pakistanis wanting to become Arabs.

Mercian Imitation Dinar of Offa.jpg
Offa_king_of_Mercia_757_793_gold_dinar_copy_of_dinar_of_the_Abassid_Caliphate_774.jpg

is the same as:
Bakistan.jpg

The century and expression is different, but the process is the same.

Did @Armstrong get his unmentionables in a twist over this?

Chickened out, so to put it politely. :D

I suppose you have seen 'Al-Bakistan' car registration plates in Punjab, or at least their pictures that liberals seem to be fond of showing as proof of some of us as Arab-Wannabes?

Haven't been to Punjab in recent times, just heard the name but didn't know what does it refer to, I do get your point there though.

@Secur (who is from karachi) cant help himself and is taking dig at pashtuns again, like rest of his kind. People like him are perhaps not aware that its more of deobandi vs bareilwi issue. Remove mufti munib and make deobandi and bareilwi maulanas sit togather. Eid should be celebrated togather. If not, dont spoil the eid of your pashtun countrymen. Like @Chak Bamu said, it is not a national emergency. Tandha rako aur apne eid par dyan dou, bajaye dosro ki khoshi karkara karney key

O bhai, Take his words on face value. Do not find motives and insults. He does not mean any of it. Eid manao. Mazay Urao. Halwa puri Khao. Aur khush raho.

Eid Mubarak.

That begs the question whether people on our side of the border do it for being Arab-Wannabes or Afghan-Wannabees?

Look. There was a time when Europe absorbed a bit of Arab influence merely because it was the dominant culture / religion, etc... They were not trying to be Arab-Wannabes as such. They were merely copying from a richer, more affluent culture. In our time we get a lot of that, but it gets packaged as something else.

I suppose you have seen 'Al-Bakistan' car registration plates in Punjab, or at least their pictures that liberals seem to be fond of showing as proof of some of us as Arab-Wannabes? That is a symptom of borrowing from a culture that is more affluent, which is a normal thing. However, it gets twisted into presenting a case of a national malady of Pakistanis wanting to become Arabs.

View attachment 41142 View attachment 41143

is the same as:
View attachment 41144

The century and expression is different, but the process is the same.
but moon sighting is not a cultural issue.

You are right, but unfortunately its been made that way in some places.

Let this thread die now please. It has served its purpose I think. If not, do carry on but without me.

SO answer my question now please will you ?
Actually @Secur the karacahiite chickened out when you slapped him with a very valid question. @Secur calls himself secular, he always used the argument "religion is a personal matter, none of your business".....now here ramadan and eid are not "personal matters" for him as he is targeting a particular segment of Pakistan, due the racial hatred.

First tell me, how exactly do two people get a reply of mine to @Dillinger about @Armstrong wrong? :rofl: And how exactly does no one seem to explain the "tradition of sighting the moon with Arabia" since there's none here in this country? As for barelvi- deobandi issues, I believe the moon's appearance isn't subject to religious interpretation unless the sole cause of disagreement is that a barelvi is heading the central committee and hence must not be followed. Because there is representation in Royat-Hilal committee from all sects existing in this country, Deobandis being one of them.

P.S Secur has no problem with religion being personal, the issue is with a need of defiance and not accepting the writ of the state and hence sighting the moon for all other Islamic months with us but that of the Ramadan and Eid with Arabs. Ever seen me, open threads on why prayers are performed in a particular manner or why certain things are halal/haraam? This isn't a religious argument, its a national issue surfacing every year with no solution to boot.
Remove mufti munib and make deobandi and bareilwi maulanas sit togather.

Same Munib who invited Popalzai last year to see the moon with him, along with the rest of the country? Guess who refused to actually celebrate Eid after seeing the moon! Same Munib who's willing to sit down in collaboration with different sects and regional committee and take a decision based on consensus? How does removing the chairman solve the problem then?

Leave my Baby Brother @EyanKhan alone ! :mad:

Eyan Khanaaa abbb Bhai seh itnaa naraaaz ho giyaa haiii keh Eid Mubarik bhi nahin kaheii gaa ? :cray:
I did say it before?
Oh well EId mubarik to you to @Secur , @Chak Bamu and everyone else on this thread :)

I'l answer securs questions one more time (hope he understands) and then have him answer my question

1. It has nothing to do with Arabs don't push everything into that corner
2. People here are used to it as there tradition/custom hence they follow it maybe even thoughtlessly if u want it to change educate them , put the mullahs on a leash
3. In other months no special gatherings take place for moon sighting etc etc hence they are just followed with you guys
4. It is neither an act of defiance or a challenge to the state .

I was speaking for what i have observed for most of the people over here but since you made it about me as well Idon't have any problem celebrating it with anyone of you on the same day , just like alot of the educated people over here who also disagree with this but most of them go to their villages at eid time to celebrate it with their families and they follow the lead mosque of KPK for a long time .i disagree with @Marwat Khan Lodhi on the sect difference@ but if you really want things to change
1. only complaining does not help
2. Acting aloof and ignorant is even more annoying and same is the case with Making shallow observations like its an Arab wannabe thing.
Go in talk to the villagers educate the mosques do whats necessary , take the lead mosque head on and they will agree to you just shouting celebrate eid with us won't help , play the mullahs game and challenge their methodology!

Now if you'd like to answer my question that would be great but if you don't feel like it i wont push!