16th December 1971: From East Pakistan to Bangladesh

01:11 PM, October 19, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:23 PM, October 19, 2017
‘Birth of Bangladesh most significant event of life’
Pranab Mukherjee launches 3rd book ‘The Coalition Years’
Star Online Report
Former Indian President Pranab Mukherjee has said in an interview published today that the birth of an independent Bangladesh remains the “most significant” event in his long public life.
Asked about any incident that stands out in his long political life, Mukherjee told The Times of India “To my mind it is Bangladesh, the birth of a nation of 12 or 13 crore people in 1971.”
pranab-bhooks-1.jpg

Former President of India, Pranab Mukherjee on the cover of his new book,'The Coalition Years: 1996 to 2012'. Photo courtesy: Twitter@CitiznMukherjee

He said he still remembers that Indira Gandhi, the then prime minister, made a short statement in both houses of parliament saying "I am happy to inform the House that Pakistan army has surrendered to the joint command of the Indian army and the Bangladesh Mukti Bahini and now Dhaka is the free capital of free Bangladesh. That is the most significant event since I joined public life.”

Replying to a question if the birth of Bangladesh was a pronouncement on the two-nation theory, Mukherjee said “That will be an over-simplification of the whole issue because the two-nation theory was challenged at the very time of its pronouncement,” reports our New Delhi correspondent.

“It (the partition of Pakistan) once again established that mere religion cannot be the basis of a State. There are many other factors: religion, language, customs, culture and social systems.”

Asked if he thought that after the 1971 war win, India could have settled the Kashmir issue to its satisfaction, the former President said Indira Gandhi “took the wisest decision by declaring the unilateral ceasefire.”

“If India had not declared unilateral ceasefire, there would have been expansion of the conflict. It would have engulfed both India and Pakistan because America was bent on protecting the unity of western Pakistan after they had lost the hope on eastern Pakistan.
Soviet Russia also did not want the war to be extended,” Mukherjee said.

Mukherjee, who was a senior Congress party leader and had occupied the post of President for five years since July 2012, is hitting the media headlines following the launch of his latest book “The Coalition Years” in India recently.

At the book launch function, Manmohan Singh, who was prime minister for two consecutive five-year terms since May, 2014, had said Mukherjee deserved to be the PM and the latter had reasons to be upset at not getting the post.

In his book, Mukherjee said he had, returning from a meeting with Congress President Sonia Gandhi, had a “vague” feeling that he would be made the prime minister
http://www.thedailystar.net/world/birth-bangladesh-most-significant-event-life-1478737

Distortions in the history of the Liberation War
আমরা দীর্ঘদিন জাইন্যা আসছি, এই ছবিটা পাকিস্তানি আর্মির। সে লুঙ্গী খুইল্যা চেক করতেছে ধৃত লোকটা হিন্দু নাকি মুসলমান। কেউ কেউ আবার এই ছবির ক্যাপশনে কাব্য ফলাইতো "হিন্দু না ওরা মুসলিম এই জিজ্ঞাসে কোন জন" বইল্যা। ম্যালা জায়গায় এখনো এই ছবিটা পাইবেন পাকিস্তানি আর্মি বইল্যা।

This is a pictre of an Indian Army soldier আসলে এই ছবিটা ইণ্ডিয়ান আর্মির। ছবিটা তুলছে কিশোর পারেখ আর ছবিটা ছাপা হইছিল বাংলাদেশ এ ব্রুটাল বার্থ বইয়ে। লোকটা রাজাকার সন্দেহে ধৃত আর ইন্ডিয়ান আর্মি চেক করতেছে তার লুঙ্গীর ভিতরে অস্ত্র আছে কিনা? এই ছবিটার মিথ ভাংছে ২০১৩ সালে। চিন্তা কইর‍্যা দেখেন, কেউ বুঝে নাই এতোদিন। তাইলে কি হেরা ইণ্ডিয়ান আর্মি বা পাকিস্তানি আর্মি কোনটাই দেখে নাই? দুই আর্মির তো ড্রেসই আলাদা।

এইরকম ম্যালা ভেজাল ছবি আমাদের মুক্তিযুদ্ধের ইতিহাসে ঢুইক্যা আছে। স্বাধীনতা মুক্তিযুদ্ধের দলিলপত্রের মতো আমাদের একটা মুক্তিযুদ্ধের পিয়ার রিভিউড আর্কাইভ দরকার। যেই জায়গায় মুক্তিযুদ্ধের অথেন্টিক ছবি পাওয়া যাইবে। ছবিটা কে তুলছে, কীভাবে তুলছে, কখন তুলছে, ছবিতে কাদের দেখা যাইতেছে এইসব থাকবে।
একটা জাতির রক্তাক্ত রাষ্ট্র বিপ্লবের ইতিহাসে কোন জঞ্জাল থাকা কাম্য নয়।
(ছবি,লেখা পিনাকী ভট্টাচার্য)

Bangabandhu’s March 7 speech listed as world’s documentary heritage
Tribune Desk
Published at 11:04 AM October 31, 2017
Last updated at 11:09 AM October 31, 2017
back-Sheikh_Mujib_giving_speech_7th_March-690x450.jpg

On March 7 1971, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman delivered a speech of independence at the Race Course Maidan, now known as Suhrawardy Udyan, in Dhaka Wikimedia
The speech served as the ultimate source of inspiration for the countless freedom fighters who had joined the Mukti Bahini.
Unesco has recognised the historic March 7 speech of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman as part of the world’s documentary heritage.
Director General of Unesco Irina Bokova disclosed the matter at its Headquarters in Paris on Monday.

The speech was included in the Memory of the World International Register, a list of the world’s important documentary heritage maintained by Unesco.

The Memory of the World International Register is a list of documents that was created to ensure preservation of, and access to, documentary heritage in various parts of the world.

A document has to bear immense significance and form part of documentary heritage of the world at large to be included in the registrar.
Also Read- The speech that inspired the birth of a nation
“The world will now get to know more about our Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and our glorious Liberation War”, said Foreign Minister Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali.

Bangabandhu’s speech provided inspiration to Bangali people in their quest for freedom and emancipation. It also energised the entire nation and prepared the people for the forthcoming the Liberation struggle.

The speech also served as the ultimate source of inspiration for the countless freedom fighters who had joined the Mukti Bahini.

Bangabandhu’s speech is played throughout Bangladesh during the various national occasions and continues to reverberate in hearts and minds of the people of the nation.

The International Advisory Committee during its meeting from October 24 to 27 recommended that the speech for inscription on the Memory of the World International Register.
The Memory of the World Register now includes a total of 427 documents and collection from all continents.
http://www.dhakatribune.com/banglad...-7-speech-listed-worlds-documentary-heritage/

01:56 PM, October 31, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:02 PM, October 31, 2017
Timeline: From 1970 elections to March 7
Star Online Report
December 7, 1970:
General elections result in victory for the Awami League. The party ends up obtaining majority in the National Assembly.

January 10, 1971:

Pakistan People’s Party Chairman Zulfikar Ali Bhutto says his party will consider overall solidarity of Pakistan and assist in implementation of governance policy.

January 12, 1971:
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman meets President Yahya Khan and discusses several important national issues for 2 hours. No specifics obtained.

January 14, 1971:

Yahya Khan leaves Dhaka for Karachi. He tells reporters that Sheikh Mujib is soon to become the prime minister of Pakistan.
Reports say Yahya Khan agreed to hand over power to Sheikh Mujib.

January 27, 1971:
Pakistan People’s Party chief ZA Bhutto arrives in Dhaka to meet Awami League chief Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.
Sheikh Mujib and ZA Bhutto meet at a closed door meeting. Bhutto said he was delighted to have met Mujib and the two discussed on a lot of issues. Mujib says: “We just began our talks and will continue.”

January 28, 1971:

A second closed door meeting is held.
Sheikh Mujib says the two discussed all national problems. Their topic of discussion did not come to light.

January 29, 1971:

Talks between Sheikh Mujib and Bhutto end. The duo could not reach a unity. However, they both opined for further talks.
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman advises President Yahya Khan to begin National Council sessions from February 15.

January 30, 1971:
Sheikh Mujib and Bhutto go on a boat trip. Sources say, the two leaders split from the others and went on a cruise alone together for 2 hours.

February 14, 1971:
President Yahya Khan calls for National Assembly Session on March 3 in Dhaka.

February 18, 1971:

Pakistan People’s Party Chairman Zulfikar Ali Bhutto rules out any possibility of treaty or pact to have an agreement between Awami League and Peoples Party.

February 28, 1971:

Bhutto says dangerous situation will emerge if political standoff happens within the national assembly.
A draft governance policy is proposed at an Awami League meeting. It would be presented at National Assembly after approval.

March 1, 1971:

President Yahya suspends the national committee session.
Upon hearing the news, Dhaka city erupts in anger and eventually people take to the streets. Business centres in the city close down as well.
Sheikh Mujib objects to the suspension He calls for a hartal/strike in Dhaka on 2nd March, countrywide strike on 3rd March and a rally in Race course field on 7th March.

March 2, 1971:

In a historic student rally held in Bottola of the Dhaka University Premises, the Bangladesh flag with the Map of Bangladesh inlaid in it is hoisted.
In the afternoon, the Pakistani flag is pulled down and the Bangladeshi Flag inlaid with Bangladesh map is hoisted in the Dhaka University and in the Secretariat premises.
At night, a curfew is imposed in the Dhaka City. Throughout the city the curfew is broken and barricades are formed. Military opens fire on protesters. Reckless shots are fired at everyone who broke the curfew in various areas.

March 4, 1971:

During the strike, 6 people are martyred in Khulna, and in Chittagong, the death toll including March 4, rises at 121.
Sheikh Mujib says, without sacrifice no country has ever achieved independence.
Half-day hartals called for 5 & 6 March.

March 5, 1971:

On the fifth day of the hartal, armed forces open fire hurting 29. Upon receiving this news, people in Dhaka city burst in anger.
In Dhaka, announcements are made saying that the army has been moved back to the barracks.

March 7, 1971:

Sheikh Mujib, in a historical congregation of almost 10 lakh people and in a 20 minute long speech announces “Ebarer Shongram amader muktir shongram, Ebarer shongram, shadhinotar Shongram” (This war is a war for independence, this war is a war for Freedom)
Authorities are forced to allow the speech to be broadcasted and in deep into the night Bangabandhu’s speech is decided to be aired.
Source: Freedom in the Air
http://www.thedailystar.net/country/1970-elections-march-7-1484383

The India Doctrine
History is bound to reveal the truth ইতিহাস শুধু কথা বলে না, বরং ইতিহাস কথা বলতে বাধ্য!
তিনি সেদিন জয় বাংলার সাথে জয় পাকিস্তানও বলেছিলেন এটা দিনের আলোর ন্যায় স্পষ্ট। বইয়ের লেখক সম্পর্কে নতুন করে পরিচয় করিয়ে দেওয়ার মত কিছু নেই।
বইয়ের পিডিএফ-

https://goo.gl/3H4nnh
On 07 March 1971 historic speech,Sheikh Mujibur Rahman uttered "Joy Bangla" alongside "Joy Pakistan"
23172713_1736865142993358_742807274672135949_n.jpg

Can we not stop this?
Why this living people are being given fake Muktijoddha status? Rather we make an union wise list of who were martyred/Shaheeds. They do not want anything but recognition.

safe_image.php

Born 9 years after the Liberation, now a Freedom Fighter
স্বাধীনতার ৯ বছর পর জন্ম নিলেও মিজান মুক্তিযোদ্ধা!
Jugantor

ন্যাপ-কমিউনিস্ট পার্টি-ছাত্র ইউনিয়নের গেরিলা বাহিনীর সদস্য মিজানুর রহমান মিজান চট্টগ্রাম জেলার ১২৫ নম্বর মুক্তিযোদ্ধা। যদিও স্বাধীনতার ৯ বছর পর তার জন্ম। ১৯৮০ সালের ৩ জুলাই আনোয়ারা উপজেলার হাজীগাঁও গ্রামে তিনি জন্মগ্রহণ করেন। মিজানের জাতীয় পরিচয়পত্রের সূত্র ধরে এমন তথ্য পাওয়া গেছে বলে মুক্তিযুদ্ধবিষ...
JUGANTOR.COM

12:00 AM, November 18, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:40 AM, November 18, 2017
A piece of history rusting away
piece_of_history.jpg

The salvaged MV Akram lies neglected at Shahen Shah Dockyard by Shitalakhya river in Bandar upazila of Narayanganj. The ship used to carry supplies for the Pakistan occupation forces during the Liberation War.
The freedom fighters sunk the vessel by setting a mine underneath it on October 30 in 1971. The photo was taken recently. Photo: Star
Sanad Saha and Hasan Meer
They were waiting for the sun to set.
Once the evening spread out against the sky, the group slowly but surely headed toward their destination -- London Ghat in Dakatia river near Chandpur river port.

Soon, the moon sunk beneath a black cloud, and the night became darker and quieter than ever. Maybe a murmur here and there.

But the group did not pay any heed. They had a mission to complete.

It was October. The 30th to be exact. The year -- 1971.

And their mission was to sink MV Akram, a ship that carried supplies including food and weapons for the Pakistan occupation army.

The ship used to guard the Padma estuary. On information that it would be docked at London Ghat, the group undertook the mission.

On that night, the freedom fighters set up a mine underneath the ship and were able to sink it, and thus denying the occupying army the resources they needed.

Then after independence, the ship went under the ownership of Bangladesh Shilpa Bank.

Many years went by, it changed many hands and many attempts were made to lift it from the bottom of the river, but to no avail. Eventually, the ship including the history of courage and patriotism just sank into oblivion.

Then in 2007, it was purchased by some Narayanganj sand traders. In November, 2008, after much effort they were able to lift it from the bottom of the river. The owners brought it to Shahen Shah Dockyard by Shitalakhya river in Bandar upazila of Narayanganj.

After finding out about the ship's history, freedom fighters demanded its preservation and the liberation war affairs ministry in August 2009 decided to preserve it.

But nine years went by; the ship remained at the dock, neglected.

Finally this year, after continuous demand from the freedom fighters and civil society members, Bangladesh Inland Water Transport Authority (BIWTA) has started the process of preserving MV Akram.

It will soon be taken to Karnaphuli Dockyard, around 3km from the Shahen Shah Dockyard, for renovation, according to BIWTA. Once renovated, MV Akram will be taken to the Military Museum in the capital. It will be preserved and displayed as a Liberation War memorabilia there.

Built in Holland in 1965, the ship was owned by United Trading Corporation and Industrial Bank of Pakistan. It was around 180-foot long and weighed around 688 metric tonnes, said Kazi Nasir, deputy commander of Bandar Upazila Freedom Fighters' Council.

Risking their lives, the naval commandos led by Momin Ullah Patwary Bir Pratik that night successfully sunk the ship, he added. “But due to negligence of the authorities concerned, an important evidence of our history is lying neglected. It should be preserved at once.”

During a visit this week, the newspaper saw that the half-sunk rusty ship was at the dock owned by one Shahen Shah.

Many of the locals alleged that over the years some unscrupulous persons had stolen parts of the ship and sold those.

Sand trader Moktar Hossain, one of the owners of the ship, alleged that two persons had cut parts of the ship on June 29 this year. He said he lodged a complaint with Bandar Police Station on July 5.

“We bought the ship for Tk 14 lakh from a businessman after he failed to lift it from the river. He bought it at an auction held by the bank. It took us almost a year to lift it. Then we had to spend additional money to bring it to Narayanganj.”

He said they were hoping to make a profit by selling it. “But for the last nine years we could not do so and it's just lying here,” he said and demanded that they get compensated for their losses.

“We had been pursuing the ministry and BIWTA for compensation, but to no avail,” he alleged. In the meantime, local influential people had stolen almost one third of the ship including its engine, oil tank, wheel and plates, he alleged.

The dockyard owner, Shahen Shah, said he was also incurring losses. “No ship can pass through the spot as MV Akram is occupying the space. This ship is an important part of history. The government should not just leave it like this.”

Another owner of the ship, Sanwar Hossain, said, “We want the government to preserve the ship. But at the same time, we want compensation too.”

When asked, Abul Kalam, officer-in-charge of Narayanganj Bandar Police Station, said they have been guarding the ship so that no one could steal its parts. “We are also trying to recover the stolen parts and arrest the perpetrators.”

Dhiman Saha, general secretary of Shushashoner Jannoy Nagorik (SHUJAN), Narayanganj chapter, said, “The ship must be preserved. It bears testimony to the glorious chapter in the country's history.”

Abdur Rahman, general secretary of Narayanganj Nagarik Committee, and Mahbubur Rahman Masum, president of Narayanganj Press Club, echoed him.

Contacted, Gulzar Ali, BIWTA joint director (Narayanganj River Port), said, “We have already pumped out most of the water from inside the ship and cleaned the garbage. It will be taken to the Karnaphuli Dockyard soon for renovation.”

Regarding the compensation, he said, “They [the owners] had sent a letter to our head office. We have forwarded it to the shipping ministry. They will take a decision soon...”

Contacted, Rabbi Miah, deputy commissioner of Narayanganj, said, “As per direction of the shipping ministry, the ship will be taken to the Military Museum from the Karnaphuli Dockyard after renovation. It will be preserved and displayed there as a Liberation War memorabilia.”

He also added, “Regarding the expenditure of transporting the ship as well as compensating the owners, the ministries concerned [Shipping and Liberation War ministries] are in talks. The issue will be finalised soon.”
http://www.thedailystar.net/city/piece-history-rusting-away-1492906

12:00 AM, December 04, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 04, 2017
From the labyrinth of memory
A glorious chapter was added to world history on December 16, 1971. A proud new nation, Bangladesh, was born out of a nine-month armed struggle at a great cost of human lives, untold suffering and sacrifice. We, the Bangalees in Pakistan were ecstatic with joy. However, soon the reality also dawned upon us that we were stranded in Pakistan. The million dollar question was, when and how shall we all go back to liberated Bangladesh? There would be long months of anxious waiting and uncertainty ahead of us.
from_the_labyrinth_of_memory_0.jpg

Waqar A. Khan
In the months of 1972, Bangalees living singly and with families in Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Lahore and Karachi started to escape from Pakistan primarily through the semi-autonomous tribal areas of the then North West Frontier Province (NWFP) of Pakistan into Afghanistan for the onward journey to India and then ultimately to Bangladesh.
From Peshawar along the Khyber Pass via Torkham to Afghanistan, hidden in goods-laden trucks bound for Afghanistan or, through tribal areas on mule-back and foot, were the most sought after escape routes and, perhaps the easiest way out of Pakistan then.

The Pashtun/Pathan tribal smuggling cartels made a lucrative business out of illegally transporting human commodity for a change, especially through the unchartered, rugged, often dangerous mountainous terrain on foot and mule backs.

By mid-1972, a few of us Bangalee youths in Islamabad, Pakistan, started to secretly plan our “Great Escape” at an opportune time via the North West frontier of Pakistan into Afghanistan. Our “D Day” finally arrived in mid-December, 1972. Uncle Abdul Bari, a Bangalee career officer, formerly in the Pakistan Foreign Service, arranged our clandestine trip to Kabul.

He had made reliable contacts with a Pashtun/Pathan smuggling cartel who were successfully ferrying Bangalees out of Pakistan. We were altogether six young men—late Tarik Ahsan (Shomi), friend Taufiq, cousin Masud, our neighbour uncle Bari's son and nephew, Bitu and Bacchu and myself. We each packed bare essentials in small suitcases for the trip.

On December 17 we began our journey at 3am from Islamabad in a large, old Chevrolet with a Pathan driver and his helper. It was a beautiful night with a clear sky and full moon. It was cold and we had dressed accordingly. We sped along the known highway towards Peshawar, only 90 miles away.

After about three hours we went past the historic Attock fort and crossed the strategically located Attock bridge in the morning. By then we had left Punjab and entered the then North West Frontier Province (NWFP). Soon we were in Peshawar city and went by many a familiar sight. After a short ride we were lodged at a safe-house in the outskirts of the city in a village for rest and lunch. It was already noon.
from_the_labyrinth_of_memory1.jpg

Shah-Do Shamshira mosque across the river, Kabul, December, 1972. Photo: Waqar A. Khan
At 3pm we started to move again and heaved a sigh of relief once we left the directly controlled Pakistani territory and started cruising down the semi-autonomous tribal belt. Our car hurtled endlessly on dirt roads with potholes.

Finally we arrived at a rubble strewn valley ringed by awesome mountains and saw fortified mud houses with high walls and watch towers. Everyone here was armed with a rifle. Our car came to a stop in front of a house with a big, crude wooden door. The house belonged to an important tribal chief, we were informed. We were ushered into an outhouse within the courtyard of the fortified compound by a group a friendly Pathans and treated to some welcome tea. It was already 4 pm in the afternoon. We were lodged here for the night.

Next day around 6pm over a simple diet of Naan roti (unleavened bread) and tea, we left with a new group of Pathan guides in a car and arrived at a hamlet in the back of the Landi Kotal bazaar. Here we were to rest for a while and wait while the mule-train was brought in for our real journey ahead through the heights, that is, unchartered routes to Afghanistan. We whiled away the time leisurely gossiping and smoking cigarettes.

It was now almost 9 pm. The night sky was splendidly azure and clear. There was a full moon. It looked radiant and spread a brilliant effulgence all around. We could even make out the mud houses that dotted the rocky terrain in the distance. The star spangled sky seemed to promise us an auspicious journey ahead. The air was cool and crisp. I took it all in, lungs full of it. It energised me. I told the others to do the same. It would dispel fear and negative thoughts, I said. Then very strangely, there came a sweet fragrance wafting in the cold breeze from nowhere. It seemed heaven sent. I assured myself that nothing could possibly go wrong from here on, Insha'Allah!

The motions for the actual journey started at around 10pm. There was feverish activity amidst much haranguing and cursing by the Pathans. We were hauled up on a mule each with our luggage, after which we were tightly strapped to the mule back with thick ropes. We had four guides in all. For the next four hours we traversed through undulating landscapes, scaled precipitous craggy heights, went down into valleys and barely made it through mountain sides with mule tracks of minimal width. All around us were deep ravines and gorges. Just a little slip would have sent us tumbling down to our inevitable deaths. No one could have retrieved our mangled bodies.

Around 3am, we were told that we had arrived on Afghan soil in Kandahar. We were jubilant. We cheered lustily, thanked the Almighty and shook hands with our guides. Slowly, we descended down a valley with looming mountains all around and stopped at a low grubby shack for rest and some sleep. At around 7am in the morning a battered microbus arrived along with a driver and helper. Our onward journey to Kabul would require eight hours, we were told. We left the valley and hit the road to Kabul.
from_the_labyrinth_of_memory2.jpg

The tomb of Mughal Emperor Babur, Kabul, 1972. Photo: Asefi
We travelled on roads through rugged mountainous terrain. The vegetation all around the valleys and lowlands had withered away in the intense cold. It was a bleak, barren and monotonous landscape. The few trees that were there displayed bare branches and gnarled roots.

They stood like mute sentinels along the way. It had not snowed yet. From the looks of the villages, hamlets and people it soon transpired that we were in a very poor country. King Zahir Shah was then the absolute monarch. The kingdom was a feudal state. Much of the country seemed to be frozen in the medieval age. It was the first kingdom that I visited.

Closer to Kabul we started to descend from the Hindu Kush mountain chain. There were scary hairpin bends where our driver would suddenly swerve and careen dangerously close to the precipice, sending a shower of dust, diesel smoke and pebbles below. It made us dizzy. We closed our eyes and cringed every time he did so. There were awesome deep ravines and gorges that we passed by with the river snaking in between like a giant serpent.

At around 4pm we entered Kabul, the historic capital of Afghanistan, located high up on a narrow valley between the Hindu Kush mountains. We stopped at the Indian embassy, was kindly attended to by a young Sikh official who then patiently completed all our formalities. We did not realise then that our stay would be a long wait of 22 days. Next, we were taken to a makeshift hotel pompously named Regal. We were lodged together in a fairly large room with an “ancient” fireplace and mock French windows. By then it was 6 pm.

In the days to come, I along with our hotel manager Raza and friend Bitu, extensively toured Kabul, even in the extreme cold weather after a heavy snow fall. Some of the places I visited in brief are as follows:

Arg-e-Shahi (Citadel of the King) or Royal Palace in Kabul now the Presidential Palace, which had a most imposing, stately presence. I had never seen so grand a modern palace before. It is built on a vast area of 83 acres in the affluent neighbourhood of Wazir Akbar Khan.

On a cold sunny day, I visited Bagh-e-Babur or the “Garden of Babur” which houses his grave. Babur was the first Mughal Emperor of Hindustan (India). The garden is located on the slopes of the Kuh-e-Sher Darwaza, southwest of the old part of the city.

The Bala Hissar is an ancient fortress located in the city of Kabul. It sits to the south of city centre of Kabul and at the tail end of the Koh-e-Sher Darwaza mountain chain.

In the central part of Kabul is located the Zarnegar Park, desolate in winter, with the quaint mausoleum of Amir Abdur Rahman Khan, an interesting edifice, an amalgamation of Anglo-Saracenic styles.

The imposing black marble mausoleum of King Nadir Shah sits high on a hilltop overlooking East Kabul at Teppe Maranjan. The Kabul Museum had an impressive and a most important collection of ancient artefacts of central Asia going back several millennia.
from_the_labyrinth_of_memory3.jpg

The grand mausoleum of King Mohammed Nadir Shah, Kabul, 1972. Photo: Asefi
To get to downtown or the business district of Kabul we had to daily pass by the Pul-e-Khishti mosque. It is the largest mosque in Kabul and beautifully decorated with blue mosaic tiles. Occasionally, I also had to pass by the Shah-Do Shamshira mosque located towards downtown Kabul along the edge of the Kabul River. It is a curious looking edifice with an unusual design for a mosque. It features multiple levels and facades designed in the Italian baroque style.

I also saw the Darul Aman and Tajbeg palaces, the mausoleum of Taimur Shah Durrani, the Burj or watch tower of Bacha-e-Saqqa, Murad Khane and also stopped at Share Naw, Hajary Najary, Arch of Triumph/Paghman gardens, Bach-e-Bala and more.

Contrary to our preconceived notion, the many Afghans we met during our long stay in Kabul, were surprisingly a soft spoken and courteous people. We departed from Kabul for New Delhi after a memorable stay on January 8, 1973, by for our onward journey to Bangladesh.
Waqar A. Khan is Founder, Bangladesh Forum for Heritage Studies
http://www.thedailystar.net/in-focu...m_medium=newsurl&utm_term=all&utm_content=all

One Musibet is better than a thousand Nesihat - a Turkish saying

They are the friends of our enemies -Rahmetli Jinnah upon observing the post independence treacherous and rebellious nature of the Bengali folks at the instigation of their former Hindu masters, who made them the most downtrodden Muslim community with the lowest socio-economic status in the entire India.

After Beni Israil crossed over to the other side of the Red Sea, which was divided to create a path in one of most highest Mujize from Allah-u Azimushshan, and, thereby, got rescued from the clutches of the Pharaoh, who used to kill their sons and abuse their daughters, do you know what they demanded from Hazret-i Musa (PBUH)? They wanted to worship Calf - one of the gods of Pharaoh!!!!!!! Should the Pak folks be at all surprised at the East Pak fiasco??????

BD is like Sita who was rescued from the clutches of Ravana by Ram - Indian views toward BD as expressed by BJP leaders

Elhamdulillah
that the "friends of our enemies" are ultimately well settled in their natural abode!!! I am pretty sure being like Sita in Ram Rajya is full of perks and privileges!!!!!

With the rebellious and treacherous mindsets of the folks from the East Pak I sincerely doubt whether the Hakiki Pak itself could have been saved!!!! Would it have been possible to let the daring Deep State work freely to checkmate "bombing to Stone Age" with the doctrine of "if Pak goes down the world will follow her too", which was corroborated by the MIT studies done during Bush 2 era??? Or, what's about disseminating the USSR??? Or, securing the Haremain???

**BD military, like their Indian counterparts, salute Fire, which always remains lit inside their GHQs. This may be the ultimate revenge of the Pak Ordu!!!