135 Million a Unit,Dassault n Lockheed having great laugh on Indias 5th gen Fighter program with Rus

INDIAPOSITIVE

@$135 Million a Unit, Dassault and Lockheed Martin might be having great laugh on India's Proposed 5th Generation Fighter program with Russia
3 minutes
SOURCE: ABHOY ROY / FOR MY TAKE / IDRW.ORG

MF6Fftw.jpg

It’s more or less official that Indo-Russian Joint venture to develop 5th Generation fighter jets based on Russian Sukhoi developed T-50 fighter jet will be $135 Million Dollars per unit which is much higher than the initial estimate of $90-110 Million per unit cost calculated at the earlier stage between two countries.

Dassault Rafale fighter jet which was brought by India $ 3.86 Billion Dollars without weapons worked out to be $ 106 Million for 36 Units ordered by India.

That’s not it India will also need to foot the bill for its development which will range from $4-6 Billion dollars and also have minimum order units of 127 jets which are 13 aircraft more than 114 requirements placed by Indian Air Force to the Government.

India will need to spend nearly $23-24 Billion dollars in R&D and Procurement cost of 127 jets in long term. Indian will also need to buy specially designed Weapons for use from its Internal internal weapons bay for the aircraft to be operated in Stealth missions, which could be $3-4 Billion dollars additional on weapons purchase.

Lockheed Martin on other hand is working out hard to bring F-35A ( Air Force Version ) to below $85 Million Dollars per unit in its Vanilla Stage (Without Weapons ) by 2020. Lockheed Martin which is also eyeing India’s Single-engined requirement for 100 fighter jets is also offering its F-16 Block 70 for under $60 Million per unit if manufactured locally in India.

http://idrw.org/135-million-a-unit-...d-5th-generation-fighter-program-with-russia/

So What....:undecided:
The completed FGFA will include a total of 43 improvements over the T-50, including stealth, super cruise, advanced sensors, networking and combat avionics. Two separate prototypes will be developed, one by Russia and a separate one by India. The Indian version will be a two-seater for pilot and co-pilot/weapon systems operator (WSO) and The FGFA will be predominantly armed with weapons of Indian origin such as the Astra, a Beyond-visual-range (BVR) being developed by India. Although in keeping with the Russian BVR doctrine of using a variety of different missiles for versatility and unpredictability to countermeasures, the aircraft is expected to have compatibility with various missile types. The FGFA may include systems developed by third parties.Which makes it a viable platform With the price.:coffee::hitwall:
Futher adding to it thier will be a better engine currently underdevelopment by russia to enter production in 2020 near about.:coffee:
:guns::cheesy:

Irony, day light robbery on Indian Tax payers money and here guys are supporting it.
Later on they will cry same way what happend with Ghorskov and SU30 MKI deal.

If India is seriously as rich why so many Indians working as sweepers in western world ?

Because the media wants you to think that the Russians robbed you because of vested interests of western powers. No one will give you an aircraft carrier for 2.34 billion dollars with the air component and integrated weapons.

The Su 30 MKI will be the most advanced heavy fighter for the foreseeable future. The Mig 29k is ruling the seas of the Indian ocean.

You know a F 22 raptor costed more than $200 million per piece without the weapons? I think at 135 million the PAK-FA/FGFA is a bang for the buck.

What is really in there for laugh?
5th gen program will be expensive .
It is not the money that causes issues .We are ready to spend even more than that amount but we need technology and result

The experience gained from FGFA will be used In AMCA program, this project should be completed as quick as possible so that AMCA becomes a reality .

Problem is Russia might deliver the best plane ever but they will not share the technology. I think this Indian Russian project is much better than any other project.focus of Pakistan is on jf-17.we will integrate aesa radar in block 3.although technology is Chinese made but we are learning. Learning is necessary for both India and pakistan. Look at Europe eurofighter typhoon Rafale gripen,Americans f-22 and f-35,Russia with pakfa,China with j-20 and j-31. Even Iran is designing a good plane.India have lots of money! Why there is no complex of advanced weaponry? Advanced fighters? See Pakistan don't have the money.we only have limited money and i think we can't afford 5th gen fighter jet.we can buy it may be in 2019.

It is not the money that causes issues .We are ready to spend even more that amount but we need technology and result
I think time to really involve competent private players in such ventures.
We are again and again just buying but our industry is not really reaping any benefits.
HAL and drdo are way past their sell to dates and time to gradually reduce their footprints on our defense industry.

It is not the money that causes issues .We are ready to spend even more than that amount but we need technology and result

that is the Irony even after spending so much money, tech is not coming only the planes

2.34 billion dollars carrier already crossed 30 years !! whatever you do but you cant replace old hull which is currently 31 yrs old hence Very High maintence cost.
Check Chinese who buy 30% larger carrier same age at only 20 million $ in auction.

Regarding SU30 MKI It is India who bailed them out by giving huge orders of su 30 in 90s but still they never provided any TOT, Even manuals were provided in Russian which took us years to understand. We are just doing Nut bolt job on SU 30.

There is absolutely no comparision with F22, even F 35 is better in terms of stealth which will be available in less then 100 million doller from 2020 and ofcourse no development charge which was 6.8billion $ initially now after negotiation reduced to 4 billion. Forget any TOT Indian Pilots are still not allowed to come near to the plane after paying 300 million already.
At best we could have our own coolent, Tyres and seats covers on FGFA (for only Indian purchased ones).
Had India joined F 35 program initially like other countries (India was also offered to participate in this program at its beginning, India rejected) India also had making some Imp. component of F 35 like all its partners which would be used in all F35 manufactured in lifetime.

Also Russians areee to clever to milk Indian cow, they want India to order minimim 127 nos. but themself limited to 12. If any defect come in there technology they can rectify it later in further orders :lol:

They bought a carrier which was supposed to be a casino..and that is what it is 'a gamble'. The engines and everything they bought along with it, and the air component which is still inept and it had boiler leaks that still cant be fixed now.

No country is going to give you complete transfer of technology. The British were denied even the source codes for the F 35 and they cant integrate weapons manufactured by the European union. The are also going to make only the nuts and bolts. Manufacturing F 35 is not going to give you anything that we already do not posses. We will still be assembling.

And stealth is not everything. Buying F 35 will be a paradigm shift for the Indian forces and F 35 was never offered to India nor to anyone in design stages. Design is different and manufacturing is different. You know why all these are going on with PAKFA? It is for involvement in the design phase. We want to do a complete redesign of the aircraft to learn more.

You think the Indian cow can be milked so soon? Try doing it fr once you might understand how difficult it is. And you need to understand something...Soviets brought in the concept of stealth...but they switched to agility and maneuverability for their survivability.

yep they are very happy ,,,, F-35 will cost 10 million $$$ and F-22 also cost only 30 million $$$$..........
LMAO man can some body tell them its still cheaper then there 5th Gen birds

India will go for FGFA derived from PAKFA, only when Pakistan has 3 squadrons of J31.......please Pakistan get some 5 gen jets, a bharti is requesting:cray:
as a consequence a chain reaction would start where Indian govt will sanction 200+ FGFA's and won't even make a sound.....:rolleyes1:
Forget pakistan! Show whatever you,ll get if and when you really do till then Just Shup up please :ashamed:

India will go for FGFA derived from PAKFA, only when Pakistan has 3 squadrons of J31.......please Pakistan get some 5 gen jets, a bharti is requesting:cray:
as a consequence a chain reaction would start where Indian govt will sanction 200+ FGFA's and won't even make a sound.....:rolleyes1:

Isn't India following J-20 development? :D

Woh aapko nahi milega.....aapki aukaat se bhaar hai, sacchi jhoot nahi bolunga, hum khud 256 se 106 pe aagye hai....hamari bhi aukaat nahi 5 gen fighter udane ki...:p:

Aap hamari aukaat ki tension naa lo ap sai pehly 5th gen hamaray paas hi ayega... Apki to auqaat apna Tejas uranai ki bhi nhi hai :chilli: