Why Kerala has no beef with beef.

This sloka does not say that, Do It!
But Bhagwat Gits does say that it is compulsory to avoid cattle slaughter.

Why do you think reading or keeping Mahabharataha in a house is not advised. Because there are mentions of practices and a lot of things which human does/can do/has done. What human should do is only the Gita!!

India never was a secular country, Because muslims have their own personal law board. Until there is UCC we can't claim to be secular.
Wouldn't it be preferable if Hindus of Pakistan got a personal law board? I think you would vouch for it then but why this hypocricy then. Gandi supported the Khilafat just because of the muslims. He had no interest in the khilafat remaining personally or as a Hindu.

I think particularly small minorities need special rights. However this is harder said than done because the ghairat crowd immediately starts shouting foul.

Wouldn't it be preferable if Hindus of Pakistan got a personal law board? I think you would vouch for it then but why this hypocricy then. Gandi supported the Khilafat just because of the muslims. He had no interest in the khilafat remaining personally or as a Hindu.

I think particularly small minorities need special rights. However this is harder said than done because the ghairat crowd immediately starts shouting foul.
Gandhi also supported Ban on beef. what you have to say about that?

As far as special rights are concerned, no special rights are required. everyone must be equal in the eyes of the law of the land.

bkl muslims will want to ban pork, then some sardarji dictator will start putting all cigarette smokers in a gulag... in the end some digambar will ban clothes :mamba:

bc infrastructure banao, ease of business reforms lao, defence acquisitions review and fast track karo, make in india investment lao... but no, dinner pe kaun kya kha raha hai, kaun kya kha sakta hai.. yeh hai priority because bhagwanji:sarcastic:

Law is Law, one has to follow it. If these pro beef brigade does not eat beef, they will not die. Finally they are fighting on the base of taste and no other sense. They should control their taste, other wise, allowing pork to be sold near a Mazjid for Christians is also legal :)

India has over 200 million population of Muslims. They cannot be called a small minority!!!! Protection is for species who are going to go extinct. Indian Muslims are far from danger of going extinct.

Whos making it safe? Tell me 3 cities in India which have even started to build a freaking SEWAGE SYSTEM in the 2015!!!

People like you with utterly misplaced priorities are the reason for Indias terrible rankings in even the most basic parameters.

BTW: Hows life in Germany? Do Germans argue about such petty things in public like Indians do? Do German people tend to not a give a single sh*t about keeping their environment clean? Are Germans also people who talk about how religious they are and boast about their "morality and values" while nobody gives a sh*t to give some way to an ambulance trying to safe somebodys freaking life?

Sewage system? How does it relate with this topic? At least in the NAME of RELIGION, they have started cleaning Ganga and Yamuna and other rivers. Now that is also bad for you lol.

In Germany it is the constitution which people follow. Yes, people come on street against the government specially the peta, green peace, and even locals against the noise from airport to re-plan the city etc etc. They are more aware about their government. Even religion is discussed, Angela Merkel strictly told the turkish that follow constitution of Germany not your Sharia if you want to live in Germany.

That argument has been made dozens of times and is a fallacy. In reality this occurs no where. By this logic we should have beef banned in Sindh because 8.5% of the Sind population is Hindu and 20% of the Sindhi population. Even in Nepal which has no such ban. It should apply in US, UK, Canada, Germany Australia too where Hindus and Muslims live side by side. No one in either country is giving up pork/beef for the benefit of others and are still doing very well. In fact I remember many non muslim friends in these countries... so we are even turning into friends by tolerating each other. Now lets apply the rule for pork. For muslims pork is forbidden. So should the Hindus and Christians be told not to eat it? That is why I brought ZAB in. ZAB banned drinking for minorities in Pakistan. Was he wrong? I strongly hold he was so there is no hypocrisy. I am applying the same logic to Pakistan.

In the UAE pork is sold in some outlets for non muslims so when a law is made there is at least some leverage for non muslims/other religions. Its still not perfect here but kind of better than inavailability. It should also be allowed to muslims because this life is a test. It is the muslims choice if he wants to pass or fail the test. Everything is up to him. The ayah to you be your faith and to me be mine is very simple in this regard. It means the follower and the non follower (kafir) has his own beliefs and ideals. If God wanted it he could make all of us Hindu or Muslim. So we should learn to mak our own choices and respect the views and beliefs of others.

What I am extremely against is that something be banned for someone for whom it is perfectly legal and that also in a secular country. It is a mockery of the secular model just as a ban on headscarves is and minarets is. These are oppressive laws under the guise of majoritarianism, particularly for muslims might I add. Muslims eat beef and are ordered to eat from what is allowed to them. Similarly Christians and some Hindus believe its okay to eat meat, particularly chicken though not limited to pork. Then there are also Hindus who eat beef. Now whats their fault if they eat beef? Its their personal choice.

@jamahir you haven't commented on this directly. What do you think.

In nepal it is the bufallo which is slaughtered in numbers every year. They also have this festival.. but not cows. They have Pashupatinath Mandir , stricly for respecting all animals. The slaughtering of cattle is mainly done by those who had tribal touch. The learned Hindus Brahmin or Kshatriya did not practice Cow slaughter.

Yes there are hindus who eat beef, thanks to the so called liberal views. My A** . Under the name of Liberal, secularism, modernisation intellectual subversion has inflicted enough damage to our thoughts. Hindus are more prone to acceptance of an ideology which is not their. Some role has been played by media. I appreciate Muslims only for one reason, that it was tough to change their ideology of Islam, you try to change it , there will be resistance. But some how there is also enough damage done in a different way to Muslims and has crossed the min. threshold and vice versa to christians. This is an ongoing conflict.

My point is Beef ban is not anti secular, it is a compulsion for us not to eat and rather protect them. Why cannot minority understand this simple thing. We can have laws on Hajj pilgrimage supported by government, did any Hindu ever object on that?

There is no rule in Bible or Hadees, Quran where any one has ordered and made it compulsion for both to eat forget beef but nonveg alone.There is No compulsion.If there was compulsion then story would be different. So, I think it is the duty of these people also that they should show some tolerance and learn about their religion too. :)

Sewage system? How does it relate with this topic?

How? You are the one making big mouth claims about the health benefits due to the the beef ban... while the actual health problems like an utter absence of proper sanitation does not raise any eyebrows among politicians and many people.. like the fundamentalists on PDF.

Shall I begin listing you the health problems caused by non existing waste sewage and waste management facilities?

At least in the NAME of RELIGION, they have started cleaning Ganga and Yamuna and other rivers. Now that is also bad for you lol.

BS. How effective do you think is that gonna be against the gigantic masses of human waste (organic and inorganic) which is being poured into the Ganges ALONE?

Its the very duty of the government to provide us with clean surroundings... and yet, they care about nonsense like beef ban... no wonder Mumbai looks like the way it looks today.

In Germany it is the constitution which people follow. Yes, people come on street against the government specially the peta, green peace, and even locals against the noise from airport to re-plan the city etc etc. They are more aware about their government. Even religion is discussed, Angela Merkel strictly told the turkish that follow constitution of Germany not your Sharia if you want to live in Germany.

Germans got their priorities right... they live in the real world and not in their fantasies. I dont think that I need to tell you the results.

LOL. Right. There are no church steeples in Switzerland. So obviously minarets are also banned. America has its own reasons for not allowing azan, likewise India has its own reasons for not allowing cow slaughter. There is a ban on halal meat specifically because Muslims eat it. That you are not able to see their snub is expected. Likewise all Muslims are under surveillance. Are you telling me that all Muslims are joining Jihadi forces?

Good to see you so accepting of others reasons of placing restrictions on minorities. In time you will be accepting of ours too.

Also cow ban is for all Indian citizens in those states where it is banned. They are not saying Hindus can eat and others cannot eat. See? They are not targeting Muslims specifically too.

Okay I read up more about the minaret thing...I'm against it. But that's one isolated example of intolerance and they still do tolerate alot. And if they don't, I'm against that.

where state>religion.
no religion is given preference over the other. everyone has complete religious freedom.
so tell me why in secular india

muslims can marry 4 girls??

muslims can get divorce by only saying Talaak???

why muslims refuse to say national anthem vande mataram?

why those privileges are given because of religion???

why muslims consider religion above nation???

How? You are the one making big mouth claims about the health benefits due to the the beef ban... while the actual health problems like an utter absence of proper sanitation does not raise any eyebrows among politicians and many people.. like the fundamentalists on PDF.

Shall I begin listing you the health problems caused by non existing waste sewage and waste management facilities?
yes, you can quote links and whatever is relevant for you. But this has nothing to do with this topic. Where is sewage and where is Beef. Are you in your senses?

I can also quote , rather have quoted many links in other thread about issues with red meat :)

BS. How effective do you think is that gonna be against the gigantic masses of human waste (organic and inorganic) which is being poured into the Ganges ALONE?

Its the very duty of the government to provide us with clean surroundings... and yet, they care about nonsense like beef ban... no wonder Mumbai looks like the way it looks today.

It is also a duty of citizen not to through haddi(bone) after sucking the flesh out of it on road!!:mad:

And now you ask how effective is this cleaning. Already many foreign firms were contacted to clean the Ganga and other rives. You will not get it done in two days. At least they have started. Let them finish.:angry:

This is the mentality of Indian. arre bhai have patience. Murgi ne anda diya nahi Omelet pehle khana hai :hitwall:

What was the secular government doing since independence. Why didn't they think.:angry:

Germans got their priorities right... they live in the real world and not in their fantasies. I dont think that I need to tell you the results.

They do not have culture like us so nothing to maintain. Rather they appreciate Indians for their culture and we will maintain it.
And FYI, A lot of Germans are Vegetarians :)

Okay I read up more about the minaret thing...I'm against it. But that's one isolated example of intolerance and they still do tolerate alot. And if they don't, I'm against that.

Oh right. Also Germany has church tax where taxes collected from its citizens is given to the church to spend.... Likewise all Europeans states have laws favoring Christianity and disfavoring other minority religions. In fact a whole lot of them do not even recognize as legitimate many minority religions. So it is not an isolated case. It is only India where it was opposite all this while. Minorities had all the freedom while Hindus had all the responsibilities. Even the temple money was taken by govt and spent on Minority mosques and churches. We are correcting all these imbalances.