Why Kasmir is stripped of special status, but not the 7 NE states ?

3 way referendum then:

1. Independence
2. Merge with Pakistan
3. Stay with India

What you say buddy?

Yes, that would be the ideal thing. But, you see the world is not ideal. A referendum means that India loses the Kashmir Valley for sure. Who lets go of territory like that ?

Then do not say you know what Kashmiris want.

Anyway why does India want to hold onto Kashmir?
As far as I see all it gets in return for killed soldiers and spending vast treasure is bad press.

No, Genocide is not the solution to the problem. The problem is there are 750k+ RSS Nazis soldiers ILLEGALLY occupying a state, that does not want them there in the first place. There is one place reserved for genocidal maniacs like your self and that is Hell, may the Hindu Nazis soldiers, and those who blindly follow the RSS terrorist ideology burn in hell.
If your cause is religious, we disagree with it.

Then do not say you know what Kashmiris want.

Anyway why does India want to hold onto Kashmir?
As far as I see all it gets in return for killed soldiers and spending vast treasure is bad press.

I said it's "debatable" that they wish to join Pakistan. My opinion that they dont wish to join Pakistan is based on a survey done by a British based research institute funded by Saif Al Gaddafi, Libyan Qaddafis son.

https://www.chathamhouse.org/sites/default/files/public/Research/Asia/0510pp_kashmir.pdf

The reason why India wants to keep Kashmir ?

1. Territorial integrity. It can lead to a bad precedent for India
2. Can't let terrorism/jihadists win. They will feel emboldened world over.
3. Ego
3. Water
5. Tourism Potential
6. India's claim of being a secular nation so a Muslim majority state can be a part of India
7. Historically Hindu place ( check the history behind the name of Kashmir), so Hindus have some sentiments attached, especially Kashmiri Pandits (Right Wingers particularly are sensitive about this).

Yes, it's expensive, yes it leads to death and destruction for both sides, yes it gives India bad press, but it seems worth it for all the above reasons. I personally, am on the fence on it. Rahe saath to accha, na rahe to aur bhi accha.

I said it's "debatable" that they wish to join Pakistan. My opinion that they dont wish to join Pakistan is based on a survey done by a British based research institute funded by Saif Al Gaddafi, Libyan Qaddafis son.

https://www.chathamhouse.org/sites/default/files/public/Research/Asia/0510pp_kashmir.pdf

3. Ego
3. Water
5. Tourism Potential
6. India's claim of being a secular nation so a Muslim majority state can be a part of India
7. Historically Hindu place ( check the history behind the name of Kashmir), so Hindus have some sentiments attached, especially Kashmiri Pandits (Right Wingers particularly are sensitive about this).

Yes, it's expensive, yes it leads to death and destruction for both sides, yes it gives India bad press, but it seems worth it for all the above reasons. I personally, am on the fence on it. Rahe saath to accha, na rahe to aur bhi accha.

Great post.

The reason I opened this thread is there are other states with special status, however they are being left with their current status. The reason Modi Admin provided certainly does not fly as same could be said and done about the 7 NE states. The polls I saw mostly indicates Kashmiris mostly wanted independence, rather than joining Pakistan.

This move for all practical reasons comes across as political wrapped around with a veneer of resolve. A move perhaps motivated by the debacle events of February 27th.

3. Ego
3. Water
5. Tourism Potential

India now have divided IoK based on religion, not very secular.

3. Ego
3. Water
5. Tourism Potential

What Indians will not realise is Pakistan is integral to any solution to Kashmir. All historic road and rail links from Kashmir & even Jammu were with Punjab. Srinagar to Islamabad would barely be a 1-2hr drive in a normal world. Kashmir Valley & Jammu region’s fruit & vegetables or other crafts would have their primary market in Lahore & Northern Pakistan before going all the way to Indian population centres.

And the answer that the Hindutva types give is their Akhand nonsense of takeover of Pakistan, but what they should prepare for in that situation is a Muslim plurality in an Akhand Bharat from day one.

Any sensible person in Indian circles probably knows this but the blindness of your nationalist & jingoist establishment now is stuck in a dead end of more & more crackdowns & violence.

Well the simple answer is that the Indian government does what it wants in its own country?

Its not its country though thats the problem.

Whole point of partition was that populations like the Kashmiri one could choosh their future and separate from a hindu india they did not identify with

forcing a muslim majority state into a union full of hindus has caused 70 years of animosity and turmoil

Even Kashmir and Jammu separated based on religion because now its controlled by hindu Delhi directly.

No. What are you talking about ? Jammu and Kashmir is still a single Muslims dominated state. Besides, what do you mean by Hindu Delhi ? Also, this Union Territory status is temporary. The government has already stated that it will become a State with its own legislature once again once the atmosphere is safe enough.

Now gangu telis can pass law in Delhi like cow slaughter and force it in IoK. Its anything but secular.

It's temporary and you can't be certain that any non secular laws will be imposed there. Though with Modi, anything is possible.

Its not its country though thats the problem.

Whole point of partition was that populations like the Kashmiri one could choosh their future and separate from a hindu india they did not identify with

forcing a muslim majority state into a union full of hindus has caused 70 years of animosity and turmoil

Actually Kashmir is a part of India - at least in the eyes of the world.