Why A $20-Billion Defence Deal May Be Scrapped

SCRAP THIS STUPID ANGREZI CRAP SHIT AND LETS BUILD OUR OWN WITH OUR ANCIENT VADIC STEALTH TECHNOLOGIES WE CAN MAKE THE BEST FIGHTER JET IN THE ENTIRE UNIVERSE WE HINDUS ARE PROUD OF OUR DYNAMIC LEADER MODI JI WHO WILL TRANSFER INDIA INTO A SUPERPOWER IN NO TIME JAI HO MODI JI JAY HINDI BAHRAT MATE KI JAYYYY SCREW THIS BUILD OUR OWN !!

False Flagger.

In every post about Rafale, Indian quote price. Price is a factor. Thats Indian mentality. They are buying Maruti.

Price is a factor on many levels..its a huge cost one is talking about..as for mentality - we are the biggest buyer of weapons in the world or so the claim goes and we tend to buy top of the line stuff - so mentality is definitely there to do big deals.

The price factor is quite complicated because the tender is complicated - we are talking about manufacturing the aircraft in two countries so share of the cost becomes a negotiating point....then there's cost of invoicing for labor manufacture assembly delays transportation testing supervision Division of profits...or losses if any. Operating cost training cost maintenance, parts, payment schedules..cost break up weapons packages...future development cost and division of the research cost both for aircraft and armaments...etc.....and this is only from the top of my head.

Scrap this. Buy something else in 1-2 years when rupee rises to 45-50/$. Besides, these aircraft will be obsolete in about 10 years anyway.

Nice move by Parrikar. No need to spend Rs 1000 crore on each plane. Save this money and develop AMCA, Tejas MK3 and MK2 out of this. Buy Mig 35 if you really need a MMRCA. We can confuger Mig 35 in line with Indian Migs. We can make it light by using composite and incorporate indo israeli EW suite, AESA etc. We can get those Mig at Just 20% of the cost of this costly Rafale. If we invest those saved money in our aviation industries, it can certainly flourish. There is no need to spend so much of money just for technology transfer. We are soon going to have our own AESA so no need for AESA, Rafale's engines are under power of no use for us. We are doing good progress with Israel in EW so we shall have a good stuff in EW coming time. So it is not worth spending such a huge amont for these planes.

ye deal nhi hai maha baharat hai pata nhi kab khatam ho gee
salaam bhai jaan maha bharat 18dinome khatam ho gayee thi is hisab se kam se kam 18 saal to bante hi hain ;)

Its just rivals sniping the deal

Both Eurofighter (hopeless) and Russians (revenge for mistral)

Price is not as high as these fake media reports (look at source) is saying

ToT for Spectra is unlikely although i hope MoD is pushing for it.
SPECTRA is simply a game changer not just a force multiplier like the RBE2 AA Aesa radar ( better than F-16 AN-APG 80 AESA )
typhoon is not crap or hopeless as many want to belave as for mistarlthing i guess we should ask france to sell those mistrals to us ;)

well i know what SPECTRA is and what is RBE 2 AESA but the problem is we dont have the kind of money france is asking for cause at that price we can have 2 mig 35with AESA based EW suite & radar or even two F/A-18 E F hornets or four Tejas MK2 with AESA so i dont thinkrafale makes sense at the price french are asking as for TOT well french will never give that even if HAL is kept owt of it ... period now whats your point

Nice move by Parrikar. No need to spend Rs 1000 crore on each plane. Save this money and develop AMCA, Tejas MK3 and MK2 out of this. Buy Mig 35 if you really need a MMRCA. We can confuger Mig 35 in line with Indian Migs. We can make it light by using composite and incorporate indo israeli EW suite, AESA etc. We can get those Mig at Just 20% of the cost of this costly Rafale. If we invest those saved money in our aviation industries, it can certainly flourish. There is no need to spend so much of money just for technology transfer. We are soon going to have our own AESA so no need for AESA, Rafale's engines are under power of no use for us. We are doing good progress with Israel in EW so we shall have a good stuff in EW coming time. So it is not worth spending such a huge amont for these planes.

Ten years down the line you would be saying scrap this and go back to Rafael deal or do this and not this.

Baniye Sab Saude Tok peet ke Karte hai Bhai:azn::azn:

Itni took peet bi theek nai kain rafael main dent hi na par jai.

Yes, We may because we have an option.

If wasting ten years is an option then please do try it out.

No one has infinite options. Options do end some day and it would be wise if you excercise your when you have the opportunity. Eslse some one else shall cash in on it.

But cost have increased too much and the purchase have not remained viable. Had it been 10 bn USD as earlier, it would have been an another case. 20 BN USD is too much. That is why it is a time to evaluates the pros and cons once again.

But according to majority of Indians on this forum cost does not matter. India has unlimited money.

Nobody has unlimited money. Rafale is an excellent plane. Very low RCS and Unmatched EW suit, Mind boggling weight carrying capability just as much as its weight. Everything favors Rafale except economics.

your rightten years were wasted by both IAF & MOD & PMO ant the baboos best would have been 8 squads of fully french build rafales bieng ordered way back in 2005 itself by now we would have got them all and would have been in first MLU but that never happened

now since the strategik balance is highli in favour of PLAAF im sure both DM /MOD & PMO + the IAF top brass into something serous with rafale and the result just might surprise many

your rightten years were wasted by both IAF & MOD & PMO ant the baboos best would have been 8 squads of fully french build rafales bieng ordered way back in 2005 itself by now we would have got them all and would have been in first MLU but that never happened

now since the strategik balance is highli in favour of PLAAF im sure both DM /MOD & PMO + the IAF top brass into something serous with rafale and the result just might surprise many

The frustrating thing is for airforce people who do all the hard work and then the case gets stuck in the bureacracy.

well it was the same air force who rejected it owt right when french were willing to shift whole M2K production line to india then they wanted there "cut" so they rejected it and also kept on changing goal posts for the LCA ..... they need to be told there place aswell and im sure if french keep on playing this game rafale just might loose this contract and odds against dassult are increasing by each passing day