Updates on F-INSAS program

The unions there started protesting when it was announced that Kalyai forge and TATA would also compete for the 52 cal. Artillery- they said it was a conspiracy to take their jobs away.:hitwall:

Dilli wale bhai, e MKU wala maal to achhe dikh raha hai, lekin kauno baat hai ka?? I mean, kahin aap agent-segent to nahi ho na?? CA ka kaam chhodne ka vichar to nahi hai na?? Lols

NOPE MAN!:)

@kaykay I was offered a tentative agent-ship in jest by this LM guy in the 2010 DEFEXPO because of the questions I asked him- he was a bit addled that a 18 year old was asking him where they sourced the PAO coolant for the ESA from. Same thing happened in 2012 when I started giving an improptu presentation on the Baltskin maxillofacial armor system. They were like, suit up man.:omghaha:

@sandy_3126 Weren't there government generated reports which has envisioned out a possible OFB restructuring? What according to you is the reason behind the shop-floor tardiness and low quality that prevails through the OFB products?

I am not aware of such report or any official process which has begun to start restructuring. Although I would highly appreciate re-structuring not privatization of the OFB. It would be nice to see, OFB- Small arms, Heavy Weapons division, textile/consumables, and ammunition departments being divided into specific divisions.

last I heard the Managing Director of OFB got the position from his previous psoting in Boot/uniforms/tarps line of OFB. I don't know how much of textile management information will come in handy while developing Modular Combat rifle system.

Nevertheless, Being on the forum for last 2-3 years and seeing the ritualistic inaction in governmental mechanisms from OFB, DRDO, GSRE, to HAL (Which I have defended quite often), I am gradually becoming pessimistic of Indian Developments in all defense sectors.

The unions there started protesting when it was announced that Kalyai forge and TATA would also compete for the 52 cal. Artillery- they said it was a conspiracy to take their jobs away.:hitwall:

You've got to be joking.

What was the outcome of the protests? India's never going to become a manufacturing economy with an unionised workforce.

You've got to be joking.

What was the outcome of the protests? India's never going to become a manufacturing economy with an unionised workforce.

Did you take a look at the products on offer posted on page 4-5? IF not then do so. The outcome is that not much resembling such technology and quality has been given to our jawaans.

@he-man

The second system belongs to MKU- cannot get you high def pics but here are the components-

Helmet, helmet ACH ARC kit for mounting optronics, attachment akin to a VAS shroud for flip-on/flip-off NVG attachment:-

27.jpg

BPJ- (far too many details to list- mainly- Molle web gear, quick release system, and trust me its extremely light- have handled one personally):-

14.jpg

25.jpg

Rifle mounted/ IR enabled sight with transmit to eye-optics gear:-

10.jpg

Aur kuch? There are a whole host of NVD monocular, binocular and RAS options. Even a tactical soldier carried and deployed surveillance UAV.

Closer look at the system- still no high res pic though:-

6.jpg

@Abingdonboy A better look at the MKU F-INSAS offerings.
@Armstrong I is going to wear all of this and hunt your BIG lard a$$.:smokin:
OR I'll hunt @BDforever at the border.:devil:

thanks man. Really informative on your part. Keep up the good work.

i found one more

a358.jpg

@Dillinger

mku one looks better but i would still prefer tata

tatas gear must be pretty decent too and this contract will bring them into our defence industry,,,,its a win win situation

plus i think tatas stuff will be cheaper too.
any idea on price diff??

really cool stuffs. Can't wait to see our army being equipped with these. Atleast purpose of starting the thread being fullfilled to a certain extent. Thank you.

lakh take ki baat kahi he aane.
SMS baba ki jai.:chilli:

There's more Indian maal from the private co. TATA has some good stuff too and should be able to adhere to stringent quality standards. Same with a few more companies I know of- some working on their own others in JVs with foreign firms.

@Dillinger
more and more jv in private sectors means more quality our defence sector. Atleast in private sector the accountability and responsibily are well defined. Atleast there are consequances of being a failure, which is non existance in public sector.

@Dillinger and anyone else notice this:

The LMG project is part of the Army's endeavour to overhaul the basic weaponry of its infantry soldiers, which range from new-generation assault rifles to close-quarter battle (CBQ) carbines, as reported earlier.

Infantry battalions will induct the new 7.62mm calibre LMGs, with spare barrels and an effective 1-km firing range, under the new project worth around Rs 530 crore. The project will see the OFB tying up with a foreign vendor after issuing a global tender. The existing 5.56mm LMGs have only a 700-metre range and weigh much heavier at 6.23-kg.

Source: http://www.defence.pk/forums/indian...rth-rs-15000-crore-cleared.html#ixzz2evSwytFe
Under the F-INSAS the IA is shopping for new CQB carbines, HMGs,MMGs, LMGs, Sniper rifles and ARs (regulars will get the DRDO MCW, specilost units like the Ghataks, Airborne brigades and RR but NOT SF, will get the foreign AR- fingers crossed the ARX -160) )

@Dillinger and anyone else notice this:

Under the F-INSAS the IA is shopping for new CQB carbines, HMGs,MMGs, LMGs, Sniper rifles and ARs (regulars will get the DRDO MCW, specilost units like the Ghataks, Airborne brigades and RR but NOT SF, will get the foreign AR- fingers crossed the ARX -160) )

True, that's is how its going to get cut. Personally I don't care too much for what the specialists will get since they are already putting the Negevs and Tavors to rather good use.

We do need high caliber (quality wise) HMGs and MMGs and most importantly LMGs which can serve as SAWs. :)

True, that's is how its going to get cut. Personally I don't care too much for what the specialists will get since they are already putting the Negevs and Tavors to rather good use.

We do need high caliber (quality wise) HMGs and MMGs and most importantly LMGs which can serve as SAWs. :)

You don't care about what the specialists will get? Not even your precious airborne brigades??!! ;)

I know what you mean bro. The SFs are going to get taken care of nowadays but the story for the infantrymen is different and their basic weapons/equipment needs to be light years ahead of where it is now. Seeing Indian soldiers in 20-effing-13 running around with WW2 era Bran LMGs and 9mm Sten Carbines as well as "tin helmets" is just a distressing sight to day the least.