The story of a Pakistani Sikh

There was plan to buy tablets but looks like they decided against it for cost reasons. Maybe in 2027 if census isn't delayed again.

A customised palm top to run small application to capture census data would have been cheaper than cost of printing papers and cost of data entry and compilation which will be full of mistakes. Truth is nobody in govt. institutions is honest.

Well seems like they are using old paper anyway so nothing new there anyway

Now that I think about it. What will burgers in Lahore declare as mother tongue? Urdu? In that case we need quota system in punjab as well. We will know soon enough after census if urdu speaking population suddenly increases.

There were already TODO lists about census circulating on social media, one point those was to write Urdu in mother tongue.... lol

Punjabi culture has been reduced to festivals, marriages, songs and marasi comedians on tv channels. Language it self is dying in Lahore. Read this piece By Mushtaq Soofi.

"One has a strong sense of déjà vu. It’s census again. This time it’s state that insists that Punjabis should declare Urdu as their mother language. Upper classes of Punjab, alienated and rootless, are bending over backward to oblige. They in their blissful ignorance continue to commit cultural vandalism for which they will be made to pay at some point in not a distant future. Language is the most vital constituent of people’s identity. If you take away from the people their language, they lose their sense of identity. Losing identity means loss of the past and what it produced. There is no point in appealing to the state and its minions not to be a party to the elimination of the language of the majority of Pakistanis because instead of celebrating the rich linguistic diversity of the country, they take it as a threat to their ill-conceived notion of mono-lingual national unity. But such a patently stupid practice will have serious implications for Punjab as well as for other federating units.

Some “Bhai” from Karachi can now claim that high-end areas of Punjab that declared Urdu as their mother language are his constituency. As to the Punjabi, one is sure that as long as there are “servants” in the posh residential localities, Punjabi will not perish. As long as the rich cannot dispense with the poor -- which is not going to happen in foreseeable future -- the poor will continue to keep their language alive. The poor are the only hope of the Punjab’s language and culture. It will be “easier for a camel to pass through the eye of the needle than for the rich” Punjabis to enter the kingdom of culture if they continue to disown what they may legitimately own; the rich language of their forefathers who laid the foundation of sub continental civilisation."— soofi01@hotmail.com

Published in Dawn, April 14th, 2017
https://www.dawn.com/news/1326784

These wannabe be bhaiyas will suffer more then MQM if they continue on this path.

Even the local council forms in UK got more ethnicities included. Pakistani got sub categories as well like mirpuri or others. Can this government do anything right? Complete shambols.

He should quit complaining.. doesn't he realize that one Sikh was admitted into PA and other was made some sort of traffic warden in Lahore? what more does he want?? Instead, he should concentrate on Khalistan..

I'd rather be the 'other'
Nosheen Ali

"Mardamshumari [census] tales

Aap ki madri zaban - Urdu [Your mother tongue - Urdu]

Proceeds to check “1”.

Nahin, Gujrati [No, Gujrati]

Hain?! Aap ke aas paas bhi sab ne Urdu hi likhwai hai [Really? Everyone in your neighbourhood said Urdu]

Nahin, Gujrati [No, Gujrati]

Lekin aap ghar main kia bolti hain? [But, what do you speak in your home?]

I don’t say: Urdu-hegemonic state was intolerant towards other languages and there was little support so my parents switched rather unsuccessfully and I learnt some combination.

Aap Gujrati likhain [Write down Gujrati]

Acchaa..yahan ‘Deegar’ par tick lagana hoga? [Alright, we’ll have to tick ‘other’]

Ji [Yes]

Proceeds to cancel Urdu and checks “Other”.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1325757/has-the-census-team-visited-you-heres-what-to-expect

Here Gujarati in Karachi who speak urdu as mother tongue has ticked other instead of urdu. If burgers tick urdu in punjab then quota system to banta hai, **** them.

Sikhism should have been included in the census. Rightly stated Sikhism vast history is in preset day Pakistan. Unfortunatly our political leaders are extremely ignorant.