Tatas to invest heavily post FDI hike in defence

Please do come over to my institute. There is atleast one of your sweeping comment I can sweep under the carpet, or out of your head.

which are u in??
I have seen NIT,jalandhar and it sucks big time.

But they have made a new IT building which is very nice,,,others may improve in times to come.
But we are not competing with pakistan or sri lanka dude!!
We need to compete with china or japan which unfortunately even IIT's cannot,forget about NIT'S.

Btw the best NIT is surathkal,karnataka i think

I am a modi bhakt!!:lol::lol::lol:
Ask any rss lover here,,he will tell u what i am.

I don't love and hate anyone,,i am all for performance and at this point i think modi is the best thing that could happen to india.

U are probably a socialist from bengal or kerala or maybe just a disgrunted AAP member,,i couldn't care less:crazy:

Arre woh sirf Mazze le raha tha

which are u in??
I have seen NIT,jalandhar and it sucks big time.

But they have made a new IT building which is very nice,,,others may improve in times to come.
But we are not competing with pakistan or sri lanka dude!!
We need to compete with china or japan which unfortunately even IIT's cannot,forget about NIT'S.

Btw the best NIT is surathkal,karnataka i think

The international universities you point to are oriented towards research and Development projects, i.e. are more focused at post graduate and Doctoral students. Our NITs are fixated mostly towards Undergraduate students. Therein lies the difference.

For Undergraduate work, an average laboratory is considered good enough, and is consequently not put up for modernization, again which wouldn't happen if these labs were to cater to research projects of a doctorate student.

It's almost the same in IITs, though some of their facilities are better. I had been interning with a CSIR lab in North India the last two months, and we found students from IITR coming over to conduct experiments, because their labs simply didn't have the equipment.

And the best NIT is because of the caliber of the students entering it, the faculties are almost similar. Btw, am from an NIT in eastern India.

U are probably a socialist from bengal or kerala or maybe just a disgrunted AAP member,,i couldn't care less:crazy:

Doesn't matter who I am or from where i am, the fact remain that You have voted for a govt. that will work for Ambani in the morning, Adani in the afternoon & Tata in the evening.

Modi has made you blind.

The international universities you point to are oriented towards research and Development projects, i.e. are more focused at post graduate and Doctoral students. Our NITs are fixated mostly towards Undergraduate students. Therein lies the difference.

For Undergraduate work, an average laboratory is considered good enough, and is consequently not put up for modernization, again which wouldn't happen if these labs were to cater to research projects of a doctorate student.

It's almost the same in IITs, though some of their facilities are better. I had been interning with a CSIR lab in North India the last two months, and we found students from IITR coming over to conduct experiments, because their labs simply didn't have the equipment.

And the best NIT is because of the caliber of the students entering it, the faculties are almost similar. Btw, am from an NIT in eastern India.

Ask any student who has passed out and he will tell u the problems man,,,my own brother just passed out last year thats why i know.
The students entering are exceptional but when u don't utilize the talent its of no use,,,its the opposite outside,,even an average student entering the institutes comes out to be great.U may like the operation theatre in my hospital if i show u one,,,hell u may even consider that cutting edge but when u compare it with international standards its not so.

Same is there in labs of our institutes,,,problem is that it could be fixed easily with more funds but no one bothers.
Also check the mtech seats in ur own institute,,,they are negligible so almost 99% engineering students in india are only graduates and i don't need to tell u how much u guys are studying anyway:lol:(no insult man,,,we all had blast in graduation).........so due to these mtech shortages almost there is nil research.

A phd is just a rare breed,,even if one is there he has no lab to do shit.

All i am implying is that we need to focus here too

Doesn't matter who I am or from where i am, the fact remain that You have voted for a govt. that will work for Ambani in the morning, Adani in the afternoon & Tata in the evening.

Modi has made you blind.

No man,,he tried to make me blind but i took precautions with these black goggles.
They work great
:rofl:

12710-paresh-rawal-wearing-a-black-goggles.jpg

No man,,he tried to make me blind but i took precautions with these black goggles.
They work great
:rofl:

12710-paresh-rawal-wearing-a-black-goggles.jpg

Doesn't matter, India is doomed now at the hands of a crony capitalist............

Just wait for few months............ACHEY DIN ANEY WALEY HAI!!!

Ask any student who has passed out and he will tell u the problems man,,,my own brother just passed out last year thats why i know.
The students entering are exceptional but when u don't utilize the talent its of no use,,,its the opposite outside,,even an average student entering the institutes comes out to be great.U may like the operation theatre in my hospital if i show u one,,,hell u may even consider that cutting edge but when u compare it with international standards its not so.

Same is there in labs of our institutes,,,problem is that it could be fixed easily with more funds but no one bothers.
Also check the mtech seats in ur own institute,,,they are negligible so almost 99% engineering students in india are only graduates and i don't need to tell u how much u guys are studying anyway:lol:(no insult man,,,we all had blast in graduation).........so due to these mtech shortages almost there is nil research.

A phd is just a rare breed,,even if one is there he has no lab to do shit.

All i am implying is that we need to focus here too

I'll speak about my branch, as I really cannot comment on the other branches of engineering

As I stated earlier, I have had the pleasure of interning at a CSIR laboratory for the last two months. They represent the cutting edge of research and technology in this country. And their equipment is as cutting edge as it gets, national or international. At first I was blown away by the equipment at the lab.

But truth is, the same equipment exists in our lab back at NIT*, the difference being that our college lab has manual equipment, while the labs in international Universities, like in CSIR-XXXX have digital equipment. Sure the digital equipment gets the work done faster, but the manual gets it done just as good.

And about MTech in our college, it's about 200-250 seats vs 600 seats for B.Tech, so its not insignificant. But the best talents leave the country for post graduate degree. The Indian M.Tech degree is looked down at by most of us, unless its at one of the top IITs or IISC.

I myself am searching where I plan to do post graduate study on graduation

I'll speak about my branch, as I really cannot comment on the other branches of engineering

As I stated earlier, I have had the pleasure of interning at a CSIR laboratory for the last two months. They represent the cutting edge of research and technology in this country. And their equipment is as cutting edge as it gets, national or international. At first I was blown away by the equipment at the lab.

But truth is, the same equipment exists in our lab back at NIT*, the difference being that our college lab has manual equipment, while the labs in international Universities, like in CSIR-XXXX have digital equipment. Sure the digital equipment gets the work done faster, but the manual gets it done just as good.

And about MTech in our college, it's about 200-250 seats vs 600 seats for B.Tech, so its not insignificant. But the best talents leave the country for post graduate degree. The Indian M.Tech degree is looked down at by most of us, unless its at one of the top IITs or IISC.

I myself am searching where I plan to do post graduate study on graduation

U are better off learning german and emigrating there.
Maybe give gre or go to canada..................trust me dude there is nothing here

Don't get so upbeat, while they do have some good products to their name, TATA and co. are world champions at screw driver giri, so much so that they can make the OFB chaps blush.

No amount of cosmetic changes and JVs will build the MIC that India needs, for that concrete structural changes are required.

Lets start with the requisite infrastructure, of which there is so little in India, in fact I found my self (for the first time in a long time) nodding in agreement with Shri Avinash Ji as he lamented the absence of said infrastructure in detail in his recent IDSA lecture.

And that's what the DPSUs have to deal with, which do have access to a limited type and quality of test infra, the private entities don't even have that, compare this to small scale enterprises located in foreign countries which have their own private test ranges.

Torpedo ko test karne ke liye test rig hai nahi which can simulate sea state conditions lekin torpedo toh zaroor banayenge. Hell, Egypt had a flying engine test bed back in the 60s when it was contemplating engine development, aur bhai hamare pas to aaj bhi nahi hai. This is a very generic and super simplified overview, the details would be truly depressing.

The problems associated with the anemic nature of our defence manufacturing are systemic tendencies of the very structures we've put in place and systemic tendencies by dint of being inherent in the said system don't go away without an actual overhaul (in the truest meaning of said word).

Was talking to couple of friends and they were of the opinion we need lots of catching up to do on metal working. And ofcourse, my dad (wifey's dad who was one of the guys responsible for the fuse and/or trigger or something like that in the DRDO missiles division) who says the best thing to happen is to get private guys in, instead of telling the bureaucrats what needs to be produced and researched. Its worth listening to his stories. They are a laugh riot.

Modi has made you blind.

At least he will work for Indians and not like khangressi who works for foreigners :crazy: