Strike package of PAF F-16 - Fear Factor

DSC_0061_zpsbmz9mnpl.jpg~original

The recent announcement of of Eight more F-16s for the PAF has been cause of much anxiety and depression in the neighbourhood. Albeit Pakistan has been operating the Fighting Falcon for over Thirty years with newer and more capable models being acquired within the last decade, however, the reaction by India to the recent acquisition has been unprecedented. This is all the more scandalous since India currently is one of the top armament purchasing country boasting of fourth largest air force in the world.
But it's also possible that India does have real concerns as the F-16s continue to rattle nerves in New Delhi.
According to Indian writer Pushpinder Singh, the arrival of F-16s in the Sub-continent caused such alarm bells that India in response ended up purchasing no less than 220 assorted fighter jets from Russia and France, hence the latest reaction by India thus shouldn't come as a surprise.
The F-16, the most widely used and combat proven aircraft of recent times has also proved it's tremendous capabilities within the PAF. Soon after bit's arrival in Pakistan in the mid-80s, it was immediately pressed into service against joint Afghan/Soviet threat and in the process shot down no less than a dozen Soviet origin aircraft without a single loss to enemy action, since PAF never disclosed about those aircraft that fell on the other side of the border, so the actual number of victims, which is much higher remains classified.
A PAF F-16 also made history by achieving first night interception and shooting down of an IAF spy drone of Israeli origin in 2002. In 2005, Pratt & Whitney presented a plaque to the PAF in recognition of flying the F-16 for over 100,000 accident free flight hours.
Badr-ul-Islam_kill_video_capture.jpg

HUD capture of an Afghan SU-22 kill in 1987

A notable incident took place in 2008, when some Indian aircraft in a threatening manner intruded into Pakistan airspace and were promptly intercepted by PAF F-16s and escorted out.
More recently, PAF F-16s have been busy in carrying out strikes against the Taliban near Afghan border with great success. Even during exercises with friendly air forces, the PAF have scored repeated victories against such potent systems as the Euro fighter Typhoons and F-15 Eagles. All in all, since it's induction in PAF, the F-16s have remained geared into action in one form or another, always coming out on the top. It enjoys an unparalleled combat record while most aircraft in the neighbourhood don't have a single combat kill to their name so any wonder even eight F-16s can cause so many ripples.

269073_248702228477563_694541_n_zps7e69f738.jpg~original

That "orange" weapon is a BLU-109. It is called a bunker buster, ready to play hide and seek with all those Su-30s, Bisons, and Rafales sitting inside the "hardened" shelters.

@Windjammer By the way do you feel frustrated that you fear factor thread turned out fun factor for India?

Are you having fun yet, coz we are just getting warm up boy!

If it were Nostalgia, Pakistan would still be flying the Sabre. It is called sticking with what you know best. Like the Sabre, Paksitanis have mastered the f16 in its conops, and have effectively utilised the infrastructure needed to support the F16 through worse of political times and any regional conflict.

During the 80s why did you switch to F-16? Pakistan should have kept flying the sabres. At that time they hadn't mastered the F-16 for it was new. Do you see the hollow side of your logic?

The f16 era is over it has been over long time ago modern airforces in the world are replacing it but the so called best airforce in the world the papper falcons are buying this seconde hand junk and spending millions on it why not buy a new better aircraft whose air frame has more life span .no we must not buy new nd must not buy chineese pakistani the only nation in the world without any logic whatsoever if I talk to a wall there are mire chances its gnna understand than a pakistani airforce fan boy
Seems you have just come out of a coma after four years, obviously your little mind is all confused and maybe even messed up, why don't you first get use to civilization before you hit the kerb.

Since all "brains" were left in India and only meat eating cow killing "maleech" migrated to the wild west of India, to be renamed Pakistan
Finally you know your place.

after the Indian reaction on the news of mere 8 F-16s for the PAF, one does expect internet warriors to show their bravado
What reaction? :lol: only pakistanis are whining that india is afraid. India is telling the US not to give pakistan any jets not because India fears F16. That would be laughable. But because we will negate even the advantage of a screw pin to pakistan.

The Americans ignoring your whining , the Russians supplying us, France inviting us to PAS, do i need to touch Middle East , China or Africa....if this is Indian idea of diplomatic offensive....then may the force be with you. :lol:

Sir please unko aur tung na karein,
Already the capital of super power is without water to wash-up. Life is not too kind in Delhi and you are adding to desperation and humiliation. US has already done too much. Baqi kasr Jat caste k logon ne nikal di aur aap bhi na?! I think you are being unfair to them. It ain't good to kick one's who are already lying.

Pakistani people should question the rationale behind PAF buying more F 16blk 52 which is inferior to upgraded mirage 2000 & MIG 29 of IAF forget about mig29k & SU 30mki ,Pakistani awam has been fooled buy general's into believing that this give them some edge visa with India when it's completely opposite ,PAF boys may love flying this toy but in the way they are risking security of their people & country just to fulfill ego of some property dealers sitting comfortably in GHQ no offense

The f16 era is over it has been over long time ago modern airforces in the world are replacing it but the so called best airforce in the world the papper falcons are buying this seconde hand junk and spending millions on it why not buy a new better aircraft whose air frame has more life span .no we must not buy new nd must not buy chineese pakistani the only nation in the world without any logic whatsoever if I talk to a wall there are mire chances its gnna understand than a pakistani airforce fan boy
Simple answer PAF doesn't have money & so are comfortable equipping them with inferior weapons even we are finding it difficult to buy Rafael with 50 billion defence budget

But rafael is said to be the seconde best aircraft in the world and india ,s defense policy is not pakistan centric its china centric in case of war our land forces can give you a tougg time but paf doesnt stNd a chance and navy is laughable indian navy present at mumbai port is bigger than entire pakistani navy ohp perry class is floating junk f22p is not even a frigate its a couvert with limited air defense no naval air branch and we have deticated those mirages for naval defense french hVe placed in museams and irony is paf and naval chiefs say we are prepared to fight india and defend mother land lol
@Blue Marlin Doesn't the EF have a better radar, specifically more T/R modules?

But rafael is said to be the seconde best aircraft in the world and india ,s defense policy is not pakistan centric its china centric in case of war our land forces can give you a tougg time but paf doesnt stNd a chance and navy is laughable indian navy present at mumbai port is bigger than entire pakistani navy ohp perry class is floating junk f22p is not even a frigate its a couvert with limited air defense no naval air branch and we have deticated those mirages for naval defense french hVe placed in museams and irony is paf and naval chiefs say we are prepared to fight india and defend mother land lol
Rafael is better than what are opposition have & by opponent i mean China cause PAF have yet to counter upgraded mirage 2000 & mig 29 of IAF

Thank god I am out of coma and I pray small pakistani fab boys and paf top brass may come out of f16 coma aswell and realize there r more meanoverale dynamic and lethal aircrafts in this world .world is revolving around sun not f16 and it didnt descend upon us from god that we can not move to anothr fighter get criticize f16 and I become uncivilzed what kind of civilization is this
You will get used to it the first point used to be that we have quality & you have quantity now India have both so now last resort is that we have better pilot you must have heard 1 Pakistani = 10 Hindu logic

You forget to mention our worst nighter su30 now being upgrated to super su I think pak can manage every other aircraft in indian inventry except su30 its not an Ircraft its a beast and rafale is in the same league

Well u r absolutely spot on we have lost the technological advantage with regards to pilots I have we have a squarden of super men pilots flying with out aircrafts otherwise there is no hope. I pakistani= 10 indians wow if that was the case we should have captured delhi by now :-)
Well that's what I read in some of the post of some Pakistani members including hawa jammer

Great Article here, Indians members high on SU 30MKI please read this very carefully and try to understand the message. Good fighter is aright but deadly fighter with deadly pilots are nightmare. SU30MKI is it battle proven? NO Now is F16 battle proven? Hell yeah as recent as last nov and shot down one of Su family member.
What the F-35 v F-16 Dogfight Really Means: Think Pilots
By DAN WARDon July 08, 2015 at 4:01 AM

When the story broke about the Joint Strike Fighter’s shortcomings as a dogfighter, the reaction among JSF advocates was swift and predictable. Most objected that the F-35’s poor performance is perfectly acceptable and even expected because that jet was never supposed to do air-to-air combat anyway. That claim does not hold up well to scrutiny and rather begs the question of why the Air Force staged the mock air battle between an F-35 and an F-16 in the first place. Probably because, as the Chief of Staff of the Air Force General Mark Welsh explained in December of 2013, “You have to have the F-35 to augment the F-22 to do the air superiority fight.” In other words, the USAF needs the F-35 to be a dogfighter.

Other defenders explained that the scenario in question was just one test and the leaked report was taken out of context by people who don’t really understand these things, so everyone should hold off on rushing to judgment about the plane’s worth. Since the JSF development contract was signed in 1996 and we’re just now putting it through Basic Fighter Maneuver tests (with full-rate production not planned until 2020), I’d say nobody is rushing to anything on that particular aircraft. But speaking as someone with experience and expertise in testing military gear, I can confirm that it is possible for a single test to provide meaningful, definitive performance data. I suspect the F-35 supporters would have agreed with that perspective if it had won the dogfight.

But a different line of defense caught my eye, one that is simultaneously more relevant, more convincing, more important, and more damning for the JSF. In a piece published at FighterSweep that dismisses Axe’s report as “garbage,” C. W. Lemoine points out that the real reason the F-35 lost the dogfight has less to do with technological shortcomings and more to do with pilot experience. Lemoine would know – he’s flown both the F-16 and the F/A-18 – and he explains:

“a guy with maybe 100 hours in the F-35 versus a guy with 1,500+ Viper hours? I’ve seen thousand-hour F-16 guys in two-bag D-models beat up on brand new wingmen in clean, single-seat jets. It happens. It’s the reality of the amount of experience in your given cockpit.

“Let’s see how it [the F-35] does when guys who are proficient in developed tactics do [sic] against guys with similar amounts experience–the realm of the bros in the operational test or Weapons School environment.”

Sexist word choice and speculation about specific flight hours aside, the author brings up an important point. The critical factor in determining combat performance is “the amount of experience in your given cockpit.” While Lemoine is arguing that we should withhold judgment until F-35 pilots become more proficient, I see the lack of proficiency itself as an important data point. This is an area where the F-35 comes up profoundly short, not just now but for the foreseeable future.

Developing effective tactics and producing “guys” who are know how to employ them requires flight hours – lots of flight hours. However, the F-35 community faces several significant barriers that will prevent pilots from gaining the experience necessary to create, validate, and disseminate effective tactics for any type of combat mission, dogfighting or otherwise.

For starters, the ever-growing price tag and the constant developmental delays means the Pentagon is buying fewer jets and receiving them later than planned. It’s pretty hard to train pilots if the jets aren’t available in sufficient time and quantity. On top of that is the F-35’s high cost per flight hour, which can severely limit cockpit time for training flights, particularly in eras of tight budgets. These factors directly translate to fewer opportunities for pilots to actually fly the thing, and as Lemoine explains, pilots with fewer flight hours tend to get beaten by pilots with more.

Then there is the issue of complexity, which is my area of expertise. Complex aircraft are harder to learn, harder to test, and harder to maintain than simpler alternatives, and the F-35 is undeniably the most complex aircraft ever developed. For example, it runs 8.3 million lines of code, four times more than the F-22. The difficulty associated with managing all that complexity drives up the cost and slows down the pace of development and testing, which reduces flight hours – again.

From a purely technical perspective, complexity reduces reliability on multiple fronts, such as increasing the number of possible failure modes and increasing the number of potential sources of any given failure. This means more things can go wrong, and when they do go wrong, it will take longer to find and fix the problems. Complexity also drives up maintenance costs, and in times of reduced budgets some maintenance will get delayed which further reduces aircraft availability. The bottom line: complexity equals less time in the cockpit.

In the immortal words of the late Col. John Boyd, machines don’t fight wars. People do. This is the real heart of the story. Let’s be clear: an F-16 did not beat an F-35 in a dogfight. Instead, an experienced pilot in an F-16 beat a less experienced pilot in an F-35. The only way to prevent such outcomes in the future is to produce experienced F-35 pilots who can create and master new tactics, but the current trajectory makes this tremendously difficult.

So forget the question of whether the F-35 should expect to engage in close-in aerial combat or whether this specific test report should carry any weight. If the Joint Strike Fighter is ever going to be good at anything, dogfighting or otherwise, it will require a cadre of professionals who are “proficient in developed tactics.” That means the pilots need experience in the cockpit, but given the enormous costs, continual delays and tremendous complexity involved, experienced pilots is one thing the F-35 isn’t going to have any time soon.

Dan Ward, a retired Air Force lieutenant colonel. holds three engineering degrees and earned the USAF Master Acquisition Badge as well as top-level certifications in Program Management and Systems Engineering. He is the author of The Simplicity Cycle and FIRE: How Fast, Inexpensive, Restrained, and Elegant Methods Ignite Innovation. And the White House thinks Dan has some pretty hot ideas about acquisition.
What the F-35 v F-16 Dogfight Really Means: Think Pilots « Breaking Defense - Defense industry news, analysis and commentary

By discussing on this topic further you will only make a fool out of yourself. There is nothing in Pakistan's conventional military capability that India can fear or will fear. India left Pakistan far behind in conventional military capability two decades ago, and there is no way you can fill the gap. The gap will further widen in coming decades.

Since I am one of the old timers here, and was boot slapping 2 decades ago, let me clarify some of the conventional warfare and precision edges of Pakistan FROM 2 decades ago. Hold on to your seat, this will really hurt:

1) Agosta 70 Submarines, ability to fire F17, F17 Mod2 Heavy Torpedoes, and Harpoon ASM (the first in Asia), and still the most experiences ASM firing operator in the region.
2) Agosta 90B Submarines, in addition to above, D24A Heavy Torpedoes, and Exocet ASM
3) Atlantique 1, refitted to fire AM39 Exocet (the first in the world, then acquired by France for its ATL2), A
4) Seaking, ability to fire AM39
5) Type 21 Ships, refitted with Harpoon ASM, and Phalanx CIWS, Graseby Sonars 184B repaired by Pakistani companies.
6)
During the 80s why did you switch to F-16? Pakistan should have kept flying the sabres. At that time they hadn't mastered the F-16 for it was new. Do you see the hollow side of your logic?

Because there is no nostalgia? What is your hollow understanding of English?

Finally you know your place.

Your forget that it is a Pakistani forum? You may just piss off an admin and would be hanging on to your lungi for a new account, with your desperate need for attention here. And satire is still not understood?

I don't know what the child bickering is. F16 presents no offset to balance of power in India. Pakistan got a few more aircraft, so why bother? Let the fly boys celebrate.

And for all who say that F16 is an inferior aircraft, i salute you for your brave patriotism...F16 is and will remain to be a potent fighter, and that meets the air defence and medium tactical strike requirements of Pakistani conops. It is an available, tried, tested, and well established option. It is the first functional BVR capability. It is the first and functional tactical strike and deep bunker interdiction capability. It is the first Link 16 capability, given true interoperability with many allied forces. The nay sayers will remain, nay sayers.

What reaction? :lol: only pakistanis are whining that india is afraid. India is telling the US not to give pakistan any jets not because India fears F16. That would be laughable. But because we will negate even the advantage of a screw pin to pakistan.

You have obviously failed miserably in your call centre crash course, while every one from your defence minister down are the ones whining and running around like headless chickens, we are actually enjoying the spectacle displayed by the obsessive micro power. It may be in your nature to play the drama queen and while you may desperately try to negate us from any advantage but the world in no mean terms has put you in your place by saying ''screw you''. :laugh:

The Americans ignoring your whining , the Russians supplying us, France inviting us to PAS, do i need to touch Middle East , China or Africa....if this is Indian idea of diplomatic offensive....then may the force be with you. :lol:

Well supa puwa India did isolated Pakistan from another hyper sua puwa Bangladesh. Achievement unlocked. You can't ignore it. :)

After both countries have crossed the nuclear barrior word 'fear' has become meaningless. They negate what Pakistan achieves and Pakistan negates whatever they try to achieve e.g. civil nuclear tech. or seat in the Security Council. So both are in the same row.

Regarding the capabilities of a fighter jet, i have give suggestion that India and Pakistan hold war games every three years, once under every army chief. It'll give real competition, assessment and lot more.