SHOOTING BLANKS: PARRIKAR SCRAPS RS 1,000 CRORE INDIAN ARMY GUN DEAL

I agree with your statement. But why hasn't India tried to put up a facility for small arms with the help of Russia. I know indigenous programs are a good way but this might have helped you also in export of small arms.

It is a good idea and I guess Kalashkinov is already looking for a partner in India for JV. When it comes to small arms, there are several OFB facilities competing against each other with their own home designs and this healthy competition has kept Small arms away from the need of a JV.

Arms Export was a documentation nightmare due to the absence of a weapon export policy. It is only under this govt India has a national policy on weapon production and export.

was there any single deal in Congress regime that was corruption free? Just curious.

Hath ki safai was at peak in defence contracts.

yatha raja tatha praja

The $hit always falls from the top. Congress used to encourage corruption to makes it own sins less hideous.

This contract cancellation comes immediately after Parrikar cleared 900 crores worth of Israeli Radio for the army AFTER chasticing the Indian Army for consistantly rejecting the Indian Radio and not even bothering to ensure that the Israeli radio was compatible with Indian radio.

Parrikar had to himself intervene to ensure that the Israeli were forced to share codes with India before the deal was cleared.

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/manohar-parrikar-clears-army-deal-israel/1/791957.html

"....The Army insisted on the Israeli product saying the Indian radio sets would not be able to be used with the existing inventory as their source code was not provided to India by Tel Aviv.

When the matter reached Parrikar, he insisted that the Army go for the 'under development' product and a roadmap should be fixed for inducting it in the force.

He also asked the Army to ensure that the Israeli firm give source codes of the Tadiran sets so that they can be used with Indian equipment also.

"Two days back, the Army gave a letter to the ministry stating that the Israeli firm has agreed to provide source codes of their equipment to India and it would take indigenous equipment in future. After that the deal was cleared by the DAC on Thursday," the sources revealed.

Congress would have gone ahead with the deal with proper amount of kickback......giving a substandard product to the Army is none of their worries.......no wonder Pakistanis want the Congress govt. back in India so badly.

Congress will never make a comeback to central government in next 3 decades

You ,mean till Rahul Gandhi gains some maturity or Modi gets old,.

Every party makes money, only the methods are different.

Congress is a socialist party hence they support nationalization and engaging PSUs in the deals. Since you cannot make money out of PSU deals, they have to find a way through payments to the middle men.

On the other hand BJP is capitalist party hence need to make money through crony capitalism.

There is a reason why Congress insisted in engaged HAL for MMRCA while BJP cancelled the MMRCA deal to pave way to dump HAL in favor of their private industry buddy.

Very valid point.

Only thing with Congress, PSU s and Ex DM Anthony, it's like pressing clutch, gear in reverse and in hand brake..

No chance of any progress there..

With BJP, how private sector performs needs to be seen.
I hope good companies get better chances ..

You ,mean till Rahul Gandhi gains some maturity or Modi gets old,.

Very valid point.

Only thing with Congress, PSU s and Ex DM Anthony, it's like pressing clutch, gear in reverse and in hand brake..

BJP is in power now for full 3 yrs nothing much has changed parrikar is no better than ak antony and BJP proving to be UPA3

Nope mate.. I feel lot have improved..
You can see additions in clauses with ever deal..
That a informed minister is taking.

To pull a bureaucracy from a 10 slump to current pace itself will take time..
Now it's started.. We are seeing deals getting signed everywhere.

France ... Russia..
We are yet to see with Israel ( next year I man few more months )
USA not sure when ..

Aren't we getting the Excalibur as an interim replacement to INSAS and apparently DRDO is also developing modified versions of the Excalibur/MCIWS and several variants as in accordance with the requirements suggested by the armed forces. Why is the government floating another tender if these indigenous rifles could fulfill the needs.

http://www.janes.com/article/64880/ia-to-induct-excalibur-as-interim-assault-rifle

http://www.thehindu.com/news/nation...-now/article9258872.ece?textsize=large&test=1

Very valid point.

I fully support private industry.

My limited point is how does India ensure that it is not replacing the corrupt license raj with equally dangerous crony capitalism?

At this time Private players are just enjoying the fruits while GoI does all the heavy lifting to provide them deals on the platter.

I expect them to pull up their socks and deliver rather than just relaxing and taking assured profits.

MP is thousand times better than AKA.

AKA's obsession to maintain his clean image literally put all deals on hold.

I would rather take a corrupt deal that would improve India's security than as stalled deal which totally compromises India's security.

Congress will never make a comeback to central government in next 3 decades

Again my point, Its U, the people of India to decide, we or anyone else shudnt have any business with that. Your country, your call.

This is more about corruption than about BJP-Congress.

Neither BJP nor Congress scraps every deal politically unless there is something wrong going on. The problem with Congress was they didn't monitor their ministers which encouraged corruption.

U have validated my point here but let me add a bit more. Almost every deal carry a portion of corruption with it. So any deal can easily be canceled by pitching that point. If You tell me that there is one deal where an individual or group of individual didnt get kick backs then I wud strongly disagree with U. Angels do not live on earth U know and Politicians are more or less representative of "Evil" (Ofcourse exceptions are always there.) My point is that these Politicians drive the "Mob" (thats what other call Nation) by pitching one of the most popular cause. For some its Religion, for other its better life, for some its "Roti, Kapra aur Makan" and the list goes on. But point is that have anyone fulfilled their promises? I have yet to see any such example in whole world (Again I aint pointing at India specifically but at whole world in general). I think we are straying away from topic so thats the end from my side.

You are right if the Govt to govt deal took the same amount of time as that of the regular tender, but here it just took an year for the govt to govt deal to be worked out(Pretty fast with the govt standard). The IAF would not have suffered damage by a further delay of an Year as the Su-30's are in production and so have the Tejas started flying for IAF (Which if during Congress would not have seen light for the next decade or so). By the time Rafale's fly in , the Single Engined fighters would begin production too. The best part with this deal is, the sanctioned Squadron limit will be achieved sooner than the tender if it were left to continue.

Seems yours "Achay din" have already started. Lucky U. All the best.

SHOOTING BLANKS: PARRIKAR SCRAPS RS 1,000 CRORE INDIAN ARMY GUN DEAL AFTER ITALIAN BERETTA FAILURE LEAVES ISRAELI VENDOR THE ONLY OPTION

Beretta_ARX_160_Rifle.jpg

Beretta offered its ARX160 model but it didn't work well with night vision
by Ajit K Dubey
Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar has scrapped a controversial Army deal worth around Rs 1,000 crore to procure 45,000 rifles amid allegations of corruption in the acquisition process. The potential deal fell under scrutiny over the possibility of favors being given to Israeli firm, Israeli Weapons Industry, over its other rivals in the deal.

• The tender for the rifles was issued in 2010 in which 44,600 close quarter carbines (rifles) were to be provided to the infantry units for combating terrorists in close fights.
    • The deal was scrapped after 28 firms interested in producing the new carbine rifle were reduced to just one
    • The potential deal fell under scrutiny over the possibility of favors being given to Israeli firm, Israeli Weapons Industry
    • Italian firm Beretta had offered its ARX160 model but failed the night-vision modification tests
    • Twenty-eight companies had shown interest in the tender but ultimately after only the Israeli firm was left as ‘single vendor’ in the race for the coveted contract.
A senior Defence Ministry official told Mail Today: "The tender has been scrapped after deliberations with all stakeholders and legal advice. The Army has been asked to restart the process to buy the guns”.
“The process for acquiring the guns may have been affected but there will be zero tolerance for corruption,” the official added.
Though the Defence Ministry allows single vendor cases to be carried through, but it generally prefers only multi-vendor cases at the final stages to reap benefits in terms of cost due to competition.
Italin_Soldier_ARX_160_Carbine.jpg

An Italian soldier with a Beretta ARX 160
The Ministry has now asked the Army to restart the tender under fast-track procedure, but Parrikar has made it clear that the next tender should also be a multi-vendor procedure, sources revealed.
The deal had come under cloud after Union minister Rao Inderjit Singh expressed doubts over the process of selection of the Israeli gun at the Defence Acquisition Council meeting in June.
During his stint in the Defence Ministry, the minister had also sought a CBI probe into the deal.
After objections were raised about the tender process, Parrikar had held meetings with all stakeholders including secretary, defense production, Ashok Gupta; director general, acquisition, Smitha Nagaraj; Army deputy chief Lt Gen.
The potential deal fell under scrutiny over the possibility of favors being given to Israeli firm, Israeli Weapons Industry (pictured), over its other rivals in the deal. The tender for the rifles was issued in 2010 in which 44,600 close quarter carbines (rifles) were to be provided to the infantry units for combating terrorists in close fights.
Subroto Raha and other senior officers to find out a way to go ahead with the ongoing deal, but it did not yield results.
In the initial phase of procurement, the Army had sent the Request for Information to 28 companies and after getting responses, the Request for Proposal was sent to five firms.
IWI_Galil_Assault_Rifle.jpg

IWI Galil ACE 22 5.56×45mm NATO Carbine
“At the trial stage of the competition, just two companies - Italian Beretta and Israeli Weapon Industry - were left. The Galil ACE CQB carbine was offered by IWI while Beretta had offered its ARX160 model,” the official said.
Sources said the Directorate General of Quality Assurance rejected Beretta because a safety measure on its laser sight was found unsuitable.
The night sight by Beretta, widely used in the US, was fitted with a small screw, which needed to be opened before use. This screw dropped off during trials resulting in its rejection, and subsequently the ‘single-vendor’ situation.
The Ministry has now asked the Army to restart the tender under fast-track procedure, but Parrikar has made it clear that the next tender should also be a multi-vendor procedure, sources revealed. The tender called for night-vision sights to be fitted onto the “Picatinny rail”- a standardized bracket - on the top of the barrel.
Since no munitions manufacturer makes night sights, it was suggested to keep options open.
The global tender for the carbines was issued with the option to get transfer of technology to build another 1.2 lakh such carbines by the Ordnance Factory Board.
Defence sources said it needs to be clarified as to why such a deal was allowed to progress when several three-star and two-star rank officers were involved in supervisory role.
All new weapon purchases are the responsibility of the Deputy Chief of Army Staff (Planning and Systems), who reports to the Chief of Army Staff directly.

http://www.indiandefensenews.in/2016/10/shooting-blanks-parrikar-scraps-rs-1000.html

For ****'s sake, can't these stupid PSUs make a decent modern assault rifle?!

wellwhy should they cause they know there jons are secure and they will develop only that what they are capable of the better brains will never get an entry in OFB and so on :sarcastic:

New Delhi: India’s armed forces have embarked on a shopping spree for modern assault rifles, body armour and helmets, providing a potential boost to global arms suppliers.

The 1.3 million-strong military is abandoning its two decade-old Indian made rifles and seeking to outfit its infantry with more up-to-date equipment, scouting for a new model on the global market for 185,000 assault rifles. The ministry of defence also needs to buy hundreds of thousands of helmets and tens of thousands of bullet proof vests.

The moves are part of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s $250 billion push to modernize India’s armed forces, as infantry continue to face the brunt of deadly attacks in disputed border areas such as Kashmir and the north-east.

Plans to buy new equipment from overseas, however, have been held back by bureaucratic delays and the military’s desire to balance the needs of troops against efforts to have equipment built domestically under Modi’s “ Make in India” program, a key plank in his drive to boost local manufacturing.

“It’s encouraging that they’re going ahead with this, but it’s discouraging that it’s not made under ‘Make in India,’ “ said Anit Mukherjee, a former major in the Indian Army and assistant professor at Singapore’s S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies. “The fact that it took 10 years for Indians to go ahead and say, ‘we’re importing’ means the bureaucracy is still holding back modernization of the armed forces. That’s problematic.”

Local rifles

The army currently uses the INSAS, or Indian Small Arms System, rifle, introduced in the late 1990s and built by the state-owned Ordnance Factory. Yet the Indian and Nepalese soldiers issued with the guns complained the 5.56mm rifles were unreliable, prompting the ministry to go to the global market for their replacement.

To identify possible vendors, the ministry last month issued a request for information. It said it wants a larger, more deadly 7.62mm model that will “shoot to kill.”

India needs 65,000 rifles within 28 months of signing the contract and has asked global manufacturers to reply by 7 November, the ministry said. India plans to issue a tender for procuring rifles in April 2017.

This is India’s second attempt since 2011 to procure assault rifles for its infantry. The 2011 tenders were issued to Colt’s Manufacturing Company LLC, Italy’s Fabbrica d’Armi Pietro Beretta S.p.A., Swiss Sig Sauer Inc., the Czech Republic’s Ceska zbrojovka and Israel Weapons Industry Ltd. But it was canceled in 2015 after the rifles offered up by the global manufacturers did not meet the multi-caliber requirements of the army.

Procurement delays

Apart from assault rifles, the army also sought to buy light automatic rifles and machine guns, as well as sniper rifles. Initially, it planned to buy 43,000 carbines off the shelf from international companies and build 120,000 others at ordnance factories in India.

But a tender issued four years ago to buy the carbines was cancelled earlier this month over procedural issues, according to a senior army officer who asked not to be identified discussing information that is private.

The rifle procurement is part of the army’s efforts to modernize personnel equipment, including body armour and helmets. It needs over 350,000 bullet-proof vests, and earlier this year decided to buy 50,000 units of body armour to meet emergency requirements. The army has also inched closer to procuring 150,000 lightweight helmets.

Delays in procuring basic equipment should concern policy makers as infantry troops take on the brunt of India’s current operations, according to Srinath Raghavan, a former infantry officer and senior fellow at New Delhi’s Centre for Policy Research.

The “Make in India” program, where foreign firms team up with local ones, is helping to address that, he said. But there were still tensions between the army’s urgent requirements for modern equipment and the slow pace of defence sector joint ventures, meaning at least some equipment must be bought “off the shelf”.

“The fact that you can’t even design your own small arms system reflects very poorly on the military ecosystem in India,” he said. “The military innovation cycle is dysfunctional and broken down and it should be a matter of huge concern.” Bloomberg

http://www.defencenews.in/article/G...assault-rifles-to-modernise-Indian-Army-28932

http://www.livemint.com/Politics/k2...-185000-assault-rifles-to-modernise-Indi.html