Review of Pakistan Performance in Worldcup 2019: What went Wrong, Changes & Future Improvements?

Change Taptan = No match winning performance, no leading from the front, no Charisma to inspire the team, never saw any captain shouting on field more then him (not a trait of professional).

My take on it:

1. Need a New coach - NO
  2. New Chief Selector - YES
  3. New Bowling Coach - NO
  4. New Batting Coach - NO
  5. New Fielding Coach - MAY BE!! Better to find a way to make them move their a$$ a bit faster!
  6. New Data Analyst, Video Analyst and Physician? YES
  7. New Management who have knows modern game techniques including the next year T-20 Worldcup in Australia - NO
  8. New Domestic Structure changes - NO
  9. New Captain - NO

And for the more detailed one
  1. New Spinners, Bowlers and Batters?
Number 1: Opener (Fakhar Zaman/Any high risk high reward player who can blast the opposition)
Number 2: Opener (Imam/Any new option who is consistent and gurantees 40-50 runs each match and a 60-70 partnership)
Number 3: Baber Azam - No Change
Number 4: Hafeez - Replace with Harris Sohail or any player who can ball a bit of spin
Number 5: Imad Wasim - Similar player, who can ball a bit, bat a bit
Number 6: Sarfaraz - We dont have Gilchrist, do we?
Number 7: Asif - Any player who can hit some big shots or score 20-30 at slow pace when required AND can ball medium pace. An Abdul Razzaq
Number 8: Shahdab - Spinner plus can bat a bit
Number 9: Amir - Bowler plus may bat a bit
Number 10: Shaheen Afridi - Any good fast bowler
Number 11: Hasnain - Any good fast bowler.

Number 12: Fast bowling competion for 10 and 11 spot
Number 13: All rounder competition for number 5 and 7 (depending on conditions)
Number 14: Batsman, Completiotn for number 4 and 5

This gives you 6 balling options with a 7th one who can ball a bit if required
Batting up to number 6 with 7 an all rounder and 8 9 who can add 20-30 runs.

We need to understand that:
  1. There have been no big performer in domestic circuit in wicket keeping
  2. No break through fast bowling options
  3. No excellent medium pace big hitter all rounder to fill Number 7
Need to replace Hafeez now (as he may be retiring anyway) with a good batsman who can ball a bit if required.
Need to find competition for Imad (a better batsman)
Need a PAKISTANI fast bowler!

Also please in my opinion our performance should not be labeled as trash. Note that:
  1. We just lost one match that we should not have, against West Indies. Can happen to the best of the teams!!
  2. Losing to India and Australia is not mean we are bad, they are both excellent sides right now!
  3. We did beat England, New Zealand, South Africa.
  4. A little more convincing performance against Afghanistan would have been better.
@WAJsal agreed?
I think our team isn't bad, just need to play consistent cricket. I think we should invest in Asif Ali, don't think we have any player who hits the ball bigger than him. Sharjeel khan could play as an opener , his bans lifted.

My take on it:

1. Need a New coach - NO
  2. New Chief Selector - YES
  3. New Bowling Coach - NO
  4. New Batting Coach - NO
  5. New Fielding Coach - MAY BE!! Better to find a way to make them move their a$$ a bit faster!
  6. New Data Analyst, Video Analyst and Physician? YES
  7. New Management who have knows modern game techniques including the next year T-20 Worldcup in Australia - NO
  8. New Domestic Structure changes - NO
  9. New Captain - NO

And for the more detailed one
  1. New Spinners, Bowlers and Batters?
Number 1: Opener (Fakhar Zaman/Any high risk high reward player who can blast the opposition)
Number 2: Opener (Imam/Any new option who is consistent and gurantees 40-50 runs each match and a 60-70 partnership)
Number 3: Baber Azam - No Change
Number 4: Hafeez - Replace with Harris Sohail or any player who can ball a bit of spin
Number 5: Imad Wasim - Similar player, who can ball a bit, bat a bit
Number 6: Sarfaraz - We dont have Gilchrist, do we?
Number 7: Asif - Any player who can hit some big shots or score 20-30 at slow pace when required AND can ball medium pace. An Abdul Razzaq
Number 8: Shahdab - Spinner plus can bat a bit
Number 9: Amir - Bowler plus may bat a bit
Number 10: Shaheen Afridi - Any good fast bowler
Number 11: Hasnain - Any good fast bowler.

Number 12: Fast bowling competion for 10 and 11 spot
Number 13: All rounder competition for number 5 and 7 (depending on conditions)
Number 14: Batsman, Completiotn for number 4 and 5

This gives you 6 balling options with a 7th one who can ball a bit if required
Batting up to number 6 with 7 an all rounder and 8 9 who can add 20-30 runs.

We need to understand that:
  1. There have been no big performer in domestic circuit in wicket keeping
  2. No break through fast bowling options
  3. No excellent medium pace big hitter all rounder to fill Number 7
Need to replace Hafeez now (as he may be retiring anyway) with a good batsman who can ball a bit if required.
Need to find competition for Imad (a better batsman)
Need a PAKISTANI fast bowler!

Also please in my opinion our performance should not be labeled as trash. Note that:
  1. We just lost one match that we should not have, against West Indies. Can happen to the best of the teams!!
  2. Losing to India and Australia is not mean we are bad, they are both excellent sides right now!
  3. We did beat England, New Zealand, South Africa.
  4. A little more convincing performance against Afghanistan would have been better.
@WAJsal agreed?
Kya zamana aa gaya hai!! There was a time when Pakistan would just go out there and play/win. Now they need to plan strategies and tactics.

Review of Pakistan Performance in Worldcup 2019: Changes & Improvements?
  1. Need a New coach - Dean Jones
  2. New Chief Selector - Misbah ul Haq
  3. New Bowling Coach - ?
  4. New Batting Coach - ?
  5. New Fielding Coach - ?
  6. New Data Analyst, Video Analyst and Physician?
  7. New Management who have knows modern game techniques including the next year T-20 Worldcup in Australia
  8. New Domestic Structure changes
  9. New Captain - Maybe, Sarfraz remains?
  10. New Spinners, Bowlers and Batters?....

Technical and tactical excellence is what makes a champion

PAKISTAN’S defeat against the West Indies in the lop-sided opening game is still hurting them. Though they also lost to Australia and India, the two are, of course, front-ranking and tough teams and were always tipped to beat us. But Sarfraz Ahmed’s men should have definitely beaten the West Indies which has not fared well in most of their World Cup games since that win at Trent Bridge.

It is commendable, however, the way Pakistan have bounced back by registering three successive victories — against South Africa, New Zealand and Afghanistan — after their loss to India where they looked down and out.

The team has shown marked improvement in attitude, planning and performance in the three victories although there were a lot of nerves in the game against Afghanistan which went down to the wire.

It goes without saying that once again the expectations of the fans at home and around the world will go up on Friday and they will be looking ahead to a fantastic performance from Pakistan.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

There is always room for improvement and in order to enhance their performance considerably in the game against Bangladesh on Friday — which gives Pakistan an outside chance of making the semis on run rate — they must work on a few things to deliver their best on the day.

A quality player should possess five key performance ingredients to excel in the field. These five ingredients are:

1.Technical (10%),
2.Tactical (20%);
3. Physical (25%),
4. Mental (40%)
and
5. Lifestyle (5%).

It is pertinent to mention here that the two ingredients — technical & mental — develop in early age or during the early stage of the game. However the remaining three ingredients can be improved at any stage of a player’s career.

Pakistani top players are lacking these ingredients due to lack of grass roots exposure to the game and poor development system.

There are also some mistakes committed on the tactical side of the game. For instance, Mohammad Hafeez played a very poor shot against the Kiwis on which he got out. Similarly, Babar Azam exposed his leg stump to Mohammad Nabi in the Afghanistan game which was a big technical error and certsainly not expected from a fine player like Babar.

On the bowling front too, our bowlers have been attempting much too much variation and not sticking to a length that could bother the opposition batsmen and force them to make mistakes. As I said earlier, these sort of mistakes relate to the ‘game sense’ (tactical side) which can be rectified during the match against Bangladesh and other games if Inshallah Pakistan make the semis.

Things such as selection of shots, running between the wickets, timing the innings for aggression and defense (when to take risks etc), variations in bowling, field placement, bowling changes, decision making all are key technical and tactical factors which, if improved upon, can make a hell of a difference to the team’s overall performance.

Of course, all these elements can be discussed in team meetings and must be emphasised upon the players for implementation.

Those teams which are continuously thinking about improving the grey areas and are seriously working on them emerge as champions. I am sure our team management is working to improve the team’s performance but as a former player and a qualified coach, I feel it is my duty to point out anything that can enhance our team’s performance on the field.

Besides that, all of us are praying for the team’s success and hoping that luck smiles on them and they play some great cricket in the coming game(s).

The writer is a former Test fast bowler and qualified coach

Published in Dawn, July 4th, 2019

https://www.dawn.com/news/1491915/technical-and-tactical-excellence-is-what-makes-a-champion

Like Australian , take cricket as 8 to 5 job. They practice whole year. They are in ground everyday. They have sessions to overcome the game issues. Our players showed up 15 days before the game and look at there diet plan. Biryani and Qurama and karai ghost etc. They need whole fitness plan.
Do you think this fat guy can do anything for this team. He himself is not fit to run few yards...

images

MOD EDIT: language

Bad fielding and passive captaincy. Instead of going for the kill, Sarfraz preferred a more passive approach resulting in extremely negative RR.

983A2CEC-98C2-4150-8BF6-A6422F07A8A5.jpeg

Learn to field
Learn to run
Learn to catch the stupid ball , dropped catches cost us against Australia and New Zealand

Always the same , just watch the ball pass by and shrug your shoulders to the bowler I’ve been watching the same for years

India are good at chasing balls but to us it’s like it’s below us or just can’t be bothered .

Sarfaraz doesnt deserve to be in the team... He is as bad a keeper as kamran akmal was but scores less runs rhan kamran even. We need a gud keeper who can bat decently as well.
Shoaib malik needs to go...
Wahab riaz needs to go too.
Hafeez is a dicy choice... But it won't hurt to keep him.
Fakhar and imam are both not dependable. They need a challenge for their positions as both are either stubborn to learn from their mistakes or are self centered person.

Change Taptan = No match winning performance, no leading from the front, no Charisma to inspire the team, never saw any captain shouting on field more then him (not a trait of professional).
disagree,
1) he is captain in all 3 format
2) the result of his captaincy , 2 ICC trophy for Pak (CT and U19), no.1 position of Pak in T20 cricket at the moment
3) no vice captain in Pak team now, changing captain will do no good, Sarfraz was vice captain when Azhar Ali was captain (who didnt play an ODI for a year before he was named captain out of nowhere)
4) the amount of politics in PCB so im not sure if Sarfraz is at total fault in his decisions sometime
5) He and Rizwan are the only wicket keepers in Pak national team, and so his role as wicket keeper or even as player would be gone if they remove him as captain

IMO he should be given chance with better management, he is still at the age where he can lead the team to the next WC, but he should definitely improve and show his batting more often

Actually, the Pak team hasnt played badly at all. They had only two poor - outings- a scrappy win over AFG and a loss to WI- the latter costing them qualification. They lost two more- IND & OZ- both of whom are among the best teams anyway; and they beat ENG & NZ.

Regards

2) the result of his captaincy , 2 ICC trophy for Pak (CT and U19), no.1 position of Pak in T20 cricket at the moment

Talk about individual performance? What was his role? tell us about his match winning knocks which inspired whole team in those tournaments (U19 and CT)? what is his captaincy except shouting and making shitty faces all the day? What was his performance in Asia Cup and CW19?

3) no vice captain in Pak team now, changing captain will do no good, Sarfraz was vice captain when Azhar Ali was captain (who didnt play an ODI for a year before he was named captain out of nowhere)

We need a consistent performer as captain who can demand performance from players with straight face, no need to pretend that there is only Sarfaraz and no other person is eligible to be captain, if its true then we are already fvcked up.

5) He and Rizwan are the only wicket keepers in Pak national team, and so his role as wicket keeper or even as player would be gone if they remove him as captain

Rizwan is much better Keeper batsman. He scored 2 centuries against Australia in UAE tour? how many your joker taptaan did in CT or WC19? he is in the team only bcoz of his captaincy, if we measure his individual performance, he would have not been allowed near PAk team.

Kya zamana aa gaya hai!! There was a time when Pakistan would just go out there and play/win. Now they need to plan strategies and tactics.
At time almost all teams were just go and play. I remember it was in early 2000s that Australia started the trend of actually planning and making a detailed strategy for each team, every match. Up until then it was just a game!

And who should be next Captain? I am not sure if Araon Finch will agree to captain Pakistan. What are your options?

Actually, the Pak team hasnt played badly at all. They had only two poor - outings- a scrappy win over AFG and a loss to WI- the latter costing them qualification. They lost two more- IND & OZ- both of whom are among the best teams anyway; and they beat ENG & NZ.

Regards
Spot on!

Like Australian , take cricket as 8 to 5 job. They practice whole year. They are in ground everyday. They have sessions to overcome the game issues. Our players showed up 15 days before the game and look at there diet plan. Biryani and Qurama and karai ghost etc. They need whole fitness plan.
Do you think this fat guy can do anything for this team. He himself is not fit to run few yards...

images
He is a selector, not a coach or trainer!

However he should be removed as selector anyway, just not because he cannot run a few yard!!

Sarfaraz doesnt deserve to be in the team... He is as bad a keeper as kamran akmal was but scores less runs rhan kamran even. We need a gud keeper who can bat decently as well.
FROM? With current dollar exchange hike i am not sure if importing one will be viable!!

2.Shoaib malik needs to go...
Agreed! He have served us for years, need to retire!

3. Wahab riaz needs to go too.
Agreed, he have served us for years, need to retire.

4. Hafeez is a dicy choice... But it won't hurt to keep him.
Find a batsman who can plan at either number 4 or number 6 and can ball a bit, there are a few in our domestic circuit. Its time for him to retire, he have served us and should leave now.

5.Fakhar and imam are both not dependable. They need a challenge for their positions as both are either stubborn to learn from their mistakes or are self centered person.
100% agreed. They are suffering UmarShahzad Syndrome! Thinking they are huge stars while there are years of consistent performance required to be one. Both need some spanking! They are excellent choice on paper. One an aggressive player who will play aerial shots. Who if clicks will take it to 100 in 16 overs or beyond.
Other a relatively stable player who likes to play it along the ground. Who guarantee you 40-50 runs each match and ensure that if the partner have clicked the total will be around 100 in 16-17 overs and he have failed at least this guy will form a partnership with your one-down player. They both have that approach but they both have FAILED to to any of this!! If they cannot do it we need to find two guys who can partner like this. Every good opening pair have same attributes.

Regards

Rain in SL match was a factor and very poor fielding by asif ali in Aus match was a factor as well. Luck was not on our side this time otherwise Team played quite good