Rafale deal flies into rough weather

To be fair to them, put yourself in their shoes. Imagine you're one of these bureaucrats.

Now tell me, would you want an Anna Hazare(though I do respect the man) or any other self-styled messiah or an RTI activist to ruin your career, your post-retirement life, your pension, your saving, your family, your social status i.e. everything you have, just because you tried to serve the country better by quickening up the procurement process.

I, for one, would not.

If I were in their place, I would say, "To hell with MMRCA, to hell with the country's security needs, I'm going to save my own a$$ first and I will go exactly by the book so that tomorrow, no self-styled social activist can accuse me of corruption and ruin my life."

Since the past few months, a government official has had to think a thousand times before he signs on a piece of paper, the delay to the project etc. notwithstanding.

Let there be delay, why should they risk their job for it?

...and I wouldn't blame them for it.

What is the guarantee that tomorrow an RTI activist or an Anna Hazare won't file a case of corruption against these two ordinary government servants just because he suspects them of corruption?

In India, it takes decades for cases to conclude in courts. These poor guys will end up with their lives ruined if anything like that happened.

To hell with procurement, they should save their own a$$ first.

Completely agreed. They may be some obscure accountants but if s**t hits the fan, they may also face the music and made scape goats

But first the public has to grow up and understand that arms deals is not completely black and white but also has shades of grey.

Well these kinda defence deals should be kept out of any investigative review....

First of all ... it says they have just questioned the process how the cost has calculated. When they have been answered it will continue with the procurement.. if MoD was confident enough to share the details to Brazil it wont be a great deal to shut these people mouths

There will always be subramanyam swami like smartasses who will take pride in questioning everything....

It is OK. We have waited for so long we can afford to wait another few months. We have to understand that for these small men it is the high time of their lives. If they manage to hold up the MMRCA acquisition, nothing more important is ever going to happen in their lives. let them enjoy the spot light. Prem Kumar Kataria and Rk Arora, two small time obscure accountants in the government whom no one had ever heard of are about to become household names.

I only wonder if these two obscure accountants are doing their duty to the nation or raking up this issue because they are being paid by the Brits (they are some cunning bastards). So, more remains to be seen.

Ahh there is no fuss here, rumors floating around means nothing. Everything is ok. No major paper reporting it, says it all.

Just another hurdle that will be overcome, tbh this is VERY trivial news- these sort of things happen all the time and I'm sure all these guys' doubts will be cleared up behind closed doors soon.

+ latest news (after this news "broke") from ACM Browne is commercial negotiations WILL start on March 5th.

+wouldn't be surprised is a disgruntled party was involved in creating this hype.

To be fair to them, put yourself in their shoes. Imagine you're one of these bureaucrats.

Now tell me, would you want an Anna Hazare(though I do respect the man) or any other self-styled messiah or an RTI activist to ruin your career, your post-retirement life, your pension, your saving, your family, your social status i.e. everything you have, just because you tried to serve the country better by quickening up the procurement process.

I, for one, would not.

If I were in their place, I would say, "To hell with MMRCA, to hell with the country's security needs, I'm going to save my own a$$ first and I will go exactly by the book so that tomorrow, no self-styled social activist can accuse me of corruption and ruin my life."

Since the past few months, a government official has had to think a thousand times before he signs on a piece of paper, the delay to the project etc. notwithstanding.

Let there be delay, why should they risk their job for it?

...and I wouldn't blame them for it.

What is the guarantee that tomorrow an RTI activist or an Anna Hazare won't file a case of corruption against these two ordinary government servants just because he suspects them of corruption?

In India, it takes decades for cases to conclude in courts. These poor guys will end up with their lives ruined if anything like that happened.

To hell with procurement, they should save their own a$$ first.

Hahahahaha Jack. You are absolutely correct. Hope the objections raised by these do-gooders are taken into account soon and we can get on with the job at hand. We need the Rafale.

In fact it's a very valid concern if you think about it.

I mean, just recall what Subramanian Swamy said a day after Rafale was chosen.

The guy said he smelled corruption in it and blamed Sonia Gandhi.

Now just think how much it would have raised the heartbeats of these poor babus.

A single innocuous charge of corruption, even if it is entirely false, can ruin a government official's life.

Between the choices of the work and the man, it is bound to be the work that suffers.

...and it is entirely justified.

A.K. Anthony is too honest and "delicate" to be our defense minister. I just hope he wouldn't resign as soon as a misplaced allegation crops up.....as is bound to happen......

AK Antony is probably the most honest Defence Minister we have had in recent times.

Honesty, of course, has its own cost. In our case, that cost is time.

AK Antony is probably the most honest Defence Minister we have had in recent times.

Honesty, of course, has its own cost. In our case, that cost is time.

True that. He's the only guy who hasn't made any money off his stints. His total assets amount to 22 lakhs........

One question: Will you favor a honest but 'resign at a drop of a dime' minister or a slightly corrupt but is 'strong to weather through storms' minister to lead MoD..I will favor the latter one.

---------- Post added at 10:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:52 AM ----------

He is called St. Antony for nothing, but I don't like his 'accuse me and I will resign' mentality.

One question: Will you favor a honest but 'resign at a drop of a dime' minister or a slightly corrupt but is 'strong to weather through storms' minister to lead MoD..I will favor the latter one.

---------- Post added at 10:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:52 AM ----------

He is called St. Antony for nothing, but I don't like his 'accuse me and I will resign' mentality.

What is the definition of 'slightly corrupt', sire?

Is selling off national secrets to the Pakistanis or the Chinese, 'slightly corrupt' in your opinion?

Is taking a 1 crore bribe to reveal Indian Army senstivie information, 'slightly corrupt'?

Is accepting a 100 cr bribe in order to favour the 'Eurofighter Typhoon' in the MMRCA deal, 'slightly corrupt'.

Please enlighten we as to what qualifies as 'slightly corrupt'?

Is accepting a 2 crore bribe to buy inferior equipment for our infantrymen, 'slightly corrupt'?