PTI | Imran Khan's Political Desk.

Opinion

Isolation

Dr Farrukh Saleem

Sunday, December 08, 2013

12-8-2013_218961_l_akb.jpg

Capital suggestion

The PTI’s brand of politics to secure its vote-bank is proving to be divisive – dangerously divisive. At one level, the PTI is pitching one province against another. At the second level, the PTI is pitching a provincial government against the federal government. At the third level, the PTI is pitching the federal government against Nato countries. At the fourth level, the PTI is pitching the state of Pakistan against the Security Council.

The fundamental question is if the PTI has done a cost-benefit analysis of all this pitching. If the benefits of all this pitching outweigh the costs then we should all be supporting the PTI. If the PTI’s sit-ins are going to make Pakistan stronger and Pakistanis more prosperous we should all be right behind the PTI. But if all this pitching is just an attempt to secure one party’s political interests over and above national interests then this pitching must come to an end.

Here’s the legal consideration: Under Articles 97 and 98 of the constitution of Pakistan “the executive authority of the Federation…” extends to all provinces. If the state of Pakistan gets into an agreement with Isaf, for instance, would the state of Pakistan be able to fulfil its commitments? That becomes an issue of international credibility. Next; under the Security Council’s Resolution 1386 Pakistan is under international obligations to provide logistic support. Do we want to remain part of the international community or not? To the world that becomes an issue of state intentions.

Here’s the PTI’s manifesto: a total of 10,160 words and 55,151 characters. The word ‘drone’ appears two times, ‘health’ 29 times, ‘education’ 16 times and ‘economy’ nine times. It now appears that the PTI is spending 98 percent of its time on drones and the remaining on health, education and the economy combined.

To be certain, under the laws of Pakistan truckers carrying containers to and from Afghanistan are involved in legitimate business. To be sure, PTI workers forcefully obstructing the operation of legitimate business are involved in criminal behaviour – criminal behaviour being encouraged by PTI leaders.

Is the PTI trying to hurt America or Pakistan? The object of foreign policy is to make as many friends as possible. Of the 193 member states of the United Nations we can count all our friends on the fingers of just one hand. Here’s a list of countries that constitute Isaf: Turkey, UAE, Bahrain, Jordan, Malaysia, Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungry, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, UK, US, Armenia, Austria, Finland, Georgia, Ireland, Macedonia, Montenegro, Sweden, Ukraine, Australia, El Salvador, Mongolia, New Zealand, South Korea, Tonga, Singapore and Switzerland. For these countries a total of 24,000 containers and 20,000 vehicles are to be transported back either through Pakistan or an alternative route at the cost of $7 billion.

Isn’t the PTI painting Pakistan into a tight corner? Here’s a look at 66 years of our history: in a non-isolationist mode Pakistan has been stronger and Pakistanis more prosperous. And in an isolationist mode Pakistan has always weakened and Pakistanis poorer. Isn’t the PTI taking Pakistan into an isolationist mode?

What can we learn from Iran; “heroic flexibility”? Do we really want to become the next North Korea or Burma? Is internal chaos in our national interest? Is external isolation in our national interest?

PS: Pre-Isolation Iran – 70 Rial to a dollar. Isolated Iran – 40,000 Rial to a dollar. The day of the interim nuclear agreement the Rial appreciated by 16 percent.

The writer is a columnist based in Islamabad. Email: farrukh15@hotmail.com. Twitter: @saleemfarrukh

Opinion

Isolation

Dr Farrukh Saleem

Sunday, December 08, 2013

12-8-2013_218961_l_akb.jpg

Capital suggestion

The PTI’s brand of politics to secure its vote-bank is proving to be divisive – dangerously divisive. At one level, the PTI is pitching one province against another. At the second level, the PTI is pitching a provincial government against the federal government. At the third level, the PTI is pitching the federal government against Nato countries. At the fourth level, the PTI is pitching the state of Pakistan against the Security Council.

The fundamental question is if the PTI has done a cost-benefit analysis of all this pitching. If the benefits of all this pitching outweigh the costs then we should all be supporting the PTI. If the PTI’s sit-ins are going to make Pakistan stronger and Pakistanis more prosperous we should all be right behind the PTI. But if all this pitching is just an attempt to secure one party’s political interests over and above national interests then this pitching must come to an end.

Here’s the legal consideration: Under Articles 97 and 98 of the constitution of Pakistan “the executive authority of the Federation…” extends to all provinces. If the state of Pakistan gets into an agreement with Isaf, for instance, would the state of Pakistan be able to fulfil its commitments? That becomes an issue of international credibility. Next; under the Security Council’s Resolution 1386 Pakistan is under international obligations to provide logistic support. Do we want to remain part of the international community or not? To the world that becomes an issue of state intentions.

Here’s the PTI’s manifesto: a total of 10,160 words and 55,151 characters. The word ‘drone’ appears two times, ‘health’ 29 times, ‘education’ 16 times and ‘economy’ nine times. It now appears that the PTI is spending 98 percent of its time on drones and the remaining on health, education and the economy combined.

To be certain, under the laws of Pakistan truckers carrying containers to and from Afghanistan are involved in legitimate business. To be sure, PTI workers forcefully obstructing the operation of legitimate business are involved in criminal behaviour – criminal behaviour being encouraged by PTI leaders.

Is the PTI trying to hurt America or Pakistan? The object of foreign policy is to make as many friends as possible. Of the 193 member states of the United Nations we can count all our friends on the fingers of just one hand. Here’s a list of countries that constitute Isaf: Turkey, UAE, Bahrain, Jordan, Malaysia, Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungry, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, UK, US, Armenia, Austria, Finland, Georgia, Ireland, Macedonia, Montenegro, Sweden, Ukraine, Australia, El Salvador, Mongolia, New Zealand, South Korea, Tonga, Singapore and Switzerland. For these countries a total of 24,000 containers and 20,000 vehicles are to be transported back either through Pakistan or an alternative route at the cost of $7 billion.

Isn’t the PTI painting Pakistan into a tight corner? Here’s a look at 66 years of our history: in a non-isolationist mode Pakistan has been stronger and Pakistanis more prosperous. And in an isolationist mode Pakistan has always weakened and Pakistanis poorer. Isn’t the PTI taking Pakistan into an isolationist mode?

What can we learn from Iran; “heroic flexibility”? Do we really want to become the next North Korea or Burma? Is internal chaos in our national interest? Is external isolation in our national interest?

PS: Pre-Isolation Iran – 70 Rial to a dollar. Isolated Iran – 40,000 Rial to a dollar. The day of the interim nuclear agreement the Rial appreciated by 16 percent.

The writer is a columnist based in Islamabad. Email: farrukh15@hotmail.com. Twitter: @saleemfarrukh

Liar. secondly if want to have friends, we should start living with dignity, slavery or friendship mien bohat farq hota hai, koe batay is establishment kay bachay ko !

you guys say these things again and again but you guys still keep USAID programs running, why don't you block USAID first and then we will talk about dignity and slavery lessons

you should watch the video, he was clearly racist to black people, one thing you can't say is he wasn't racist, i just wanna know how a racist guy be so artificial on his remarks against nelson mandela
so being babri goori childern is demeaning and disrespectful

Tall claims remade....PTI hasn't learned to be humble...
p1_29.jpg

wasn't imran against blacks? i thought imran was against blacks when he hurled the racist remarks on babar ghauri being black and finding so many black children in Africa?

what's your opinion?

Can you please tell us in what context he said that in?

If i am not mistaken, imran khan was being accused of having an illigitimate child from a white woman because, that child "looked" like imran khan?

Since the accuser has dark skin complexion, imran khan made that comment.

PS: don't you think it's time MQM should start giving representation to the growing population to the Pukhtoons in Karachi, instead of being racist towards them and trying to politically isolate them in their very own country?

Trying to accuse imran khan or PTI of racism won't hide the reality of racism within MQM.

Its a shame that somebody else has to make these claims and the federal government is surely enjoying in their palaces in raiwand by getting their people killed either by allowing drone strikes on our soil or by showing indecisiveness in the case of framing a policy towards the talibans. What have they got to lose? Let me guess they are not losing their children its we who are at the receiving end. Mr Nawaz Shariff would most definitely be welcomed in Jeddah with open arms as soon as he loots and plunders us some more and begs the Saudis for refuge.

Tall claims remade....PTI hasn't learned to be humble...
mei 6 mahinay mei bilji ka masla haal kar dun ga ...
main bullet train banoon ga
mei kaskol toor dun ga ...
mei tu joshey kitabat kar raha tha ...

bhie hum ne b ap se seekh leya ha yeh ...

mei 6 mahinay mei bilji ka masla haal kar dun ga ...
main bullet train banoon ga
mei kaskol toor dun ga ...
mei tu joshey kitabat kar raha tha ...

bhie hum ne b ap se seekh leya ha yeh ...
Chalo pata chal jai ga LGB elections main....:)

Its not about won win or loose .. harey gi tu na MQM, na ppp apnay areas se .. is it good for pakistan? mujhay tu samjdar admi lagtay the ap

what local body election .. u r not giving any power to concilers ... everythng is controller by CM .. he can even remove them .. yaar itni insecure kiun hoo tum loog .. president aur governers ish leya weak lagye hain coz sharif family k samnay karey na hun ..

btw yaar bhie ap ko sharif family se bahir koi acha banda nazar nhie ata? maryium nawaz ka kya role ha humarey pason se humay loans deh .. bhie nawaz family k pooja chor dey ;) ap ko tu kuch milna nhie ha .. esa apna time kiun waste kar rahay hain .. U seem like smart person .. spend ur time on somethg important

Its not about won win or loose .. harey gi tu na MQM, na ppp apnay areas se ..
Banday ko confidence to hona chaheyay....kuch kia hua hay to confidence to hona cheyay. :)