INP%2018-50%20a-18-1-2016.jpg

569d68913503a.jpg

1030036-image-1453139810-734-640x480.JPG

5621650801514.jpg

569964b5035b1.jpg

Orange Line metro train has no future: Elahi

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) leader Chaudhary Parvez Elahi said on Sunday that the Orange Line Metro Train project was a plan conceived only to make money in kickbacks.

Orange Line metro train has no future: Elahi - The Express Tribune

PTI Lahore Official‏@PTIOfficialLHR
By adding Orange Line Metro to CPEC just to gain few votes once against Sharif gov has made CPEC controversial.

All parties joining together with one voice...

PPP especially has a good record in Sind and building mass transit systems in Karachi.

All parties joining together with one voice...
Political point scoring, was bound to happen. Though i do agree with IK When he says, 'it is unneeded'. Lahore has clean drinking water problem, hospitals are in a poor shape, basic needs are being ignored; plus, doesn't Lahore already have Metro bus service? it is not really a need of the hour, Lahore doesn't desperately need such an expensive project like this. Then again PMLN is known to do projects through which they can portray a positive image of their party.
PS: wait for expensive ads, coming soon.
On topic: this was bound to happen.
@notorious_eagle , what do you make of it?

Political point scoring, was bound to happen. Though i do agree with IK When he says, 'it is unneeded'. Lahore has clean drinking water problem, hospitals are in a poor shape; plus, doesn't Lahore already have Metro bus service? it is not really a need of the hour, Lahore doesn't desperately need such an expensive project like this. Then again PMLN is known to do projects through which they can portray a positive image of their party.

Bhai everything is working simultaneously. Just because infrastructure projects like mass transit systems are going on doesn't mean the money is being diverted or made to look big. Mind you for this particular project the money is coming from Chinese banks

Clean drinking water program

Solar-powered ATMs to deliver clean drinking water in Pakistan - The Express Tribune

PUNJAB SAAF PANI COMPANY

Punjab Saaf Pani Program Innovation Packages

Package 1 Faisalabad Faisalabad, Sahiwal, Okara, Toba Tek Singh, Nakana Sahib, Kasur
Package 2 Bahawalpur Bahawalpur, Rahimyar Khan, Bahwalnagar, Lodhran
Package 3 Dera Ghazi Khan Dera Ghazi Khan, Muzaffargarh, Rajanpur, Layyah
Package 4 Rawalpindi Rawalpindi, Jehlum, Attock, Chakwal, Mandi Bahaudin
Package 5 Sargodha Sargodha, Bhakkar, Mianwali, Khushab, Chiniot
Package 6 Multan Multan, Khanewal, Jhang, Vehari. Pakpattan
Package 7 Sialkot Sialkot, Narowal, Gujrat
Package 8 Lahore Lahore, Sheikhupura, Gujranwala, Hafizabad

Is there any other province working on such project ?

Regarding IK, the guy just inaugurated a flyover in Peshawar. This is called hypocrisy

Hate to admit it but Punjab Government is the only one actually doing something. They've literally transformed Lahore and Rawalpindi. Yes, there are more important issues like healthcare, education to address first but it does not mean that infrastructure development should be halted. It's just amazing that a country of 200 million people does not have a fully functional mass transit system yet.
Sindh goverment has been disgraceful, as was expected with their dysfunctional CM.
PTI, with a exception of a few bills and a flyover hasn't really done anything spectacular in KPK yet. All they're doing is whining and crying over any step the government takes.

If only PMLN does something to curb the extreme amounts of corruption within their projects.

I'm a PTI supporter..or a PMLN or PPP hater whatever you call it but I may have to rethink some stuff if PTI doesn't change it's policies and shows Pakistan it's not that incompetent.

invest in hospitals, upgradation of sewage system, education , security & underground electrification

Yes Shahbaz Sharif should follow the PPP/PMLQ strategy

1. Build huge projects on paper
  2. Such projects are always completed on time, and sometimes even ahead of schedule
  3. No inconvenience for the people
  4. No environmental impact
  5. Cost never escalates
  6. Quality standards are always met 100% on paper based projects

And forgot to add; LANAT on these protesters for comparing it with the plight of Palestinians for pathetic political point scoring.

Political point scoring, was bound to happen. Though i do agree with IK When he says, 'it is unneeded'. Lahore has clean drinking water problem, hospitals are in a poor shape, basic needs are being ignored; plus, doesn't Lahore already have Metro bus service? it is not really a need of the hour, Lahore doesn't desperately need such an expensive project like this. Then again PMLN is known to do projects through which they can portray a positive image of their party.

I am from Lahore, we don't need either metro or orange train. What we do need is sanitation, clean water, hospitals and education. Unfortunately that's not on the radar for our PML-N friends.

Here's a simple number for you that was released today. Pakistan is the third worst country in terms of malnutrition. Now you tell me, what's more important. Orange Train worth 160 billion rupees or feeding our people.

Point scoring at its finest... The joke is that two parties pml Q who don't exist apart from in Gujarat and some parts of balochistan and PPP who have done nothing for their province and have left it to the dogs while their party leaders use helicopters and protocols like there is not tomorrow, are protesting this..

To say we don't need metro train would be a lie. Lahore is a very overpopulated city with dire need for transportation... The metro bus is filled from morning to evening and the same goes for LTC, deawoo or any omni bus ( and despite this you can't get a rackshaw in school timings :p :p) ...

No doubt education, health, clean water and many other issues remain and must be tackled but I wouldn't call this useless. You will see this train filled with no seat to spare and the issue of transportation wouldn't be solved. That's how bad lahore has gotten.

I am no fan of N ( currently dislike all of them including PTI) but I wouldn't throw this in the garbage.... I will say that N needs to focus on health and education as well. You can tackle all these issues at the same time.. The health card scheme is a good step in the right direction but more is required.. Education as well needs more. I was very happy to hear that javaid katif and kiran khursheed have been in talks with Punjab university to open a campus in sheikhupura...

I was in the team that conducted an interview with VC of Punjab university for a department magazine and when asked about expansion of bus system to more cities ( as they have done for some cities) he said that he doesn't have the budget. The budget they give allots is very less to expand the university. Now this is a serious issue. They need to allot budgets for health, development and education ... All sectors must be tackled.

Anyhow I like this project and it is quite bad that we don't have city transit system. All capitals of all our provinces need to have city train system.

Yes Shahbaz Sharif should follow the PPP/PMLQ strategy

1. Build huge projects on paper
  2. Such projects are always completed on time, and sometimes even ahead of schedule
  3. No inconvenience for the people
  4. No environmental impact
  5. Cost never escalates
  6. Quality standards are always met 100% on paper based projects

And forgot to add; LANAT on these protesters for comparing it with the plight of Palestinians for pathetic political point scoring.
and add No 7 . no project mean no corruption or commission :D

I am from Lahore, we don't need either metro or orange train. What we do need is sanitation, clean water, hospitals and education. Unfortunately that's not on the radar for our PML-N friends.
We can find many project about issues you mentioned as well but off course they will nt get media attention because cannot be use for political scoring

The government of Punjab aims to provide clean drinking water to over 35 million people by the middle of 2017 and some 20 billion rupees (almost $200 million) is being allocated for the effort in the upcoming budget, said Muhammad Farasat Iqbal, chief executive officer of Punjab Saaf Pani Company.

“It’s one of the top priorities of the provincial government, to ensure provision of clean drinking water in each locality, as access to clean water is a fundamental human right,” he said.

Iqbal said the clean water would be provided free of cost but beneficiary communities would pool money each month to pay for maintenance of the ATMs and filtration plants.

According to Pakistan’s national drinking water policy, 35 percent of Pakistan’s population doesn’t have access to safe drinking water. The policy estimates that diseases related to water, sanitation and hygiene issues cost Pakistan’s economy about 112 billion rupees ($1.1 billion) each year in health costs and lost earnings.

Solar-powered ATMs to deliver clean drinking water in Pakistan| Reuters

SLAMABAD: Pakistan is one of the 95 countries that have met the Millennium Development Goal (MDG) target for sanitation aimed at halving the proportion of the population without access to basic sanitation, said a recently launched global report by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Children's Fund (Unicef) Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP).

According to the report, 64 per cent of the population in Pakistan now has access to sanitation compared to 24 per cent in 1990, a feat achieved by only 95 countries so far.

Pakistan is also placed among just 77 countries which have met both the drinking water and the sanitation MDG target.

The number of people defecating in the open in the country has been reduced from 46 million to 25 million during the last decade, the report says.

Pakistan now among 95 countries to have met sanitation MDG: UN report - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

LAHORE: In order to improve health facilities for the man in the street, the Punjab government will “outsource” the rural health centres (RHCs) and basic health units (BHUs) of the six low-performing districts in the province.

The idea had been derived from the ‘Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Model’ where the government had taken this initiative by exploring other options to reform the primary and secondary levels such as district hospital autonomy and contracting out facilities including district headquarters hospitals, tehsil headquarters hospitals, RHCs and BHUs, an official told Dawn on the request of anonymity.

The KP in its report ‘Health Sector Strategy 2010-17’ had indicated this option and later materialised this scheme by giving key responsibilities to the district coordination officers, NGOs and EDOs of health.

Punjab to ‘outsource’ basic health project - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Punjab to outsource health facilities in 10 districts | Lahore | thenews.com.pk

Rs1.35bn being spent on Taxila hospital - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif Hospital inaugurated at Bedian
Nawaz Sharif Kidney Hospital Swat starts functioning | SAMAA TV

[video]