Pakistan's Special Operations Forces: SSG | SSGN | SSW | SOW | SOG

Members of SSG(N) firing 2 different weapons with different cartridges.
Left: FN Herstal's SCAR-17 (5.56x45mm) with iron sights Right: CZ-BREN 2 (7.62x39mm) with iron sights.
This snap was taken when PA was testing different calibers for a new generation rifle.

FlKUqhAX0AEURxv

A dear friend Late Maj(R) Muhammad Akram ex SSG said when the US came to do a river crossing exercise with SSG, the SSG guys wore their BDU and and US who were kitted to the nines made fun of them saying you guys will die of hypothermia.

About 20 mins after the river crossing there was a run with full kit to the other side of the dam, the Americans who were weighed down by their now soaking and heavy kit were gasping due to hyperventilation 😂.

There is a reason SSG guys do the things they do. Years of experience in making do with the “minimum” has made them so BAMF’.

Similarly specialist SOF pilots came to train Pakistan Aviation pilots for night ops “flying with NVG’s” and asked the pilots how have you guys been able to do this without NVGs for so long…?

My late uncle Col (R) Ehsan Niazi simply replied, swiftly but surely 😂.

People discount Pakistan Army too quickly because we don’t have all the gizmos and gadgets but what we have is battle tested experience.

There is a saying in professional circles “all the gear - no idea”.

View attachment 908253

Compare this ANA commando from 1Bat to SSG operators…

View attachment 908254

Our boys don’t need all the Gucci gear on display, because they do have “an idea”.

Slow is smooth, smooth is fast. 😊
yea , atleast they adopted new camo now
1672340120499.png
1672340136020.png

A dear friend Late Maj(R) Muhammad Akram ex SSG said when the US came to do a river crossing exercise with SSG, the SSG guys wore their BDU and and US who were kitted to the nines made fun of them saying you guys will die of hypothermia.

About 20 mins after the river crossing there was a run with full kit to the other side of the dam, the Americans who were weighed down by their now soaking and heavy kit were gasping due to hyperventilation 😂.

There is a reason SSG guys do the things they do. Years of experience in making do with the “minimum” has made them so BAMF’.

Similarly specialist SOF pilots came to train Pakistan Aviation pilots for night ops “flying with NVG’s” and asked the pilots how have you guys been able to do this without NVGs for so long…?

My late uncle Col (R) Ehsan Niazi simply replied, swiftly but surely 😂.

People discount Pakistan Army too quickly because we don’t have all the gizmos and gadgets but what we have is battle tested experience.

There is a saying in professional circles “all the gear - no idea”.

View attachment 908253

Compare this ANA commando from 1Bat to SSG operators…

View attachment 908254

Our boys don’t need all the Gucci gear on display, because they do have “an idea”.

Slow is smooth, smooth is fast. 😊
Having poor gear, also puts SSG among the few SF's in the world which loses men in almost every operation they conducted. American's or British SF's are among the best and lost very few men in their Operations, and although they have Air support but their gear on soldier can help them survive damage taken in the operations, when I SSG and their Gear/uniform in the operations its hard not to think that why they lose men, their helmet's or vest looks that they are bought from Lunda bazar, that Picture I posted from Panjgur Operation, just look at the SSG and tell me that even a small pistol bullet can easily penetrate their vest's, no glasses to protect their eyes or improve their vision in the dry muddy terrain, I am no expert in SF Operations but common sense bhi koi cheez hoti hai. SSG can wear light uniforms for better maneuverability but this won't work in all situations.

Bro seriously you are comparing SSG with ANA Commando ? Itne bure din a gaye hai ab SSG ke ? Post a Picture from German/French/Turkey/US/UK SFs soldier and than compare them with SSG, no offense but SSG performance in past many years have down and they lost many man, reason could be gear or poor planning before the operation or over confidence, take your pick. I would be happy if SSG conducts operations and neutralize enemy without losing a single man, Rest are all excuses to me.

Hi, the vests you see are made by Lyra and are rated to NIJ level III with level IV strike plates.
View attachment 908258

NIJ levels explained:

View attachment 908259

The helmet is a BH A-140 made by GIDS I. Pakistan and is Kevlar ballistic helmet modelled on the PASGT helmet, fast cut ACH are placing these for the SSG and other SOF in Pakistan.

The current helmet issued to Pakistan Army offers a reasonable level of protection

Reasonable level of protection, yaar Helmet ki Halaat dekhi hai picture mai ? Training and Operation alike the Helmet looks like it has seen better days in 80's. There has to be a reason why they lose man in almost every operation they conduct while we have seen many SFs' that operate in similar environment such as in Iraq/Syria/Libya and almost every SF has improved their performance, heck even Iraqi SFs after their initial defeat by ISIS has recover and has conducted many operations without losing men.

Having poor gear, also puts SSG among the few SF's in the world which loses men in almost every operation they conducted. American's or British SF's are among the best and lost very few men in their Operations, and although they have Air support but their gear on soldier can help them survive damage taken in the operations, when I SSG and their Gear/uniform in the operations its hard not to think that why they lose men, their helmet's or vest looks that they are bought from Lunda bazar, that Picture I posted from Panjgur Operation, just look at the SSG and tell me that even a small pistol bullet can easily penetrate their vest's, no glasses to protect their eyes or improve their vision in the dry muddy terrain, I am no expert in SF Operations but common sense bhi koi cheez hoti hai. SSG can wear light uniforms for better maneuverability but this won't work in all situations.

Bro seriously you are comparing SSG with ANA Commando ? Itne bure din a gaye hai ab SSG ke ? Post a Picture from German/French/Turkey/US/UK SFs soldier and than compare them with SSG, no offense but SSG performance in past many years have down and they lost many man, reason could be gear or poor planning before the operation or over confidence, take your pick. I would be happy if SSG conducts operations and neutralize enemy without losing a single man, Rest are all excuses to me.

Reasonable level of protection, yaar Helmet ki Halaat dekhi hai picture mai ? Training and Operation alike the Helmet looks like it has seen better days in 80's. There has to be a reason why they lose man in almost every operation they conduct while we have seen many SFs' that operate in similar environment such as in Iraq/Syria/Libya and almost every SF has improved their performance, heck even Iraqi SFs after their initial defeat by ISIS has recover and has conducted many operations without losing men.

1. Okay I understand your heart is in the right place but let me stop you there. The load vests are Blackhawk Omega and Blackhawk Omega Elites. Blackhawk is not Lunda bazaar.

The riggers belts are made by .511, the battle belts when worn are Cyre Precision (google that brand) its a $300 USD belt.

The combat BDU are made in Pakistan but the technical fleece is made by Cyre.

The body armour is NIJIII with NIJ IV inserts. More than capable of stopping upto 7.62 rounds.

American's or British SF's are among the best and lost very few men in their Operations
Come on yaar, seriously? Horses for courses, let’s not go down this road because it’s rather demeaning to start comparisons. Honestly, to me our boys are the best. To Americans it’s the SEALS or delta, the Brits will say that SAS are the best yada yada.

lost very few men in their Operations
Between 2001 and 2018 USSOCOM reported 369 casualties of special forces operators[1].

no glasses to protect their eyes
Yes WileyX look cool and everything but very few operators use them outside of photo ops . That’s not to say what you so doesn’t carry merit. I’ve always been a fan of PPE.

SSG can wear light uniforms for better maneuverability but this won't work in all situations.
Agreed, but at the same time they know what they are doing. It’s like when someone comes to me and says why do you carry an NP Airway and not an ET Tube in your bag ( I know what works for me) 😊

Bro seriously you are comparing SSG with ANA Commando
1st BAT ANA we’re trained by US Navy Seals. Just saying 😊

SSG performance in past many years
Compared to what? Pakistan has been fighting the longest counter insurgency operation in recent history thanks to GWOT. Why should I compare our guys to SAS or Seals? So they compare our guys to theirs? Please yar.

reason could be gear or poor planning before the operation or over confidence
The reason is such operations have an inherent degree of risk which no matter how you slice it cannot be mitigated. It is the y( the unknown quantity) the unknown factor. Intel is never 100% - no plan survives first contact with the enemy.

I would be happy if SSG conducts operations and neutralize enemy without losing a single man
InshaAllah- but then again it’s not you or me putting on that uniform knowing I’m running to the threat when others run away. So 🤷‍♂️

Training and Operation alike the Helmet looks like it has seen better days in 80's
No ballistic helmet offers 100% protection my brother. And this heet works that is why the US Army still use it:
1672391271995.jpeg

That said you will see a lot more F.A.S.T ACH in use among SSG nowadays.

All in all you make a valid points but I disagree with the thrust of your argument that gear = good. But where possible I think there is room for improvement.

After all we all what the same thing for Pakistan. 😊

[1]https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32039975/

1. Okay I understand your heart is in the right place but let me stop you there. The load vests are Blackhawk Omega and Blackhawk Omega Elites. Blackhawk is not Lunda bazaar.

The riggers belts are made by .511, the battle belts when worn are Cyre Precision (google that brand) its a $300 USD belt.

The combat BDU are made in Pakistan but the technical fleece is made by Cyre.

The body armour is NIJIII with NIJ IV inserts. More than capable of stopping upto 7.62 rounds.

Come on yaar, seriously? Horses for courses, let’s not go down this road because it’s rather demeaning to start comparisons. Honestly, to me our boys are the best. To Americans it’s the SEALS or delta, the Brits will say that SAS are the best yada yada.

Between 2001 and 2018 USSOCOM reported 369 casualties of special forces operators[1].

Yes WileyX look cool and everything but very few operators use them outside of photo ops . That’s not to say what you so doesn’t carry merit. I’ve always been a fan of PPE.

Agreed, but at the same time they know what they are doing. It’s like when someone comes to me and says why do you carry an NP Airway and not an ET Tube in your bag ( I know what works for me) 😊

1st BAT ANA we’re trained by US Navy Seals. Just saying 😊

Compared to what? Pakistan has been fighting the longest counter insurgency operation in recent history thanks to GWOT. Why should I compare our guys to SAS or Seals? So they compare our guys to theirs? Please yar.

The reason is such operations have an inherent degree of risk which no matter how you slice it cannot be mitigated. It is the y( the unknown quantity) the unknown factor. Intel is never 100% - no plan survives first contact with the enemy.

InshaAllah- but then again it’s not you or me putting on that uniform knowing I’m running to the threat when others run away. So 🤷‍♂️

No ballistic helmet offers 100% protection my brother. And this heet works that is why the US Army still use it:
View attachment 908413

All in all you make a valid points but I disagree with the thrust of your argument that gear = good. But where possible I think there is room for improvement.

After all we all what the same thing for Pakistan. 😊

[1]https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32039975/
Won't have any effect, some peoples minds can't be changed, dude is gonna quote u again with that but saar they don't have new equipment again.

Blackhawk is not Lunda bazaar.

Blackhawk is basically a landa bazar and 5.11 are in same category.

Also crye gear. You wish dude.

Stop capping dude

Also they the use MICH 2001s. High Cut ACH are US Marine thing

Blackhawk is basically a landa bazar and 5.11 are in same category.

Also crye gear. You wish dude.

Stop capping dude

Bro, am with you and understand your POV. But you need to understand it always come down to mission requirements. Sometime it is better to pack light then go Rambo.

Couple of different scenarios and how gear changes with mission:

1) CAG during exercise in San Antonio, TX - it's pretty much standard kit for fast infil & exfil. Mostly suited for CT, Kill or Capture, S&D kinda Ops.

1672421611150.png

FZ4vsVTVsAASb4k.jpg

FZ4vsivaQAI67q1.jpg

2) SMU / PMCs in Ukraine and second pic is of Air Force CCT: All packing very light since they are on Long Range Recon mission:
1621006219039-screen-shot-2021-05-12-at-102533-am.png

210225-F-ZB805-9066.JPG

A10-CAS.jpg

3) Local PD, FBI HRT during Hostage rescue - notice the heavy armor on shoulders

Bodega-bay-swat.jpg

SWAT2-700.jpg

CTSFO
b272b2da6ef0eb5c6291195750c65718.jpg

Turkish Navy Ship TCG BURGAZADA visited Karachi Port and participated in bilateral naval Exercise TURGUTREIS - VII with Pakistan Navy.

The exercise comprised of various naval operations including defence against Asymmetric Attacks, Visit Board Search & Seizure (VBSS), Air Defence Exercises and Joint Coordinated Patrol.

FlPEnnzX0AMyBL3

FlPEpGlWIAAI8wk

FlPEph8WQAIpey5

Turkish Navy Ship TCG BURGAZADA visited Karachi Port and participated in bilateral naval Exercise TURGUTREIS - VII with Pakistan Navy.

The exercise comprised of various naval operations including defence against Asymmetric Attacks, Visit Board Search & Seizure (VBSS), Air Defence Exercises and Joint Coordinated Patrol.

FlPEnnzX0AMyBL3

FlPEpGlWIAAI8wk

FlPEph8WQAIpey5

See the bottom pic? That’s all I ask for.

Why can’t the roll out the same crye vests to everyone? I’m just speaking in terms of uniformity-

Edit: I’m not talking about NVGs or all the specialist gear. Just asking for the SSG to have a standard of all having very similar looking vests/body armour/helmets/helmet covers throughout the entire unit, that also looks professional

See the bottom pic? That’s all I ask for.

Why can’t the roll out the same crye vests to everyone? I’m just speaking in terms of uniformity-

Edit: I’m not talking about NVGs or all the specialist gear. Just asking for the SSG to have a standard of all having very similar looking vests/body armour/helmets/helmet covers throughout the entire unit, that also looks professional
Got money?

Bro, am with you and understand your POV. But you need to understand it always come down to mission requirements. Sometime it is better to pack light then go Rambo.

Couple of different scenarios and how gear changes with mission:

1) CAG during exercise in San Antonio, TX - it's pretty much standard kit for fast infil & exfil. Mostly suited for CT, Kill or Capture, S&D kinda Ops.

View attachment 908501
FZ4vsVTVsAASb4k.jpg

FZ4vsivaQAI67q1.jpg

2) SMU / PMCs in Ukraine and second pic is of Air Force CCT: All packing very light since they are on Long Range Recon mission:
1621006219039-screen-shot-2021-05-12-at-102533-am.png

210225-F-ZB805-9066.JPG

A10-CAS.jpg

3) Local PD, FBI HRT during Hostage rescue - notice the heavy armor on shoulders

Bodega-bay-swat.jpg

SWAT2-700.jpg

CTSFO
b272b2da6ef0eb5c6291195750c65718.jpg
My brother in Allah. I'm not talking about mission statement and mission requirements.

They way you wear your kit also comes down to doctrine.

I'm just correcting our esteemed colleague claims about Blackhawk and 5.11 being best companies out there and Them using Crye Precision(chuckle) and FAST ACH helmets

Let me make myself clear.

Skills over Gear. Gain Skills, Gear comes along the way.

But if you gonna use leather boots, Blackhawk vests, and use worn out carbines you might need to procure some new stuff.

I asked for uniformity, bloody hell.

We have a booming textiles industry, so providing BDUs for each SSG isn’t even that expensive of a task
All we ask for is basic protection like a good helmet with proper straps not fckin strings dangling about, A proper vest with good protection and utility not a showpiece or a LBV acting like yeh mard e mujahid ko goli nahi chu sakti all this crap mentality leads to deaths even poor African nations are starting to procure better gear for their troops yeh to apne elite troops ko 90s ka helmet hath mein de kar kehte beta ab tu ja lar. Just look at that pic from the Balochistan operation earlier this year by SSG kisi ka helmet lamak raha hai aur kisi ki vest how do you expect soldiers to fight to their full capacity with such pile of shite.

Yeh same scenes mein pichlay 5 saal se dekh raha hu aur kya qayamat tak wait kare.