Pakistan PM announces $3.2 billion package for farm sector

Farming sector needs reforms and it should also be taxed. I did a note recently on how much the production is of the main crops plus compared it with the averages from USA. There are improvements to be made and there could a number of reasons. Seed selection, water availability, fertilizer and pesticide use will make a big difference. Crop rotation is also important. Potato was produced in abundance this year to rot in the fields as the cost of producing was more than price farmer was getting. So many farmers didn't even bother to harvest them and left them in the fields as to cut their losses. Cold Storages were full so they couldn't even store the produce. In contrast to this last year farmers were selling potatoes for very high prices.
Wheat is in abundance (government even have stock from 2012-2014 I think).
The bold part shows the illiterate people and mindset where they prefer getting 0 earnings then low earnings

it costs money to harvest a grown crop. The cost of harvest exceeded the price they would have received for the produce. That would have been a direct loss, not low earnings.

hmmm.....that is a problem who was the genius who dropped the price soo low?

Please think rationally. No one dropped the price, there was so much supply in the market that the price automatically came down to where it was not worth for a farmer to even pay for the harvest of the crop. Simple Supply and Demand economics.

soo much food, soo low cost yet people went hungry :tsk:

Think about it. How much a small farmer can store? Where will he get the money to cultivate next crop? Most farmers will sell their harvested crop so that they can have funds for the next crop as well as for their day to day lives. Maybe some large farmers will put crops in storage but there is a limit to how much can be stored. As far as the price goes farmers don't have a say in this but Supply and Demand.
When one talks about things happening....very rarely are small scaled farmers / businesses included coz they cant do these things....So kindly do think rationally before questioning!

As for limit of storing....the very fact that such a technique is used to let food go to waste via rotting than get it to the market is disgusting....I saw this happening during the floods and earthquake where displaced people were paying exceptional rates coz they had no other choice ....looting the less fortune is really a sick thing to do!

Simple Supply and Demand economics.
AND that is also the reason we have things we call ministers and those under him to HELP....they are supposed to make sure everything is in balance...when every 2nd minister is illiterate, has a fake degree or a copied thesis....you shouldnt exactly expect they know what they are doing....when they have already taken the seat of someone who is educated and more deserving I dont exactly expect them to be working for the people whose seat they took!

Last year there was less production plus large export to russia etc. That raised price. So this year, naturally they produced more potato seeing the higher prices (last year people made a lot of money from potato). Unfortunately, exports to russia stopped due to russia not allowing in more exports, the russians said there was something wrong with the quality. Russia was suffering bad harvest from last many years, but their produce is improving, that could also be the reason.

Price is controlled by demand and supply. But offcourse our genius government keeps interfering in everything.

I expect next year potato production to come down a little as farmers opt for other crops and prices should go back to maybe around rs.30-40/kg on retail. Right now its hovering anywhere from around rs.10-20/kg. It's excellent time for french fries.

As for limit of storing....the very fact that such a technique is used to let food go to waste via rotting than get it to the market is disgusting....I saw this happening during the floods and earthquake where displaced people were paying exceptional rates coz they had no other choice ....looting the less fortune is really a sick thing to do!

I've seen potatos selling at as low as rs.8/kg in recent times. Which is literally throw away price. Yet no one's interested in buying potatoes. So it's just consumer trends. Even those going hungry didn't shift to potato diet. So it's plain stupidity, nothing else. And there's no cure for stupid. No matter how much money you spend or introduce legislature to cure stupid, stupid stays stupid. How about you? Did you buy more potatoes then usual seeing the cheaper price ?

Please think rationally.

NO ! NEVER ! OVER MY DEAD BODY !

:P

Farming sector needs reforms and it should also be taxed. I did a note recently on how much the production is of the main crops plus compared it with the averages from USA. There are improvements to be made and there could a number of reasons. Seed selection, water availability, fertilizer and pesticide use will make a big difference. Crop rotation is also important. Potato was produced in abundance this year to rot in the fields as the cost of producing was more than price farmer was getting. So many farmers didn't even bother to harvest them and left them in the fields as to cut their losses. Cold Storages were full so they couldn't even store the produce. In contrast to this last year farmers were selling potatoes for very high prices.
Wheat is in abundance (government even have stock from 2012-2014 I think).

Well farmers need education and know-how to preserve dates as they can even be stored at room temperature. So don't blame the government for this. Take your own initiative, don't blame everything on the government.
There are already number of cheese producers in Punjab and industry is expanding but it will take sometime.
Value added services will only be produced when the electricity problem is solved. Why did the textiles moved their factories?

Think about it. How much a small farmer can store? Where will he get the money to cultivate next crop? Most farmers will sell their harvested crop so that they can have funds for the next crop as well as for their day to day lives. Maybe some large farmers will put crops in storage but there is a limit to how much can be stored. As far as the price goes farmers don't have a say in this but Supply and Demand.
Just one question where are these phantom cheese producers in punjab????
Dont blame the govt of everything you said !!! The date growers should be doing it themselves!!!
Why did gunja release taxpayers money for farmers without having a sold plan of action ??

Thats good amount of money. Is there no better way of helping farmers in need ? Probably increasing minimum support price of produce ? Experts ?

Instead of giving funds they should give tax incentives as done in Europe....depending on how much the farmers produce or put in....irrespective of the natural disasters (drought and floods)...

What govt should really do is invest in research to improve crop roots to withstand floods and/or drought!

india has been doing it for a while pata nai ganjay ka damagh kub khulay ga!

Why don't you stop making fool of yourself and think for a change why Indian farmers are committing suicide and you want Pakistan to follow Indian example? Only 3-4% from the whole Pakistan pay taxes, and you wanna introduce tax incentives since Pakistan is few decades away from Europe model of tax system.

Realistically, this is best PMLN can do to resurrect the dying industry, plus with the loans to ensure business flourish and profit multiplies, and therefore, borrowed loans can be paid off with interest. Right now, Pakistan is on borrowed loans.

Agar Imran Khan ko pata hai toh pooch lo peshawar ka farming industry ke baare main...:D

I hope they would spend some of the money in bringing up more storage facilities with Silos... we need dedicated warehouse for major commodities. {Put in some money to storage and increase the capability and the financial strength of various government departments to purchase and store food commodities. only then will we make a farmer independent of international trends and / or will have a say to the international prices.

When one talks about things happening....very rarely are small scaled farmers / businesses included coz they cant do these things....So kindly do think rationally before questioning!
I was thinking rationally. Please look at the statistics published. The data is from 2010 so is a bit old but hopefully will help understand the cultivated area in Pakistan and by what type of farmer. From the report the total farm area is about 52.9 million acres of which only 42.6 million acres is cultivated. If you look at the size of the farms then you see almost 75% fall into small farmers (15 acres cultivated) and believe me these farmers don't have the ability to store their crops as they hardly make ends meet. Furthermore only about 6% of the farmers are large scale farmers.
http://www.pbs.gov.pk/sites/default...ensus2010/Tables (Pakistan - In Hectares).pdf

Just one question where are these phantom cheese producers in punjab????
Dont blame the govt of everything you said !!! The date growers should be doing it themselves!!!
Why did gunja release taxpayers money for farmers without having a sold plan of action ??
I said there are a number of cheese producers and the industry is expanding.
You can ask gunja why he released the tax money. I don't support him or anyone else in politics.

you had one for 7 years, what changed in those 7 years
If things will get better they will get better under civilian govt, otherwise it will one step forward two steps back
ghareeb k liye aata
150/kg
ghareeb k liye doodh
30/litre
ghareeb k 100 k card par 35/rs tax nahi kat ta tha

or bhi kuch bataon :D

I was thinking rationally. Please look at the statistics published. The data is from 2010 so is a bit old but hopefully will help understand the cultivated area in Pakistan and by what type of farmer. From the report the total farm area is about 52.9 million acres of which only 42.6 million acres is cultivated. If you look at the size of the farms then you see almost 75% fall into small farmers (15 acres cultivated) and believe me these farmers don't have the ability to store their crops as they hardly make ends meet. Furthermore only about 6% of the farmers are large scale farmers.
http://www.pbs.gov.pk/sites/default...ensus2010/Tables (Pakistan - In Hectares).pdf
child when was the last time you went to Pakistan? Do you know MOST of the small scale farms are owned by wadera and they control what happens to the yield...
Sure there are individual farmers who dont do that but no one would bring them up since they dont do that!

Why don't you stop making fool of yourself and think for a change why Indian farmers are committing suicide and you want Pakistan to follow Indian example? Only 3-4% from the whole Pakistan pay taxes, and you wanna introduce tax incentives since Pakistan is few decades away from Europe model of tax system.
Instead of being rude and following what you are addressing on others it is better you get educated .....

It was a model I SUGGESTED

As for suicide it is not something to take as an example............None of the farmers in the West are doing it...For you to automatically equate us to india instead of something better already showcases you dont want the tax!

Nothing objective there!

Realistically, this is best PMLN can do to resurrect the dying industry, plus with the loans to ensure business flourish and profit multiplies, and therefore, borrowed loans can be paid off with interest. Right now, Pakistan is on borrowed loans.
When you earn then only you can pay off!

THE ONLY WAY you can earn is through research which no Pakistani jahil sitting in position will let happen! Why am I saying this coz I am in a position to actually know it as I have already tried it and so has my supervisor on countless crops from wheat, rice to fruit crops!

While india is throwing itself in our hands FOR RESEARCH Pakistani are ignoring email or even official letters...But they beam like the sun when America offers .....yet manage to screw up by purchasing machinery bt not having the funds to train technicians to fix it and work on it - THIS is what happens when you hire on safarish!

Agar Imran Khan ko pata hai toh pooch lo peshawar ka farming industry ke baare main...:D
TOTALLY uncalled for! You seem to think each province is a different country and cant call a wrong a wrong!

child when was the last time you went to Pakistan? Do you know MOST of the small scale farms are owned by wadera and they control what happens to the yield...
Sure there are individual farmers who dont do that but no one would bring them up since they dont do that!

Instead of being rude and following what you are addressing on others it is better you get educated .....

Given previous encounter and your nature, i am afraid that's how you gonna understand. I am rude because i have to be rude to rudest Imranistan, otherwise how else they will understand. I am speaking in a language they can understand.

It was a model I SUGGESTED

As for suicide it is not something to take as an example............None of the farmers in the West are doing it...For you to automatically equate us to india instead of something better already showcases you dont want the tax!

You cannot say you suggest the idea and you call the action of PMLN moronic despite of taking realistic scenario into the account. You are the one compared to European model first, and then India. I was actually surprised to hear the name of India despite of their long decades of farmers committing suicide.

I live in Canada. Canada didn't become a nation overnight. It was effort of more than hundred years came into the fruition. Pakistan is still young and uneducated. But Pakistan is coming a long way since, and the future generation of Pakistan might be easier to bring forth for the assimilation of 21st century.

Nothing objective there!

When you earn then only you can pay off!

Where do you earn the money from? Where does the investment money come from? Where does PMLN borrow money in form of loan from? Like Imran Khan, you are clueless about economy.

THE ONLY WAY you can earn is through research which no Pakistani jahil sitting in position will let happen! Why am I saying this coz I am in a position to actually know it as I have already tried it and so has my supervisor on countless crops from wheat, rice to fruit crops!

If you had done research, you wouldn't be here to make fool of yourself in this platform being read by the whole world.

You are kid and terribly lack ground reality. Wake up in real world, kiddo!

While india is throwing itself in our hands FOR RESEARCH Pakistani are ignoring email or even official letters...But they beam like the sun when America offers .....yet manage to screw up by purchasing machinery bt not having the funds to train technicians to fix it and work on it - THIS is what happens when you hire on safarish!

Now you are grasping for straw. That's your argument?

Since you are so confident about your model plan for farm sector, why not pitch it to your beloved darling star first? A leading example has to start from somewhere. Good luck with your model plan if you meet your beloved darling star.

TOTALLY uncalled for! You seem to think each province is a different country and cant call a wrong a wrong!

No. That is called "put your money where your mouth is". Now don't back off. Already wished you good luck.