Pakistan plan IPL equivalent

IPL equivalent in Pakistan.....One more center of corruption..:disagree:

Aare kuch aur bhi khelna sikh lo, is cricket mai kuch nahi rakha..

oh you blashphemous man.... Looking at the girl in my avtar.... :D

pakistanis are definite good at heart more than indians. For indians brain rules the heart. For pakistanis emotions and heart rule the brain...
lol
Then they boht are out of balance. Good decisions are always taken after consulting boht heart and mind. Some decisions need heart more than mind and some need mind more than heart. You cannot love if you think from brain,,its always heart where love reside :P

Without indian players, PPL can never become a success.

indians are already playing ipl

why indian players are needed for PSL success??, dont worry in dubai we will already get the sponcers needed, we dont need international players, though if others want to join, they may join at will

PPL is not a competition with IPL.

Both are going to be different leagues targeting different markets (India and Pakistan).

Both markets are the best markets for the cricket in the world. The rating proves it.

PPL is not a competition with IPL.

Both are going to be different leagues targeting different markets (India and Pakistan).

Both markets are the best markets for the cricket in the world. The rating proves it.

Question is, will PPL be able to secure international players of high caliber similiar to IPL?

If the security situation improves, PPL could work just fine.

A lot of people here are confused about what drives the IPL. It's certainly not the crowds; those are bonuses for individual team owners. What runs the IPL is television & the endorsements that come with it, both for the tournament as a whole and for individual teams. Pakistan has a decent market but it is never going to match up to India. The proof of that is the eagerness of the Pakistani Board to schedule a tour of India even if held on foreign territory. They don't care about the crowds, its all about the price that they obtain for television rights when playing India. That is true for every other test playing country. Where do you think the BCCI gets its clout from? A simple threat of not scheduling a tour with someone is enough to get them to their knees.

In any case, there are no windows open internationally for a Pakistani equivalent of IPL. No international players would mean almost no interest in the tournament (comparatively). No television company is going to pay mega bucks to telecast a purely domestic tournament. Pakistani simply does not have the pull in the ICC to get this to happen as a quasi international event. Even countries like Australia & England, when they floated similar ideas had atleast in their plans, an idea (hope) that Indian audiences could be interested. Leave India out of it and it is pretty much guaranteed to not be anywhere close to successful - see what happened to the ICC world cup in the last edition as opposed to this one.

Why do you want to compete with India just for the sake of competing ? Such a league is only viable in a country that has a domestic market to sustain it and also have the corporate strength to back it up, unfortunately Pakistan has none. Just opening a league to compete with the IPL will get you nowhere. Even countries like England and Australia cant do it so how do you think Pakistan will ???

Without indian players, PPL can never become a success. Especially when you decide to host it in dubai. As for competing with IPL, there is no chance in hell.

In addition, i think vested interests in india will actively attempt to crush the PPL initiative. BCCI likes its haegemoney, it will not let anyone in its turf without a fight.

I dont agree with you. The reason is the parameter of success is pretty much relative. I think in case PPL starts, the majority of support both logistics,finance and infrastructure can be tapped from Gulf countries. Gulf and Arab countries have good amount of cricket audience who choose to follow Pakistan team religiously....So of course they will bet on the success of PPL eventually....

This is something like IPL and English Cricket League....In spite of IPL, English cricket league is a good success...simillarly PPL will also flourish.

And the regarding your suggestion about BCCI, i dont think this will happen...

Its a good idea. :tup:

Pakistan along with China ,USA and Turkey can play PPL.

Pakistan's players have not been a part of the IPL since its inaugural season, but the PCB has plans to launch their own equivalent of the Twenty20 tournament, though they have admitted it will not be possible to host it in Pakistan. Instead, they want to host the tournament in Dubai, where Pakistan have played one-day internationals against Australia and South Africa, and the latter in a Test match.

Sultan Rana, the chief of PCB's domestic cricket department, told Pakpassion.net the plans had been in the pipeline for the last two years but the board had to delay it because of the attack on Sri Lanka's cricketers during their tour of Pakistan in March 2009.

"We first considered the idea a couple of years ago," he said. "The documents were complete and we were all set to go, but the attack on the Sri Lankan team meant that we had to shelve all of our plans at that time

"I recently went to Sri Lanka during the World Cup and spoke to many other countries' board representatives, but apart from Sri Lanka they are reluctant to send their players to Pakistan. So, that presents a problem for us. We simply cannot host the tournament in Pakistan if we want to attract the top players."

The IPL was also hosted abroad in its second season, when the tournament was shifted to South Africa after security concerns arising from the Mumbai attacks in December 2008 meant it could not be staged in India. Rana was confident Pakistan's board could do something similar.

"What we are trying to do is to organise a competition in Dubai. This idea was discussed in the past and has very much been in our plans and is still on the table. I'm sure we (PCB) can organise this tournament, which will run along the lines of the Indian Premier League

I really like your signature ;)
And correction-It was not due to the effect of Mumbai attacks that IPL 2009 was in South Africa..there were elections in a couple of states at that time and therefore enough security couldn't be provided.

myy god 3 pages and still indian whining has not stopped, in there any thread where indians can spare there whining ability, if the words can be read carefully, the uy said, along the line of ipl and not competing with ipl or equatin with ipl, the guy said, he will try to organise the event by playing some international cricketers, and that players will be granted some handsome money and that international coverage will be made, he didnt even say that the league would follow the ipl pattern.. please forgot sake stop your crying and whining

cricket is not an indian monopoly, looks like indians are already scared about other countries like australia, srilanka and pakistan starting their own leagues.

well it might be later organized in England or South Africa and eventually move back to Pakistan.

Season 2 or 3 might take place in Pakistan when some players will be confident and willing to play in Pakistan

What concerns me is the abundance of money players would be seeking for. How are they going to generate enough funds to make it like IPL. Yes perhaps Geo TV, ARY and few other TV channels might buy their own franchises since they have net assets worth billions. Other business personality like Mansha, Anwar Parvaiz etc might also consider opening their franchises. But still the idea seems bit doubtful until they eventually come up with such plan.

May be they won't be able to pay heavy money in millions of dollars but surely they would be able to afford millions of rupees for players. Those who were not selected in IPL might be playing in PPL :lol:

lets see

PCB has burnt its bridges with English Cricket Board,and there is also the big bash in Australia in which Pakistani players play.

It is hard to understand why would a channel buy a franchise because that would be taking the ICL road which flopped badly
In today's world we are talking millions of dollars worth contract in IPL and big bash, who would come for millions of rupees ?

IPL is a useless cricket league, its all just for money, PPL should not compete with ipl, and you must be the last guy to talk abt credibility and match fixing, abt that match fixing scandal

there r more fixers sitting in india then anywhere else

club cricket is always about money . there is no national identity that one would play for glory....
regarding match fixing..Pakistani players are the world champions in that.