Pakistan has to accept India as big brother

Vsdoc, The Per Capita number does matter.It indicates the living standard of average citizen..This is how Western Countries compare the living standards of different countries.This is why it is said that China might become super power but it will take decades for China to have living standards for its citizens similar to US or other developed nation such as Canada.

"At the moment India and Pakistan are pretty equivalent on most socio-economic indicators"

True, if you mean health and economy per capita. But that is not moot, just goes to show how both G's have been equally unconcerned about the well being of their citizens. They both rank pretty close towards the bottom of any HDI.

Vsdoc, The Per Capita number does matter.It indicates the living standard of average citizen..This is how Western Countries compare the living standards of different countries.This is why it is said that China might become super power but it will take decades for China to have living standards for its citizens similar to US or other developed nation such as Canada.

I know it matters ..... and that its just one of many indices to guage how a country is doing vis a vis others.

But I am not sure its a very accurate indicator of how Ram and Rahim (or Jack or Pedro or Bruce Lee) are actually doing ..... for exactly the reasons I mentioned.

Would appreciate if some economist here can shed some light ..... I for one would be all ears.

Cheers, Doc

I think..the most appropriate measure should be ..per capita Disposable income....because thats the only factor that makes people spend..on goods and services ...to keep the economic engine running.....if people don't have disposables income....who is going to buy cars..who ids going to buy white goods...luxury items....who will put money into insurances...and mutual funds....stock markets..

Well yes. It cannot be that suddenly you have climate controlled homes and swanky SUVs outside every home.

Here are some pointers to the successes of the India story on the rock bottom:

In the past 15 years, India has lifted millions of people out of poverty without suspending their civil rights. Between 1991 and 2001 India added 156 million people to its population and yet the number of poor people in India actually fell by 37 million.

Since the early 1990s India has lifted 12 million people out of poverty every year

How does Pakistan compare ?

Sources:
UNICEF - Press centre - $130M boost for India's children

Far Eastern Economic Review | Billions of Entrepreneurs

There is also

Human Development, Social indicators, Infrastructure, Roads, railways, state intervention, comparison, India, developing nations, Japan, growth, progress

concluding among other things:
one might note a clear and decisive indictment of the two-nation theory. Without exception, India's indicators exceed those of Pakistan and Bangladesh. For all its limitations, India's broadly secular trajectory has led to greater socio-economic progress. The adoption of the divisive and sectarian two-nation theory was not in the general interest of the Muslim masses. If anything, it helped extend the power and influence of the most parasitic forces in society, thus obstructing overall progress.

Also rather than lumping everyone together, it may make sense to compare the ultra rich, middle class and poor as three broad strata of society. Just as the McKinsey Report has Globals, Strivers, Seekers, Aspirers, Deprived.

McKinsey Report titled Bird of Gold (pointers to the future):
http://www.mckinsey.com/mgi/reports/pdfs/india_consumer_market/MGI_india_consumer_full_report.pdf

Significantly,
* Indian incomes will almost triple over the next two decades.
* World's 5th largest consumer market by 2025
* Not only will the magnitude of socioeconomic change be great, its speed will also be far greater than anything the country has seen before.
* The deprived population has long dominated India, and that domination has started to decline only in the recent past.

Only 2009 and yrs ahead of them are predictions.And according to UNDP Pakistan’s poverty level was at 17.2% in 07-08.

With a human development index (HDI) of 0.551 in 2007, Pakistan ranks 136th out of 177 countries, according to the Human Development Report 2007. Pakistan’s human development indicators have generally improved, they still lag behind other countries in the region. The recent economic growth has increased disparities between regions and rural-urban areas, particularly in recent years. The country continues has a combined literacy rate of 49.9% and the percentage of people living below Poverty Line i.e. Rs. 944.47 (USD $16 approx) per adult equivalent per month is 22.32 % .

UNDP - Pakistan - About Pakistan

Yeh topic to chewing gum ban gaya hai yaar.

Bin lagaam ka ghoda ..... jahan marzi bhaag pada.

To final consensus kya hai bhaiyon (aur memon)?

Kya aap Pakistani humme bada bhai manne ko tayyar hain ki nahin ab?

Jaldi bolo.

Cheers, Doc

Since the early 1990s India has lifted 12 million people out of poverty every year

How does Pakistan compare ?

Man, you have got a serious chip on your shoulder.

Haq's Musings: UNDP Reports Pakistan Poverty Declined to 17%

Center for Poverty Reduction (CPRSPD), backed by the United Nations Development Program(UNDP), has estimated that Pakistan's poverty at national level declined sharply from 22.3 percent in 2005-06 (versus India's poverty rate of 42%) to 17.2 percent in 2007-08. This poverty estimate has been validated by the World Bank

Reactions: s90
Yeh topic to chewing gum ban gaya hai yaar.

Bin lagaam ka ghoda ..... jahan marzi bhaag pada.

To final consensus kya hai bhaiyon (aur memon)?

Kya aap Pakistani humme bada bhai manne ko tayyar hain ki nahin ab?

Jaldi bolo.

Cheers, Doc

Will you treat us like a ladla; shower us with gifts?

Oh who cares man. Ask the poor guy sleeping on either the Indian or pakistani pavement whether these stats make him feel warmer and less hungry at night.

Fact is we are both poor countries.

India is where it is today in spite of of having to fight 3 wars forced on it by its aggressive neighbour.

Forget the 20 years we lag behind China in liberalisation ..... had we not had to absorb the crippling cost of these unnecessary wars, who knows where we (and you) would have been today.

Socho. Samjho.

Cheers, Doc

Oh who cares man. Ask the poor guy sleeping on either the Indian or pakistani pavement whether these stats make him feel warmer and less hungry at night.

"Facts are stupid things", Ronald Reagan. A man after your own heart, no doubt.

India is where it is today in spite of of having to fight 3 wars forced on it by its aggressive neighbour.

Forget the 20 years we lag behind China in liberalisation ..... had we not had to absorb the crippling cost of these unnecessary wars, who knows where we (and you) would have been today.

So, Indian poverty is our fault, eh?
Here, we thought maybe it was your economic policies, exorbitant defense spending, or corrupt politicians. And, it turns out, it was Pakistan's fault all along. :rofl:

Dear, oh dear.
Looks like someone is playing the victim and trying to lay the blame elsewhere.