Pakistan – China Joint Military Exercise YOUYI-IV

1.jpg

2.jpg

4.jpg

3.jpg

---------- Post added at 03:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:35 PM ----------

5.jpg

6.jpg

8.jpg

i think the two star officer on the right side of the coas is the new GOC SSG.
also notice the color of his unform which is woodland green just like the SSG NCO from Gen Kiyanis security detail standing right behind him.

starting from Lal Masjid operation,

The operation in Lal Masjid was executed very successfully by the SSG, there were several factors that constrained their ROE making it harder for them to execute their mission. The operation was supposed to take place at night, but due to negotiations the operation was pushed to the morning even though the officers on ground disagreed with this. But like professional soldiers they followed orders and executed the operation in the morning even though a huge advantage was robbed from them by our political leaders.

Cowards inside Lal Masjid were using students as human shields making it harder for them to take shots at the terrorist. On a tactical level the operation was a total success, even though we suffered casualties but i find it hard to believe which SF wouldn't have suffered casualties considering the environment this operation was executed in.

the kidnap and then slaughter of SSG personal in Sawat,

As PN mentioned, it was the stupidity of the SSG personals and Taliban deceit which lead to their slaughter. But dont worry about it, all the parties whom were involved in this sad saga faced swift and silent SSG justice.

GHQ siege and the dismal Mehran base episode (well one can argue that was SSGN but it’s the same thing Pak commandos vs. terrorists)

Agan Sir, i would argue the same thing. The constraints that were incurred upon the commandos made their job very difficult, the terrorists had holed themselves inside the compounds making it impossible to engage them without taking any casualties. Off course the SSG could have literally destroyed the entire buildings if they wanted to but Pakistan is not rich enough to engage in something like that. SSG-N did a very commendable job during the Mehran fiasco, they successfully isolated the terrorists from the equipment and saved the Navy and Air Force from a massive loss which could have totalled in billions. If they had failed in that operation, trust me the loss would have been a lot more than just 1 Orion.

Why are terrorists able to outclass us and inflict too many casualties? Are we lacking resources or training? These highly specialised units are very small in number and have ample funding when why not they have military grade armour vests that can defeat the known assault rifle bullets? And if the mehran base attackers could use the night vision goggles and take these guys out like ducks then whats stopping our army from issuing them?

The terrorists are able to outclass us is because they have initiative, they can attack anywhere and get in a favourable position to make it harder for the SSG to attack them. We lost 3 SSG-N commandos, we did not loose them like ducks. The SSG is not going to win the war for us, it is the intelligence community and the government that has to provide a direction for the country.

Another point, SSG is not provided with ample resources. You would be surprised how budget crunched they are and how every expense is scrutinized to the bone. There is not much you can do when you have a defence budget of $10 billion, with the resources that are available to the SSG they have done a very commendable job.

While these scripted drills look very good on paper when the times comes I will, like to see terrorists actually failing and the only casualties should be that of the terrorists.

The terrorists have failed and many many times. Just because the successes are not told in the news does not mean that they are not there. The SSG killed scores of TTP a** holes when they were air dropped in Makeen during the Swat operation, the numbers killed by SSG easily crossed the three digit limit. Same result during the Operation in SW, the SSG killed scores of TTP at a minimal casualty rate on their side. Off course we dont get to hear stories like that because these missions are classified and its only the failures that hit the news on the front line.

Considering the resources and responsibility that have been assigned to the SSG, i feel that they have done a commendable job. If we expect more of them, than we need to provide them with more resources something we refuse to do. Whatever incidents that you have mentioned, it was not the fault of the SSG that those incidents happened. They were just there to clean up the mess and the circumstances under which they were operating, they did a very fine job. The SSG are very formidable foes and this is not just my opinion, this is the opinion of all the SF's that have conducted exercises with.

^^^ Adding to that let me tell everyone something quite interesting. During the start of the ops in SW there were some reports by our oh so competent media that the Taliban had instilled fear even in our boys from the SSG. Having heard this I met one of my juniors in my uni who was from Waziristan himself (his tribe and many of his family members either belonged to the TTP or were their ardent supporters). We were talking about the military and I was a little apprehensive because of his background. However what he told me next brought a smile on my face. He told me that the Taliban are quite terrified by the SSG. "Woh tou SSG ko bala mantay hain aur unki ph*t jati hai SSG se". He then went on about what a big fan he was of the army and the SSG in particular.

But dont worry about it, all the parties whom were involved in this sad saga faced swift and silent SSG justice.

In a fashion which carried an extremely terrifying message for the TTP scum.

He told me that the Taliban are quite terrified by the SSG. "Woh tou SSG ko bala mantay hain aur unki ph*t jati hai SSG se". He then went on about what a big fan he was of the army and the SSG in particular.

In a fashion which carried an extremely terrifying message for the TTP scum.

Read my post on the previous page............. Somebdy told me tht they met a horrific death... some fell frm the air while bleeding.. some got what they had been doing themselves n some got alot of bullets for breakfast.

Read my post on the previous page............. Somebdy told me tht met a horrific death... some fell frm the air while bleeding.. some got what they had been doing themselves n some but alot of bullets for breakfast.

Thats exactly what I was pointing to. Didnt know if I could have said something more explicit about it.

This could be the reason why NATO attacked Pakistan.

This friendship Pakistan has with China is very valuable for Pakistan.

LONG LIVE PAKISTAN-CHINA FRIENDSHIP !!!

:pakistan: :china:

Pak-China friendship beyond strategic relations: General Kayani

JEHLUM, Nov 24 (APP): Chief of the Army Staff General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani said that Pak-China friendship is beyond the strategic issues. He said Pak-China friendship is time tested and deep hearted.

"China's security is very dear to us and we will continue cooperating and supporting our friend", he said. "Pak-China relations are not against any country, but convergence of shared interest are there between Pakistan and China, added General Kayani.

General Kayani said this on the occasionon of concluding ceremony of Pak-China Joint Military Exercise "YOUYI-2011" which held today at a military operational area near Jhelum.

While addressing to the participating troops and responding to media General Kayani said that the joint exercises would further enhance the military preparedness and the professional capabilities particularly combating terrorism.

He said both the countries have been furthering military cooperation since long.

General Kayani reiterated that Pakistan would be assisting and cooperating with China in countering the menace of terrorism.

Pointing towards ETIM, a terrorist organization in China, General Kayani said terrorism has no boundries and no religion, it is a common threat to all for which Pak-China military exercised was taken.

He went on saying that China has very important role in regional as well as in global peace and stability.

He further informed that the joint exercise was a part of ongoing joint military ventures between China and Pakistan. In past year, the exercise was conducted in China and its phase IV has been conducted in Pakistan.

More over General Kayani informed that Pakistan Army has joint programs with China regarding professional training and expertise exchanges.

General Hou Shusen, Deputy Chief of the General Staff (DCGS), General Staff Headquarters, People’s Liberation Army (PLA) China who was also with General Kayani said on the occasion that joint military exercise between the two armies would further improve the military preparedness and would establish better understanding among troops of two countries.

He said the exercise would help two militaries in establishing peace and stability in the region.

Earlier, a superb operational tasks were demonstrated in which troops from both the armies exhibited their professional endeavors in shape of countering terrorism.

The demonstration included para-trooping, aerial strikes on terrorists' havens, direct fight with terrorists and recovery of the captured areas from the terrorists. Cobra Gunship, MI-17 Chopers, C-130 airplanes were also used in the demonstration.

Later, both the Generals along with other high ranked military commanders and officers met with the troops and appreciated their dedication and professional commitment.

It is pertinent to mention that the exercise "YOUYI" that means friendship is a depiction of various Pak-China joint initiatives in defence cooperation.

The ten Days long exercises provided both sides an opportunity to share with each other through respective expertise and to learn from each others' experiences.

An old friend of mine who's father was my dad's CO is now in SSG , I say old friend because we didnt keep in touch and belonging to an army family means you dont stay at one station for more than 2 or 3 years and thus the friends you make at one place you may never meet again after the posting of his or your father.

but we will be meeting up next year inshallah and I will bring up some questions regarding SSG's less than impressive performance while dealing with the terrorists and too many deaths
starting from Lal Masjid operation, the kidnap and then slaughter of SSG personal in Sawat, GHQ siege and the dismal Mehran base episode (well one can argue that was SSGN but it’s the same thing Pak commandos vs. terrorists)

Why are terrorists able to outclass us and inflict too many casualties? Are we lacking resources or training? These highly specialised units are very small in number and have ample funding when why not they have military grade armour vests that can defeat the known assault rifle bullets? And if the mehran base attackers could use the night vision goggles and take these guys out like ducks then whats stopping our army from issuing them?

A next spectacular attack is just around the corner. While these scripted drills look very good on paper when the times comes I will, like to see terrorists actually failing and the only casualties should be that of the terrorists.

It hurts me more than it will hurt anyone but I must say that these guys can do much better. There is some consolation though, back in the days late 90s, some Afghan terrorists kidnapped a school bus and took it to a house in Islamabad. Gen Nasir Ullah Babar (may his soul rest in peace) was the Interior minister and he order the commando raid that had a text book finishing. The SSG detonated a diversionary bomb and then entered the house and took out all the terrorists and all the abductees were freed without any harm.

I can carry on but I will leave that here, since I saw the video I decided to share what is bothering me. The point I am making is that why it’s a given that we will loose our commandos when they are responding to a raid or actually raiding themselves in this war on terror? The SSG attacker was a former MH medical store keeper, the Lal masjid guys were mainly sipah sahabah/ lashker Jhagvi level terrorist who are only used to killing unarmed shias and the swat Taliban follow a former cable operator who is able to out think these guys and pick them up like they are lost chicken.
While I have respect for our dead and I admire the courage and sacrifices of our soldiers but if I say I am satisfied with the outcomes in recent times where SSG has been deployed then I will be lying.

irfan my friend you seem right but i will disagree with you on the point that talibs are just ordinary fighters.... as five out of six indian counsulates are working in jalaabad and we have reports that these have traning facilities and every six months more than 30 to 40 trainers are trained..... recently their commander for black cats northern side division was their so ........ its again old story to be told and if you want to know that how the TTP got the weapons and how they were able to carry out the soposticated attacks..... i will take you to afghan war..... in begining of it the russian commandos brutely forced the mujahideens and nearly cornered them..... but with only three months training from elite trainers they pushed the elite units from russia back and dispatched them to death. so now they have indians backing them.... and now you often see that america sets up the forward base and after a week or two leaves it excusing that they are getting casualties ...... leaving ammo cashes behind......so indirect supply........ bro it is long story in short ........ alas i can't share the reports ........ but ........... now takecare...

regards

azhar