Pakistan acknowledges India's support yet again

Veeru

Pakistan acknowledges India's support yet again

India’s role in Pakistan’s successful bid to become a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) was once again acknowledged by Pakistan on Saturday. Upon his arrival in Karachi, Pakistan’s ambassador to the U.N. Abdullah Hussain Haroon said India played a big role.

Though he did not go into specifics of which countries among Pakistan’s long-standing friends did not support Islamabad’s bid, Mr. Haroon was quoted by the Karachi media as saying that many of the countries that Pakistan had considered as friends were no longer its friends but “India supported us’’.

Soon after the election results were out last weekend, India had welcomed Pakistan’s win. “The election of Pakistan will give us new opportunities to work together on issues of concern to them and us. I am confident Pakistan would also be with India on thematic issues like peacekeeping and counter-terrorism,’’ :hitwall: said Government sources.

Pointing out that Kyrgyzstan, the sole rival, was no match for Pakistan, the sources drew attention to Mr. Haroon publicly thanking his Indian counterpart Hardeep Puri for New Delhi’s backing. “One issue (Kashmir), which people say is contentious between the two, has technically been on the table for more than 60 years. Nothing has happened on that and there is unlikely to be any movement for a long time to come. Otherwise Pakistan and India are likely to have similar positions on all other issues,’’ said the sources.

“Hypothetically, had Pakistan been with India on the UNSC during the current year, without fear of contradiction we can say that their votes on dozens of resolutions and Presidential statements would have been identical on issues like Syria, Lebanon or Cote d'ivoire,’’ they added.

India’s two-year term as non-permanent member of the UNSC began in January this year while Pakistan will begin its two-year term from January 1, 2012. This is the fourth time India and Pakistan will be on the UNSC at the same time.

While India and Pakistan are known to coordinate their strategies on various issues at multi-lateral fora, still the Indian support for Islamabad’s bid to the UNSC’s non-permanent grouping was flagged in the Pakistani media that is otherwise quick to find fault with New Delhi.

The Hindu : News / National : Pakistan acknowledges India's support yet again

India played big role in UNSC bid: Pak

KARACHI, 29 OCT: India played a big role in supporting Pakistan's successful bid to become a non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council, Islamabad's envoy to the world body Mr Abdullah Hussain Haroon said here today.

Many of the countries that Pakistan had considered as friends were no longer its friends, but India “supported us in becoming a non-permanent member of the 15-member Security Council,” Mr Haroon told reporters at the Karachi airport. Pakistan, which was challenged by Kyrgyzstan, was backed by 129 of the 193 member states in the UN General Assembly. Kyrgyzstan polled 55 votes. Pakistan will replace Lebanon, which currently occupies the Asian seat, on January 1, 2012, for a two-year term. Mr Haroon said that Pakistan had worked very hard in the past six months to win votes for the prestigious seat.

“I think we should not be discouraged by the reaction by some of the nations in the UN because I can say the world wants Pakistan to play its positive role in the global scenario,” he said.
Pakistan has been on the Council six times earlier ~ 1952-53, 1968-69, 1976-77, 1983-84, 1993-94 and 2003-04. It's new term would overlap with that of India ~ which began its two-year tenure on 1 January this year for the fourth time. Pakistan and India had earlier shared terms on the Security Council in 1968, 1977 and 1984.

Mr Haroon said Pakistan was committed to multilateralism and promoting
principles and purposes enshrined in the UN Charter. To a question on US drone attacks on Pakistan's tribal areas, he said he could only take up the issue if the government authorised him to do so. “But we should not be scared of these attacks.” he added.

India played big role in UNSC bid: Pak

yaar mujhe ik baat batao .jab ladne ki baari atti hai to sare log comment karte ho
aur jab koi aise news atti hai to koi comment hi nahin karta

i would love to see this type of good relation in both the countries in future also

this is for India and Pakistan peoples"na jahgde hum apas mein ,jhagad ke tut jayenge tumhara aayina hum hai ,hamara aayina tum ho"

yaar mujhe ik baat batao .jab ladne ki baari atti hai to sare log comment karte ho
aur jab koi aise news atti hai to koi comment hi nahin karta

i would love to see this type of good relation in both the countries in future also

this is for India and Pakistan peoples"na jahgde hum apas mein ,jhagad ke tut jayenge tumhara aayina hum hai ,hamara aayina tum ho"

1. Because nobody wants to confess the truth that's because of India's support pakistan have become UNSC member.

2. The fact is that pakistan have elected by just 1 vote and that's was the vote of India.

3. The countries which follow Indian vote pattern have also voted for pakistan or abstained but not voted against pakistan because of India.

4. If it was a thread of china's vote every one would have jumping up and down. But you see India's gesture be it US $ 25 million aid to pakistan or EU concession because of India or India's vote for pakistan's UNSC membership doesn't count.

That's the level of hate there.

1. Because nobody wants to confess the truth that's because of India's support pakistan have become UNSC member.

2. The fact is that pakistan have elected by just 1 vote and that's was the vote of India.

3. The countries which follow Indian vote pattern have also voted for pakistan or abstained but not voted against pakistan because of India.

4. If it was a thread of china's vote every one would have jumping up and down. But you see India's gesture be it US $ 25 million aid to pakistan or EU concession because of India or India's vote for pakistan's UNSC membership doesn't count.

That's the level of hate there.

I admire ur patriotism but dont let it blind u to insanity as u clearly overestimate urslelf. Countries dont get elected by one vote and u are sitting on your chair not in the security council having the capabilities to judge the mood to give the statement of point 3.

May Be both countries support each and other in sell and buy onions and potato's..
its old claim..

Now the India need fair, but not military support to make the relation for the further developments such as Iran Gas Pipe line Ets.
And the relations will not better until the old promises of international and national should be fulfill.. A Considering Area for Indian Establishment....:sniper:

I admire ur patriotism but dont let it blind u to insanity as u clearly overestimate urslelf. Countries dont get elected by one vote and u are sitting on your chair not in the security council having the capabilities to judge the mood to give the statement of point 3.

Get informed before posting pakistan got 129 vote and won by just one vote to get in UNSC

Now the India need fair, but not military support to make the relation for the further developments such as Iran Gas Pipe line Ets.
And the relations will not better until the old promises of international and national should be fulfill.. A Considering Area for Indian Establishment....:sniper:

That's not gonna happen as if the boogeymen syndrome erected by pak army will gone pakistani people will understand that India is not a threat and they will cut off the military budget.

Pak army will not like that to get loose of the position in pakistan, the money etc. etc.

You know the saying don't you "Every country have a army, but pak army have a country" :P

That's not gonna happen as if the boogeymen syndrome erected by pak army will gone pakistani people will understand that India is not a threat and they will cut off the military budget.

Pak army will not like that to get loose of the position in pakistan, the money etc. etc.

You know the saying don't you "Every country have a army, but pak army have a country" :P

The Pakistani Armed Forces are a much loved national institution and very well respected, even after the Abbotobad and Mehran incidents a Gallop poll found more than 80% of the people had a favorable opinion of them.

Pakistan+NSSG.jpg