Overseas Pakistanis, what good or bad things you find among local Pakistanis?

You know what now that you mention it most of my Pakistani friends have some sort of traffic violation tickets or cases here.

Ajk rawalakot?

Never experienced death driving near Rawalakot, more around Mirpur and Dadyal, regions.

Bad things: Money. Everyone in Pakistan is after money, no matter how they get them. Corruption, Nepotism and greed seems to be the order of the day. Banda ek form nahi fil kerwasakta jab tak kissi manhoos ko chai pani na de.

Some also seem to look down on overseas Pakistanis and think we've abandoned Pakistan. This is despite the fact that a lot of lifestyle there is being funded by money sent back by overseas Pakistanis. Which is why I have created the term "Overland" Pakistanis, you know the Pakistanis that sit and moan about corruption and the bad state of affairs of the streets while giving/taking bribes freely and throwing rubbish out on the streets. Land grabbers are also a problem, so you have to be very careful when you buy property etc there, so use of a private militia is best advised when you are away.

Good things: Hospitality amongst old relatives and friends is still quite strong. More community feeling as people like to get stuck in when you encounter a problem. Also, the fact that I can freely eat curry and don't have to worry about my neighbours or when I go outside that I will smell like a curry muncher. Much bigger and spacious houses, yahan U.K main banda pinjaray mai rehta hai for 1000x the price. Great investment opportunities if you know what you are doing, high risk, higher returns and all that goodness.

Plus, it's where my ancestors are buried for hundreds of years. Amazing to see hundreds of years old stuff that was built for or by one of your relatives.

Every democratic rule pull Pakistan 50 years back, yet they keep taking on to streets in favor of democracy.
They don't realize, they are not profiting from democracy.
So a caliphate is indeed far better than a democracy?

Yes. Under Caliphate Muslims achieved greatness, under democracy we've been the lowest people on the earth.
So are you willing to fight for this caliphate?
I mean are you willing to force it on Muslims even though many Muslims would preferred to live in a democracy?

This behavior is prevalent amongst upper class people from major cities karachi , lahore and islamabad and amongst fuedals and their sidekicks.
Now these upperclass people are doing the same what i mentioned in previous post alongside their drivers. so its not education. And ofcourse our local culture and islamic culture both whether in their indiviudal spaces or mixed together never teach such behaviors.
If we say issue is poverty then these people arent poor, then why such behavior?
Gharoor takabbur, Allah ka khuaf na rehna, thori si achievements ya mamooli sa status even if its becoming a driver of a rich guy , haasil karkay logon ko nichla dekhna. Have u ever interacted with people from domestic helpers class like maids, drivers, security guards etc etc? These people have a very arorgant attitude towards people within their class, that i am employed by so and so sahab.

Our society's moral fabric is in tatters which has been worsened by slave mentality carried by people of this region for centuries.
Aur btw pakistani baahir ki countries may bhi yehi kaam kartay hain unless they really fear some repercussions. On the whole i have found pakistanis whether locals or overseas have a chip on their shoulders and are arrogant; something which holds them back from progressing as a nation.

Okay , so i realise what we've been doing wrong ... These double standards should end and everyone should be treated equally regardless of what occupation one has , whether poor or rich or well off.
But the question is , HOW can one bring change to such aspects of our society?

I mean are you willing to force it on Muslims even though many Muslims would preferred to live in a democracy?

Caliphate is great!!11! Screams a fella living under a Kafir Western Liberal Democracy. He will force it on other Muslims, just not on himself.

Only an Indian would be stupid enough to suggest than and then think it would work.

There have been numerous surveys taken place which suggest that Muslim countries and their citizens want an Islamic model of governance. Everywhere there has been free and fair elections people have been inclined to choose this. Turkey, Tunisia, Iran, Eygpt, Algeria - but history has taught us each example has been put down by dictators backed by the west. Turkey is lucky it has survived so far, Iran too for that matter yet look how they hound it.

I quote from the BBC:

In a 2006 Gallup survey of Muslims living in Egypt, Morocco, Indonesia and Pakistan, two-thirds of respondents said they supported the goal of "unifying all Islamic countries" into a new caliphate.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-29761018

In a survey of students done in Indonesia last month 20% want the same thing in their own country - https://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-i...upport-islamic-caliphate-survey-idUKKBN1D20L9

---

All this despite being in a situation where the elite of all muslim countries are liberal western puppets, the idea of pan national islamic idenity is trounced by governments muslim and non muslim alike, a time where our clerics fear to talk about the concept, when ISIS was deliberately created to destroy it's image.

Despite this the masses know that we only stand to benefit from being united by a common identity and sharing resources.

bhangis want to us to think Caliphate = ISIS, in reality caliphate = the greatest period of Muslim existance. The conditions that system of governance nurtured provided that greatness. In isolation a system of governance can do nothing and as we see across the Muslim world, in the absence of proper governance, no amount of resources or talent or wealth will amount to anything.

Local pakistanis are mad for money . They'll kill you and will eat you alive if they're given money for that
Very very dishonest and exploiting people they are .
Well, overseas pakistanis aren't that great either .. All they want n think is pre marriage unlawful relations .

Okay , so i realise what we've been doing wrong ... These double standards should end and everyone should be treated equally regardless of what occupation one has , whether poor or rich or well off.
But the question is , HOW can one bring change to such aspects of our society?
The issue is common between both overseas and local pakistanis. It can be corrected by idnetifying flaws, those who feel it should try changing their own behvaior, educate their children about it, tell that to peope in their surroundings. Also i dont mind handing out a slap or giving a loud insult call to such males or female who act so out of their pyjamas no matter how rich they are.

Maybe that’s the reason why so many expat Pakistanis living in western barbaric secular democracies want the strictest caliphate in Pakistan.
Although they themselves will never ever live in such a Pakistan.

Will your ideal caliphate implement the criminal sharia law for all its citizens?
The strictest kind of laws that even today’s Pakistan doesn’t follow?
Reported.

The driving is terrible. They have no regard for human life. Around AJK when the expats go home during the summer, the young idiots look at what the locals do and consider the roads as rally tracks. I was the same, but at some point you mature and it terrifies you when you realise how hazardous it is. The professional drivers like the taxi's, buses, rickshaws and route vans are the worst!

on the bright side whenever you have a breakdown people stop to help. I don't get that in the UK.
I live in Kahuta and have witnesses the overspending of Toyota coaches to kotli via kahuta ..They so dangerously overtake others and often have very young drivers who get trained on roads and road is also dangerous .. They often play with lives of those who are driving safely so its very crucial to be careful from inexperienced rough drivers

Pakistanis abroad and at home as people, are absolutely the same. The only thing we can reflect on is the difference between how society organises itself here and how it is done in Pakistan.

Here, people follow laws, more important forms of etiquette, they don't judge each other and allow for privacy.

One small example is littering, it's shocking to see how it's done in Pakistan, and all it would take is change in attitudes and behaviours, there's no use blaming poverty and politicians for bad behaviour such as littering.

There are many things I prefer about Pakistan too. Families are close, people are patriotic, society is big-hearted despite having less means than in the west.

One rather big example is how elderly are respected in Pakistan and have a place amongst their family. Here, parents then live alone, grow old alone and sometimes die alone. Too many of them end up in care homes, in their frailty they have no family to be with them.

Hope to go there someday,They say baag is the most beautiful place in ajk.
Baag, rawalakot, neelum all are pretty but neelum is breath taking.
Just to get a clue just watch few scenes from drama neelum kinaray it was shot there.
Also one major reason a new pakistani drama Yakqeen ka safar became a huge hit ( it actually became a hit from its 17-18 episode n onwards n mainly cause of location and romance) cause its later half of drama was shot on breathtaking locales of neelum. The drama totally is crap for my taste but just wanted to give a clue about locations.
Plus gb is also a must visit place.

Interesting thing I learnt today on this thread from more than one OSP's is that Local Pakistanis lack Greeting skills. Let's put some effort into it guys :D A smile and salam don't cost anything :-)
Waisay i never had this issue with common people . As of store keepers then customer service has never been a strong point with pakistanis, unfortunately