Osama Dead. Obama Confirms.

Hmm.. another twist.

Rift with Zawahiri led to Bin Laden killing: Saudi paper – The Express Tribune

US troops were led to al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden by his own deputy, Ayman al-Zawahiri, because of a simmering internal power struggle, a Saudi newspaper reported on Thursday.

Al-Watan newspaper, quoting an unnamed “regional source,” said the top two al Qaeda men had differences and that a courier who led US forces to bin Laden was working for Zawahiri.

The courier was a Pakistan national and not a Kuwaiti as the US suspected, Al-Watan said. The man knew he was being followed by the US military but disguised the fact.

“The Egyptian faction of al Qaeda is defacto running the organisation now and since he was taken ill in 2004 they have been trying to take full control,” according to the paper.

It said Zawahiri’s faction had persuaded Bin Laden to leave tribal areas along the Afghan-Pakistan border and take shelter instead in Abbottabad near Islamabad where he was finally killed by US commandos on Monday.

With the return of an Egyptian figure in al Qaeda, Saif al-Adel, last autumn from Iran, the Egyptian faction had hatched a plan to dispose of Saudi-born bin Laden, according to Al-Watan.
There may be some truth to this. The Arab Revolution, fueled by nationalism not religious extremism, pose a problem for the sidelined Al Qaeda and its parent, the Egypt-based Muslim Brotherhood. Their failure to be at the forefront of revolution must be seen by them as a failure of leadership. Do they now return as terrorists or as democrats? Disaffected members could have contacted the Americans. It is speculated that this is how Zarqawi 's location was revealed when he was killed in Iraq five years ago.

Look at these lies:

good stuff , good video

Im also planning on doing a write up to reconstruct what must have happened on that night based on the images we have and the facts we have with us now

Osama dead. War on Terror over. Now what forward for Pakistan? Will our Army chief order to shot down any more drones come inside Pakistan? Can he stop American illegal invasion? Can he do that rather than ordering inquiry and condemnations. :hitwall:

Inquiry is needed more than worrying about the procedure adopted by America but it should be an independent inquiry and not the one by military. It was a massive intelligence failure. Most wanted terrorist was hiding in the backyard of military academy! Doesn't that worry you? This is criminal negligence . Heads must roll. Establishment should take responsibility for once.

As for the American invasion,army chief has already given statement regarding that.

5 May 2011 Last updated at 18:26 GMT
Bin Laden 'in same house for five years, says wife
A wife of Osama Bin Laden has said he had been living in the compound in Abbottabad for five years, a Pakistani military official has told the BBC.

The wife, one of three of Bin Laden's wives held after Monday's raid, said she had not ventured outside one room over that time, the official added.

The official said 13 children had also been recovered from the compound.

Bin Laden was killed in a US special forces raid on the compound late on Sunday.

He was believed to have been the mastermind of the 9/11 attacks in 2001 and many others.

'Fell unconscious'
The senior Pakistani military official, who asked not to be named, said they had detained Bin Laden's three wives, one of who was Yemeni, after the operation by US special forces in Abbottabad. The other two wives were not identified.

The Yemeni wife told investigators she had come out of that one room after five years and that her husband lived there for the same period.

The official did not say whether the wife had said that Bin Laden had stayed in the compound continuously like her, or ventured out.

She told officials she was shot during the raid and fell unconscious, and that at that point, Bin Laden had been alive.

She said that later on, her daughter had told her she had witnessed her father being shot.

The Pakistani army also recovered 13 children from the compound - two girls and 11 boys - although they have not yet been able to establish how many are Bin Laden's children.

They are all being held in secret locations, the official said.

1314: : Khizar, in Rawalpindi, Pakistan, writes: "Just one question: How would the US react if Pakistani marines planned out a similar operation to kill or capture a hidden Al Qaeda suspect in their country?" Have Your Say

[Solomon2: I'd be thrilled and respond with three cheers and a suggestion that the personnel involved consider a career in law enforcement in the U.S. It was the Saudis and Algerians who de-fused a tricky terrorist situation in D.C. in 1978.]

1452: "There is an immense problem of credibility," Pervez Hoodbhoy, Pakistani physicist and commentator, tells the BBC World Service. "Pakistani leaders had been emphatic in saying that 'no he is not in Pakistan', and then he turns up right under their noses." He adds: "People are asking, is the military incompetent or is it complicit? And that is a question that will be asked for a long time."

1454: Pakistan's military has admitted to intelligence "shortcomings" on pinpointing Osama Bin Laden's whereabouts and has called for an investigation, AFP reports. We'll bring you more details on this as we get them.

1459: Pakistan wants Washington to reduce its military personnel in the country and has threatened to review co-operation following the raid that killed Bin Laden, AFP also reports.

1508: More now on that statement from Pakistan's military reported by AFP. Army chief Gen Ashfaq Kayani convened a meeting of corps commanders which said in a statement that "while admitting own shortcomings" in developing intelligence on Bin Laden's whereabouts, the "achievements" by military intelligence against al-Qaeda and other terror groups were without parallel.

1512: Army commanders were summoned to headquarters in Rawalpindi to be "informed about the decision to reduce the strength of US military personnel in Pakistan to the minimum level", AFP reports. Army chief-of-staff Gen Ashfaq Kayani "made it very clear that any similar action violating [Pakistan's] sovereignty will warrant a review of military, intelligence co-operation with the US", a military statement said.

1519: The statement by the Pakistani army is its first since Monday's raid that killed the al-Qaeda leader. The army has been heavily criticised for failing to find Bin Laden despite his home being a conspicuous compound in an army town not far from the capital Islamabad.

1552: It was Osama Bin Laden's wife who disclosed during interrogation that the al-Qaeda leader had been living at the compound in Abbotabad for five years, Pakistani military officials revealed in their briefing in Rawalpindi.

1940: Pakistan's army has admitted to intelligence shortcomings in finding Bin Laden's location in Abbottabad.

1943: The acknowledgement came after Chief of Army Staff Gen Ashfaq Kayani convened a meeting of commanders on the fourth day after US commandos tracked down and killed Bin Laden.

2023: Pakistan's Gen Ashfaq Kiyani has made it clear following a meeting with the country's commanders that any similar action violating the sovereignty of Pakistan, like that of the US mission, will warrant a review on the level of military co-operation with the America.

2026: During the meeting, Pakistani military officials decided to reduce the strength of US military personnel in Pakistan to the minimum level, according to a statement.

2041: CNN's Nic Robertson says that because Pakistan has vowed to reduce the US military presence within the country, this could mean more members of al-Qaeda could seek refuge inside the country's borders.

2057: Michele Flournoy, the top policy aide to US Defense Secretary Robert Gates, told reporters the Pakistani government should help the US exploit the materials US operatives collected inside Bin Laden's compound on Monday, AP reports.

2100: Ms Flournoy was the first Pentagon official to comment on-the-record about the raid.

BBC News - LIVE: Osama Bin Laden dead

PAKISTANI INTERIOR MINISTER REHMAN MALIK TERMS THE INCIDENT 'CHHOTI MOTI BAAT' (A NON-ISSUE)

A clip from a Bollywood movie put the whole scenario very nicely. (Facebook video)

''We will leave yours as soon as you leave ours''

Typical Leftist/ Islamic propaganda.

Did OBL & Co seriously think that they can get away after smashing the nose of the sole superpower in the world. 9/11 awakened a sleeping gaint and made him mad. Iraq, Afghanisthan, back lash against Muslims are all result of that. So everytime you remove your shoe, belt etc at the airport security, pass through multiple security checks, pay high airfare and generally looked with suspicion if you have a beard and brown skin you know the person to thank to.

Pakistan pays U.S. lobbyists to deny it helped bin Laden

(Reuters) - Pakistan's Washington lobbyists have launched an intense campaign on Capitol Hill to counter accusations that Islamabad was complicit in giving refuge to Osama bin Laden.

Alarmed by lawmakers' demands to cut off billions of dollars of U.S. aid after bin Laden was found living in a Pakistani safe house for six years, President Asif Ali Zardari has ordered a full-court press to quell mounting accusations that it helped the al Qaeda leader avoid capture.

Mark Siegel, a partner in the Washington lobbying firm of Locke Lord Strategies -- which is paid $75,000 a month by the Pakistani government -- told Reuters on Thursday he had spoken twice to Zardari since U.S. special forces killed bin Laden on Sunday, and "countless" times to the Pakistani ambassador in Washington.

"They are certainly concerned," Siegel said, adding that suggestions the Pakistani government knew about bin Laden's whereabouts was nothing more than speculation.

Referring to a statement by President Barack Obama's counterterrorism adviser, John Brennan, that there must have been a support system for bin Laden inside Pakistan, Siegel said: "There is no proof that a support system was government-based."

There is much at stake for Pakistan as many lawmakers question how bin Laden could have lived in a large fortified compound close to a Pakistani military base for so long.

Some members of Congress are now demanding that nearly $3 billion in annual aid for Pakistan, included in Obama's 2012 budget, be blocked until the Zardari administration explains how bin Laden lived untouched just 30 miles outside Islamabad, the Pakistani capital. Pakistan has received over $20 billion in U.S. aid since the September 11, 2001, attacks.

Patrick Leahy, the Democratic chairman of the Senate subcommittee that allocates foreign aid, said on Thursday he wants a complete review of U.S. aid to Pakistan.

Leahy said he was certain that some Pakistani military and intelligence officials knew that bin Laden was hiding so close to Islamabad.

"It's impossible for them not to have some idea he was there," Leahy told Vermont Public Radio.

But Siegel, referring to claims by the Afghan government that Pakistan must have known bin Laden's whereabouts, said: "Must have known doesn't mean knew."

Siegel's firm was retained by the Zardari government in 2008 and has earned nearly $2 million in fees since then, according to Justice Department records. Siegel said his firm is paid $900,000 a year by Pakistan.

Since bin Laden's death, Siegel says he has been on Capitol Hill every day to promote Pakistan's position on the bin Laden killing, talking to congressmen, senators and their aides.

Okay, I think we can finally put rest to the "join-op" theory.

Pakistan pays U.S. lobbyists to deny it helped bin Laden

(Reuters) - Pakistan's Washington lobbyists have launched an intense campaign on Capitol Hill to counter accusations that Islamabad was complicit in giving refuge to Osama bin Laden.

Alarmed by lawmakers' demands to cut off billions of dollars of U.S. aid after bin Laden was found living in a Pakistani safe house for six years, President Asif Ali Zardari has ordered a full-court press to quell mounting accusations that it helped the al Qaeda leader avoid capture.

Mark Siegel, a partner in the Washington lobbying firm of Locke Lord Strategies -- which is paid $75,000 a month by the Pakistani government -- told Reuters on Thursday he had spoken twice to Zardari since U.S. special forces killed bin Laden on Sunday, and "countless" times to the Pakistani ambassador in Washington.

"They are certainly concerned," Siegel said, adding that suggestions the Pakistani government knew about bin Laden's whereabouts was nothing more than speculation.

Referring to a statement by President Barack Obama's counterterrorism adviser, John Brennan, that there must have been a support system for bin Laden inside Pakistan, Siegel said: "There is no proof that a support system was government-based."

There is much at stake for Pakistan as many lawmakers question how bin Laden could have lived in a large fortified compound close to a Pakistani military base for so long.

Some members of Congress are now demanding that nearly $3 billion in annual aid for Pakistan, included in Obama's 2012 budget, be blocked until the Zardari administration explains how bin Laden lived untouched just 30 miles outside Islamabad, the Pakistani capital. Pakistan has received over $20 billion in U.S. aid since the September 11, 2001, attacks.

Patrick Leahy, the Democratic chairman of the Senate subcommittee that allocates foreign aid, said on Thursday he wants a complete review of U.S. aid to Pakistan.

Leahy said he was certain that some Pakistani military and intelligence officials knew that bin Laden was hiding so close to Islamabad.

"It's impossible for them not to have some idea he was there," Leahy told Vermont Public Radio.

But Siegel, referring to claims by the Afghan government that Pakistan must have known bin Laden's whereabouts, said: "Must have known doesn't mean knew."

Siegel's firm was retained by the Zardari government in 2008 and has earned nearly $2 million in fees since then, according to Justice Department records. Siegel said his firm is paid $900,000 a year by Pakistan.

Since bin Laden's death, Siegel says he has been on Capitol Hill every day to promote Pakistan's position on the bin Laden killing, talking to congressmen, senators and their aides.

Okay, I think we can finally put rest to the "join-op" theory.

Some of my pakistani colleagues really want to show the world how far they have their head buried in sand----and that is okay as well----the world knows it---they have no qualms about that.

Why do you leave a witness behind intentionally----so that they can tell what happened-----. When the british army retreated from afghanistan and during the retreat---the soldiers got massacred---and the afghan and pushtuns only left one man to go back----for what----to give an eye witness account of what had happened to the british amry---so he could tell about the massacre the befell the british---to tell the story of the brutality and fighting experties of the afghan/pushtun warriors.

The Laden family is a witness to what happened----the little girl saw what happened----his young bride saw what happened---her vantage point may have been different that the navy seal who shot her father----but she saw her father die-----.

So now to all the superstar nuclear scientists from pakistan on this board----you don't have to be a rocket scientist to understand and believe that Laden is gone----you have his family to vouch for the killing---the killing may have happened in an unagreeable manner----but the execution did take place----Usama Bin Laden was executed by the navy seals-----

System analyst, did you say? Does speculation to the highest order is part of the job? OMG, I'm kinda speechless by the level of denial amongst the highly educated ones. What's your take on the official statements that are coming out of Pakistan? What's your take on the people mourning Osama's death on Pakistan's street? What's your take on those lawers presenting Mumtaz Qadri with garlands? Is that how you think Pakistan will prosper or you agree that Pakistan needs to do things differently in order to rise from the ruins? Since you are in UK, do you even realize what kind of ruins we are taking about?

What's wrong with the stands being taken by the likes of T-Faz & others. It is time to revamp a lot of things in Pakistan including the absolute power (read God like) that the PA & ISI enjoys. But, most importantly, it is more then high time to try (I say try) to eradicate the religious radicalism from the heart and mind of the Pakistanis.

P.S.: To all posters, Please don't bring in Indias poor and toilets and cow piss here. We know we have lot of deficiency ourselves and there is lots of room to improve ourselves too. But that's some discussion for some other threads, not this.

Speculation from highest to the lowest is also part of "quantitative analysis" approach.. its the job of the system's analyst to use Speculations, hard copies, printed documentations, previous record, in fact everything possible to analyse a system.. (bhains kay aagay been to nahi baja raha main? :undecided:)

Anyways, back to your response, its not a denial, its called "seeking the truth".. and then if there is a problem, seeking the root cause and then based on "factual evidence" planning for solution.. (One can use qualitative/quantitative/documented records for that)..

Though that post was not meant for people like you.. it was meant for people who use "logic" that is why it was directed towards T-Faz.. but hay.. its "freedom of speech" isn't it?.. so aap ki bhi sun'ni parti hain :P.. anyways, what we do with our army and how much control we give them is non of your business.. i wonder why are you so concerned about it? behti ganga main haath dho rahay ho? :P

Dear General Kayani Sahib, you must have heard the sayings:

When you try to please everyone you please no one.
Sir, the time has come to pick who you side with in this war. Clearly, your double games are not working.

You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you cannot fool all of the people all of the time.
Sir, by issuing statements like “Kayani has said that more raids like the one in Abbottabad would not be tolerated, “ You fool no one, so please stop making these ridiculous statements.....you give the impression of a clown, more than that of a General.

As long as you are sheltering Taliban and their terrorist buddies, the Americans will keep on coming.

As a Pakistani, it saddens me when others ridicule Pakistan, it’s high time to end your duplicitous policies, please have mercy on Pakistan.

For those who think It wasn't OBL who was killed, this video gives details of Pakistan's official press release ..based on interrogation of OBL's relatives who are in Pakistani custody.

It basically says that it is confirmed now that OBL was living in his Abbottabad house since 5yrs with his 3 wifes.

His daughter has confirmed, that it was OBL who was shot by SEALs and then dragged his body to the heli...amongst other things.

I haven't posted in a while... I have a difficult time dealing with the wild conspiracies that inevitably evolve, especially with momentous news like this.

On penetration of Pakistani airspace I posted this on another forum, and I think it's applicable:

And now we have the news that a stealthy chopper was used.

Disposal of the body - the U.S. is in a no-win situation.

Keep the corpse, display it, allow everyone (including Muslim doctors) to inspect it...

"The U.S. is insulting Islam! They are abusing the body! He must be buried within 24 hours facing Mecca."

Dispose of the corpse by burial at sea...

"The whole thing was faked! Where's the proof? OBL is living in a suburb of Washington!"

Display gruesome death photos...

"They are mocking him! This is disrespectful!"

and of course, inevitably...

"It's a PHOTOSHOP!!"

Why are you toggling between two extremes? Here is what they could have done..
Display his dead body to neutral representatives (China, Russia, UN) along with a section of Pakistani representatives for confirmation.. and then they could have “buried him in sea”

I haven't the slightest doubt that they saved enough DNA for 1,000 tests. And there will be archived photos that may be conveniently leaked at some point, but apparently later rather than sooner.

We are still waiting for leaked proofs of 9/11, which have not yet received any convenient time.. though during this time two countries were destroyed and two nations shattered.. hundreds of thousands were killed and millions lost their houses and became refugees or are living well below poverty line..

On the hard questions for Pakistan: There will be a lot of noise for a period of time. The American perspective is that there are too may people in Pakistan sympathetic to OBL, which is why the op was not a joint effort. Evidence for this comes from the many rallies where US flags are burned and prayers said for this criminal.

But eventually cooperation will continue... there's too much to lose otherwise.

None of the rallies held more than 200 people.. out of 180 million.. you do the maths..

Is it a drama? A conspiracy? No. If OBL has been dead for years, his death would have been announced by Bush. If he is still alive, all it would take would be one videotape of him to make America look astoundingly foolish.

There is so much more to comment on, but this is already too long. I'm just glad he's dead.

It is a drama! A conspiracy! And No. Bush wouldn’t do that.. US wanted to hold “strategically strong” area of Afghanistan to keep an eye on China and other “nuclear” powers.. Announcing his death wouldn’t give any benefit.. a tape cannot come out because they killed him looonggg time ago so no risk of “looking astoundingly foolish”..

And for the record.. I’m HAPPY that he died.. Good Riddance