Olive plant imports

The smell of olive oil ruins the taste of food. Nai?

After my dad’s heart attack we gradually shifted to extra virigin olive oil in our household and trust me after a while you don’t even notice. In fact just the thought of all that unhealthy “heart clogging” oil as desert fighter said, puts me off now. Whilst this may not be a big issue for Pakistanis living in sunny warm Pakistan, where you sweat out a lot of calories, but in colder countries, maintaining an oily Pakistani diet can be extremely dangerous. (to put things into context Diabetes and heart disease in Bangladeshis and Pakistanis | East London Genes & Health )

Extra virgin olive oil linked to lower blood sugar and cholesterol| Reuters

i prefer corn oil over any other cooking oil. thank god there are more people who don't like olive oil i thought i was the only one who don't like the taste and smell of olive oil and was sick of of my relatives and friends telling me to use it as it is more healthy :blah::blah::blah: but what good a healthy food is if you won't eat it but irony is that i love eating olives.

I only like the topping of olives on pizza. :D
And by the way I also prefer corn oil and if not corn then vegetables. But for sure not olive oils. It tastes so bad. Once an Aunty made us a food cooked in olive oil & I told her Aunty next time olive oil main cooked Na Dena Hume please. :p
Smell is pretty strong.

After my dad’s heart attack we gradually shifted to extra virigin olive oil in our household and trust me after a while you don’t even notice. In fact just the thought of all that unhealthy “heart clogging” oil as desert fighter said, puts me off now. Whilst this may not be a big issue for Pakistanis living in sunny warm Pakistan, where you sweat out a lot of calories, but in colder countries, maintaining an oily Pakistani diet can be extremely dangerous. (to put things into context Diabetes and heart disease in Bangladeshis and Pakistanis | East London Genes & Health )

Extra virgin olive oil linked to lower blood sugar and cholesterol| Reuters

I have this problem with me. When I don't like something in food, I don't even try to eat and it's completely out of my list. Kaise develop Karun taste. :(

Olive muffins ....
m1802.gif

I can't eat anything except cereal for breakfast. Eggs are for lunch or dinner. Kalamata olives are my favorite. :smitten:
Try a Turkish breakfast.

I only like the topping of olives on pizza. :D
And by the way I also prefer corn oil and if not corn then vegetables. But for sure not olive oils. It tastes so bad. Once an Aunty made us a food cooked in olive oil & I told her Aunty next time olive oil main cooked Na Dena Hume please. :p
Smell is pretty strong.

I have this problem with me. When I don't like something in food, I don't even try to eat and it's completely out of my list. Kaise develop Karun taste. :(
my mom once fried a prantha in olive oil (not proud of that day) after taking first bite i ran toward kitchen sink and spit it out.after that i brushed again to get rid of the taste.then apologized and asked my mom to never cook in olive oil pls .the funny thing was that in those days (when i was in saudia) i loved olives so much that i used to eat them in any way possible(as pickles, snacks and salad)but i never was able to eat any thing which used olive oil (alas it is very hard to find quality olives in pakistan or at least i never found them here).
yeah corn oil for the win its the best tasting oil out there and is relativity healthier then other oils or ghee.

my mom once fried a prantha in olive oil (not proud of that day) after taking first bite i ran toward kitchen sink and spit it out.after that i brushed again to get rid of the taste.then apologized and asked my mom to never cook in olive oil pls .the funny thing was that in those days (when i was in saudia) i loved olives so much that i used to eat them in any way possible(as pickles, snacks and salad)but i never was able to eat any thing which used olive oil (alas it is very hard to find quality olives in pakistan or at least i never found them here).
yeah corn oil for the win its the best tasting oil out there and is relativity healthier then other oils or ghee.

As long as you realize and apologize. :)
Saudi people use olive oil so much. Nai?
It tastes like hospital's food. Lol
And you completely feel sick. corn oil is best. I don't like the ghee too. (If you're talking about the ghee made with butter). Same problem the smell is disgusting.

Really? That's even more smelly. I run far away from the smell of olive oil. :happy::happy:

There are two standards in extra virgin. One which is used in salads has the smell and unique flavour. Another does not. If the bottle you are buying has two drops its the one for salads.

Don't ever buy pomace and buy only cold pressed.

There are two standards in extra virgin. One which is used in salads has the smell and unique flavour. Another does not. If the bottle you are buying has two drops its the one for salads.

Don't ever buy pomace and buy only cold pressed.

Never gonna try. :p
I remember the first time I smell it.

1) I know a LOT more about Transparency International than you do. One of my companies works with them and provides specialized audit services to them, and through them to places like India, Pakistan, Poland, Germany, etc, etc :enjoy:

2) Pakistan's ranking has changed and is moving away from the most corrupted Index pretty seriously. Pakistan, India, China are all considered closer to the worst and most corrupted states. But that hasn't stopped India and China's climb economically. Same will be the case for Pakistan :enjoy:. But Pakistan has appointed Transparency International on all Fed and Punjab Government's projects, so that tells you the drive towards no corruption.

3) Putting comments that weren't said in front of me is like asking me to believe ghosts exist. Start linking proofs to your posts so everyone can see its not gossip like what IK does. Everything is wrong with PMLN and YET, they've successfully created a new Pakistan that you and your next generations will cherish!!

4) I know exactly where Zhob is.....on your way towards Iran, you can stop by there and get some warm Kehwah and Rosh and Sajji's. I used to come to Nanga Parbat and K-2 for hiking so I know the entire landscape of Pakistan very closely. I don't write shiit where I don't know the history and purpose.

5) Olives or Wheat grown at -2 (sub zero) temperature is genetically modified by the evolutionary processes over time (mother nature). If you take these plants out and put them in Punjab's heat, they'll die!!!! Its like one family has a Heart disease gene in their heritage. You can genetically modify the gene through various exercises, protein and diet, but the second you put this person on high cholesterol diet and no workout, after 40, expect a heart attack in the next 5 - 15 years. Just how genetics work, whether animals, humans or plants!!
3)

Wow! Quite a post and experiences! Some times you do seem to get a bit too passionate but your defence of Pakistan and optimism for Pakistan is certainly appreciated by at least me. Thanks.

As long as you realize and apologize. :)
Saudi people use olive oil so much. Nai?
It tastes like hospital's food. Lol
And you completely feel sick. corn oil is best. I don't like the ghee too. (If you're talking about the ghee made with butter). Same problem the smell is disgusting.
i apologized but then she said begarta wasay sara din tu zatoon(olive) ki jan nahi chorta or ab ultian kar raha hay tera bhi koi dean iman nahi hay.
it is one of very few things that grow there so they use it in every way possible.thank god it is expensive even in saudia other wise they would have cooked every yummy cuisine of their's in it and ruined it in the process.

for me any type ghee is too heavy but desi ghee share the spot with olive oil for most hated ghee and oil (my father will kill me if he ever found out that i hate desi ghee).

I like Mustard oil.

The health benefits of Mustard Essential Oil can be attributed to its properties as a stimulant, irritant, appetizer, antibacterial, antifungal, insect repellant, hair vitalizer, cordial, diaphoretic, antirheumatic and tonic substance.

Mustard oil has had contradictory reputations in different parts of the world over the years. It is a very popular oil on the Indian Subcontinent, specifically in the Eastern parts of India and in Bangladesh. There, it is used as an edible oil and is considered very healthy, whereas in the rest of the world, it is often considered toxic, irritable and not suitable for edible purposes. In some parts of Europe, there is even a ban on selling this oil and in some other countries; it is sold as a massage oil reserved for external application only.

Mustard essential oil is totally different from Mustard Oil, not in the sense that it is extracted from anything else, but in terms of the process of extraction, chemical composition and medicinal properties. Both of these oils are extracted from the seeds of mustard, which bears the scientific name Brassica Nigra (Black Mustard) or Brassica Hirta (White Mustard).

While mustard oil is extracted by cold compression of mustard seeds, its essential oil is extracted by steam distillation of mustard seeds soaked in water, and that is where the major difference occurs. Mustard seeds (black or white) contain an enzyme called Myrosinase and a glucosinolate called Sinigrin. These two remain isolated in mustard seeds under normal conditions, but react when the seeds are subjected to pressure or heat. In the presence of water, these two components react to form Allyl Isothiocyanate (in case of black mustard) and normal Isothiocyanate (in case of white mustard), which is a toxic compound.

Allyl Isothiocyanate, which is present in the mustard essential oil by more than 90% of the volume, accompanied by certain fatty acids like Oleic Acid, Linoleic Acid and Erucic Acid, has been proven to have certain health benefits, which are discussed in greater detail below.

Health Benefits of Mustard Essential Oil

Stimulant: Mustard essential oil is a very strong stimulant, just like mustard oil. It is particularly effective in stimulating circulation, digestion and excretion. This oil, if used externally for the purpose of massage, stimulates circulation very well. The effects are very obvious by the red color of the skin. It also stimulates digestion by stimulating the secretion of gastric juices and bile from the spleen and liver. The excretory system is also stimulated by this oil since the peristaltic motion of the intestines is activated, benefiting digestion.

Irritant: Although being an irritant is not often seen as a good thing, it can be beneficial in some unique cases. Irritation is nothing but a way that an organ reacts to an external agent or stimulus. It also shows that the organ is responding to external stimuli. This is where the potential benefit is. This property can be used to bring sensation back to those organs which are suffering from numbness or lack of sensation. This property is also used to pump up muscles and stimulate muscle growth or excitation.

Appetizer: This essential oil acts as an appetizer and boosts huger. This can also be a side effect of the irritant and stimulant qualities of mustard essential oil. It irritates the inner lining of the stomach and intestines, stimulates digestive juices, and creates a feeling of hunger.

Antibacterial: This essential oil has bactericidal or antibacterial properties. Internally, it fights bacterial infections in the colon, digestive system, excretory system, and urinary tract. When applied externally, it can treat bacterial infections on the skin.

Antifungal: This oil serves as an antifungal agent, due to the presence of Allyl Isothiocyanate. It does not allow fungal growth and also inhibits the spread of infection if it has already formed.

Insect Repellant: Insects and even some smaller animals avoid this oil and keep away from it. That is why mustard essential oil acts as such a useful insect repellant as well. It can be used in fumigants and vaporizers to drive away insects.

Hair Revitalizer: The stimulating effect and the presence of certain fatty acids such as oleic acid and linoleic acid, when combined together, make mustard essential oil an efficient hair revitalizer. Its stimulating effects increase blood circulation in the scalp while the fatty acids nourish the hair roots. It has been repeatedly shown that prolonged use of this oil on the hair may give it a brown tint, but it strengthens it and effectively prevents hair loss.

Cordial: The feeling of warmth that this oil provides makes it a cordial. It warms up the internal system like the respiratory system and protects it from the formation and accumulation of phlegm. It also warms up the body in winter to some extent. This also may be partially due to its stimulating and mildly irritating effects.

Diaphoretic: It promotes sweating both when consumed and when applied externally. It stimulates sweat glands to produce more sweat as well as enlarges the openings of the pores on skin. This property is helpful in lowering body temperature as well as for removing toxins, excess salts, and water from the body.

Tonic: This oil serves as an all around tonic for your body’s health. It tones up all the systems operating in the body, gives strength and boosts immune function.

Anti-Rheumatic & Anti-Arthritic: Mustard essential oil provides relief for symptoms of rheumatism and arthritis and has been used for this purpose since ancient times.

begarta wasay sara din tu zatoon(olive) ki jan nahi chorta or ab ultian kar raha hay tera bhi koi dean iman nahi hay.

Well done Aunty well done :D

for me any type ghee is too heavy but desi ghee share the spot with olive oil for most hated ghee and oil (my father will kill me if he ever found out that i hate desi ghee).

On same page.
Except the last part. My dad is such a food lover & he just cares about his food and no cares wether I like desi ghee or not. :D

Well done Aunty well done :D

On same page.
Except the last part. My dad is such a food lover & he just cares about his food and no cares wether I like desi ghee or not. :D
have you ever heard of ghee shakar. it is one of his favorite dish (even though i consider it more of a extremely heavy and pungent desi snack)
that and my hate for some desi food like ghobhi, tenday and kadoo.surely will be the cause of my death by my father's hand some day

have you ever heard of ghee shakar. it is one of his favorite dish (even though i consider it more of a extremely heavy and pungent desi snack)

I surely have. It is very unhealthy and I think the generation of our parents eat anything. :p

that and my hate for some desi food like ghobhi, tenday and kadoo.surely will be the cause of my death at my father's hand some day

I like all of these vegetables.
You should be killed now. :p
I prefer vegetables over meats.

I surely have. It is very unhealthy and I think the generation of our parents eat anything. :p
true that don't know how they do that but yeah they can eat almost anything.
I like all of these vegetables.
You should be killed now. :p
I prefer vegetables over meats.
meat for life death to all vegetarians :p
waqay bhi meat kay bagair bhi zandgi koi zandgi hay.

meat for life death to all vegetarians :p
waqay bhi meat kay bagair bhi zandgi koi zandgi hay.

I'm not vegetarian though. Actually meri family to achy khasi meat lover hai unlike us siblings. Mujhe to bus chai chiye lol :D

Try a Turkish breakfast

I read a novel and its setting is mainly in Turkey. I want to visit Turkey like so bad after reading tha novel and now even I have a special feel for Turkey. One day I will. :p