Not enough room for China in Indian Ocean: Maldives

I support India joining SCO. By doing so, there will be two powerhouses (India and Russia) to prevent China from dominating the organization, like U.S. dominates NATO. It will bring more stability and security to Asia :agree:

Really, the only impediment to Sino-Indian relations is the Chinese support for Pakistan. Hopefully, Pakistan balkanizes sometime this century so we can solve that problem...

Sometimes, its a great idea to view strategic perspective from others instead from inside a well. The US foolishly allow China and Russia to be closer to each other because of incompetencies of the Clinton administration. As of now, these two countries are closer to each other than they are individually to the US. This is the most important triangular relationship. India need to find a room in the light of this strategic situation. So its either siding with China/Russia the SCO. Or with US lead Nato. India does not have economic, political or technological muscle to be a pole by itself.

---------- Post added at 10:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:17 AM ----------

thank you very much. You see the whole picture instead of just view the lense from the perspective of India.

The russians "trade" with you chinese. There isnt anything more to it. There used to be, until your government started reverse engineering their technology and aggressively pushing them. To reall find out about this "china - russia" thingy (lol) read the pravda or a russian newspaper. Just a few months back, the russian government announced "un conditional" support to indian endeavours and "un restricted" support when faced with a war scenario. They even went on to affirm that their promise would be binding even if they had to face china militarily. The article is here somewhere in this forum.

Dude, what is this China/Russia block you are speaking about?:eek:

Last time I heard Russia was in a long term strategic pact with India:azn:.

Post some links, dude! Do not be delusional!;)

While Russia does have close military relationships with India, neither side has signed any strategic pact, which means that Russia is free to waver in an actual time of need. Moreover, India's close relationship with Washington is raising eyebrows in Moscow. If India drifts into the Western bloc, what will happen to your relationship with Moscow?

The russians "trade" with you chinese. There isnt anything more to it. There used to be, until your government started reverse engineering their technology and aggressively pushing them. To reall find out about this "china - russia" thingy (lol) read the pravda or a russian newspaper. Just a few months back, the russian government announced "un conditional" support to indian endeavours and "un restricted" support when faced with a war scenario. They even went on to affirm that their promise would be binding even if they had to face china militarily. The article is here somewhere in this forum.
thats a very rare possibility that russians will act militarily during indo china war....

Many Russians are concerned about illegal Chinese immigration to Siberia. It's a major security issue, and I'm glad our defence minister raised the topic a few years ago. There are only eight million (and declining) aging Russians spread over the whole extent of Siberia, compared to hundreds of millions of Chinese right next-door.

jab gidhad ki mot ati he to woh saher ki aur jata hai.

While Russia does have close military relationships with India, neither side has signed any strategic pact, which means that Russia is free to waver in an actual time of need. Moreover, India's close relationship with Washington is raising eyebrows in Moscow. If India drifts into the Western bloc, what will happen to your relationship with Moscow?

oh!! did Russians tell u about this?

India knows where to draw a line in a strategic partnership ..perhaps something the gr8 china has to learn from us lowly indians

Thank you Janab Mohamed Nasheed, President of Maldives.

Now, china's string of pearls have broken.

Indian Navy's tie up with Seychelles, Maldives etc. have failed chinese strategy.

Even forced India to go on and build foundation of strategic tie up with Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia etc.

So we can say its a reverse string of pearls for china.

..and China understands that in India-pakistan context

We don't rely on Pakistan to intervene in a war should hostilities break out between China and India.

We supply weapons and perhaps military support to Pakistan not vice versa

While Russia does have close military relationships with India, neither side has signed any strategic pact,

There was a long-tem security pact signed during the Soviet times, though that probably doesn't apply anymore.

Moreover, India's close relationship with Washington is raising eyebrows in Moscow. If India drifts into the Western bloc, what will happen to your relationship with Moscow?

India's multipolar foreign policy is a completely independent preoragative. It does not seek to excluse either the East or the West, but to build strategic relationships with both.

We don't rely on Pakistan to intervene in a war should hostilities break out between China and India.

We supply weapons and perhaps military support to Pakistan not vice versa

Many Pakistanis here seem to believe that China will save them in a future war with India.

US has bases in Indian ocean in Diego Garcia. The US navy is the most powerful force in Indian ocean and will be responsible in deeping balance of power against China in Western Pacific and Indian Ocean. In 20 years, I predict Indian would open up its ports to the US navy.

Maybe, when American ports open up to the Indian Navy patrolling the pacific. We are not really interested in the Atlantic. But the Pacific Ocean is definitely important.

Hopefully they understand that relying on a foreign country for military matters is unwise.

Very true. One thing the Russians make clear is that their foreign policy is highly opportunistic. Russian leaders befriend China because they want a partner to counter US hegemony, whether its preventing the spread of NATO or kicking out US bases in Central Asia. Because Russia is an unreliable ally, China is working hard to advance its domestic armaments industry. Dependence on Russia is more a thing of weakness.