Naswar Corner

Summary: I want others to do what I myself cannot. Pardon me, but your hypocrisy is showing. :D

:rofl: Nice one ! Aur Chengy Bhai hows the photography going ? Hows Bhabi & the Kids ?

P.S On a serious note : I think the Quaid wanted something along the lines of the US - Not explicitly Secular but someplace you shove your religion down the next guys throat !

:rofl: Nice one ! Aur Chengy Bhai hows the photography going ? Hows Bhabi & the Kids ?

P.S On a serious note : I think the Quaid wanted something along the lines of the US - Not explicitly Secular but someplace you shove your religion down the next guys throat !

Armstrong Sahab Religion is like a D**k . Its Great to Have one but its socially inappropriate to flash it in public and shove it down people's throat :rofl:

Armstrong, I don't really think he needed to use the word secularism. He literally described no religion in politics here:
Now I think we should keep that in front of us as our ideal and you will find that in course of time Hindus would cease to be Hindus and Muslims would cease to be Muslims, not in the religious sense, because that is the personal faith of each individual, but in the political sense as citizens of the state

Also a few smart people can convince you of any ideology, sorry but it's gullable of him to accept the implementation of any political system just based on a few personal correspondences, this was in comparison to his years of in depth studying British secular law.

Also, I think 99.99% Muslims who want sharia and political Islam don't pratices it or haven't read much on it.:P

Anyway has hyperion got back from holiday?

And yet he used words like 'a democratic state', 'islamic socialism' & Pakistan not be a 'theocracy or anything like it' ! These terms matter...this ambiguity didn't arise from itself.

I think what he meant from the speech you posted above was that in time we will view each other & the state will view each other as Pakistanis. Period. Which is not to say that you can't bring your religious polity into the political sphere only that you're not going to discriminate on the basis of it in others a State where Armstrong can stand up for election on slogans centering around talk of implementing the Shariah or an Islamic Economic System & yet have someone like Justice (R) Rana Bhagwandas as his President ! A State where 'what gets institutionalized' depends not on your religious disposition but how many votes you can get to institutionalize it.

P.S I never said the current political dispensation of Pakistan is what Jinnah Sahib wanted !

P.P.S For that one 11 th August Speech I can show you 10 others in which Islamic Polity in one form or the other has been explicitly mentioned by the Father.

P.P.P.S Beats me...I missing Hyperion too !

Yes, but what happens if you appear to be the "next guy" to a bigger stronger person? :D

Hence the democratic process !

The word "Sharia" is not used either but in the quote I gave, he clearly describes secularism in a more clearer way than the ambigous word "Islamic socialism" is being used to promote some type of sharia. I think it was because of the negative connatations of the word that it was wiser to withhold its usage. Anyway to each his own interpretation and I don't agree with the one you provided. The quote speaks for it self.

So how long has Hype been away, i see him thanking posts now and then but not discussing anything... :lol:

Yes, but what happens if you appear to be the "next guy" to a bigger stronger person? :D

try this

viagra.jpg

My dream is Pick up my bike in Pune ( not the one i have but a superbike) and go from Pune to Mumbai to Delhi to Wagah Gate to karachi and then Makran coastal highway all the way into Baluchistan . From there Sistan and Seeing everything on the way in Iran to Turkey . But seeing the geo-politics of the region this dream currently looks impossible . :(

Good luck, hopefully you are able to accomplish this in the near future.

The word "Sharia" is not used either but in the quote I gave, he clearly describes secularism in a more clearer way than the ambigous word "Islamic socialism" is being used to promote some type of sharia. I think it was because of the negative connatations of the word that it was wiser to withhold its usage. Anyway to each his own interpretation and I don't agree with the one you provided. The quote speaks for it self.

So how long has Hype been away, i see him thanking posts now and then but not discussing anything... :lol:

Agree with me or you will burn in Bunny Hell ! :angry:

Mate all I know is that neither he, his sister, Iqbal or his protege ever used that word but they, in varying terms, used terms with strong religious connotations ! And I've always maintained that trying to understand Jinnah without understanding Iqbal is erroneous !

To the best of my knowledge there are only there terms that he ever used - Democracy, Islamic Socialism & Theocracy ! Had he felt the need to underscore a separation of religion & state he could have used the word 'secularism' or at least talked about the 'separation of religion & politics' but he didn't ! If he wanted Pakistan to be ruled by the Mullahs on their own self-styled religious mission he could have used terms like 'political islam', 'shariah' & the sort but he didn't...in fact he went one step further to say that 'Pakistan will not be a theocracy or anything like it' (Radio Broadcast to the People of Australia). I think he just wanted Pakistan to be a 'democratic state' where we'd decide for ourselves what we want whichever way the vote swings for if its not democracy then what else do we use to decide things at a collective level - He underscored that & at the same time made us mindful of two things - Islam is a part of our identity & we must ensure that our religious minorities don't end up becoming social or political minorities ! Unfortunately the latter part is very true today.

Dunno...yaar I think Hyperion's busy these days ! I'm sure we'd see him in a few weeks though.

Dunno where he went !

What are you in the A'levels or University ?

University, Have to "Examine the ways in which one or more writer studied this term has attempted to define and/or challenge what it is to be ‘American"...

27th September Reading: Extracts in Course Reader
‘Declaration of Independence’ Thomas Jefferson (1776)
‘The Star-Spangled Banner’ and ‘America the Brave’
‘Pledge of Allegiance’

Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter (1850) ‘The Custom House’ and extract from Cooper, The Last of the Mohicans in Course Reader
Week Four: Introduction to American Writing (2)
11th October Reading: Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter (1850)

18th October Reading: Short Stories in Course Reader: ‘A Rose for Emily’; ‘A Good Man is Hard to Find’; ‘The Babysitter’; ‘Are These Actual Miles?’; ‘The Things They Carried’

25th October Reading: Extracts in Course Reader: ‘Acceptance Speech’ Barack Obama; ‘What to the Slave is the Fourth of July’ (1852); Sojourner Truth ‘Speech’ (1851); ‘I Have a Dream’ Martin Luther King (1963); Narratives of Frederick Douglass (1845) and Harriett Jacobs (1861)

1st November Reading: Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1884)

8th November

15th November Reading: Kate Chopin, The Awakening (1899); ‘The Yellow
Wallpaper’ in Course Reader
Also watch Thelma and Louise (Ridley Scott, 1991)

22nd November Reading: Harlem Renaissance - from p.144 in Course Reader

Anybody whose wrote about these before, please do help. :cheers: I'm as lazy as it gets.