My country won’t stand up against rape, but I have to stand up for the national anthem?

hazoor e aala, first gather your "patriot" mandali and remove india of its "suicide capital of the world" tag.

come to civilization... jahaalat me kya rakha hai??

che guevara must be your ideal, not pramod muthalik.

insaaniyat zindabad !!
viva socialism.
ask value of nation to your Syrian and Libyan brothers. we are living this peaceful life because of our nation.

Thats why I said I am still in double mind. The most disturbing fact is the headline.. Why they have to bring the religion in it? I mean what it has to do with anything?

That's just media sensationalism.

I agree with ur logic.
not standing up for national anthem (in movie theater) is way more grave a crime than rapes, arson , lootings etc.
Dude seriously, Are you trying to defend bunch of losers whose *** got whooped by General public for showing his elite class?

Big Crime .. Rape , murder , Terrorism , Corruption , injustice
Small Crimes .. Stealing , Fights , Breaking Traffic laws , bribe etc ..

Thank you

In your opinion disrespect to the national flag would come in which category ?

than why Indians are overreacting on this issue ?
The answer to that lies in the exacerbated patriotism of many Indians which in turn is supported by
literally thousands of years of local socio-historic constructs.
No need to point any finger, there are other countries like that.

for me first is humanity, whereever they might live.
100% agreed to! My duty of behavior is set by me for me but either applies to all humans or is null and void.
Ideologically speaking, it has to apply to all or it fails at being universal, an error in science and logic both.
I speak to all my neighbours ( that return the favor ). When I go out on the street, I wouldn't dream of letting
someone in need of assistance ( forbidden by law anyhow ). I don't differentiate amongst my countrymen
( part of a sincere nationalism ) and so on. Always aim for universal, it beats having to carry adapters around.

As a soldier, to refer to the object of our forum, I have to treat the noncombatants & populations in case of war
outside my land as well as I would my own civilians. My Army's code likely requires me to abide by the Geneva
Convention anyway.

In case of crisis IRL, I'll act in the best interest of those immediately around, no matter where I may be.

'Humanity' is a feel good unscientific artificial human creation. Just like organized religion

Fine! Religion is a man made concept and so is Humanity so that both can be disregarded in judging.
Got that! Agreed! . . . .

but what is a Nation by that metric? Hum?
I am then allowed to disregard that in judging too, am I not?

It's always all conceptual buddy, especially on Internet fora!

Good convo all, Tay.

P.S. To the person who suggested castration and those that liked that debased post,
no respect quite honestly!

@waz sir why PDF management allow Chinese trolls so much freedom of expression here?
I mean look at his history, he relentlessly opening bullshit threads, which doesn't even worth looking at
There is long list of these trolls here

He is just a jihadi mullah hiding behind the veneer of Socialism.Nothing else.His aims and the ISIS aims and Ideas are the same.
You must be naive to fall for that trap.:p:

Then others have the right to kickarse of those who disrespect our National Anthem too like the people who made this guy leave the Cinema hall in this case.
"Kickarse"- nope, thats assault, but they have the right to express their displeasure, as was done by the crowd in this case. That I fully support.

They should stop this national anthem thing in maharastra. I have not seen in other states. Are marathis more patriotic than rest of us.
There was another case in which a foreigner was slapped by an Indian lady for not standing up in cinema, except the foreigner was of Indian origin so had the desi look. He did not even know he was supposed to stand.

I am confused, how is not standing up for national anthem = humanity? wtf?

Big Crime .. Rape , murder , Terrorism , Corruption , injustice
Small Crimes .. Stealing , Fights , Breaking Traffic laws , bribe etc ..

than why Indians are overreacting on this issue ?
why so much hate for someone who does not stand up for National Anthem ?
I don't think the hatred is towards this family or what they did. (At the end of the day like you said, their behaviors was boorish and disrespectful not life threatening or violent). The fight going on now is really between two groups of Hindus. One the old elite, westernized, speaking good English with an European understanding of issues and the other group is younger, born well after the British left, more Indian in thought. The old elite have been running the country for a long time and have not done a particularly good job of it. They have recently been thrown out by a guy who speaks accented English badly, explains concepts in an Indian way rather than using European abstractions and is also throwing the old elites out of positions of power. The old elite are fighting back by manufacturing dissent basically to throw the bugger out.

Had this not been a Muslim family, no newspaper would have reported it. Recently a group of Muslims held violent protest because some newspaper used a cartoon of a piggy bank, but this was hardly in the news. Shiv Sena throws ink ( no doubt appalling behavior) and parliament comes to a stop for days.

The hatred is towards this double standard and to the unfair means being used by the old elite to come back to power especially after they looted us black and blue. Not one incident but a pattern of reporting many incidents, if you get my drift.

Dear Indians....plz clarify me
Q: What you do at Home when someday by changing channel abruptly....you heard Anthem on Radio / Tv..??
a) you just stand up at home ...and take heed of it like a statue ?
b) stop taking ...water / food ...vice versa during sacred ritual??
c) stop switching channels and listen the tunes that has now befallen upon you??
d) or all above actions depends on MOOD? yes/no

Q: Where it is written...you must have to stand-up for that type of Congregations ??
a) you just found in some sacred biblical en parchments.....
b) if it is some kind of noble cause...then who is the BENEFICIARY??
c) NATIONALISM is new concept of 21st Centruy.....before that there was no Anthem, no Tunes, no Geographical limits....then how long it become mandatory for all of us to follow that procedures else you face HELL IN A CELL

Q: What is the real need of playing National Anthem before Movie in Cinema?? that question is pounding me like a hammer
a) Recreational activities are often done for enjoyment, amusement, or pleasure and are considered to be "fun"
b) What are the Indian definitions of recreational activity and leisure time?
c) Dont you think...people in cinema have committed bigger crime of tearing someone Soul instead of helping him out of that bad situation ??

Dear Indians....plz clarify me
Q: What you do at Home when someday by changing channel abruptly....you heard Anthem on Radio / Tv..??
a) you just stand up at home ...and take heed of it like a statue ?
b) stop taking ...water / food ...vice versa during sacred ritual??
c) stop switching channels and listen the tunes that has now befallen upon you??
d) or all above actions depends on MOOD? yes/no

Q: Where it is written...you must have to stand-up for that type of Congregations ??
a) you just found in some sacred biblical en parchments.....
b) if it is some kind of noble cause...then who is the BENEFICIARY??
c) NATIONALISM is new concept of 21st Centruy.....before that there was no Anthem, no Tunes, no Geographical limits....then how long it become mandatory for all of us to follow that procedures else you face HELL IN A CELL

Q: What is the real need of playing National Anthem before Movie in Cinema?? that question is pounding me like a hammer
a) Recreational activities are often done for enjoyment, amusement, or pleasure and are considered to be "fun"
b) What are the Indian definitions of recreational activity and leisure time?
c) Dont you think...people in cinema have committed bigger crime of tearing someone Soul instead of helping him out of that bad situation ??

good points, and which i and two or three others including @Taygibay have answered in so many words.

interesting would be how the sanghis/fake-patriots answer to your points, especially the "c" points in the second set and third set.