Muslim gymnast criticised for 'revealing' costume as she wins double-gold!

I don't know whether to laugh or cry when I read that. Seriously, in this age?

Yeah,it struck me to.If all the women i've met and talked to would ever hear that statement they would be shell shocked,lol.Don't get me started on all the cases of bad sex destroying relationships.

But,apparently,some men,in this day and age ,think that giving women roses would compensate for 2 minute intercourse.:rofl::rofl:

Bhai, I am not beardo, but come on, we Muslims have a culture. I am not suggesting that she should have covered herself up in shuttle cock burqa but nowadays stretchable fabrics are available that can contain one's modesty. It is sport and people (at-least most of) are not there to see skin but again, the picture posted in the original message, religion or no religion, is less than decent. In Urdu we say "aadmi ki hiss-e-lateef par giran guzarna".

@TankMan Bhai, kya waqt aa gaya hey, liberals key dar sey hum apney mazhab aur moashrat ka difa bhi dartey dartey karney lagey hein. Prophet (PBUH) said, a time will come when people would copulate in the middle of the roads and a decent person would tell them "at-least do it behind that wall!". Khuda ki Qasam, hum us zamaney mein daakhil ho gye hein.

I am second to you

If you are a Muslim woman, read Quran first and pose these questions to Allah. He specifically tells women to be modest. Its not me or some Mullah. Its our Creator. If you can fight Him, please go ahead.

modesty and burqa-fication are two different things.

1. what is your understanding about the money system as per quran and how is it applied by the deobandis/wahabis/ayatollais??

2. i declare that money system be abolished and people live as a scientific unified humanity... but quran still has money system... what is your opinion??

3. i posted pictures of a thigh-displaying male and spoke of males wearing shorts... your opinion, please??

When discussing someone's opinion, you need to take their word for what their opinion is. He didn't say he had a problem with the woman winning, he said he had a problem with their dressing. You're talking about his opinion, and you are attributing your own ideas to his opinion. You are the one saying that he is being hypocritical, the burden of proof lies on you.
But I can't prove it, can I? I can point out that he hasn't made any such statements about male sportspeople, not even the ones from his country - but then you would say that the evil media is hiding that. Where does that leave me?

BTW the burden of proof is on you to prove that he has made such statements, and that the media has blanked it out.

Male bodybuilders not just exposing, but purposely displaying their bodies. Not a single comment about islam or modesty.
This is the PDF thread about the same, and there are plenty more:

Pakistan win South Asia bodybuilding championship

Go through the comments there - all about "we martial Pakistanis, unlike weak Indians..." Not a single statement about islam or modesty or Allah's commands.
That thread has thirteen posts, it's hard to judge based on that.
The same people who are concerned here, and boasting there.
That is a lie. I, for one, didn't ''boast'' on that thread, neither did any of the other posters from here. You can make your point without accusing people falsely.
In that case you and I had nothing to argue about. I did not dispute the fact that islam prescribes certain dress codes. I am only questioning why the question only arises for women. It is very insulting for women, when they accomplish something that makes them and should make their country proud, she has to answer questions about the length of her skirt.

But men who accomplish anything face no such pressure. I gave you the example right here on PDF. Male bodybuilders not just exposing, but purposely displaying their bodies. Not a single comment about islam or modesty. The same people who are concerned here, and boasting there.
I don't disagree with this. Yes, women's dressing is scrutinized more closely by some people and yes it might be insulting to them, but it's not my problem since I haven't insulted them and neither has the scholar in question on this thread. If there was a thread about Muslim male athlete's clothing, I would give the same opinion based on the religion.

Another issue is that womens' performances are sexualized by this liberal culture and by women themselves - if the level of indecency will be disproportionate, so would the level of criticism. Let me give an example:

Simply search ''men gymnastics'' and ''women gymnastics'' on google images.
dqFLtWj[1].png

BPlBHAL[1].png

But I can't prove it, can I? I can point out that he hasn't made any such statements about male sportspeople, not even the ones from his country - but then you would say that the evil media is hiding that. Where does that leave me?

BTW the burden of proof is on you to prove that he has made such statements, and that the media has blanked it out.
Yet more misrepresentation. I never said ''evil media''. This is not a conspiracy theory. It's a simple observation: If a scholar made a few comments about men's dressing, it wouldn't get headlines. Just like it isn't a problem when a woman slaps a man, but if the roles are reversed it makes headlines.

Attachments

• dqFLtWj[1].png
    dqFLtWj[1].png
    864.2 KB · Views: 19
That thread has thirteen posts, it's hard to judge based on that.

That is a lie. I, for one, didn't ''boast'' on that thread, neither did any of the other posters from here. You can make your point without accusing people falsely.

I don't disagree with this. Yes, women's dressing is scrutinized more closely by some people and yes it might be insulting to them, but it's not my problem since I haven't insulted them and neither has the scholar in question on this thread. If there was a thread about Muslim male athlete's clothing, I would give the same opinion based on the religion.

Another issue is that womens' performances are sexualized by this liberal culture and by women themselves - if the level of indecency will be disproportionate, so would the level of criticism. Let me give an example:

Simply search ''men gymnastics'' and ''women gymnastics'' on google images.
View attachment 231392
View attachment 231393

Yet more misrepresentation. I never said ''evil media''. This is not a conspiracy theory. It's a simple observation: If a scholar made a few comments about men's dressing, it wouldn't get headlines. Just like it isn't a problem when a woman slaps a man, but if the roles are reversed it makes headlines.
So male gymnasts performance is not affected by more clothes but those of female athletes does; pretty interesting.

I dont see how she couldnt pull one like this one:

ZahraLari1.jpg

However, her choice her aamal...

So male gymnasts performance is not affected by more clothes but those of female athletes does; pretty interesting.
Yea that was really interesting @TankMan I didnt think of it from that angle :p:

And you do ? :whistle:

You haven't once introduced us to our sister-in-law ? :(

I am beginning to think that the rumor of you calling your pet cat as Mrs.Flamer is true ! :o:

Nobody truly knows women my friend but believe me when i tell you that they do like sex and they do look at men from a sexual point of view.

And if we are to believe certain posts, female gymnasts would be penalized if they covered their legs, but not male gymnasts. Is that not sexism? Is that not double standards? I'd like to see the reaction of the liberal brigade on this.

It is also interesting when media bad mouths that Islam restricts us from sports when in reality it is human who do...Wearing some pants would hinder a girl but not while training these girls?

programs_01.jpg

Perhaps you are right. The following ayah (Al-Baqrah 208) supports your notion.

View attachment 231354

In above mentioned ayah, Allah is clearly addressing to those who have embraced Islam (Ya ayyu hallazeen a aamano) and says that those of you who have embraced Islam, enter into it completely and do not follow the footsteps of Shaitan. This ayah clearly suggests that Muslims must follow all the orders of Islam.

'There is no compulsion in Islam' is used by those who want to twist and turn Islam for their purposes or enslave the religion to their desire.

An example is people who drink alcohol. Islam clearly prohibits drinking or having any business in alcohol. Ask any drinker and they will quote you orders of Islam from its early period like dont pray when drunk or alcohol has some benefits (mischeviously not quoting the second part which states it has more harm). If you counter them the last order when Quran explicitly prohibits alcohol, they will say, 'there is no compulsion'.

This willful pick and choose is total dishonesty. Its indicative of moral corruption. But this moral corruption somehow is definition of modernity and freedom.

And if we are to believe certain posts, female gymnasts would be penalized if they covered their legs, but not male gymnasts. Is that not sexism? Is that not double standards? I'd like to see the reaction of the liberal brigade on this.
Well these double standards are pretty common in Europe where men cover themselves up well but women often leave their legs and arms exposed and that too in pretty cold weather some times. I could never figure out the philosophy behind this.

Well these double standards are pretty common in Europe where men cover themselves up well but women often leave their legs and arms exposed and that too in pretty cold weather some times. I could never figure it out.
I remember an Italian colleague of mine - a little older and more towards conservative- used to joke with me wonder what their legs are made of they dont feel a thing! I used to be like yea we def need to make some clothes or some material out of that stuff!