Mumbai Attacks

Ahead of the commonwealth games Delhi is taking no chances

A nervous Delhi has decided to set up a SWAT team probably because of a lack of trust for the NSG's ability to guard Delhi

The first Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) team, prepared by the Delhi Police to effectively combat 26/11-like terrorist attacks in the city, is ready for action.
Police sources said the first batch of 30 police officers - 28 constables and two sub-inspectors - have been trained and kept on stand-by in the event of ambush-style attacks in the city. Two sub-inspectors lead the team.

Newsline had first reported about a SWAT team being formed by the Delhi Police.

“They (police officers) have undergone training to be part of our first SWAT team and are equipped with the latest of gadgets and machinery. When the newly acquired equipment arrive, they will become an international-standard combat team, ready to tackle any untoward situation,” a senior police officer said.

Special training
Police officers said the personnel picked up for this team has been trained to perform high-risk operations that fall outside the ambit of the abilities of regular officers, and especially for dealing with terrorists and hardcore criminals.

“Delhi being the national capital, and with a high presence of VVIPs and key installations, is always on the terror radar. After the Mumbai attacks in November last year, a need was felt for having a force that will be equipped to carry out specialised operations,” senior police officers added.

“The personnel were trained at the Police Training College and the sub-inspectors were trained by National Security Guard recently,” senior police officers said.

Police officers said SWAT team members will function under the elite Special Cell. The team is on stand-by at the Lodhi Colony office of the Special Cell in South Delhi.

Equipped to secure
A police source said that apart from latest machinery and equipment, a “bullet-proof vehicle” is also being procured by the Delhi Police, which the team members will use to travel to the spot where their presence is needed.

“They will also have specialised equipment, including heavy body armour, entry tools, advanced night vision cameras and motion detectors to covertly determine the positions of hostages or terrorists inside an enclosed structure,” police officers added.

The Delhi Police has also bought two X-ray machine-fitted Mercedes vans, which will be used by the SWAT team. Corner shot guns, developed by Israeli technology, are also expected to be procured by the police soon.

Apart from advanced weapons, the SWAT team will also carry AK-47s, Glock guns and SLR/INSAS guns, which are commonly used by the Delhi Police force.

LAPD SWAT
The concept of SWAT teams gained prominence after being developed by the Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD).

Their SWAT team constitutes a specially trained and equipped unit in the LAPD, intended to respond to and manage critical situations involving shootings, at the same time minimising police casualties. The selected officers are given special status and benefits, and are required to attend special monthly training as well.

Weaponry: While a wide variety of weapons are used by SWAT teams, the most common weapons include submachine guns, assault rifles, shotguns, and sniper rifles.

Vehicles: SWAT units in the LAPD usually employ Armoured Rescue Vehicles for personnel insertion, maneuvering or during tactical operations like rescue of civilians/officers trapped by gunfire. Helicopters may be used to provide aerial reconnaissance or even insertion via rappelling or fast-roping.

Commando’s checklist
* AK-47 rifles with bannet (cap)/scabbard, along with four magazines, 100 rounds
* Hand grenade for each commando in each shift
* VLP: Four for each shift with eight rounds in each VLP
* Wireless set
* One thin rope
* Pencil torch
* Bullet-proof helmet
* Bullet-proof jacket
* Dragon torch, five for each shift
* Cutter, three for each shift
* Head gear/bullet-proof patka: ten in total issued on rotational basis to the shift
* One Dangi
* A pair of jungle shoes
* Pair of woollen socks
*n Commando dragger
*n Pouch and pithoo
* Pair of anklets
* Commando cap
* Commando monogram
* Two Delhi Police badges
* Web belt n ‘F’ sign badge
* Pair of Left-right breeches
* Pair of attachment breeches
* Attachment for pithoo (two)

here is the link

ASIAN DEFENCE: To combat terror, Delhi gets its own SWAT team

Ahead of the commonwealth games Delhi is taking no chances

A nervous Delhi has decided to set up a SWAT team probably because of a lack of trust for the NSG's ability to guard Delhi

Various countries have several counter-terrorism units. The United States has some under federal agencies (Ex. FBI's HRT) while there are those under state or county police departments (commonly known as SWAT teams). In this case, NSG is under Indian Home Ministry while the "Force One" is under the Mumbai police.

Sorry to be rude, but almost all of your comments are obnoxious and degrade the entire thread.

So... keep up the good work.

If you have something sensible to say, please go ahead. Otherwise, please don't make a mockery of yourself by posting such comments.

A) Various countries have several counter-terrorism units. The United States has several under federal agencies (Ex. HRT) while there are those under state or county police departments (commonly known as SWAT teams).

B) Read the article - it clearly says that this team is for Mumbai. How the hell does Commonwealth Games in Delhi even come into the picture?

Sorry to be rude, but almost all of your comments are obnoxious and degrade the entire thread.

So... keep up the good work.

arre bhai i uploaded a link to support my judgement but the link didn't upload sou could not see the Source of my information

now i have edited my post so have a look :coffee:

P.S : don't rush to judgements

If i am not wrong you mean too many cooks spoil the (i forgot the idiom)

And if the new force is on the lines of NSG then you mean that there is nothing new.

The Idiom is "Too many cooks spoil the broth"

thanks jana for reading my post nahin to ye log mere pichhe par gaye the

post edit karne ka mauka bhi nahi diya:undecided:

If i am not wrong you mean too many cooks spoil the (i forgot the idiom)

And if the new force is on the lines of NSG then you mean that there is nothing new.

Uhh... the local police of major metropolises always have dedicated a counter-terror force in addition to federal counter-terror units.

Your country too has something called "Police Commandos" (under Punjab Police) in addition to Special Service Group (under Pakistan Army). Both have over-lapping roles when it comes to counter-terrorism.

Uhh... the local police of major metropolises always have dedicated a counter-terror force in addition to federal counter-terror units.

Your country too has something called "Police Commandos" (under Punjab Police) in addition to Special Service Group (under Pakistan Army). Both have over-lapping roles when it comes to counter-terrorism.

Our local police the normal police ill-equiped and is in bad shape whereas elite force is a very well trained force that is in less in numbers and i feel instead of having too many forces we need to train our existing police force on the lines of elite force.

I dont know about India but by reading about Delhi case there was one elite force called NSG along with normal police in the city still the city went for SWAT team.

So amon was also right that it is going to complicate the situation.

Our local police the normal police ill-equiped and is in bad shape whereas elite force is a very well trained force that is in less in numbers and i feel instead of having too many forces we need to train our existing police force on the lines of elite force.

I dont know about India but by reading about Delhi case there was one elite force called NSG along with normal police in the city still the city went for SWAT team.

So amon was also right that it is going to complicate the situation.

I thought it was pretty obvious, but here it goes...

Having two or more counter-terror units is beneficial -

1) To deal with emergency situations when these forces are overstretched and the scale of operations are so wide that multiple management is required.

2) Having a federal counter-terror agency is essential for nation-wide scope of operation and coordination. However, whenever there is a terrorist act, the local police is the first to react and it definitely helps if the local police has certain number of trained counter-terror units to respond and manage critical situations before federal counter-terror units arrive. These teams eventually complement each other.

What? Have you people lost your minds?

New forces are created for quick response, better skills and flawless co-ordination.

If they are creating a new force, they must be taking care of the issues.

NSG, though being elite force, is for comparatively more general type of operations. So, they might have felt the need for a force especially trained for such events.

True...the local police force isthe one which has detailed info and knowledge of the area under their protection. All that they lack is the specialised counter terrorist training and equipments.This is what the state gov. is providing them and making them more effective.

The Idiom is "Too many cooks spoil the broth"
Just google a bit and you will find several different special ops forces of military and police in nearly every modern country in the world. So they seem not to think that "Too many cooks spoil the broth" right?
SWAT is a US police speacial ops team and there army, navy, and intelligence have different others. Germany has the KSK military forces and GSG 9 police forces...
So nothing wrong with having an own special ops team of the police in such big cities like Delhi, Mumbai, or Bangalore!

Bulletproof jacket worn by former ATS chief Hemant Karkare during 26/11 missing
PTI 10 November 2009, 03:45pm IST

MUMBAI: The bulletproof jacket worn by ATS chief late Hemant Karkare during 26/11 terror attacks has gone missing, wife of the slain officer has
alleged, raising serious questions on the manner in which evidentially important material were preserved

"When his body was found, the bulletproof jacket was missing...even at the hospital...I filed RTI application few months back asking where is the jacket but the reply I got was that it is missing..," Kavita Karkare told PTI in an interview.

Karkare, a 1982 batch IPS officer, was killed in an ambush near Cama Hospital, along with another IPS officer Ashok Kamte and encounter specialist Vijay Salaskar during the November 26 terror attacks last year.

Despite wearing bullet-proof jackets, the officer received three fatal bullet-injuries in chest which raised question mark over the efficacy of these jackets in the wake of such terror attacks.

"TV channel recording clearly shows Hemant wearing a jacket at CST and leaving in the van...so where did the jacket go...I do not know if someone took it from him after that or it was removed from his body later, but it is missing...," she said.

Karkare also raised questions over the manner in which the terror strikes were handled by the Mumbai Police.

"I am surprised as to why there was no back-up sent for my husband and other officers in the van...Hemant had asked for back up and was waiting for 40 minutes but no one was sent...," she said.

She said her husband was not a person who would prefer to sit in air-conditioned cabins and give instructions to subordinates, instead he preferred to take situations head-on.

"He being a senior officer could have sat in an air-conditioned cabin giving instructions to his subordinates, but he always liked to be on field...," an emotional Karkare said.

"If a back-up had been sent as soon as Hemant had asked for it, then Kasab and the other terrorist could have been nabbed at Cama lane itself...," she said.

Karkare had been credited for solving the serial bomb blasts in Thane, Vashi and Panvel. His investigations also brought forth stunning revelations of involvement of radical saffron group in the September 29 Malegaon blast.

Bulletproof jacket worn by former ATS chief Hemant Karkare during 26/11 missing - India - The Times of India

Try making a comment on that TOI article hinting a conspiracy, ur post will never be approved. I experienced it multiple times in a row.

I feel it would be dishonest not to mention that once I also saw a comment on TOI on something relating to Mumbai being an inside job, one guy clearly a Pakistani, wrote a huge comment mostly the Pakistani version of the event and his comment was approved!!! . He used words like "hindu-zionist", "inside job" etc on multiple occasions, yet he was approved, idk why.

Try making a comment on that TOI article hinting a conspiracy, ur post will never be approved. I experienced it multiple times in a row.

There are different types of stuff in a newspaper.

An article is an opinion by a writer which could be anti-India, anti-Pakistan or anti-pro-anything so there is a room for calling it a lie, BS propaganda, conspiracy anything could be think of it.

Then there is a news actual news for example of blast or any attack. That is reported as it is.

Then there are statments by people your PM my PM or anyone which are published either as it is or mouled. But when its in the quotation then means you are quoting the person as it is as what he/she said so you are responsible as a journalist or media org to take the responsibility.

Now this is what Karkare's wife said and ToI published.

If Indian Govt think she lies then the govt would rebute it as well as come up with proofs that bullet-proof jacket is not missing.