Missile defence shield ready: DRDO chief

All these successful tests of BMD is great but the biggest problem is DRDO has so far tested its interceptor missiles only against liquid fuelled BMs which generally has quite lower terminal vellocity than solid fueled BMs like Pakistani Shaheen series and Chinese DF 21 IRBMs.So before deploying the 1st phase BMD in operational service,DRDO should test and validate the AAD and upcoming PDV against solid fuelled Agni 1 MRBMs.Otherwise,during the vital hour we may have to face some nasty surprises.
Just my two cents.
Right. And we should also not take DRDO's word for granted.There has to be a separate agency to audit the performance and testing of missiles. We cannot afford to live under a sense of false security.

The DRDO are purely the OEM they are not the procurer nor the operator as such the agencies in charge of procuring such equipments (I think it would fall under IAF in this regard) independently verify the claims of the OEM and evaluate it based on their own criteria, if it meets the mark they will go for it. This is the same when the forces by any price of equipment, no one is foolish enough to take any OEM at their word.

Already 6 s-300 systems [288 missiles]cover the cities.This will be the next step.Keep in mind This series of interceptors was designed to intercept the m-11 series of missiles.They shouldn't be expected to intercept the later generation of pak missiles like the shaheen with around 2500 km range.The cruise missiles like babur are not only liable to be intercepted by these systems but also the akash.The second generation of the missile shield named AAD-2 and PAD-2 are being designed to intercept the later genration of the missiles with over 2000km range missiles.The key in any case is the tracking radar,it is believed that the indian swordfish radar is a modified and more powerful version of the israeli super green pine radar which is used in arrow -3 i think.India bought 3 green pine radars which are operational with the indian forces and probably integrated with the s-300s.

so you`re saying that the BMD is less modern than the S-300?lol Phase-1 was solely meant for the missiles that you just said not only the m-11.m-11 are already soo old india started this project like in 21st century.so i dont get it why you`re saying it wont intercept the latest missiles

Phase-I can intercept missile having a range upto 3000 Km (Approx) SO i guess Shaeen is covered :)

The BMD is a dedicated missile defence shield meant to cover major Indian cities everything done uptil now has been done on an ad-hoc basis, the BMD shiled is intended to fill gaps and present a much more credible deterrence.

The DRDO are purely the OEM they are not the procurer nor the operator as such the agencies in charge of procuring such equipments (I think it would fall under IAF in this regard) independently verify the claims of the OEM and evaluate it based on their own criteria, if it meets the mark they will go for it. This is the same when the forces by any price of equipment, no one is foolish enough to take any OEM at their word.
India currently has no mechanism to verify claims made by DRDO scientists. At least with light weaponry the soldiers can over experience learn about some defects. But if we are talking about missile defence, all that the operators are told is to take such and such actions when someone fires a missile. DRDO might have set up a trivial test setup and claim that they can shoot a mosquito with their missile. The IAF or army guys may not even be able to see check whether the tests are set up based on the requirements. At best they will look into a computer screen and track the numbers assuming that they truly represent the test. I am saying there has to be an independent audit sort of thing where this testing is verified, where some potential flaws can be spotted. The audit must roast the engineers about why things are built in that particular way and test the limits of the system.

You are wrong partly, India does have a audit sorts, the user. When the SFC which conducts user trials they try to simulate conditions of actual use and judge the weapon system, otherwise this weaopn would have already been inducted.. why to say it is 'ready' for induction?

Ever heard of CAG,which is an independent authority that even took Jibes on PM on 3G scam.
User got their own audit and thats why they conduct user trail test.
No offence but you should do some research in google before raising eyebrows in a thread. :coffee:

Why are these people across the border crying here...........
on topic : now install it as soon as possible .

2 cities, who are these blessed ones, New Delhi? Mumbai?:undecided:

Most of our missiles including the latest one we just tested is 'stealth'. Good luck...

Ballistic missile can't be 'stealth', unless your nation has found a way to build missiles with sharp edges rather being cylindrical. :cheesy:

Rather than protecting the cities, it would be better to place missile batteries very near to pakistan border so that missiles will be taken down as soon as they are erected to be launched.. :lol:

We can as well place an array of ABM battery along the border..

Its true we have this advantage over Pakistan, but since ABM or SAMs are expensive when it comes to deployment for such it not currently feasible.

:lol::lol:

oye bharti , yar tujhay jab defence-related issues ka kch pata nahi hai to tu yahan pe kya krnay aya hai?

Another bharti from hindu-stan to embarrass his country and people :woot:

You embarrass yourself by showing us all that in every post of yours, just to make yourself heard, you have inject some distortion of demonym

the best part, you"re not even aware of it.

Your ABM batteries will be taken out by Pakistani artillery fire

Good thinking, but first you"ll need to know where the ABMs are installed, and your artillery will have to be pin point accurate.

, cruise missiles waves ,

ABM deployment will be complemented with other SAMs such as Akash or 9K22 Tunguska,which will handle threat of cruise missiles to a certain extent.

and Pakistani Air Force's strike-squadrons equipped with anti-radiation missiles such as MAR-1 etc

Your MAR has reported range of 25km

Brazil to Sell MAR-1 SEAD Missiles to Pakistan

Pictures like this one show a MAR-1 that appears to be similar in size to counterparts like Raytheon’s AGM-88 HARM, and has a reported range of 25 km

Now thats within the range of Akash SAM itself , even though PAD has a max range of 80km.

Now go back to youtube honey :wave:

You seem to be already there.

I m very curious to know what is stealth Ballistic missile

is it invisible or it is fire underground through gutters and then it will pop up in india::woot: