Karachi Leads Once Again in Tax Paying by Tajirs in Top Cities of Pakistan

Karachi walon ko to return main kuch nahi milta phir bhi tax sub sai ziada daitai hain

Jin ko metro bus aur train mil rahi hain un ka haal dekho

@PakSword

Now this is the information that I was looking for.

@The Accountant

Remember I said we have discussed that merely reporting the numbers create a lot of divisions and people might say that Karachi pays more tax because head offices are in Karachi..

This breakup will clear many other breakups.. such as small cottage industries.. how much they pay taxes.. I am sure the trend will be the same..

I think FBR is making this data public for the first time.

Karachi walon ko to return main kuch nahi milta phir bhi tax sub sai ziada daitai hain

Jin ko metro bus aur train mil rahi hain un ka haal dekho

@PakSword
Abb shayad aik hi bahana reh gaya hai.. ke dukan main rakhi cheezain tou Punjab, Interior Sindh aur KPK main banti hain.. lolll

@The Accountant

Remember I said we have discussed that merely reporting the numbers create a lot of divisions and people might say that Karachi pays more tax because head offices are in Karachi..

This breakup will clear many other breakups.. such as small cottage industries.. how much they pay taxes.. I am sure the trend will be the same..

Abb shayad aik hi bahana reh gaya hai.. ke dukan main rakhi cheezain tou Punjab, Interior Sindh aur KPK main banti hain.. lolll
Bro this time the statistics is right and clearly indicates the trend towards taxation. The data is related to retailers and they generally do not operate on head office structure except for bigger retailers.

We in our tax professionals circle knows it for the fact that level of compliance in Karachi is much better than other cities of Pakistan. I know for fact that there huge multi-billion rupees industries working in smaller cities of Punjab but not paying taxes at all.

I think without creating any division and negative comparison, we should appreciate contribution of Karachi specially from other cities (as it will encourage Karachi people to remain compliant)

On the other hand on a completely different note and a completely different topic is governance of Karachi where PPP, MQM and ANP made a completely messed up city and has done close to nothing for its maintenance and development but this has to do more with political issues and the hated created between rural and urban sindh to secure the vote bank by the three political parties.

I suggest not to merge tax with development as both has different origins. Karachi pays higher tax due to much higher economic activities as compared to other cities whereas development issues are due to local governance and political issues.

Bro this time the statistics is right and clearly indicates the trend towards taxation. The data is related to retailers and they generally do not operate on head office structure except for bigger retailers.

We in our tax professionals circle knows it for the fact that level of compliance in Karachi is much better than other cities of Pakistan. I know for fact that there huge multi-billion rupees industries working in smaller cities of Punjab but not paying taxes at all.

I think without creating any division and negative comparison, we should appreciate contribution of Karachi specially from other cities (as it will encourage Karachi people to remain compliant)

On the other hand on a completely different note and a completely different topic is governance of Karachi where PPP, MQM and ANP made a completely messed up city and has done close to nothing for its maintenance and development but this has to do more with political issues and the hated created between rural and urban sindh to secure the vote bank by the three political parties.

I suggest not to merge tax with development as both has different origins. Karachi pays higher tax due to much higher economic activities as compared to other cities whereas development issues are due to local governance and political issues.
Not just appreciate, I think PTI government should seriously do something.. and if it doesn't, 2018 might prove first and the last election for a federal party. I am seeing a new ethnic party in the near future replacing PTI in next elections..

@The Accountant

Islamabad pays more tax than Lahore and they get more funding than Islamabad despite being tax evaders

Islamabad 8 bajai so k Lahore sai ziada tax daita hai :lol:
The population of Islamabad is only 1.8 million and despite this we have to listen lectures from Lahoris on how their city is underfunded and needs more shit even after eating up entire fund of the province

And majority of these traders are either urdu speakers or punjabi.
Meri samajh nai aata keh aakhir Punjab Karachi cold War kab khatam hogi, or in the first place, yeh hai hi kion?
Boss, its not about Punjabi or Urdu speakers.. it's about Karachi Vs the rest of Pakistan.. Why there's no culture of paying taxes in other cities? This is the question we are discussing here.

Karachi is divided 50-50 between urdu and non urdu speakers.. We can't say that pashto speaking or sindhi speaking do not pay taxes.. there's no data to suggest this and if you bring this up, this thread will be hijacked by trolls. So lets not bring the ethnic divide on this thread. Keep it between Karachi vs rest of Pakistan.

Edit: Actually it should be between KHI and ISL Vs other cities..

Sindh government is backed by bearucracy army and mafia to loot and destroy karachi. This is the words of ex General and bearucrat which i will not mention the name.

Islamabad pays more tax than Lahore and they get more funding than Islamabad despite being tax evaders
I think we someone should now get the stats on annual development funds directed to the cities..

I think this is the need of time..

Direct development funds to the cities according to their tax contribution..

Boss, its not about Punjabi or Urdu speakers.. it's about Karachi Vs the rest of Pakistan.. Why there's no culture of paying taxes in other cities? This is the question we are discussing here.

Karachi is divided 50-50 between urdu and non urdu speakers.. We can't say that pashto speaking or sindhi speaking do not pay taxes.. there's no data to suggest this and if you bring this up, this thread will be hijacked by trolls. So lets not bring the ethnic divide on this thread. Keep it between Karachi vs rest of Pakistan.

Edit: Actually it should be between KHI and ISL Vs other cities..
Brother, here I want to disagree altough this will be anti-nationalist but here in Karachi the issue is mainly with those non-urdu speaking. alot of them (not all) do not have any association with the land and are sitting here as handler of the smuggled goods from Afghanistan and Iran. Accordingly they are criminals and want to keep a chaos. Do you want a list of out lawed areas of Karachi. Here is the list:

Sohrab Goth
SITE
Baldia
Landhi
Quaidabad
Manghopir
Hawksbay
Lasbela
Layari

Except for Layari none of the area is occupied by local resitants and an outsider cannot go in these areas during night time. However, this has nothing to do with a particular nationality but a gang of criminals living in those areas running a racket of smugling, drungs and other criminal activities.

To secure their illegal business they provide some favours to local (generally poor population) of those areas who in return has no option but to support those criminal elements out of need, fear or love of the nationality.

Karachi is a very complex game. Our real enemy is uneducated and underdeveloped masses and without improving them (irrespective of language and location) we can't make things better.

Brother, here I want to disagree altough this will be anti-nationalist but here in Karachi the issue is mainly with those non-urdu speaking. alot of them (not all) do not have any association with the land and are sitting here as handler of the smuggled goods from Afghanistan and Iran. Accordingly they are criminals and want to keep a chaos. Do you want a list of out lawed areas of Karachi. Here is the list:

Sohrab Goth
SITE
Baldia
Landhi
Quaidabad
Manghopir
Hawksbay
Lasbela
Layari

Except for Layari none of the area is occupied by local resitants and an outsider cannot go in these areas during night time. However, this has nothing to do with a particular nationality but a gang of criminals living in those areas running a racket of smugling, drungs and other criminal activities.

To secure their illegal business they provide some favours to local (generally poor population) of those areas who in return has no option but to support those criminal elements out of need, fear or love of the nationality.

Karachi is a very complex game. Our real enemy is uneducated and underdeveloped masses and without improving them (irrespective of language and location) we can't make things better.

I am not agreeing or disagreeing with what you are saying.. I am just saying that without getting hold of the statistics, we will only give fuel to the trolls and Karachi bashers here..

By the way, SITE, Baldia, Landhi and Quaidabad aren't No-Go areas as far as I know.. and Landhi and Quaidabad are populated by local residents..

Instead, colony on drug road (I have forgotten the name of the colony) is a no-go area..

But lets not bring this here.. otherwise trolls will hijack the thread.. unless we have numbers to support.. even if you are saying is correct.

I am not agreeing or disagreeing with what you are saying.. I am just saying that without getting hold of the statistics, we will only give fuel to the trolls and Karachi bashers here..

By the way, SITE, Baldia, Landhi and Quaidabad aren't No-Go areas as far as I know.. and Landhi and Quaidabad are populated by local residents..

Instead, colony on drug road (I have forgotten the name of the colony) is a no-go area..

But lets not bring this here.. otherwise trolls will hijack the thread.. unless we have numbers to support.. even if you are saying is correct.
U r taking about national highway at quaidabad and industrial area of landhi ... try going inside the residential areas ... u will not come back with mobile and wallet ...

Probably u r talking about drig road or dalmia ... yes they were no go arwa but after layari operation they r improving

Anyways at the end we r family and can be winner by supporting each other and not by leg pulling

Karachi will always contribute more to FBR than funds allocated towards it. This is the case with every major city in the world.

But, if these figures are true, then the disparity is shocking. Karachi needs better representatives who can raise their voice in calling for more infrastructure spending at the very least. Karachi should be allocated spending to help clean up the streets and other sanitation work, it’s also past time for Karachi to have metro system projects underway too.

Karachi will always contribute more to FBR than funds allocated towards it. This is the case with every major city in the world.

But, if these figures are true, then the disparity is shocking. Karachi needs better representatives who can raise their voice in calling for more infrastructure spending at the very least. Karachi should be allocated spending to help clean up the streets and other sanitation work, it’s also past time for Karachi to have metro system projects underway too.
Rightly said. Important to highlight that major cities also lead in terms of facilities not loke karachi which is much behind lahore ans islamabad ... imagine half of the city has to buy tankers for tap water

Meri samajh nai aata keh aakhir Punjab Karachi cold War kab khatam hogi, or in the first place, yeh hai hi kion?
Fact is that only one percent of Pakistani pay taxes as per FBR . Gov should take actions against those who dont pay taxes irrespective of their location or ethnicity but here is list of top tax paying people of 2018. You can go for finding the ethnic group of these individuals just like others are comparing cities but to my surprise top tax paying individual is woman i.e saima Shabaz malik totally unknown person to me.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1465331

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) on Thursday released a list of 150 taxpaying citizens that have contributed the highest taxes, with the Karachi-based Saima Shahbaz Malik topping the category for tax year 2018. Of the total, Mehvish A. Tapal, who was ranked at 45 in the category of the top 50 individuals, is also from Karachi.

The FBR issued lists of the top 50 taxpayers in three categories — individuals, association of persons (AoPs), and companies. These directories are scheduled to be released to the public on Friday.

On the list of the top 50 individual taxpayers, Karachi’s denizens have proved to be the highest contributors, with 33 individuals who contributed the highest taxes in the tax year 2018. This is followed by six individuals from Lahore, three from Gujranwala, and two from Islamabad. Sukkur, Abbottabad, Hyderabad, Quetta and Multan each have one taxpayer who in included in the top 50 list.

Take a look: Happy taxpayers

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

In the tabulation of the top 10 taxpayers, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi ranks at the 5th position. This list is topped by Ms Malik (as mentioned earlier), followed by Muhammad Yasin Malik, Ahmed Ullah, and Hasan Mansha. Others on this list are Syed Babar Ali, Rehan Hassan, Imtiaz Hussain, Malik Shahid and Muhammad Hanif Jiwani.

Data divided into categories of individuals, association of persons and companies

Subsequently come Ainul Haq in Quetta, Naveed Ahmed Mahar in Sukkur, Muhammad Ramzan in Multan, Ghulam Mustafa in Hyderabad, and Muhammad Dawood Khan in Abbottabad. No person from Peshawar makes a presence.

In the list of the top 50 taxpaying AoPs, Karachi again leads the list with 17 AoPs paying the highest amounts to the exchequer during the 2018 tax year, followed by 10 in Lahore, eight in Quetta, three each in Gujranwala and Islamabad, two each in Hyderabad, Peshawar, Abbottabad and Sukkur, and one in Multan.

The top 10 AoPs principal officers/partners include Muhabbat Khan at the primary position, followed by Waseem Afzal, Asif Majeed, Muhabbat Khan, Muzaffar Hayat Paracha, Ch. Aamir Latif, Azeem Khan Yousafzai, Nizamuddin, Pehlaj Rai, and Syed Masood Hussain Shah.

In terms of city contributions on the top 50 taxpayers’ list, in Gujranwala the highest paying AoPs are Ch. Muhammad Sadique, Tariq Pervaiz, and Hassan Saqlain; those in Islamabad are Amir Siddiqui, Muhammad Abdul Qadir and Muhammad Bilal, and in Hyderabad Pehlaj Rai and Dr Daya Ram. Also on this list are Ch Aamir Latif and Syed Masood Hussain Shah (Peshawar); Yehua and Majidullah Khan (Abbottabad); Muhammad Akram Khan Panezai (Sukkur); and Dr Muhammad Shafique Khan (Multan).

In terms of taxes paid by companies, once again Karachi heads the list with 21 contributing the highest amounts, followed by 16 companies registered in the Islamabad Capital Territory, nine in Lahore, two in Multan and one each in Faisalabad and Peshawar.

The top 10 companies on the FBR list include the Oil and Gas Development Company Ltd, United Bank Ltd, Government Holdings (Private) Ltd, Pakistan Petroleum Limited, Pakistan State Oil Company Ltd, the Allied Bank of Pakistan, the Pakistan Telecommunications Authority, Habib Bank Ltd, Indus Motor Company Ltd, and Nestle Pakistan Ltd.

No company from Quetta has a place in the list of the 50 companies contributing the highest taxes.

In terms of contribution in taxes, the top 40 individuals include Shahid Yasin Malik, Arif Habib, Mian Umer Mansha, Farrukh Ijaz, Wazir Ali Pardhan, Muhammad Rafique, Muhammad Hanif Machiyara, Muhammad Irfan Ghazi, Abdul Waheed Shaikh, Malik Muhammad Mukarram, Jahanzeb Jilani, Ainul Haq, Faraz Ellahi Shamsi, Muhammad Mateen Shafi, Muhammad Hamid Khan, Shahbaz Yasin Malik, Amir Mehmood, Muhammad Tehreem Shamim, Mohammad Talha, Syed Irshad Ahmed, Najam Hafeez, Mohammad Najeeb Haroon, Shoaib Anwer Malik, Ali Akhai, Aftab Faizullah Tapal, Muhammad Kashif, Muhammad Saeed Faisal, Naveed Ahmed Mahar, Khalid Mahmood, Muhammad Ramzan, Tariq Rafi, Muhammad Asad, Ghulam Mustafa, Altaf Adam, Mehvish A. Tapal, Mian Raza Mansha, Iqbal Ali Mohamed, Salim Habib Godil, Muhammad Dawood Khan and Tanveer Ahmed.

The top 40 taxpaying companies include the China State Construction Engineering Corporation Ltd, Standard Chartered Bank (Pakistan) Ltd, Meezan Bank Ltd, Pak-Arab Refinery Ltd, the Civil Aviation Authority, Bank al-Habib Ltd, the National Bank of Pakistan, the Kot Addu Power Company Ltd, Unilever Pakistan Ltd, the Pakistan Tobacco Company Ltd, Bank Alfalah Ltd, Bowenergy Resources (Pakistan) Srl, Pepsi-Cola International (Private) Ltd, Honda Atlas Cars Ltd, Attock Petroleum Ltd, International Wireless Communications Pakistan Ltd, Pakistan Oilfields Ltd, the Mari Petroleum Company Ltd, Millat Tractors Ltd, Huawei Technologies Pakistan (Private) Ltd, Bestway Cement Ltd, the Qasim International Container Terminal Pakistan Ltd, Mol Pakistan Oil & Gas Company B. V., Lucky Cement Ltd, Fauji Fertiliser Company Ltd, Tetra Pak (Pakistan) Ltd, the Habib Metropolitan Bank Ltd, Getz Pharma (Private) Ltd, the Karachi International Container Terminal Ltd, the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Ltd, CMPAK Ltd, China Communications Construction Company Ltd, Engro Corporation Ltd, Chevron Pakistan Lubricants (Pvt.) Ltd, Rafhan Maize Products Company Ltd, the Bank of Punjab, Atlas Honda Ltd, Fatima Fertiliser Company Ltd, Port Qasim Authority, and Glaxo Smith Kline Pakistan Ltd.

In terms of AoPs, the 40 top principal officers/partners of AoPs are Amir Siddiqui, Maj (rtd.) Nawaz Ahmed Minhas, Ch. Muhammad Sadique, Zahir Khan, Ebrahim Qassim, Kamal Nasir Khan, Muhammad Akram Khan Panezai, Aslam Suleman Jiwani, Mehboob Ali, Muhammad Umer Memon, Muhammad Zeeshan, Zubair Nawaz Chatta, Ilyas Hussain Khan, Santosh Kumar Chawla, Aamir Bhaghani, Mohsin Hasnain, Yehua, Hamid Waheed, Majidullah Khan, Muhammad Aslam Nasir, Syed Asghar Ali, Malik Panjwani, Haji Mauladad, Muhammad Abdul Qadir, Imran Khurshid, Muhammad Bilal, Akhtar Muhammad, Nazimuddin Feroze, Ghulam Mahboob, Muhammad Akram Khan Panazi, Tariq Pervaiz, Muhammad Sharif Paracha, Dr. Muhammad Shafique Khan, Khuram Irshad-ul Haqe, Arif Rashid Dar, Hassan Saqlain, Nafees Sultan, Yousuf Khosa, Saad Ullah Khan, and Dr Daya Ram.

Published in Dawn, February 22nd, 2019

I think numbers are speaking of themselves. Compare it with the facilities available in Karachi with other cities and the numbers stated above you will get the answer why Karachi people feel betrayed.