JF-17 Block-3 -- Updates, News & Discussion

So if Pak got Western AESA then too we would not be able to get western weapons?
Well they didn't give us AIM-120C-7s when it was available ... let alone AIM-120D, like they did to their NATO allies and Israel. They will never share their top tier weapons and munitions with us. They will offer these only when they have a better generation of weapons for their own use. If you think they are going to sit idle if there is talk of us buying, say, Meteor ... then they will move in and scuttle the deal or give us a watered down version.

Just my humble opinion.

They have put Pakistan on religious freedoms blacklist, but India is not on it. Go figure.

A tete-a-tete with staff college grads reveals a lack of understanding of these concepts and force integration.

The mentality of not working/teaching beyond the box will be the death of us on the ground battlefield.
Shouldnt the foreign exposure, especially in US and UK, keep us at least on the trailing edge of these concepts? I believed our WoT experience involved development of interoperability between different forces.

So if Pak got Western AESA then too we would not be able to get western weapons?
Least Chance to get western military tech and never will be, but JF-17 still have to carry some western origin weapons like unguided/guided bombs, thanks to 1553 data buses on JF-17, may be if some customer ask to install western AVIONICS+AESA then we consider it

Like they discuss all those details with you over dinner?

It’s even worse because these senior officers (even those in my family) often times show a lack of battlefield concepts and tactics — these seniors then end up teaching the new batch of officers.

Problem also lies with higher military echelons where advice from Think Tanks or studying of other reports aren’t given much importance at times or implemented to the letter

At times I feel Like the officers are feudal lords than officers.

Like they discuss all those details with you over dinner?
Look, that's the reflection of that mentality!

'They must know their stuff but they dont share with us' !

Bhai nahi pata inhen! bohut so ko kuch nahi pata aur oonchi kursi pay bethay huay hen.

Incompetence is a Pakistani trait, and that covers both the civilian and military officers.

My family is loaded with officers from all ranks from different services and my detailed interaction with them on defence matters never ceases to disappoint me. A lot of times they are totally clueless about modern concepts/threats, terminologies etc. They end up being impressed by me! That's the level. The problem is that majority of our officers are being under utilized or abused I should say. They are made to work like donkeys in their unit life and are kept busy in useless things.

One relative of mine is a senior rank in Army AirDef. Heck he and his counterparts are always kept busy in stupid stuff. They are often asked to prepare stupid powerpoint presentations on attack helicopters/air def guns..just copy paste google stuff. He was recently asked to make a presentation on Pakistan's geography! AirDef officer!

I made this post at the risk of being charged with thread derailing but we dont have a separate one for this and this topic is way too critical to be avoided.

So your family members serving in PA are incompetent!

Bhai nahi pata inhen! bohut so ko kuch nahi pata aur oonchi kursi pay bethay huay hen.

Incompetence is a Pakistani trait, and that covers both the civilian and military officers.

My family is loaded with officers from all ranks from different services and my detailed interaction with them on defence matters never ceases to disappoint me. A lot of times they are totally clueless about modern concepts/threats, terminologies etc. They end up being impressed by me! That's the level. The problem is that majority of our officers are being under utilized or abused I should say. They are made to work like donkeys in their unit life and are kept busy in useless things.

One relative of mine is a senior rank in Army AirDef. Heck he and his counterparts are always kept busy in stupid stuff. They are often asked to prepare stupid powerpoint presentations on attack helicopters/air def guns..just copy paste google stuff. He was recently asked to make a presentation on Pakistan's geography! AirDef officer!

I made this post at the risk of being charged with thread derailing but we dont have a separate one for this and this topic is way too critical to be avoided.

So your family members serving in PA are incompetent!
Quite a stupid one liner tbh.

It's not about my family members (which you totally understood but with a lack of better response intentionally decided to stoop to stupidity). They and many others are a reflection of the culture in the services. Incompetence is attributed to those who are sub-par at what they are required to do. That is clearly not the case with our officer cadre. What is being questioned is the nature of things that they are asked to do. Our batch of officers doing exceptional in Staff College is very compitent but exactly what is being taught there or not is the point of question. In this case, those who have failed to revise the course contents/learning outcomes/ tactics that are the need of the hour are incompitent. I don't think you still get it but many others reading will.

while i was searching for the list of Chinese turbofan engines. I found this info on Wikipedia
engine.png

5nywq3V

maybe Block 3 got this engine?

Geography is VERY relevant to air defense
So is doing proper research on gunships etc

Inability to get the latest AMRAAM for F16 is an example of political hindrance which Pakistan has and will face. Mating AMRAAM missile to in-house developed radar and mating it to the current radar needs similar amount of work and political begging along with huge sum of money for approval to use it on JF17.
Integration of the missile is not the issue but getting political approval is.

Since when I said that such missile cannot be matted with Thunder at all rather, I think I was talking about issue which is a reservation by OEM and reluctant due to tech leakage. Politics is involved in everything even Pakistan buying top notch weapons from China. I will request you to read my post again and tell me how it was a low quality. It is a fact that if US want it can be done but my post was all about technology issue and reluctance of OEM hence, in-house solution. Go back to the first post that you quoted and start all over again. There was nothing political nor I said its impossible rather, spoke about the core issue. Do you know why US opposed S-400 for Turkey? Wasn't political alone but there are technical reservations. The tech leak is all that comes first then, there are political issues.

Regards,

Do you know why US opposed S-400 for Turkey? Wasn't political alone but there are technical reservations. The tech leak is all that comes first then, there are political issues.
So then why US is offering F 16s to India when it has signed deal of S400?

Google translated Chinese source, not sure how credible this source is:

According to foreign media reports, the current dragon stealth fighter(??) is likely to have the latest stealth improved version, and its overall combat power is even more than the Block3 type. The Phantom stealth type has been replaced with a new integrated glass hatch. The nose cover of the nose adopts a zigzag stealth design. The external weapon rack has been replaced with a hidden protective weapon rack, and the radar reflection signal has become obvious. The reduction. Secondly, the stealth Xiaolong replaced the original KJL-7 multi-mode pulse Doppler radar with the LKF601E air-cooled active phased array radar type active phased array radar. The maximum detection range extended from 130 km to 170. Kilometers, and multi-target recognition and tracking capabilities have also been greatly improved.

https://m.sohu.com/a/362729116_120096240?scm=1002.500047.0.0-0