Jai Hind to be now official salutation of Indian Army

yes they were.

Actually how can bacha-kucha claim the whole name?
Rig vedas ko kaun si country apna maanti hai, India admits Vedass it owns, and so does entire history.......ye bata do madam.....aur claim kar liya to kar liya.....koi hata sakta hai history main se ye word. Claim is valid but you can keep crying foul . We claim vedas, are you saying Pakistan and Bangladesh also wants their share in Vedas.:D

Jo bacha kucha hai uski baat ho rahi hai, kehlata to Indian sub-continent tha na. :lol:

BTW, does your statement means other nations were created from Hindusthan. :D. That'll give Ticker a shock.

KRAIT: Its a myth. The Aryans in Rigveda were yet to see the Indian ocean. They were pretty much happy with Sindhu. Its transformation to Hindu came much much later.Sorry.

We don't say Pakistan Zindabad and Allah u Akbar as a salutation. While Jai Hind is used as a salutation by your army. So, no comparison between these two.

A more better comparison would be Pak Army men using Assalam-o-Alaikum when they meet casually as a salutation.

Good initiative though by the IA, nothing wrong with saying praise to your motherland.

There is a difference between Assalam-o-Alaikum and Jai Hind is the former is a religious salutation, the other is nationalist.

Wow you're really representing the "JR THINK TANK" well.

You are representing common sense very well!!!

Anyways:

My point was 'Heil Hitler' was said by the Germans during that era, whenever they concluded a meeting or some formal event took place.

Now your Army will say 'Jai Hind' during official ceremonies and other interactions.

You have replaced a salutation with Jai Hind, like Germans did it with Heil Hitler. If you can't understand this, good bye.

Why use an ARABIC name for India rather than Bharat or India, the two official terms.

Hind is not an Arabic name. It is the basis on which India is known by Arabs, Turks and Persians. The term Hind Mahasagar in Sanskrit existed for centuries telling about Indian Ocean.

Just because Middle Easterners refer us by a term coined by us doesn't make it Arabic.

There is a difference between Assalam-o-Alaikum and Jai Hind is the former is a religious salutation, the other is nationalist.

You are still not getting the point my friend.

I'll make it easy for you.

Pakistani salutation= Assalam-o-Alikum

Indian Salutation= Jai Hind

Meaning of the terms is irrelevant. Both are salutations, that is the point.

Allah-o-Akbar and Pakistan Zindabad are not salutations.

Hindusthan or Hindustan is mentioned in our vedas.

An alternate and infrequently cited theory on the origin of the word Hindustan puts it further the back in time. This may be based on the Sanskrit shloka from the Barhaspatya Samhita of the Rigveda (ca. 1700-1100 BC):
Himalyam Samarabhya
Yavadindusarovaram
Tam Deonirmitam Desham
Hindusthanam Prachakshate

Translation: "The country which starts from Himalayas and the borders of which reach till the Indian Ocean (Indu Sarovaram), has been created by devas and its name is Hindusthan.

thats a shocker
i always thought the term hindustan to be of middle eastern/ central asian origin

thats a shocker
i always thought the term hindustan to be of middle eastern/ central asian origin

If somebody could point out in which hymn of Rig Veda this shloka is , we could actually check for it's authenticity .

Anybody knows ???

Military Forum Latest Posts