Islamabad looks to India to aid economy - FT

Has Pakistan exploited all other avenues to bump ups its economy and growth rate? Have we optimized trade between all other possible potential client countries of the world? What about Russia? What about China, What about US and the EU? what about Far East and Middle East. Kya ley dey ke Bharat hi reh gaya hey??? And most importantly have we every given the conglomerate of the ECO a fair chance to blossom?

Trade with India might cause a transitory levitation but in the long run Pakistan will be the looser and India will benefit much. While people argue that the 10 times bigger size/population of India will benefit us. And if India sells us 10 products and we sell India only 2 even then Pakistan will be the bigger beneficiary. This assumption is a farce. Even if one shrugs off the security hazards that will accompany from trade with India, Pakistani product will never ever be able to compete in the Indian market due to the fact that the manufacturing costs involved in Pakistan are too high for competition.

The secret lies in facilitation to the manufacturers, and subsidiaries to the agriculture sector. China and India are doing this coupled with many other countries. The returns in the shape of forex will supersede the cost of subsidization. Energy is our main problem, if the many unexploited wells at Sui are used we won’t even require Iranian gas. (Only 1 of those 3 virgin wells have over 100 years of gas according to conservation calculations). Either projects need funding from an international financial institution and serious management. By achieving this we can support our manufacturers in real terms.

A partially closed economy is the dire need of Pakistan, not an open economy, whose width can be compared to that of the German Autobahn. Pakistanis must be forced to use Pakistani goods. Import policy need severe redressing to create semblance between import/export ratios. Why does our import policy allow import of luxury cars and Kellog cornflakes and a horde of other items that we just don't need? While it is true that the wretched WTO does come into play but it can be dealt with provided government shows sincerity.

The case of Pakistan exploiting Indian market is that of ‘being ready for the opportunity’. We are not ready, hence this opportunity is not for us to gloat about. Unfortunately Pakistan planners have debauched honesty and national pride by the prospect of easy money.

Can some one compile a list of items that both countries are looking to export to each other?

yar i want to know why all the pakistanis i have met/chatted on PDF or elsewhere all hates India and Indians can you tell me.

---------- Post added at 10:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 PM ----------

the govts. can appoint people to lead trade delegations and trade-councils on both sides....it should comprise of technocrats, business risk analysts, consultants, etc. in different fields

i guess education, health, textiles and IT fields are ones which could be jointly dealt with....that will require more lax visa regulations on both sides, so while the government should keep its nose and fingerprint away from any cooperation involved, their initial approval would have to take root

but we should not forget agriculture

and agriculture, but what about agriculture?

i think on both sides they've pretty much perfected it as much as they can.....using some modern and some medieval ways that still seem to work

main issue in agriculture would be irrigation systems; strangely enough, the israelis have a huge edge in this field and they arent an agrarian society

slowly slowly saari demands maan rahey ho:enjoy:
kahan gya danda sorry..jhanda

girl_with_indian_flag.gif

danda or jhanda, dono deygey, saving the best for last.. Inti betabi achi nai! :butcher:

yar i want to know why all the pakistanis i have met/chatted on PDF or elsewhere all hates India and Indians can you tell me.

---------- Post added at 10:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 PM ----------

but we should not forget agriculture

WHY WE HATE INDIANS
Hum Dushmani bhi khul kar kartey hey aur Dosti bhi... 'Katuyudha' ki policy tou Indians ki hey, which is precisely why we hate you. Baghal mey choori, aur moo mey ram ram:sniper:

There's nothing to "look to". The simple solution is within yourself:

- Stop this jihadi mindset.
- Focus on economy.
- Reform education.
- Eliminate gun culture.
- Focus on a centralized education pattern.
- Make it mandatory for people to pursue research in productive projects.
- Review national security and launch multiple rural programs so that poor people can't get zombified by Talibunnies.
- Stop worrying about what's happening in x part of Russia, y part of Israel or Z part of India or US or Canada; look inside.
- Do something about Blasphemy law. It is not the law but the mindset that is built around it that is causing problem.
- More than talking of voting, talk about spreading awareness in people who is what and what is good for them. Take self-initiative.

In the end, you're the only ones who can save Pakistan. NO China, no USA, no Japan, no IMF or no WORLD BANK can save Pakistan but its own people.

The problem is not with any people on the planet but the mindset with which they work. It is said that mind is everything in the mortal world. Its power is so indefinite and so vast that our fragile bodies are nothing in front of the true potential of mind. If you can control and change your mindset and thinking, you're the masters of your destiny.

Original Post By GOD OF WAR
WHY WE HATE INDIANS
Hum Dushmani bhi khul kar kartey hey aur Dosti bhi... 'Katuyudha' ki policy tou Indians ki hey, which is precisely why we hate you. Baghal mey choori, aur moo mey ram ram

itni khulke dosti kartey ho ki chup ke kargil war start karte ho :P

stop trolling and concentrate on the current topic...
And don't 4get 26/11,....kya karu control nahi hota..:devil:

good move from the wooden headed neighbours...instead of buying from third parties...

Pakistan Allows Traders to Carry Goods in Trucks to India

The Pakistan government has for the first time allowed traders from the country to transport non-perishable goods till Attari-Wagah border in Amritsar for exhibitions in India, an event management company official said today.

"This is for the first time that the Pakistan government has allowed us to transport our non-perishable goods into trucks and bring it to Attari-Wagah border. This step has saved our time and cost immensely to participate in an exhibition to be held in Chandigarh," Pak World Trade & Expo Centre Chief Executive M Khurshid Barlas told reporters here today.

Earlier, Pakistani exhibitors had to transport their consignments for exhibition purposes through trains only. "But sometimes, trains remained unavailable as a result of which many of our traders could not bring their goods for sale in exhibitions," he said, who is also Convener of Rawalpindi Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

The Pakistan government, though, allows transportation of perishable goods through trucks till Attari-wagah border.

With the ease in transporting goods to India, Pakistan traders have brought 20,000 kg of goods, highest ever quantity for exhibition and sale.

"In last year exhibition, we brought 7,000 kg of goods from Pakistan, but this year the weight of items has soared to 20,000 kg," he said.

Over 160 Pakistan-based companies are bringing a wide variety of items including traditional textile products, kitchen ware, foot wear, marble, furniture etc which will be showcased in five-day CII exhibition to be held on October 20 here.

The traders from Baluchistan, Sind, Wazirabad, Multan will exhibit their items in Chandigarh.

Pakistan traders also sought from India to issue multiple visas for exhibitors, which will strengthen the trade relations between both the countries.

However, traders appreciated the Indian government that the process of issue of visas to Pakistan traders was quick this time, as they got their visas within two days.

Balras said that despite the global trade share of 22 per cent of SAARC countries, the regional trade of SAARC countries is only 4.5 per cent as compared to 52 per cent within European Union, 64 per cent within the US, 40 per cent within ASEAN countries.
FILED ON: OCT 18, 2011

news.outlookindia.com | Pak Allows Traders to Carry Goods in Trucks to India