Is it true that all Indian restaurants in UK are owned by Bangladeshis?

Riyad

Bangladesh
This is very shameful for a Bangladeshi to promote Indian cuisine instead of Bangladeshi or Bengali cuisine in foreign country. I feel very sad to admit that most Sylheti Bangladeshis pretend to be Indians in UK to run restaurants. We should promote Bangladesh, not India.

This restaurant is one of the several Indian restaurants owned by Bangladeshis of Sylheti diaspora. Please guys promote Bangladesh, not India when you are in abroad.

main_qimg_4d252b06b4b83f4070baf5c25dad4b67.jpg

This is very shameful for a Bangladeshi to promote Indian cuisine instead of Bangladeshi or Bengali cuisine in foreign country. I feel very sad to admit that most Sylheti Bangladeshis pretend to be Indian in UK to run restaurants. We should promote Bangladesh, not India.

This restaurant is one of the several Indian restaurants owned by Bangladeshis of Sylheti diaspora. Please guys promote Bangladesh, not India when you are in abroad.

main_qimg_4d252b06b4b83f4070baf5c25dad4b67.jpg

PDF is not perfect platform to ask your question and answer threads. Join Quora. That suits you well.

Short answer - yes. Most restaurants in predominantly "white" areas are owned and run by Bangladeshis from Sylhet. English people generally don't know the difference. Some Bangladeshi restaurants have Bangladesh cuisine written on them and some say Indian.

Pakistani restaurants normally names like Lahore, Karachi,Akbars, Desi something etc. No mention of India.

Could be, as Bangladeshis does not have an identity outside Bangladesh, westerners have no clue about Bangladesh, the other thing is Bangladesh really does not have any cuisine of their own, every single Bangladeshi dish has its origin in India especially WB, Assam and Orissa, all Bangladeshi foods are Indian foods too, nothing really unique about Bangladeshi culture, its an offshoot of Indian culture, so it makes perfect business sense to open Indian restaurants instead of Bangladeshi panta bhater hotel.

Jo dikhta hai wohi bikta hai aur Bangladesh to map mein dikhta hi nahi :lol:

On topic, title is misleading. Not "all", may be a few are owned by Bangladeshi and it is a business choice, not cultural. Its a safe choice to run a decent Indian restaurant as Indian cuisine is widely recognized.

Many restaurants in the "desi" area here run by Bangladeshi's and are commonly known as Indian restaurants as most of the locals will call people of South Asian origin Indians. What does it matter even if they market an eating place as Indian or Bangladeshi or what ever.

small restros named after India are mostly owned by Pakistanis and Bangladeshis...

Check this one out- Restaurant in Lahore named after a place in India.
The Lakhnavi, Lahore - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - TripAdvisor

That's not a she, I guess. Anyway, its always fun to read his posts.
You have to understand that we don't count Lucknow as a part of India. There is also meerut kebab house in Karachi. We are trying to retain our Lucknowi identity which is much better than muhajir identity. Again we do not see those regions as part of India but believe they should have gone to Pakistan. We see it as a responsibility to meld our land taken away from us with Pakistan. The only name that will be copying indian will be India which the restaurant shown in the picture is at the top.

Didn't ask you about what identity you want to assume. You can behave like an Indian or Afghan or Arab, whatever, your choice.