Infosys becomes fourth Indian company to hit $100-billion m-cap, shares up 84% in one year

60% of India is agricultural. So, on an annual basis,

Farmers dead by suicide - 300,000/20 = 15,000.
All India suicides - 135,000. [1]

Farmer's suicides as percenatge of overall suicieds - 11%
So, farmers suicides are 11 percent of all suicides while their population is 60%. It seems that farmers are dying less than the rest of population.

Naofumi bhai, you are generally a sensible person but here you are in the wrong. Any suicide because of socio-economic reasons - even one suicide - is a tragedy and it is very avoidable. Just begin to speak of change of the country's socio-economic system. If in your family you are among three siblings and your married brother committed suicide say because of losing a job and he was thus unable to pay monthly installments for the house ownership and for his children's education will you similarly dismiss his suicide quoting some bland statistics ?

The very first line in the page is about suicides from 2002 to 2012 and my quoted timeline is between 1995 and 2015.

Though in the "Cause of suicides" section the causes include poverty, failure in examination, bankruptcy, dowry, divorce and professional / career problem. Crop failure would be the immediate reason for some of these causes. These all are socio-economic problems which exist artificially. There is no reason to let them continue to exist for another year. Capitalism which in India is extreme and is 3000-years-old must be ended.

BTW the source of your article's data is the National Crimes Record Bureau and AFAIK in 2015 it was told by the Modi government to stop collecting farmer suicide data.

Infosys becomes fourth Indian company to hit $100-billion m-cap, shares up 84% in one year

Representational image
KEY HIGHLIGHTS
  • Shares of IT companies including Infosys have seen massive rally over the past year
  • Infosys reported strong numbers for the first quarter of current fiscal
  • The company had increased its full-year revenue growth forecast in constant currency from 12%-14% to 14-16%.
New Delhi: Infosys, the second-biggest Indian outsourcer, hit a market capitalisation of $100 billion on Tuesday, becoming the fourth company in India to achieve this feat. Shares of the Bengaluru-based company touched an all-time high of Rs 1,755.60 apiece today compared to its previous closing value of Rs 1,739.20. At the day's high Infosys achieved a market capitalisation of Rs 7.45 lakh crore or over $100 billion. As of 1:45 pm, Infosys shares were trading 0.78% lower at Rs 1,725.55.

Earlier three other Indian companies--Reliance Industries, TCS and HDFC Bank--have achieved this feat.

Shares of IT companies including Infosys have seen massive rally over the past year as they are flooded with digitization orders from global MNCs amid the Covid-19 pandemic. Infosys shares have rallied 84% over the past one year.

The company also reported strong numbers for the first quarter of current fiscal. Its net profit for the April-June quarter of current fiscal surged 22.75 on an annual basis to Rs 5,195 crore. On a sequential basis, the company registered 2.35 growth in its net profit. Its revenues grew 8.5% to Rs 23,665 crore compared to Rs 21,803 crore in the corresponding quarter of previous fiscal.

Worth mentioning here is that the company had increased its full-year revenue growth forecast in constant currency from 12%-14% to 14-16%. The company guided for an operating margin of 22 to 24%.

Analysts say Infosys is expected to report superior revenue growth over FY21-FY24 driven by execution-focused stable management, a surge in mega deals and digital acceleration. The company has expanded its client outreach due to refreshed offerings and vast product portfolio.

Infosys is expected to be a key beneficiary of multi-year technology upcycle.

stock goes up, stock goes down, it means nothing

Naofumi bhai, you are generally a sensible person but here you are in the wrong. Any suicide because of socio-economic reasons - even one suicide - is a tragedy and it is very avoidable. Just begin to speak of change of the country's socio-economic system. If in your family you are among three siblings and your married brother committed suicide say because of losing a job and he was thus unable to pay monthly installments for the house ownership and for his children's education will you similarly dismiss his suicide quoting some bland statistics ?

The very first line in the page is about suicides from 2002 to 2012 and my quoted timeline is between 1995 and 2015.

Though in the "Cause of suicides" section the causes include poverty, failure in examination, bankruptcy, dowry, divorce and professional / career problem. Crop failure would be the immediate reason for some of these causes. These all are socio-economic problems which exist artificially. There is no reason to let them continue to exist for another year. Capitalism which in India is extreme and is 3000-years-old must be ended.

BTW the source of your article's data is the National Crimes Record Bureau and AFAIK in 2015 it was told by the Modi government to stop collecting farmer suicide data.
Too much idealistic talk, much more people died in Gulags FWIW. You need to show a state with no unnecessary deaths to prove your point at which your ideal states like USSR and Libya fail spectacularly.

Libya presented a progressive socio-economic model ( no farmer and student suicides, no honor killings and forced marriages of women, no wage slavery, no hunger and so on like happen in India ) and a progressive political model ( the Jamahiriya system ) that really enabled the "Withering away of the state" desire of Communism even if Gaddafi and co. did not call their system as Communist. The people really ruled themselves without parties, five-yearly elections and unnecessarily complicated hierarchy. It had an evolved form of direct democracy which was adapted by Hugo Chavez to Venezuela's conditions. Even Elon Musk speaks of direct democracy as the ideal system for Mars colonies. About unnecessary deaths I don't know if any traditional Marxian Communist was jailed by Libya but I am happy that Libya acted against criminal groups like LIFG, Muslim Brotherhood and Al Qaeda and Libya was proved right when these criminals allied, no got supported and armed by NATO+GCC in the 2011 invasion of the country.

About USSR it may have been true that some intellectuals were unfortunately banished to gulags ( like to the very very cold region Yakutsk - my thread on this from some days ago ) but I am sure many former USSR residents and many current citizens of former USSR republics would have not minded people like Gorbachev to be sent away to gulag.

USSR and Libya were experiments like any Socialist society and presented lessons to various degrees. We must learn from them what best practices to absorb and what wrongs to reject. And go beyond. You of course know of my proposal for a new, simple economic system. One of Communism's desires is abolition of money and the economic classes ( rich, middle, poor ). Though I present a hybrid money system I present a way to abolish economic classes.

But all this still doesn't say why you are not speaking vehemently against farmer suicides in India. And speaking of suicides of a community in India below is my very recent thread on your own community - students. Two in Tamil Nadu within three days and four in IISc within a year :

I don't usually do that, but Jamahir has a point in this regard. Farmers are the most vulnerable segment in the socio-economic distribution of population, and if proper policies are implemented to safeguard their economic hardship, then it will only be beneficial for our nation in the long run.

Jamahir supports land collectivisation as the alternative, while I do believe in land reform, collectivisation is simply the road to Gulags.

Good that you believe in land reform but how is collectivization the road to the gulag ? Please read the long section of this post of mine on how I see harmonious city planning and modernized collectivized agriculture. @Skull and Bones, please you too read the link, and ignore the taunts from me there.