'Industry' coined from Indus, says VHP's Swami Vigyananand

Sorry, what people belonging to the highest earnings brackets can and cannot do cannot be equated to what ordinary people have to go through. Depending on where you live, I will try to put you in touch with friends who have faced this problem in your city. Check going with them when they go house-hunting and find out the truth for yourself.
In most of the societies which may appear extremely liberal to us, one can find similar bias wrt to religion, caste, color, race or economic disparity.

In India you can find many instances of Housing Societies of a particular caste of Hindus not accepting Hindus belonging to different caste even as members. Its not limited to minorities only.

Well, from according to your Right-wing PDF Indian compatriots, they're definitely worse.
I mean, not one day goes on this forum without seeing another Indian hear whining and moaning about how Muslims vote as a block in this state, feel allegiance to Pakistan, are too radicalized, are potential traitors to the country, should be sorted out by Modi, RSS, etc.
Frankly, when I see you guys talk about how Muslims are apparently better and more tolerant then Pakistanis, I know you're talking BS. You spend half the day whining about them on this forum, and the other half praising them? WTF? :crazy:
On PDF we do find opinions which poles apart. Well that's the beauty of healthy discussion. Everybody is entitled to express his opinion without offending the other.
What we read about problems with Muslims in India in our press or anger expressed in social media against them, may be, is not the correct portrayal of whole of them. Indians Muslim are very much like Pakistani Hindus. They love and respect their respective nations whether we believe it or not.

Sorry, what people belonging to the highest earnings brackets can and cannot do cannot be equated to what ordinary people have to go through. Depending on where you live, I will try to put you in touch with friends who have faced this problem in your city. Check going with them when they go house-hunting and find out the truth for yourself.
some of his relative left for pakistan and some stayed in India, I am guessing his extended family is equally well off(not too poor) and had opportunity to migrate.
@haviZsultan, so among the old folks who decided to stay, did you ask them why they did. Were they hedging the bets?(nothing wrong in doing that, family's future is everything)

Well, from according to your Right-wing PDF Indian compatriots, they're definitely worse.
I mean, not one day goes on this forum without seeing another Indian hear whining and moaning about how Muslims vote as a block in this state, feel allegiance to Pakistan, are too radicalized, are potential traitors to the country, should be sorted out by Modi, RSS, etc.
Frankly, when I see you guys talk about how Muslims are apparently better and more tolerant then Pakistanis, I know you're talking BS. You spend half the day whining about them on this forum, and the other half praising them? WTF? :crazy:

This is an awful bloody thread, and I really shouldn't be stepping back in, but there are good reasons why I should (I think!).
  1. Muslims DO NOT vote as a block. When Mamata did her antics, draping her sari over her head in imitation of a hijab, offering dua, and the rest of that appalling hypocritical nonsense, it was one of her former favourites, a policeman, who wrote a scathing book exposing this behaviour for the crowd-pleasing gimmick and cheap tawdry trick that it was. And his advice was to vote for the best performer of the lot presented. Muslims do tend to vote for a good Muslim candidate if one is available, and who wouldn't vote for someone known and liked from among his group, not necessarily his community, if one is available? But the bloc-voting myth is long dead, for Muslims and for every one else. Take Modi's election itself as an example.
  2. Muslims don't feel allegiance to Pakistan TODAY. As @haviZsultan points out, the Muslim League was UP and Bombay; those were the engine rooms, and yes, Bengal, a little less; our own Fazlul Huq Sahib was no pushover, but even he was one of the movers of the Lahore Resolution. Ironically it was the Punjab, Sind and the Frontier that were, frankly, lukewarm. The crowd of Mohajirs represent the backbone of the Muslim League as it existed. But families made conscious, clear-headed decisions; there were parts that went to Pakistan, and their relations with their kinfolk, marriages within the same groups, whether located physically in Pakistan or in India, continue, life goes on. But each side cleaves to its own state, and it is a long time now since 1937 or even 1947, the last time people had to decide. I have dozens of Muslims acquaintances, a few friends; I would take it as an insult to me for anyone to suggest that their loyalties were suspect.
  3. I don't know about the too radicalised, but the Deobandi crowd are always present, everywhere, particularly in the north, and 'dawa' continues. On one of my visits to Deoband with a friend, some of the remarks of a host where we stayed for a few hours became frankly obnoxious (he had no idea that I was not Muslim), and I excused myself and left, my friend trotting along a few steps behind very anxious about my rather too obvious bad temper. The Tablighis are active, far too active (speaking from the perspective of an atheist), although they aren't as obstreperous as Jehovah's Witnesses, not to the extent of turning up at one's doorstep and stuff like that. I do know the sullen young men with a good technical education and a good job who have started to grow beards, but there is their equivalent in other communities, including incredibly deranged 'Bible' Christians, so it isn't clear which lot needs to be stoned first. The vast bulk of Muslims are like you and me, perfectly indistinguishable except that the namazis among them tend to vanish around prayer time, which is fine.
  4. Potential traitors to the country? **** the arseholes who say that.
  5. Sorted out by Modi and the RSS? Maybe. And maybe not. There's a lot of others standing around who feel enough's enough.
Difficulties in finding accommodation are well known. I don't know why people are being coy about accepting this; we have to confront it to lick it. I also don't know why people don't admit that it cuts deeper than that; that Hindus who eat meat and fish find it difficult to get accommodation in 'vegetarian' buildings (that is sometimes outside the west and bits of the north code for Brahmins only, but sometimes). That is a bit of a problem because those who are vegetarian by conviction, not habit of religious practice, really do have difficulties living cheek-to-jowl with the rest of us (disclaimer: I eat everything, but prefer vegetarian, and 99% of the time, I'm in vegetarian food). So it's not about Muslims alone; it is a greater problem, and there is something to be said for vegetarians who don't care about who you are, or what you believe in, but just want to be left alone and to stay away from :sick: meat-eaters.

There are two kinds of Indians, the ones that get along and the ones that don't. Yer pays yer money and yer tikes yer chice.

I am guessing this was not the case before 2014. Damn Modi

'Industry' coined from Indus, says VHP's Swami Vigyananand
TNN | May 22, 2016, 03.40 AM IST
BENGALURU: The word 'industry' has its origins in India - from the river Indus - according to the World Hindu Economic Forum (WHEF). The body says the British coined the word when they saw how industrialized India was before Muslim and British invasions.

Latest Comment
This is both hilarious and ridiculous!! So according to Vigyananand, the etymological dictionaries that root the word in ancient French industrie and ancient Latin industria are wrong! Why this despe... Read MoreSuren Abreu
"I am telling you the 'industry' word has come from us - Indus. We were very industrialized, (and) that is why they used the word," Swami Vigyananand, head of WHEF and joint general secretary of the Vishwa Hindu Parishad, said at a summit organized in Bengaluru by the Forum on Saturday.

The Forum, started in 2012, brings together successful Hindu professionals - traders, bankers, technocrats, economists and industrialists - to share their business knowledge, experience, expertise and resources to create a prosperous society.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ays-VHP-man/articleshow/52381777.cms?from=mdr
Got enough sympathy from Pakistanis? :lol: I would never post what they actually think about your lot, specially the south ones.

I am guessing this was not the case before 2014. Damn Modi

No, sadly, it is a deeper problem, and not really entirely a Hindu-Muslim one, either. It's more to do with the revulsion that some vegetarians have for others who are not vegetarian. My uncle and aunt, when they shifted to Madras in the 70s, had enormous trouble living in Mylapore, because they were used to eating fish daily, and the neighbourhood went bonkers. There are overlays of communal feeling, but curiously, most of that comes from the difference in diet. Another cousin by marriage mentions how they would crowd into one room furthest away from the neighbours on Eid-uz-Zoha, because the 'Turkus' would go about their sacrificing. According to her, everything reeked of a smell of blood for days after.

They were all very relieved that I was a vegetarian.

One major reason why Muslims find it difficult to get housing is the reason why Bengalis find it difficult to get housing - the smell from what we eat.

No, sadly, it is a deeper problem, and not really entirely a Hindu-Muslim one, either. It's more to do with the revulsion that some vegetarians have for others who are not vegetarian. My uncle and aunt, when they shifted to Madras in the 70s, had enormous trouble living in Mylapore, because they were used to eating fish daily, and the neighbourhood went bonkers. There are overlays of communal feeling, but curiously, most of that comes from the difference in diet. Another cousin by marriage mentions how they would crowd into one room furthest away from the neighbours on Eid-uz-Zoha, because the 'Turkus' would go about their sacrificing. According to her, everything reeked of a smell of blood for days after.

They were all very relieved that I was a vegetarian.

One major reason why Muslims find it difficult to get housing is the reason why Bengalis find it difficult to get housing - the smell from what we eat.
Yes.

some of his relative left for pakistan and some stayed in India, I am guessing his extended family is equally well off(not too poor) and had opportunity to migrate.
@haviZsultan, so among the old folks who decided to stay, did you ask them why they did. Were they hedging the bets?(nothing wrong in doing that, family's future is everything)

As I said ideologically throughout the beginning years of Pakistan all muslims young or old were vouching for Pakistan. 90%+ of the muslim vote in UP for AIML proves this. Even my dead uncle, an Indian patriot (this patriotism did not prevent him being killed) confirmed this. How could he deny when his own father was one of the most stalwart supporters of Pakistan.

The muslims who decided to stay did not do so out of loyalty to Indi0a, there was a stigma attached to being an Indian union supporter then. They stayed because
1) The migration was too difficult
2) Too much danger
3) They did not want to leave properties in Lucknow without any guarantee that they would get similar properties in Karachi. No one leaves his home unless the situation truly demands it. Since violence was heavy in Punjab and Bengal many muslims moved from these parts.
4) They had set lives in Lucknow. They did not want to abandon these lives for ideological causes.

But as I pointed out the current generation may be changing. They are more likely to identify as Indians. Unless some are killed in brutal ways-that always builds up sympathy for Pakistan.

Got enough sympathy from Pakistanis? :lol: I would never post what they actually think about your lot, specially the south ones.
My lot? Well why do you bother about their thoughts? Arey mai toh bhool gaya yeh jo eint ka jawaab phattar se dene wale aajkal ISI ko ghar bulaakar biryani paros rahe hai:lol: So it is obvious that your lot have to take care of their thoughts.. Aakhir tumhare damaad jo bangaye hai woh, pathankot ki sair bhi karwali biryani ke saath saath;)

As I said ideologically throughout the beginning years of Pakistan all muslims young or old were vouching for Pakistan. 90%+ of the muslim vote in UP for AIML proves this. Even my dead uncle, an Indian patriot (this patriotism did not prevent him being killed) confirmed this. How could he deny when his own father was one of the most stalwart supporters of Pakistan.

The muslims who decided to stay did not do so out of loyalty to Indi0a, there was a stigma attached to being an Indian union supporter then. They stayed because
1) The migration was too difficult
2) Too much danger
3) They did not want to leave properties in Lucknow without any guarantee that they would get similar properties in Karachi. No one leaves his home unless the situation truly demands it. Since violence was heavy in Punjab and Bengal many muslims moved from these parts.
4) They had set lives in Lucknow. They did not want to abandon these lives for ideological causes.

But as I pointed out the current generation may be changing. They are more likely to identify as Indians. Unless some are killed in brutal ways-that always builds up sympathy for Pakistan.
ok.. it makes sense that they had property and settled life, and there was no need to take a risky venture that may or may not bring better future. Thats the main reason, everything else is secondary.

Yeah... and the borders were closed way to early. Not all families had moved by then, including mine. My mother specially moved much later and the path to get Pakistani citizenship was not as easy. Yet there is a feeling that Pakistan is our own country-it was made for us... so why should we think of it as an enemy when most Hindutvas already see us as one.

why would you think of pakistan as enemy when your parents already migrated and you are probably born there? even without hindutva, it will make no sense.