India's submarine fleet nears depletion....

Pksecurity

India’s plans to counterweight Pakistan’s submarine capability, and have an edge over China’s inferior submarine technology forced it to go for French submarine, a sister boat of Pakistan’s Agosta. But its plans have run into snags and have been severely frustrated. The blame has been laid at the door of “procurement bureaucracy” which is being targeted for a massive cost-escalation and huge time over-run which will seriously damage the combat capabilities of India Navy. On the strength of its Navy, India was poised to serve global American interests in Indian Ocean and, by extension, in the Pacific.
India may have acquired a nuclear-powered submarine of a very old Russian vintage, it only serves the purpose of power projection. The toothless power, so to say. But its project of development of conventional submarine, Scorpene, in India under a transfer-of-technology program is not faring any better. The whistleblower report of India’s Auditor-General, the Controller and Auditor-General (CAG), raises alarms and concerns.
The report is clearly critical of the Scorpene acquisition. Indian Defense Minister had to admit to India’s Parliament that the project was running about 2 years behind schedule, due to “some teething problems, absorption of technology, delays in augmentation of industrial infrastructure and procurement of MDL purchased materials (MPM).” The CAG report criticizes the fact that the submarine requirement was approved in 1997, but no contract was signed until 2005, and then for only 6 of the envisioned 24 boats. Overall, the project cost had increased from Rs 12,609 crore in October 2002 to Rs 15,447 crore by October 2005 when the contract was signed. Once it was signed, the CAG believes that “the contractual provisions resulted in undue financial advantage to the vendor of a minimum of Rs 349 crore.”

Read more at National Security: India’s Scorpenes project runs into snags as its submarine fleet nears depletion….

After reading this $#!t, i can just say the author don't know the F**K about Indian Navy:

1. Akula II - toothless power only for power projection :lol:

2. India was poised to serve global American interests in Indian Ocean and, by extension, in the Pacific :rofl:

3. Scorpene bought when PN gone for Agosta :rofl:

4. India was largely concerned with the Pakistani navy when the Scorpene contract was negotiated and signed :rofl:

5. the biggest of them all - Indian Navy submarine strength is declining :rofl:

o bas kar yaar kitna hasayega :lol:

Akula-II is one of the quietest submarines in the world and has been headache of US Pacific fleet for quite a long time. Don't take Russian submarines as inferior.

India's biggest strength is its poverty not submarines. Nobody going to invade India only to get into trouble. Who will feed 1.2 billion poor souls.
Post only on topic stuff. This age old rants don't impress anyone, neither gives smile on anyone's face. You just prove your stupidity. Only strength that I think you have.

10 X Kilo class sub
4 X type 209 (license built]
1 X Akula nuke sub
1 x arihant nuke sub

for the author's sake (since he is very worried about IN's declining sub strength :lol:):

IN currently operates 15 subs - 10 x Kilos + 4 x type 209 + 1 Akula II.

IN has enough plans to sustain this figure & in fact raise it exponentially over long term.

I will take year 2015, since author has talked about the same.

All 14 x conventional subs have completed upgrades/refit in the recent years, so IN will not upgrade them just to see them retire, at max. we can see 4 of the very old kilo class subs to get retired by 2015.

IN will get by 2015:

1 more Akula II
1 scorpene
2 Arihant class

so the no. remains the same by 2015 but the punch is obviously more.

The long term plans of IN are in fact amazing to say the least.

This is my post in an another thread on the same:

Numbers (by 2030):

scorpenes - 6 + 4 = 10
P-75I - 6
12 indeginious designed
5 Arihant class
2 Akulas
3-4 bigger ssgn/ssbn

35+ subs in IN's inventory :woot:

Bhai kal Imran Bhai ban hogaye, u know why ;)

Don't force me to go on his path :rofl:

Seriously man!!! Yesterday's show was damn amusing. You just needed some popcorn and enjoy volley after volley of vituperative lang. hurled against BD and BD members. Everyone else who was watching the show unfolding must have been :ROFL: :D :D

Bhai kal Imran Bhai ban hogaye, u know why ;)

Don't force me to go on his path :rofl:

Seriously man!!! Yesterday's show was damn amusing. You just needed some popcorn and enjoy volley after volley of vituperative lang. hurled against BD and BD members. Everyone else who was watching the show unfolding must have been :ROFL: :D :D

Koi mujhe batayega kal kya huya tha? :what:

India's biggest strength is its poverty not submarines. Nobody going to invade India only to get into trouble. Who will feed 1.2 billion poor souls.

The burden it not on the Bangladeshis so you don't have to worry about that.

just focus on improving the pathetic state of your country first and we will worry

about feeding the 1.2 billion souls & the 4 + million odd illegal Bangladeshi refugees in India.

the way bangladeshis are talkin in reality is highly laughable ...that is why saudi treat u that way in their airports ...that is why when biman bangladesh lands in heathrow it looks like immigrants have landed from mars.....bangladeshis today are good labor....they come cheap and come in bulk

After reading this $#!t, i can just say the author don't know the F**K about Indian Navy:

1. Akula II - toothless power only for power projection :lol:

2. India was poised to serve global American interests in Indian Ocean and, by extension, in the Pacific :rofl:

3. Scorpene bought when PN gone for Agosta :rofl:

4. India was largely concerned with the Pakistani navy when the Scorpene contract was negotiated and signed :rofl:

5. the biggest of them all - Indian Navy submarine strength is declining :rofl:

o bas kar yaar kitna hasayega :lol:

no the biggest of them all was "to have an edge over China’s inferior submarine " ;)

The writer was surely serving someone's ego or may be high on drugs